DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 14-20 in the reply filed on 4/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “and/or” renders the claim(s) indefinite because it is not clear to the Examiner what to be included or excluded from the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnegar Shahrestani et al. (US 2024/0208258).
Regarding independent claim 14, Khoshnegar Shahrestani et al. (‘258) teaches in figure 2 and the corresponding text a display panel, comprising: a plurality of light emitting elements (pixels 200), wherein the plurality of light emitting elements comprise first color light emitting elements (202) and second color light emitting elements (204), a surface microstructure of the first color light emitting elements facing a light emitting surface of the display panel is different (see paragraph 0059 “differently structured nano pattern”) from a surface microstructure of the second color light emitting elements facing the surface microstructure of the light emitting surface of the display panel (also see paragraphs 0079-0083).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Khoshnegar Shahrestani et al. (‘258) teaches the surface microstructure of the first color light emitting elements comprises a plurality of pits uniformly arranged; and/or, the surface microstructure of the second color light emitting elements is a roughened surface microstructure.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Khoshnegar Shahrestani et al. (‘258) teaches a maximum width of the pits is less than or equal to 2.7 microns, and/or a maximum depth of the pits is less than or equal to 1.8 microns (see facets size, paragraph 0143).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Khoshnegar Shahrestani et al. (‘258) teaches the first color light emitting elements are blue light emitting elements, and the second color light emitting elements are green light emitting elements and/or red light emitting elements.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Khoshnegar Shahrestani et al. (‘258) teaches the first color light emitting elements are green light emitting elements, and the second color light emitting elements are red light emitting elements.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Khoshnegar Shahrestani et al. (‘258) teaches a third color light emitting elements (206), and a surface of the third color light emitting elements facing the light emitting surface of the display panel is a flat surface.
Regarding independent claim 20, Khoshnegar Shahrestani et al. (‘258) teaches in figure 2 and the corresponding text a display device, comprising: a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of light emitting elements (pixels 200), the plurality of light emitting elements comprise first color light emitting elements (202) and second color light emitting elements (204), a surface microstructure of the first color light emitting elements facing a light emitting surface of the display panel is different from a surface microstructure of the second color light emitting elements facing the surface microstructure of the light emitting surface of the display panel. (see paragraph 0059 “differently structured nano pattern” and paragraphs 0079-0083).
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875