DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/13/2026 have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections are made in view of Xiao et al (US 2017/0184789) and Yan (US 2015/0312657) and Kilper et al (US 2017/0279557) and Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA: [0003]-[0004]) and Matsuyama et al (JP 2005097559).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 111314014 A. English Machine Translation was provided with previous Non-Final Action) in view of Xiao et al (US 2017/0184789) and Yan (US 2015/0312657) and Kilper et al (US 2017/0279557) and Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA: [0003]-[0004]).
1). With regard to claim 1, Wang et al discloses a passive aggregation-layer network device (Figures 1-3, the combination of the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber between the multiplexers 120/220; [0022] etc.: “achieve the coexistence of 4G networks and 5G networks and the upgrade to 5G networks without changing the existing wavelength division multiplexers in use and without increasing the number of optical fibers”. Note: an access layer is a part of a network and enables end users to connect to the network; therefore, Figures 1-3, the RRU and AAU, which are components of a radio access Network (RAN), which is access layer of a cellular network, belong to access layer; the aggregation layer is defined as a middle layer that facilitates simplified communication between the various parts of the network, focusing on efficient data integration, efficiently combines traffic from the access layer, ensuring resource optimization, then the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber belong to the aggregation layer; and a core layer is the backbone of the network, which is responsible for transmitting data between the various parts of the network at high speed and high efficiency; therefore, the combination of the mutiple BBU/DU in Figure 1 can be viewed as a core layer. And the multiplexers 120/220 are passive device and have no power supplying, therefore, the multiplexers 120/220 is a passive aggregation-layer), connected respectively to a core-layer network device (the combination of the BBUs/DUs) and a plurality of access-layer network devices (e.g., the RRU and AAU), comprising:
a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (120) comprising:
a first optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the RRU(4G) l1/l2) connected to an optical module (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2, [0029]) of a first access-layer network device (the RRU(4G) l1/l2; [0034]-[0038] etc.), and
a second optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the RRU(4G) l3/l4) connected to an optical module (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4) of a second access-layer network device (the RRU(4G) l3/l4; [0034]-[0038] etc.);
a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (220) comprising:
a third optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the BBU/DU l1/l2) connected to a first optical module (the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2) of a core-layer network device (the combination of the all six BBU/DU), and
a fourth optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the BBU/DU l3/l4) connected to a second optical module (the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4) of the core-layer network device (the combination of the all six BBU/DU); and
a first optical fiber (the fiber between the multiplexer 120 and multiplexer 220) connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1);
wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is configured to receive a first optical signal (l1) sent by the optical module of the first access-layer network device (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2) and a second optical signal (l3) sent by the optical module of the second access-layer network device (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4), couple the first optical signal and the second optical signal to obtain a first coupled optical signal (the multiplexer 120 multiplexes/couples the first optical signal l1 and the second optical signal l3 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and send the first coupled optical signal to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted over the fiber to the second multiplexer 220); and
the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (220) is configured to decouple the first coupled optical signal to obtain the first optical signal and the second optical signal (the second multiplexer 220 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l1 and l3), send the first optical signal (l1) to the first optical module of the core-layer network device (the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2), and send the second optical signal (l3) to the second optical module of the core-layer network device (the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4).
But, in Figures 1-3, Wang et al mainly shows that the passive aggregation-layer network device (multiplexer/demultiplexer) is used in 4G/5G system, Wang et al does not expressly disclose: the passive aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and connected respectively to a core-layer network device located in a data center equipment room and a plurality of access-layer network devices in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is located away from the data center equipment room.
However, to use a passive aggregation-network device (passive multiplexer/demultiplexer) in data center is known in the art. E.g., Xiao et al discloses a passive optical multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1-3 etc.), Xiao et al discloses “Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies can be used as components in passive optical networks (PON). A PON is a form of fiber-optic access network typically comprised of an optical line terminal (OLT) at a hub and a number of optical network units (ONU) near end users. Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies are one of a number of components such as circulators, isolators, and filters that can make up the PON” ([0006]), and “The present inventors have recognized that, because of limited space in data centers and the rapid growth of data traffic, there is an increasing need for capacity in optical communication systems. Increasing port density requires assemblies with ever smaller form factors. Integrating multiple components onto a single substrate is one of the key challenges facing miniaturization. Carefully locating and interrelating the components in a multiplexer/demultiplexer assembly can reduce the space required for the assembly and thus increase the number of assemblies and data rate of a given PON”. That is, Xiao et al teaches/suggests to use multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies in data center or PON access network. And reference Yan et al discloses that fibers are used in data center, and multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies (e.g., CAWG etc.) are used at the aggregation-layer (or convergence layer) (Figures 1 and 3 etc., [0004]-[0005]) in a data center 3-layer hierarchy. Another prior art, Kilper et al discloses a fiber-optic access network (a PON, Figure 7 etc.), which can be used in data center ([0002]), and the ONUs are in access-layer ([0015]-[0019 and [0038]-[0042] etc.), and the aggregation-layer (optical system node 500) contains a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (530) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (550/560; [0039], “The mux/demux 550 is coupled to one or more arrayed waveguide gratings (AWGs) 560, and can have a multi-branch optical tree configuration. The mux/demux 550 can be optional in the case that only a single AWG 560 is present. Each AWG 560 multiplexes channels of several wavelengths from end users onto a single optical fiber (upstream) and de-multiplexes signals on the single optical fiber into individual channels of different wavelengths for transmission to end users (downstream)”), and an optical fiber (535) connects the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer; that is, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node (the optical system node 500).
Also, AAPA discloses “In a conventional three-layer network networking mode, a three-layer network includes a core layer, an aggregation layer, and an access layer. … . For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”; AAPA indicates a data center, and multiple buildings; and the data center and the multiple buildings are different, or the data center is separated or away from the buildings. That is, the AAPA discloses that the aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room and access-layer network device is in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room.
Wang et al discloses a multi wavelength division multiplexing (MWDM) optical communication network, and wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation device; Xiao et al discloses that multiplexers/demultiplexers can be used in data center as an aggregation-layer device to save space etc., Yan discloses that wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation layer between a core-layer device and a plurality of access-layer device; and Kilper et al discloses that the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node; and AAPA discloses that an aggregation-layer network device is located in a building in which access-layer network device is located, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room, and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA with Wang et al so that a simple optical multi wavelength multiplexer/demultiplexer structure can be used as an aggregation-layer device between a core-layer device and access-network devices in a three-layer data center system, so to reduce the system complexity, save space in equipment room, increase system capacity, and make the maintenance easier.
2). With regard to claim 2, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (e.g., Wang: 220. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3) is configured to receive a third optical signal (Wang: l2) sent by the first optical module of the core-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2) and a fourth optical signal (Wang: l4) sent by the second optical module of the core-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4), couple the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal to obtain a second coupled optical signal (Wang: the multiplexer 220 multiplexes/couples the third optical signal l2 and the fourth optical signal l4 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and send the second coupled optical signal to the first multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Wang: Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted from 220 over the fiber to the first multiplexer 120. Also refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3); and
the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (Wang: 120) is configured to decouple the second coupled optical signal to obtain the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal (Wang: the first multiplexer 120 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l2 and l4), send the third optical signal (Wang: l2) to the optical module of the first access-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2), and send the fourth optical signal (l4) to the optical module of the second access-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4).
3). With regard to claim 3, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein
the optical module of the first access-layer network device has a first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) and a first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2), and the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1267.5 nm) and the first receive center wavelength (Wang: 1274.5 nm) are different (Wang: refer Table 1 in [0025] of the original disclosure. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3);
the optical module of the second access-layer network device has a second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) and a second receive center wavelength (Wang: l4), and the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1287.5 nm) and the second receive center wavelength (Wang: 1294.5 nm) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first optical module of the core-layer network device has a third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2) and a third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1), and the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1274.5 nm) and the third receive center wavelength (Wang: 1267.5 nm) are different; and
the second optical module of the core-layer network device has a fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4) and a fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3), and the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1294.5 nm) and the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: 1287.5 nm) are different.
4). With regard to claim 4, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) and the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2) and the second receive center wavelength (Wang: l4) are different;
the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2) and the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4) are different; and
the third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1) and the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3).
5). With regard to claim 5, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) corresponds to the third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1);
the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) corresponds to the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3);
the first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2) corresponds to the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2); and
the second receive center wavelengths (Wang: l4) corresponds to the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4. Also refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
6). With regard to claim 6, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a coarse wavelength division multiplexer (Wang: refer Table 1 in [0025] of the original disclosure; and [0029]-[0031] of the machine translation), or the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a dense wavelength division multiplexer (refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
7). With regard to claim 7, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA discloses all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises a plurality of aggregation modules (Wang: Figures 1-3. Yan: Figure 2, second layer from the top. Figure 3, the aggregation-layer device 2a – 2m. Figure 4, CAWG2b1/5b1 and CAWG2b2/5b2. Figures 6-8: 2a1/5a1 and 2a2/5a2. [0044], “A cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (CAWG), also known as an AWG router or cyclic interleaver, is a wavelength-based N*N cyclic multiplexer/demultiplexer that can send wavelengths from different inlets to different outlets in a cyclic manner”. Also having a core-layer device, Figure 1, top unit; Figures 3-8, the core-layer device 1, and access-layer devices: Figure 1, the third layer from the top. Figures 3-8, the access-layer devices 4); and the plurality of aggregation modules comprise a first aggregation module (Yan: e.g., Figures 6-8, 2a1/5a1) and a second aggregation module (Yan: e.g., Figures 6-8, 2a2/5a2), the first aggregation module comprises a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: 2a1) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: 5a1), and a first optical fiber connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: fiber between the 2a1 and 5a1, “solid line arrow” in Figures 6-8; [0044], [0053] and [0083]-[0084]), and the second aggregation module comprises a third multiplexer/demultiplexer (2a2) and a fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer (5a2), and a second optical fiber connecting the third multiplexer/demultiplexer with the fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: fiber between the 2a1 and 5a1, “dotted arrow” in Figures 6-8; [0044], [0053] and [0083]-[0084]); and the first and second aggregation modules are between the core layer and the access-layer (“1” and “4”).
And more, the claimed second aggregation module is just a “duplication of parts”.
As shown above, as the “parts” disclosed by Wang et al are duplicated, “a plurality of aggregation modules” are obtained; and the plurality of aggregation modules comprise a first aggregation module (the first Mux/Demux, second Mux/Demux and first fiber) and a second aggregation module (the third Mux/Demux, fourth Mux/Demux and second fiber), the first aggregation module comprises the first multiplexer/demultiplexer, the second multiplexer/demultiplexer, and the first optical fiber connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer, and the second aggregation module comprises a third multiplexer/demultiplexer, a fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer, and a second optical fiber connecting the third multiplexer/demultiplexer with the fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer. Then, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. And, a bi-directional optical communication system can be obtained by just duplicating parts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple aggregation modules for more access layer devices to increase system capacity and facilitate bi-directional optical communications between core-layer and access-layer, and the function of the system/method is enhanced.
8). With regard to claim 8, Wang et al discloses a network system (Figures 1-3, the combination of the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber between the multiplexers 120/220; [0022] etc.: “achieve the coexistence of 4G networks and 5G networks and the upgrade to 5G networks without changing the existing wavelength division multiplexers in use and without increasing the number of optical fibers”. Note: an access layer is a part of a network and enables end users to connect to the network; therefore, Figures 1-3, the RRU and AAU, which are components of a radio access Network (RAN), which is access layer of a cellular network, belong to access layer; the aggregation layer is defined as a middle layer that facilitates simplified communication between the various parts of the network, focusing on efficient data integration, efficiently combines traffic from the access layer, ensuring resource optimization, then the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber belong to the aggregation layer; and a core layer is the backbone of the network, which is responsible for transmitting data between the various parts of the network at high speed and high efficiency; therefore, the all BBU/DU in Figure 1 can be viewed as a core layer. And the multiplexers 120/220 are passive device and have no power supplying, therefore, the multiplexers 120/220 is a passive aggregation-layer), wherein the network system comprises a core-layer network device (e.g., the all BBU/DU), a passive aggregation-layer network device (Figure 1, the combination of the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber between the multiplexers 120/220. And the multiplexers 120/220 are passive device and have no power supplying, therefore, the multiplexers 120/220 is a passive aggregation-layer), a first access-layer network device (e.g., the RRU and AAU in Figure 1; and RRU(4G) l1/l2 is the first access-layer network device), and a second access-layer network device (RRU(4G) l3/l4), wherein the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises:
a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (120) comprising:
a first optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the RRU(4G) l1/l2) connected to an optical module (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2, [0029]) of the first access-layer network device (the RRU(4G) l1/l2; [0034]-[0038] etc.), and
a second optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the RRU(4G) l3/l4) connected to an optical module (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4) of the second access-layer network device (the RRU(4G) l3/l4; [0034]-[0038] etc.);
a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (220) comprising:
a third optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the BBU/DU l1/l2) connected to a first optical module (the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2) of the core-layer network device (the combination of the six BBU/DU), and
a fourth optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the BBU/DU l3/l4) connected to a second optical module (the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4) of the core-layer network device (the combination of the six BBU/DU); and
a first optical fiber (the fiber between the multiplexer 120 and multiplexer 220) connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1);
wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is configured to receive a first optical signal (l1) sent by the optical module of the first access-layer network device (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2) and a second optical signal (l3) sent by the optical module of the second access-layer network device (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4), couple the first optical signal and the second optical signal to obtain a first coupled optical signal (the multiplexer 120 multiplexes/couples the first optical signal l1 and the second optical signal l3 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and send the first coupled optical signal to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted over the fiber to the second multiplexer 220); and
the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (220) is configured to decouple the first coupled optical signal to obtain the first optical signal and the second optical signal (the second multiplexer 220 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l1 and l3), send the first optical signal (l1) to the first optical module of the core-layer network device (the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2), and send the second optical signal (l3) to the second optical module of the core-layer network device (the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4).
But, in Figures 1-3, Wang et al mainly shows that the passive aggregation-layer network device (multiplexer/demultiplexer) is used in 4G/5G system, Wang et al does not expressly disclose: the core-layer network device located in a data center equipment room, the passive aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the first and second access-layer network devices are located in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is located away from the data center equipment room.
However, to use a passive aggregation-network device (passive multiplexer/demultiplexer) in data center is known in the art. E.g., Xiao et al discloses a passive optical multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1-3 etc.), Xiao et al discloses “Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies can be used as components in passive optical networks (PON). A PON is a form of fiber-optic access network typically comprised of an optical line terminal (OLT) at a hub and a number of optical network units (ONU) near end users. Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies are one of a number of components such as circulators, isolators, and filters that can make up the PON” ([0006]), and “The present inventors have recognized that, because of limited space in data centers and the rapid growth of data traffic, there is an increasing need for capacity in optical communication systems. Increasing port density requires assemblies with ever smaller form factors. Integrating multiple components onto a single substrate is one of the key challenges facing miniaturization. Carefully locating and interrelating the components in a multiplexer/demultiplexer assembly can reduce the space required for the assembly and thus increase the number of assemblies and data rate of a given PON”. That is, Xiao et al teaches/suggests to use multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies in data center or PON access network. And reference Yan et al discloses that fibers are used in data center, and multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies (e.g., CAWG etc.) are used at the aggregation-layer (or convergence layer) (Figures 1 and 3, [0004]-[0005]) in a data center 3-layer hierarchy. Another prior art, Kilper et al discloses a fiber-optic access network (a PON, Figure 7 etc.), which can be used in data center ([0002]), and the ONUs are in access-layer ([0015]-[0019 and [0038]-[0042] etc.), and the aggregation-layer (optical system node 500) contains a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (530) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (550/560; [0039], “The mux/demux 550 is coupled to one or more arrayed waveguide gratings (AWGs) 560, and can have a multi-branch optical tree configuration. The mux/demux 550 can be optional in the case that only a single AWG 560 is present. Each AWG 560 multiplexes channels of several wavelengths from end users onto a single optical fiber (upstream) and de-multiplexes signals on the single optical fiber into individual channels of different wavelengths for transmission to end users (downstream)”), and an optical fiber (535) connects the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer; that is, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node (the optical system node 500).
Also, AAPA discloses “In a conventional three-layer network networking mode, a three-layer network includes a core layer, an aggregation layer, and an access layer. … . For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”; AAPA indicates a data center, and multiple buildings; and the data center and the multiple buildings are different, or the data center is separated or away from the buildings. That is, the AAPA discloses that the aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room and access-layer network device is in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room.
Wang et al discloses a multi wavelength division multiplexing (MWDM) optical communication network, and wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation device; Xiao et al discloses that multiplexers/demultiplexers can be used in data center as an aggregation-layer device to save space etc., Yan discloses that wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation layer between a core-layer device and a plurality of access-layer device; and Kilper et al discloses that the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node; and AAPA discloses that an aggregation-layer network device is located in a building in which access-layer network device is located, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room, and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA with Wang et al so that a simple optical multi wavelength multiplexer/demultiplexer structure can be used as an aggregation-layer device between a core-layer device and access-network devices in a three-layer data center system, so to reduce the system complexity, save space in equipment room, increase system capacity, and make the maintenance easier.
9). With regard to claim 9, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (e.g., Wang: 220. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3) is configured to receive a third optical signal (Wang: l2) sent by the first optical module of the core-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2) and a fourth optical signal (Wang: l4) sent by the second optical module of the core-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4), couple the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal to obtain a second coupled optical signal (Wang: the multiplexer 220 multiplexes/couples the third optical signal l2 and the fourth optical signal l4 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and send the second coupled optical signal to the first multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Wang: Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted from 220 over the fiber to the first multiplexer 120. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3); and
the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (Wang: 120) is configured to decouple the second coupled optical signal to obtain the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal (Wang: the first multiplexer 120 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l2 and l4), send the third optical signal (Wang: l2) to the optical module of the first access-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2), and send the fourth optical signal (Wang: l4) to the optical module of the second access-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4).
10). With regard to claim 10, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein
the optical module of the first access-layer network device has a first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) and a first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2), and the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1267.5 nm) and the first receive center wavelength (Wang: 1274.5 nm) are different (Wang: refer Table 1 in [0025] of the original disclosure);
the optical module of the second access-layer network device has a second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) and a second receive center wavelength (Wang: l4), and the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1287.5 nm) and the second receive center wavelength (Wang: 1294.5 nm) are different;
the first optical module of the core-layer network device has a third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2) and a third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1), and the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1274.5 nm) and the third receive center wavelength (Wang: 1267.5 nm) are different; and
the second optical module of the core-layer network device has a fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4) and a fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3), and the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1294.5) and the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: 1287.5 nm) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3).
11). With regard to claim 11, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 8 and 10 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) and the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2) and the second receive center wavelength (Wang: l4) are different;
the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2) and the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4) are different; and
the third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1) and the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
12). With regard to claim 12, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 8 and 10 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) corresponds to the third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1);
the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) corresponds to the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3);
the first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2) corresponds to the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2); and
the second receive center wavelengths (Wang: l4) corresponds to the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4. Also refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
13). With regard to claim 13, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a coarse wavelength division multiplexer (Wang: refer Table 1 in [0025] of the original disclosure; and [0029]-[0031] of the machine translation), or the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a dense wavelength division multiplexer (refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
14). With regard to claim 14, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA discloses all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above. And the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises a plurality of aggregation modules (Wang: Figures 1-3. Yan: Figure 2, second layer from the top. Figure 3, the aggregation-layer device 2a – 2m. Figure 4, CAWG2b1/5b1 and CAWG2b2/5b2. Figures 6-8: 2a1/5a1 and 2a2/5a2. [0044], “A cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (CAWG), also known as an AWG router or cyclic interleaver, is a wavelength-based N*N cyclic multiplexer/demultiplexer that can send wavelengths from different inlets to different outlets in a cyclic manner”. Also having a core-layer device, Figure 1, top unit; Figures 3-8, the core-layer device 1, and access-layer devices: Figure 1, the third layer from the top. Figures 3-8, the access-layer devices 4); and the plurality of aggregation modules comprise a first aggregation module (Yan: e.g., Figures 6-8, 2a1/5a1) and a second aggregation module (Yan: e.g., Figures 6-8, 2a2/5a2), the first aggregation module comprises a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: 2a1) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: 5a1), and a first optical fiber connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: fiber between the 2a1 and 5a1, “solid line arrow” in Figures 6-8; [0044], [0053] and [0083]-[0084]), and the second aggregation module comprises a third multiplexer/demultiplexer (2a2) and a fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer (5a2), and a second optical fiber connecting the third multiplexer/demultiplexer with the fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: fiber between the 2a1 and 5a1, “dotted arrow” in Figures 6-8; [0044], [0053] and [0083]-[0084]); and the first and second aggregation modules are between the core layer and the access-layer (“1” and “4”).
And more, the claimed second aggregation module is just a “duplication of parts”.
As shown above, as the “parts” disclosed by Wang et al are duplicated, “a plurality of aggregation modules” are obtained; and the plurality of aggregation modules comprise a first aggregation module (the first Mux/Demux, second Mux/Demux and first fiber) and a second aggregation module (the third Mux/Demux, fourth Mux/Demux and second fiber), the first aggregation module comprises the first multiplexer/demultiplexer, the second multiplexer/demultiplexer, and the first optical fiber connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer, and the second aggregation module comprises a third multiplexer/demultiplexer, a fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer, and a second optical fiber connecting the third multiplexer/demultiplexer with the fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer. Then, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. And, a bi-directional optical communication system can be obtained by just duplicating parts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple aggregation modules for more access layer devices to increase system capacity and facilitate bi-directional optical communications between core-layer and access-layer, and the function of the system/method is enhanced.
15). With regard to claim 15, Wang et al discloses a working method for a passive aggregation-layer network device (Figures 1-3, the combination of the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber between the multiplexers 120/220; [0022] etc.: “achieve the coexistence of 4G networks and 5G networks and the upgrade to 5G networks without changing the existing wavelength division multiplexers in use and without increasing the number of optical fibers”. Note: an access layer is a part of a network and enables end users to connect to the network; therefore, Figures 1-3, the RRU and AAU, which are components of a radio access Network (RAN), which is access layer of a cellular network, belong to access layer; the aggregation layer is defined as a middle layer that facilitates simplified communication between the various parts of the network, focusing on efficient data integration, efficiently combines traffic from the access layer, ensuring resource optimization, then the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber belong to the aggregation layer; and a core layer is the backbone of the network, which is responsible for transmitting data between the various parts of the network at high speed and high efficiency; therefore, the mutiple BBU/DU in Figure 1 can be viewed as a core layer. And the multiplexers 120/220 are passive device and have no power supplying, therefore, the multiplexers 120/220 is a passive aggregation-layer), wherein the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (120), a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (220), and a first optical fiber (the fiber between the multiplexer 120 and multiplexer 220) connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is connected to an optical module (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2, [0029]) of a first access-layer network device (the RRU(4G) l1/l2, [0029], [0034]-[0038] etc.) and an optical module (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4) of a second access-layer network device (the RRU(4G) l3/l4; [0034]-[0038] etc.), the second multiplexer/demultiplexer is connected to a first optical module (the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2) and a second optical module (the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4) of a core-layer network device (e.g., all six BBU/DU), and the working method for the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises:
receiving, by the first multiplexer/demultiplexer, a first optical signal (l1) sent by the optical module of the first access-layer network device (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2) and a second optical signal (l3) sent by the optical module of the second access-layer network device (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4), coupling the first optical signal and the second optical signal to obtain a first coupled optical signal (the multiplexer 120 multiplexes/couples the first optical signal l1 and the second optical signal l3 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and sending the first coupled optical signal to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the optical fiber (Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted over the fiber to the second multiplexer 220); and
decoupling, by the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (220), the first coupled optical signal to obtain the first optical signal and the second optical signal (the second multiplexer 220 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l1 and l3), sending the first optical signal (l1) to the first optical module of the core-layer network device (the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2), and sending the second optical signal (l3) to the second optical module of the core-layer network device (the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4).
But, in Figures 1-3, Wang et al mainly shows that the passive aggregation-layer network device (multiplexer/demultiplexer) is used in 4G/5G system, Wang et al does not expressly disclose: the passive aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the first and second access-layer network devices are in the building, the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is located away from the data center equipment room.
However, to use a passive aggregation-network device (passive multiplexer/demultiplexer) in data center is known in the art. E.g., Xiao et al discloses a passive optical multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1-3 etc.), Xiao et al discloses “Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies can be used as components in passive optical networks (PON). A PON is a form of fiber-optic access network typically comprised of an optical line terminal (OLT) at a hub and a number of optical network units (ONU) near end users. Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies are one of a number of components such as circulators, isolators, and filters that can make up the PON” ([0006]), and “The present inventors have recognized that, because of limited space in data centers and the rapid growth of data traffic, there is an increasing need for capacity in optical communication systems. Increasing port density requires assemblies with ever smaller form factors. Integrating multiple components onto a single substrate is one of the key challenges facing miniaturization. Carefully locating and interrelating the components in a multiplexer/demultiplexer assembly can reduce the space required for the assembly and thus increase the number of assemblies and data rate of a given PON”. That is, Xiao et al teaches/suggests to use multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies in data center or PON access network. And reference Yan et al discloses that fibers are used in data center, and multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies (e.g., CAWG etc.) are used at the aggregation-layer (or convergence layer) (Figures 1 and 3, [0004]-[0005]) in a data center 3-layer hierarchy. Another prior art, Kilper et al discloses a fiber-optic access network (a PON, Figure 7 etc.), which can be used in data center ([0002]), and the ONUs are in access-layer ([0015]-[0019 and [0038]-[0042] etc.), and the aggregation-layer (optical system node 500) contains a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (530) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (550/560; [0039], “The mux/demux 550 is coupled to one or more arrayed waveguide gratings (AWGs) 560, and can have a multi-branch optical tree configuration. The mux/demux 550 can be optional in the case that only a single AWG 560 is present. Each AWG 560 multiplexes channels of several wavelengths from end users onto a single optical fiber (upstream) and de-multiplexes signals on the single optical fiber into individual channels of different wavelengths for transmission to end users (downstream)”), and an optical fiber (535) connects the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer; that is, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node (the optical system node 500).
Also, AAPA discloses “In a conventional three-layer network networking mode, a three-layer network includes a core layer, an aggregation layer, and an access layer. … . For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”; AAPA indicates a data center, and multiple buildings; and the data center and the multiple buildings are different, or the data center is separated or away from the buildings. That is, the AAPA discloses that the aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room and access-layer network device is in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room.
Wang et al discloses a multi wavelength division multiplexing (MWDM) optical communication network, and wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation device; Xiao et al discloses that multiplexers/demultiplexers can be used in data center as an aggregation-layer device to save space etc., Yan discloses that wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation layer between a core-layer device and a plurality of access-layer device; and Kilper et al discloses that the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node; and AAPA discloses that an aggregation-layer network device is located in a building in which access-layer network device is located, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room, and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA with Wang et al so that a simple optical multi wavelength multiplexer/demultiplexer structure can be used as an aggregation-layer device between a core-layer device and access-network devices in a three-layer data center system, so to reduce the system complexity, save space in equipment room, increase system capacity, and make the maintenance easier.
16). With regard to claim 16, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses the working method for the passive aggregation-layer network device according to claim 15, comprising:
receiving, by the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (e.g., Wang: 220. Also refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3), a third optical signal (Wang: l2) sent by the first optical module of the core-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2) and a fourth optical signal (Wang: l4) sent by the second optical module of the core-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4), coupling the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal to obtain a second coupled optical signal (Wang: the multiplexer 220 multiplexes/couples the third optical signal l2 and the fourth optical signal l4 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and sending the second coupled optical signal to the first multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the optical fiber (Wang: Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted from 220 over the fiber to the first multiplexer 120. Also refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3); and
decoupling, by the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (Wang: 120), the second coupled optical signal to obtain the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal (Wang: the first multiplexer 120 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l2 and l4), sending the third optical signal (Wang: l2) to the optical module of the first access-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2), and sending the fourth optical signal (Wang: l4) to the optical module of the second access-layer network device (Wang: the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4).
17). With regard to claim 17, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein
the optical module of the first access-layer network device has a first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) and a first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2), and the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1267.5 nm) and the first receive center wavelength (Wang: 1274.5 nm) are different (Wang: refer Table 1 in [0025] of the original disclosure. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3);
the optical module of the second access-layer network device has a second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) and a second receive center wavelength (Wang: l4), and the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1287.5 nm) and the second receive center wavelength (Wang: 1294.5 nm) are different;
the first optical module of the core-layer network device has a third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2) and a third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1), and the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1274.5 nm) and the third receive center wavelength (Wang: 1267.5 nm) are different; and
the second optical module of the core-layer network device has a fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4) and a fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3), and the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: 1294.5) and the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: 1287.5 nm) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3).
18). With regard to claim 18, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 15 and 17 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) and the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2) and the second receive center wavelength (Wang: l4) are different;
the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2) and the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4) are different; and
the third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1) and the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
19). With regard to claim 19, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 15 and 17 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Wang: l1) corresponds to the third receive center wavelength (Wang: l1);
the second transmit center wavelength (Wang: l3) corresponds to the fourth receive center wavelength (Wang: l3);
the first receive center wavelength (Wang: l2) corresponds to the third transmit center wavelength (Wang: l2); and
the second receive center wavelengths (Wang: l4) corresponds to the fourth transmit center wavelength (Wang: l4. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3).
20). With regard to claim 20, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a coarse wavelength division multiplexer (Wang: refer Table 1 in [0025] of the original disclosure; and [0029]-[0031] of the machine translation), or the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a dense wavelength division multiplexer (refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
21). With regard to claim 21, Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Wang et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the access-layer network devices are deployed in one or more rooms of the building (AAPA: [0003], “the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”), the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is deployed on a floor in the building (AAPA: [0003], “the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus”, it is obvious that the aggregation-layer network device is on a floor in the building), and the building is away from the data center equipment room (AAPA: [0003], “For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”, the data center equipment room of the campus is different from the one or more buildings).
22). With regard to claim 22, Wang et al discloses a passive aggregation-layer network device (Figures 1-3, the combination of the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber between the multiplexers 120/220; [0022] etc.: “achieve the coexistence of 4G networks and 5G networks and the upgrade to 5G networks without changing the existing wavelength division multiplexers in use and without increasing the number of optical fibers”. Note: an access layer is a part of a network and enables end users to connect to the network; therefore, Figures 1-3, the RRU and AAU, which are components of a radio access Network (RAN), which is access layer of a cellular network, belong to access layer; the aggregation layer is defined as a middle layer that facilitates simplified communication between the various parts of the network, focusing on efficient data integration, efficiently combines traffic from the access layer, ensuring resource optimization, then the multiplexers 120/220 and the fiber belong to the aggregation layer; and a core layer is the backbone of the network, which is responsible for transmitting data between the various parts of the network at high speed and high efficiency; therefore, the combination of the mutiple BBU/DU in Figure 1 can be viewed as a core layer. And the multiplexers 120/220 are passive device and have no power supplying, therefore, the multiplexers 120/220 is a passive aggregation-layer), connected respectively to a core-layer network device (the combination of the BBUs/DUs) and a plurality of access-layer network devices (e.g., the RRU and AAU), comprising:
a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (120) comprising:
a first optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the RRU(4G) l1/l2) connected to an optical module (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2, [0029]) of a first access-layer network device (the RRU(4G) l1/l2; [0034]-[0038] etc.), and
a second optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the RRU(4G) l3/l4) connected to an optical module (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4) of a second access-layer network device (the RRU(4G) l3/l4; [0034]-[0038] etc.);
a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (220) comprising:
a third optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the BBU/DU l1/l2) connected to a first optical module (the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2) of a core-layer network device (the combination of the all six BBU/DU), and
a fourth optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the BBU/DU l3/l4) connected to a second optical module (the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4) of the core-layer network device (the combination of the all six BBU/DU); and
a first optical fiber (the fiber between the multiplexer 120 and multiplexer 220) connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1);
wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is configured to receive a first optical signal (l1) sent by the optical module of the first access-layer network device (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l1/l2) and a second optical signal (l3) sent by the optical module of the second access-layer network device (the optical module in the RRU(4G) l3/l4), couple the first optical signal and the second optical signal to obtain a first coupled optical signal (the multiplexer 120 multiplexes/couples the first optical signal l1 and the second optical signal l3 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and send the first coupled optical signal to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted over the fiber to the second multiplexer 220); and
the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (220) is configured to decouple the first coupled optical signal to obtain the first optical signal and the second optical signal (the second multiplexer 220 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l1 and l3), send the first optical signal (l1) to the first optical module of the core-layer network device (the optical module in the BBU/DU l1/l2), and send the second optical signal (l3) to the second optical module of the core-layer network device (the optical module in the BBU/DU l3/l4).
But, in Figures 1-3, Wang et al mainly shows that the passive aggregation-layer network device (multiplexer/demultiplexer) is used in 4G/5G system, Wang et al does not expressly disclose: the passive aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and connected respectively to a core-layer network device located in a data center equipment room and a plurality of access-layer network devices in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is located away from the data center equipment room; wherein each of the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer comprises a filter having a center wavelength, and three ports comprising a common port, a transmission port, and a reflection port, wherein the transmission port is located at one side of the filter, and the reflection port and the common port are both located at another side of the filter.
Regarding the data center etc., however, to use a passive aggregation-network device (passive multiplexer/demultiplexer) in data center is known in the art. E.g., Xiao et al discloses a passive optical multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1-3 etc.), Xiao et al discloses “Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies can be used as components in passive optical networks (PON). A PON is a form of fiber-optic access network typically comprised of an optical line terminal (OLT) at a hub and a number of optical network units (ONU) near end users. Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies are one of a number of components such as circulators, isolators, and filters that can make up the PON” ([0006]), and “The present inventors have recognized that, because of limited space in data centers and the rapid growth of data traffic, there is an increasing need for capacity in optical communication systems. Increasing port density requires assemblies with ever smaller form factors. Integrating multiple components onto a single substrate is one of the key challenges facing miniaturization. Carefully locating and interrelating the components in a multiplexer/demultiplexer assembly can reduce the space required for the assembly and thus increase the number of assemblies and data rate of a given PON”. That is, Xiao et al teaches/suggests to use multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies in data center or PON access network. And reference Yan et al discloses that fibers are used in data center, and multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies (e.g., CAWG etc.) are used at the aggregation-layer (or convergence layer) (Figures 1 and 3 etc., [0004]-[0005]) in a data center 3-layer hierarchy. Another prior art, Kilper et al discloses a fiber-optic access network (a PON, Figure 7 etc.), which can be used in data center ([0002]), and the ONUs are in access-layer ([0015]-[0019 and [0038]-[0042] etc.), and the aggregation-layer (optical system node 500) contains a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (530) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (550/560; [0039], “The mux/demux 550 is coupled to one or more arrayed waveguide gratings (AWGs) 560, and can have a multi-branch optical tree configuration. The mux/demux 550 can be optional in the case that only a single AWG 560 is present. Each AWG 560 multiplexes channels of several wavelengths from end users onto a single optical fiber (upstream) and de-multiplexes signals on the single optical fiber into individual channels of different wavelengths for transmission to end users (downstream)”), and an optical fiber (535) connects the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer; that is, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node (the optical system node 500).
Also, AAPA discloses “In a conventional three-layer network networking mode, a three-layer network includes a core layer, an aggregation layer, and an access layer. … . For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”; AAPA indicates a data center, and multiple buildings; and the data center and the multiple buildings are different, or the data center is separated or away from the buildings. That is, the AAPA discloses that the aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room and access-layer network device is in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room.
Regarding the multiplexer/demultiplexer comprising a filter, however, it is well-known in the art that optical thin-film filters are used for wavelength division multiplexer/demultiplexer. And common port, reflection port and transmission port are fundamental entities of a thin-film filter: the common port is the main interface where multi-wavelength light enters or exits the filter assembly, the reflection port handles the wavelengths that are rejected by the thin-film coating, and the transmission port (or pass port) handles the wavelengths that successfully pass through the filter. As shown in Figures 1 and 3 etc., Xiao et al discloses that thin-film filters are used to form a multiplexer/demultiplexer.
Portions of the Figures 1 and 3 of Xiao et al are replotted in above figure to show the three ports of a filter. The filter has a center wavelength (center of a passband wavelength, [0027], [0041]-[0043], [0045] and [0050]), and three ports comprising a common port (e.g., the port for receiving the multiplexed signal from 101 or 108; e.g., multiplexed signal with wavelengths lT and lR; [0027], “a multiplexed optical signal 101 entering the signal-routing block 50 through the common port 10”), a transmission port (for the wavelength that can pass through the filter; e.g., “wavelength-selective transmission”, lT; [0027]), and a reflection port (for the wavelength that is reflected by the filter; e.g., “wavelength-selective … reflection”, lR; [0027]), wherein the transmission port is located at one side of the filter (near 20a in the figure above; left side of the filter), and the reflection port and the common port are both located at another side of the filter (Figures 1 and 3, or figure above; right side of the filter. [0027], [0041]-[0043], [0045] and [0050]).
Wang et al discloses a multi wavelength division multiplexing (MWDM) optical communication network, and wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation device; Xiao et al discloses that multiplexers/demultiplexers can be used in data center as an aggregation-layer device to save space etc., and thin-film filters used for the multiplexer/demultiplexer, Yan discloses that wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation layer between a core-layer device and a plurality of access-layer device; and Kilper et al discloses that the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node; and AAPA discloses that an aggregation-layer network device is located in a building in which access-layer network device is located, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room, and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA with Wang et al so that thin-film filters are used to form a multiplexer/demultiplexer, and then an aggregation-layer device having a simple structure can be utilized and implemented between a core-layer device and access-network devices in a three-layer data center system, so to reduce the system complexity and cost (thin-film filter is cost-effective device), lower insertion loss (thin-film filter has a low insertion loss), save space in equipment room, increase system capacity, and make the maintenance easier.
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama et al (JP 2006279680. English machine translation is provided) in view of Xiao et al (US 2017/0184789) and Yan (US 2015/0312657) and Kilper et al (US 2017/0279557) and Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA: [0003]-[0004]).
1). With regard to claim 1, Matsuyama et al discloses a passive aggregation-layer network device (Figures 1 and 3-4 etc, the combination of the multiplexers/demultiplexers 40 and 50, and the fiber Fc; [0022] etc.; the PONs shown in Figures 1 and 3-4 are “optical access network”, then, the OLTs are the core-layer network device, the multiplexer/demultiplexer 40/50 is the aggregation layer network device, and the ONU is the access-layer network device), connected respectively to a core-layer network device (the OLTs) and a plurality of access-layer network devices (e.g., the ONUs), comprising:
a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (50) comprising:
a first optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the ONU group G1, or for l1) connected to an optical module (an ONU in G1) of a first access-layer network device (G1), and
a second optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the ONU group G2, or for l2) connected to an optical module (an ONU in G2) of a second access-layer network device (G2);
a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (40) comprising:
a third optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the OLT 10-1 for l1) connected to a first optical module (OLT 10-1) of a core-layer network device (the combination of the all OLTs 10-1 to 10-n), and
a fourth optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the OLT 10-2 for l2) connected to a second optical module (OLT 10-2) of the core-layer network device; and
a first optical fiber (“Fc”) connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figures 1 and 3-4);
wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is configured to receive a first optical signal (ln+1) sent by the optical module of the first access-layer network device (the ONU in G1) and a second optical signal (ln+2) sent by the optical module of the second access-layer network device (the ONU in G2), couple the first optical signal and the second optical signal to obtain a first coupled optical signal (by the multiplexer/demultiplexer 50), and send the first coupled optical signal to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted over the fiber to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer 40); and
the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (40) is configured to decouple the first coupled optical signal to obtain the first optical signal and the second optical signal, send the first optical signal (ln+1) to the first optical module of the core-layer network device (the OLT 10-1), and send the second optical signal (ln+2) to the second optical module of the core-layer network device (the OLT 10-2).
But, Matsuyama et al does not expressly disclose: the passive aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and connected respectively to a core-layer network device located in a data center equipment room and a plurality of access-layer network devices in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is located away from the data center equipment room.
However, to use a passive aggregation-network device (passive multiplexer/demultiplexer) in data center is known in the art. E.g., Xiao et al discloses a passive optical multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1-3 etc.), Xiao et al discloses “Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies can be used as components in passive optical networks (PON). A PON is a form of fiber-optic access network typically comprised of an optical line terminal (OLT) at a hub and a number of optical network units (ONU) near end users. Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies are one of a number of components such as circulators, isolators, and filters that can make up the PON” ([0006]), and “The present inventors have recognized that, because of limited space in data centers and the rapid growth of data traffic, there is an increasing need for capacity in optical communication systems. Increasing port density requires assemblies with ever smaller form factors. Integrating multiple components onto a single substrate is one of the key challenges facing miniaturization. Carefully locating and interrelating the components in a multiplexer/demultiplexer assembly can reduce the space required for the assembly and thus increase the number of assemblies and data rate of a given PON”. That is, Xiao et al teaches/suggests to use multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies in data center or PON access network. And reference Yan et al discloses that fibers are used in data center, and multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies (e.g., CAWG etc.) are used at the aggregation-layer (or convergence layer) (Figures 1 and 3 etc., [0004]-[0005]) in a data center 3-layer hierarchy. Another prior art, Kilper et al discloses a fiber-optic access network (a PON, Figure 7 etc.), which can be used in data center ([0002]), and the ONUs are in access-layer ([0015]-[0019 and [0038]-[0042] etc.), and the aggregation-layer (optical system node 500) contains a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (530) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (550/560; [0039], “The mux/demux 550 is coupled to one or more arrayed waveguide gratings (AWGs) 560, and can have a multi-branch optical tree configuration. The mux/demux 550 can be optional in the case that only a single AWG 560 is present. Each AWG 560 multiplexes channels of several wavelengths from end users onto a single optical fiber (upstream) and de-multiplexes signals on the single optical fiber into individual channels of different wavelengths for transmission to end users (downstream)”), and an optical fiber (535) connects the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer; that is, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node (the optical system node 500).
Also, AAPA discloses “In a conventional three-layer network networking mode, a three-layer network includes a core layer, an aggregation layer, and an access layer. … . For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”; AAPA indicates a data center, and multiple buildings; and the data center and the multiple buildings are different, or the data center is separated or away from the buildings. That is, the AAPA discloses that the aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room and access-layer network device is in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room.
Matsuyama et al discloses a PON access network, and wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation device; Xiao et al discloses that multiplexers/demultiplexers can be used in data center as an aggregation-layer device to save space etc., Yan discloses that wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation layer between a core-layer device and a plurality of access-layer device; and Kilper et al discloses that the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node; and AAPA discloses that an aggregation-layer network device is located in a building in which access-layer network device is located, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room, and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA with Matsuyama et al so that a simple optical multi wavelength multiplexer/demultiplexer structure can be used as an aggregation-layer device between a core-layer device and access-network devices in a three-layer data center system, so to reduce the system complexity, save space in equipment room, increase system capacity, and make the maintenance easier.
2). With regard to claim 2, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (e.g., Matsuyama et al 40. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3) is configured to receive a third optical signal (Matsuyama: l1) sent by the first optical module of the core-layer network device (Matsuyama: OLT 10-1) and a fourth optical signal (Matsuyama: l2) sent by the second optical module of the core-layer network device (Matsuyama: OLT 10-2), couple the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal to obtain a second coupled optical signal (the multiplexer 40 multiplexes/couples the third optical signal l1 and the fourth optical signal l2 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and send the second coupled optical signal to the first multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Matsuyama: Figure 1 and 3-4, the multiplexed signal is transmitted from 40 over the fiber Fc to the first multiplexer 50. Also refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3); and
the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (50) is configured to decouple the second coupled optical signal to obtain the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal (50 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l1 and l2), send the third optical signal (l1) to the optical module of the first access-layer network device (ONU in G1), and send the fourth optical signal (l2) to the optical module of the second access-layer network device (ONU in G2).
3). With regard to claim 3, Matsuyama et al and and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein
the optical module of the first access-layer network device has a first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1) and a first receive center wavelength (l1), and the first transmit center wavelength (ln+1) and the first receive center wavelength (l1) are different (Figures 3, 5 and 8);
the optical module of the second access-layer network device has a second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) and a second receive center wavelength (l2), and the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) and the second receive center wavelength (l2) are different (Figures 3, 5 and 8; also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first optical module of the core-layer network device has a third transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: l1) and a third receive center wavelength (ln+1), and the third transmit center wavelength (l1) and the third receive center wavelength (ln+1) are different; and
the second optical module of the core-layer network device has a fourth transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: l2) and a fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2), and the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2) and the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2) are different.
4). With regard to claim 4, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1) and the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first receive center wavelength (l1) and the second receive center wavelength (l2) are different;
the third transmit center wavelength (l1) and the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2) are different; and
the third receive center wavelength (ln+1) and the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3).
5). With regard to claim 5, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1 from G1) corresponds to the third receive center wavelength (ln+1 received by OLT 10-1);
the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2 from G3) corresponds to the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2 received by OLT 10-2);
the first receive center wavelength (l1 received by G1) corresponds to the third transmit center wavelength (l1 transmitted by OLT 10-1); and
the second receive center wavelengths (l2 received by G2)corresponds to the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2 transmitted by OLT 10-2).
6). With regard to claim 6, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a coarse wavelength division multiplexer (Matsuyama: Figures 3 and 5), or the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a dense wavelength division multiplexer (refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
7). With regard to claim 7, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA discloses all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises a plurality of aggregation modules (Yan: Figure 2, second layer from the top. Figure 3, the aggregation-layer device 2a – 2m. Figure 4, CAWG2b1/5b1 and CAWG2b2/5b2. Figures 6-8: 2a1/5a1 and 2a2/5a2. [0044], “A cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (CAWG), also known as an AWG router or cyclic interleaver, is a wavelength-based N*N cyclic multiplexer/demultiplexer that can send wavelengths from different inlets to different outlets in a cyclic manner”. Also having a core-layer device, Figure 1, top unit; Figures 3-8, the core-layer device 1, and access-layer devices: Figure 1, the third layer from the top. Figures 3-8, the access-layer devices 4); and the plurality of aggregation modules comprise a first aggregation module (Yan: e.g., Figures 6-8, 2a1/5a1) and a second aggregation module (Yan: e.g., Figures 6-8, 2a2/5a2), the first aggregation module comprises a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: 2a1) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: 5a1), and a first optical fiber connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: fiber between the 2a1 and 5a1, “solid line arrow” in Figures 6-8; [0044], [0053] and [0083]-[0084]), and the second aggregation module comprises a third multiplexer/demultiplexer (2a2) and a fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer (5a2), and a second optical fiber connecting the third multiplexer/demultiplexer with the fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: fiber between the 2a1 and 5a1, “dotted arrow” in Figures 6-8; [0044], [0053] and [0083]-[0084]); and the first and second aggregation modules are between the core layer and the access-layer (“1” and “4”).
Also, as shown in Figures 1 and 3-4 of Matsuyama, each multiplexer/demultiplexer (40 or 50) performs two functions: multiplexing and demultiplexing: e.g., for multiplexer/demultiplexer 40, it multiplexes signals from OLTs, and demultiplexes signals from fiber Fs and sends the demultiplexed signals to OLTs; that is, the multiplexer/demultiplexer performs bi-directional signal transmissions. It is obvious to one skilled in the art that one pair of multiplexer/demultiplexer (a first aggregation module) can be used to transmit signals from OLTs to ONUs, and another pair of multiplexer/demultiplexer (a second aggregation module) can be used to transmit signals from ONUs to OLTs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use two aggregation modules for bi-directional optical communications to increase system capacity.
8). With regard to claim 8, Matsuyama et al discloses a network system (Figures 1 and 3-4 etc. [0022] etc.; the PONs shown in Figures 1 and 3-4 are “optical access network”, then, the OLTs are the core-layer network device, the multiplexer/demultiplexer 40/50 is the aggregation layer network device, and the ONU is the access-layer network device), wherein the network system comprises a core-layer network device (the OLTs), a passive aggregation-layer network device (the multiplexer/demultiplexer 40/50), a first access-layer network device (e.g., the RRU and AAU in Figure 1; and RRU(4G) l1/l2 is the first access-layer network device), and a second access-layer network device (e.g., the ONUs), wherein the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises:
a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (50) comprising:
a first optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the ONU group G1, or for l1) connected to an optical module (an ONU in G1) of a first access-layer network device (G1), and
a second optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the ONU group G2, or for l2) connected to an optical module (an ONU in G2) of a second access-layer network device (G2);
a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (40) comprising:
a third optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the OLT 10-1 for l1) connected to a first optical module (OLT 10-1) of a core-layer network device (the combination of the all OLTs 10-1 to 10-n), and
a fourth optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the OLT 10-2 for l2) connected to a second optical module (OLT 10-2) of the core-layer network device; and
a first optical fiber (“Fc”) connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figures 1 and 3-4);
wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is configured to receive a first optical signal (ln+1) sent by the optical module of the first access-layer network device (the ONU in G1) and a second optical signal (ln+2) sent by the optical module of the second access-layer network device (the ONU in G2), couple the first optical signal and the second optical signal to obtain a first coupled optical signal (by the multiplexer/demultiplexer 50), and send the first coupled optical signal to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted over the fiber to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer 40); and
the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (40) is configured to decouple the first coupled optical signal to obtain the first optical signal and the second optical signal, send the first optical signal (ln+1) to the first optical module of the core-layer network device (the OLT 10-1), and send the second optical signal (ln+2) to the second optical module of the core-layer network device (the OLT 10-2).
But Matsuyama et al does not expressly disclose: the core-layer network device located in a data center equipment room, the passive aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the first and second access-layer network devices are located in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is located away from the data center equipment room.
However, to use a passive aggregation-network device (passive multiplexer/demultiplexer) in data center is known in the art. E.g., Xiao et al discloses a passive optical multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1-3 etc.), Xiao et al discloses “Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies can be used as components in passive optical networks (PON). A PON is a form of fiber-optic access network typically comprised of an optical line terminal (OLT) at a hub and a number of optical network units (ONU) near end users. Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies are one of a number of components such as circulators, isolators, and filters that can make up the PON” ([0006]), and “The present inventors have recognized that, because of limited space in data centers and the rapid growth of data traffic, there is an increasing need for capacity in optical communication systems. Increasing port density requires assemblies with ever smaller form factors. Integrating multiple components onto a single substrate is one of the key challenges facing miniaturization. Carefully locating and interrelating the components in a multiplexer/demultiplexer assembly can reduce the space required for the assembly and thus increase the number of assemblies and data rate of a given PON”. That is, Xiao et al teaches/suggests to use multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies in data center or PON access network. And reference Yan et al discloses that fibers are used in data center, and multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies (e.g., CAWG etc.) are used at the aggregation-layer (or convergence layer) (Figures 1 and 3, [0004]-[0005]) in a data center 3-layer hierarchy. Another prior art, Kilper et al discloses a fiber-optic access network (a PON, Figure 7 etc.), which can be used in data center ([0002]), and the ONUs are in access-layer ([0015]-[0019 and [0038]-[0042] etc.), and the aggregation-layer (optical system node 500) contains a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (530) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (550/560; [0039], “The mux/demux 550 is coupled to one or more arrayed waveguide gratings (AWGs) 560, and can have a multi-branch optical tree configuration. The mux/demux 550 can be optional in the case that only a single AWG 560 is present. Each AWG 560 multiplexes channels of several wavelengths from end users onto a single optical fiber (upstream) and de-multiplexes signals on the single optical fiber into individual channels of different wavelengths for transmission to end users (downstream)”), and an optical fiber (535) connects the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer; that is, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node (the optical system node 500).
Also, AAPA discloses “In a conventional three-layer network networking mode, a three-layer network includes a core layer, an aggregation layer, and an access layer. … . For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”; AAPA indicates a data center, and multiple buildings; and the data center and the multiple buildings are different, or the data center is separated or away from the buildings. That is, the AAPA discloses that the aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room and access-layer network device is in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room.
Matsuyama et al discloses a PON access network, and wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation device; Xiao et al discloses that multiplexers/demultiplexers can be used in data center as an aggregation-layer device to save space etc., Yan discloses that wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation layer between a core-layer device and a plurality of access-layer device; and Kilper et al discloses that the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node; and AAPA discloses that an aggregation-layer network device is located in a building in which access-layer network device is located, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room, and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA with Matsuyama et al so that a simple optical multi wavelength multiplexer/demultiplexer structure can be used as an aggregation-layer device between a core-layer device and access-network devices in a three-layer data center system, so to reduce the system complexity, save space in equipment room, increase system capacity, and make the maintenance easier.
9). With regard to claim 9, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (e.g., Matsuyama et al 40. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3) is configured to receive a third optical signal (Matsuyama: l1) sent by the first optical module of the core-layer network device (Matsuyama: OLT 10-1) and a fourth optical signal (Matsuyama: l2) sent by the second optical module of the core-layer network device (Matsuyama: OLT 10-2), couple the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal to obtain a second coupled optical signal (the multiplexer 40 multiplexes/couples the third optical signal l1 and the fourth optical signal l2 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and send the second coupled optical signal to the first multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Matsuyama: Figure 1 and 3-4, the multiplexed signal is transmitted from 40 over the fiber Fc to the first multiplexer 50. Also refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3); and
the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (50) is configured to decouple the second coupled optical signal to obtain the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal (50 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l1 and l2), send the third optical signal (l1) to the optical module of the first access-layer network device (ONU in G1), and send the fourth optical signal (l2) to the optical module of the second access-layer network device (ONU in G2).
10). With regard to claim 10, Matsuyama et al and and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein
the optical module of the first access-layer network device has a first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1) and a first receive center wavelength (l1), and the first transmit center wavelength (ln+1) and the first receive center wavelength (l1) are different (Figures 3, 5 and 8);
the optical module of the second access-layer network device has a second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) and a second receive center wavelength (l2), and the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) and the second receive center wavelength (l2) are different (Figures 3, 5 and 8; also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first optical module of the core-layer network device has a third transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: l1) and a third receive center wavelength (ln+1), and the third transmit center wavelength (l1) and the third receive center wavelength (ln+1) are different; and
the second optical module of the core-layer network device has a fourth transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: l2) and a fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2), and the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2) and the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2) are different.
11). With regard to claim 11, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 8 and 10 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1) and the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first receive center wavelength (l1) and the second receive center wavelength (l2) are different;
the third transmit center wavelength (l1) and the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2) are different; and
the third receive center wavelength (ln+1) and the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3).
12). With regard to claim 12, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims claims 8 and 10 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1 from G1) corresponds to the third receive center wavelength (ln+1 received by OLT 10-1);
the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2 from G3) corresponds to the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2 received by OLT 10-2);
the first receive center wavelength (l1 received by G1) corresponds to the third transmit center wavelength (l1 transmitted by OLT 10-1); and
the second receive center wavelengths (l2 received by G2)corresponds to the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2 transmitted by OLT 10-2).
13). With regard to claim 13, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA discloses all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above. And the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises a plurality of aggregation modules (Yan: Figure 2, second layer from the top. Figure 3, the aggregation-layer device 2a – 2m. Figure 4, CAWG2b1/5b1 and CAWG2b2/5b2. Figures 6-8: 2a1/5a1 and 2a2/5a2. [0044], “A cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (CAWG), also known as an AWG router or cyclic interleaver, is a wavelength-based N*N cyclic multiplexer/demultiplexer that can send wavelengths from different inlets to different outlets in a cyclic manner”. Also having a core-layer device, Figure 1, top unit; Figures 3-8, the core-layer device 1, and access-layer devices: Figure 1, the third layer from the top. Figures 3-8, the access-layer devices 4); and the plurality of aggregation modules comprise a first aggregation module (Yan: e.g., Figures 6-8, 2a1/5a1) and a second aggregation module (Yan: e.g., Figures 6-8, 2a2/5a2), the first aggregation module comprises a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: 2a1) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: 5a1), and a first optical fiber connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: fiber between the 2a1 and 5a1, “solid line arrow” in Figures 6-8; [0044], [0053] and [0083]-[0084]), and the second aggregation module comprises a third multiplexer/demultiplexer (2a2) and a fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer (5a2), and a second optical fiber connecting the third multiplexer/demultiplexer with the fourth multiplexer/demultiplexer (Yan: fiber between the 2a1 and 5a1, “dotted arrow” in Figures 6-8; [0044], [0053] and [0083]-[0084]); and the first and second aggregation modules are between the core layer and the access-layer (“1” and “4”).
Also, as shown in Figures 1 and 3-4 of Matsuyama, each multiplexer/demultiplexer (40 or 50) performs two functions: multiplexing and demultiplexing: e.g., for multiplexer/demultiplexer 40, it multiplexes signals from OLTs, and demultiplexes signals from fiber Fs and sends the demultiplexed signals to OLTs; that is, the multiplexer/demultiplexer performs bi-directional signal transmissions. It is obvious to one skilled in the art that one pair of multiplexer/demultiplexer (a first aggregation module) can be used to transmit signals from OLTs to ONUs, and another pair of multiplexer/demultiplexer (a second aggregation module) can be used to transmit signals from ONUs to OLTs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use two aggregation modules for bi-directional optical communications to increase system capacity.
15). With regard to claim 15, Matsuyama et al discloses a working method for a passive aggregation-layer network device (Figures 1 and 3-4 etc, the combination of the multiplexers/demultiplexers 40 and 50, and the fiber Fc; [0022] etc.; the PONs shown in Figures 1 and 3-4 are “optical access network”, then, the OLTs are the core-layer network device, the multiplexer/demultiplexer 40/50 is the aggregation layer network device, and the ONU is the access-layer network device), wherein the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (50), a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (40), and a first optical fiber (the fiber Fc) connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is connected to an optical module (an ONU in G1) of a first access-layer network device (G1) and an optical module (an ONU in G2) of a second access-layer network device (G2), the second multiplexer/demultiplexer is connected to a first optical module (OLT 10-1) and a second optical module (OLT 10-2) of a core-layer network device (OLTs), and the working method for the passive aggregation-layer network device comprises:
receiving, by the first multiplexer/demultiplexer, a first optical signal (ln+1)sent by the optical module of the first access-layer network device (the ONU in G1) and a second optical signal (ln+2) sent by the optical module of the second access-layer network device (the ONU in G2), coupling the first optical signal and the second optical signal to obtain a first coupled optical signal (by the multiplexer/demultiplexer 50), and sending the first coupled optical signal to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the optical fiber (Fc); and
decoupling, by the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (40), the first coupled optical signal to obtain the first optical signal (ln+1) and the second optical signal (ln+2), sending the first optical signal (ln+1)) to the first optical module (OLT 10-1) of the core-layer network device, and sending the second optical signal (ln+2) to the second optical module of the core-layer network device (OLT 10-2).
But, Matsuyama et al does not expressly disclose: the passive aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the first and second access-layer network devices are in the building, the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is located away from the data center equipment room.
However, to use a passive aggregation-network device (passive multiplexer/demultiplexer) in data center is known in the art. E.g., Xiao et al discloses a passive optical multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1-3 etc.), Xiao et al discloses “Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies can be used as components in passive optical networks (PON). A PON is a form of fiber-optic access network typically comprised of an optical line terminal (OLT) at a hub and a number of optical network units (ONU) near end users. Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies are one of a number of components such as circulators, isolators, and filters that can make up the PON” ([0006]), and “The present inventors have recognized that, because of limited space in data centers and the rapid growth of data traffic, there is an increasing need for capacity in optical communication systems. Increasing port density requires assemblies with ever smaller form factors. Integrating multiple components onto a single substrate is one of the key challenges facing miniaturization. Carefully locating and interrelating the components in a multiplexer/demultiplexer assembly can reduce the space required for the assembly and thus increase the number of assemblies and data rate of a given PON”. That is, Xiao et al teaches/suggests to use multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies in data center or PON access network. And reference Yan et al discloses that fibers are used in data center, and multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies (e.g., CAWG etc.) are used at the aggregation-layer (or convergence layer) (Figures 1 and 3, [0004]-[0005]) in a data center 3-layer hierarchy. Another prior art, Kilper et al discloses a fiber-optic access network (a PON, Figure 7 etc.), which can be used in data center ([0002]), and the ONUs are in access-layer ([0015]-[0019 and [0038]-[0042] etc.), and the aggregation-layer (optical system node 500) contains a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (530) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (550/560; [0039], “The mux/demux 550 is coupled to one or more arrayed waveguide gratings (AWGs) 560, and can have a multi-branch optical tree configuration. The mux/demux 550 can be optional in the case that only a single AWG 560 is present. Each AWG 560 multiplexes channels of several wavelengths from end users onto a single optical fiber (upstream) and de-multiplexes signals on the single optical fiber into individual channels of different wavelengths for transmission to end users (downstream)”), and an optical fiber (535) connects the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer; that is, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node (the optical system node 500).
Also, AAPA discloses “In a conventional three-layer network networking mode, a three-layer network includes a core layer, an aggregation layer, and an access layer. … . For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”; AAPA indicates a data center, and multiple buildings; and the data center and the multiple buildings are different, or the data center is separated or away from the buildings. That is, the AAPA discloses that the aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room and access-layer network device is in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room.
Matsuyama et al discloses a PON access network, and wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation device;; Xiao et al discloses that multiplexers/demultiplexers can be used in data center as an aggregation-layer device to save space etc., Yan discloses that wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation layer between a core-layer device and a plurality of access-layer device; and Kilper et al discloses that the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node; and AAPA discloses that an aggregation-layer network device is located in a building in which access-layer network device is located, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room, and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA with Matsuyama et al so that a simple optical multi wavelength multiplexer/demultiplexer structure can be used as an aggregation-layer device between a core-layer device and access-network devices in a three-layer data center system, so to reduce the system complexity, save space in equipment room, increase system capacity, and make the maintenance easier.
16). With regard to claim 16, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses the working method for the passive aggregation-layer network device according to claim 15, comprising:
receiving, by the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (e.g., Matsuyama et al 40. Also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3), a third optical signal (Matsuyama: l1) sent by the first optical module (OLT 10-1) of the core-layer network device and a fourth optical signal (Matsuyama: l2) sent by the second optical module (OLT 10-2) of the core-layer network, coupling the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal to obtain a second coupled optical signal (the multiplexer 40 multiplexes/couples the third optical signal l1 and the fourth optical signal l2 to obtain a multiplexed signal and then sends the multiplexed signal to the fiber), and sending the second coupled optical signal to the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (50) by using the optical fiber (Matsuyama: Figure 1 and 3-4, the multiplexed signal is transmitted from 40 over the fiber Fc to the first multiplexer 50. Also refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3); and
decoupling, by the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (50), the second coupled optical signal to obtain the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal ((50 demultiplexes the input multiplexed signal into demultiplexed signals l1 and l2), sending the third optical signal (l1) to the optical module of the first access-layer network device (ONU in G1), and sending the fourth optical signal (l2) to the optical module of the second access-layer network device (ONU in G2).
17). With regard to claim 17, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein
the optical module of the first access-layer network device has a first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1) and a first receive center wavelength (l1), and the first transmit center wavelength (ln+1) and the first receive center wavelength (l1) are different (Figures 3, 5 and 8);
the optical module of the second access-layer network device has a second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) and a second receive center wavelength (l2), and the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) and the second receive center wavelength (l2) are different (Figures 3, 5 and 8; also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first optical module of the core-layer network device has a third transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: l1) and a third receive center wavelength (ln+1), and the third transmit center wavelength (l1) and the third receive center wavelength (ln+1) are different; and
the second optical module of the core-layer network device has a fourth transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: l2) and a fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2), and the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2) and the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2) are different.
18). With regard to claim 18, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 15 and 17 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1) and the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3);
the first receive center wavelength (l1) and the second receive center wavelength (l2) are different;
the third transmit center wavelength (l1) and the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2) are different; and
the third receive center wavelength (ln+1) and the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2) are different (also refer Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3; Yan Figures 1 and 3).
19). With regard to claim 19, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 15 and 17 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein
the first transmit center wavelength (Matsuyama: ln+1 from G1) corresponds to the third receive center wavelength (ln+1 received by OLT 10-1);
the second transmit center wavelength (ln+2 from G3) corresponds to the fourth receive center wavelength (ln+2 received by OLT 10-2);
the first receive center wavelength (l1 received by G1) corresponds to the third transmit center wavelength (l1 transmitted by OLT 10-1); and
the second receive center wavelengths (l2 received by G2)corresponds to the fourth transmit center wavelength (l2 transmitted by OLT 10-2).
20). With regard to claim 20, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses, wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a coarse wavelength division multiplexer (Matsuyama: Figures 3 and 5), or the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer are of a type of a dense wavelength division multiplexer (refer to Kilper: Figure 7; Xiao: Figures 1-3).
21). With regard to claim 21, Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above, and the combination of Matsuyama et al and Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA further discloses wherein the access-layer network devices are deployed in one or more rooms of the building (AAPA: [0003], “the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”), the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is deployed on a floor in the building (AAPA: [0003], “the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus”, it is obvious that the aggregation-layer network device is on a floor in the building), and the building is away from the data center equipment room (AAPA: [0003], “For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”, the data center equipment room of the campus is different from the one or more buildings).
22). With regard to claim 22, Matsuyama et al discloses a passive aggregation-layer network device (Figures 1 and 3-4 etc, the combination of the multiplexers/demultiplexers 40 and 50, and the fiber Fc; [0022] etc.; the PONs shown in Figures 1 and 3-4 are “optical access network”, then, the OLTs are the core-layer network device, the multiplexer/demultiplexer 40/50 is the aggregation layer network device, and the ONU is the access-layer network device), connected respectively to a core-layer network device (the OLTs) and a plurality of access-layer network devices (e.g., the ONUs), comprising:
a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (50) comprising:
a first optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the ONU group G1, or for l1) connected to an optical module (an ONU in G1) of a first access-layer network device (G1), and
a second optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the ONU group G2, or for l2) connected to an optical module (an ONU in G2) of a second access-layer network device (G2);
a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (40) comprising:
a third optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the OLT 10-1 for l1) connected to a first optical module (OLT 10-1) of a core-layer network device (the combination of the all OLTs 10-1 to 10-n), and
a fourth optical interface (e.g., the interface that is used for the connection to the OLT 10-2 for l2) connected to a second optical module (OLT 10-2) of the core-layer network device; and
a first optical fiber (“Fc”) connecting the first multiplexer/demultiplexer with the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figures 1 and 3-4);
wherein each of the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer comprises a filter (Figure 6; filter f1a, f2a, … f4a) having a center wavelength (Figures 3, 5 and 8), and three ports comprising a common port (e.g., for filter f1a, the port for inputting the l1 – l4), a transmission port (e.g., for filter f1a, the port for outputting the l1), and a reflection port (e.g., for filter f1a, the port for reflecting the l2 – l4), wherein the transmission port is located at one side of the filter (Figure 6, the right side of filter f1a), and the reflection port and the common port are both located at another side of the filter (Figure 6, the left side of filter f1a)
wherein the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is configured to receive a first optical signal (ln+1) sent by the optical module of the first access-layer network device (the ONU in G1) and a second optical signal (ln+2) sent by the optical module of the second access-layer network device (the ONU in G2), couple the first optical signal and the second optical signal to obtain a first coupled optical signal (by the multiplexer/demultiplexer 50), and send the first coupled optical signal to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer by using the first optical fiber (Figure 1, the multiplexed signal is transmitted over the fiber to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer 40); and
the second multiplexer/demultiplexer (40) is configured to decouple the first coupled optical signal to obtain the first optical signal and the second optical signal, send the first optical signal (ln+1) to the first optical module of the core-layer network device (the OLT 10-1), and send the second optical signal (ln+2) to the second optical module of the core-layer network device (the OLT 10-2).
But, Matsuyama et al does not expressly disclose: the passive aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and connected respectively to a core-layer network device located in a data center equipment room and a plurality of access-layer network devices in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer is located away from the data center equipment room.
However, to use a passive aggregation-network device (passive multiplexer/demultiplexer) in data center is known in the art. E.g., Xiao et al discloses a passive optical multiplexer/demultiplexer (Figure 1-3 etc.), Xiao et al discloses “Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies can be used as components in passive optical networks (PON). A PON is a form of fiber-optic access network typically comprised of an optical line terminal (OLT) at a hub and a number of optical network units (ONU) near end users. Multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies are one of a number of components such as circulators, isolators, and filters that can make up the PON” ([0006]), and “The present inventors have recognized that, because of limited space in data centers and the rapid growth of data traffic, there is an increasing need for capacity in optical communication systems. Increasing port density requires assemblies with ever smaller form factors. Integrating multiple components onto a single substrate is one of the key challenges facing miniaturization. Carefully locating and interrelating the components in a multiplexer/demultiplexer assembly can reduce the space required for the assembly and thus increase the number of assemblies and data rate of a given PON”. That is, Xiao et al teaches/suggests to use multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies in data center or PON access network; also, as shown in Figures 1 and 3 etc., Xiao et al discloses that thin-film filters are used to form a multiplexer/demultiplexer, and the filter has a center wavelength (center of a passband wavelength, [0027], [0041]-[0043], [0045] and [0050]), and three ports comprising a common port (e.g., for filer 30a, the port for receiving the multiplexed signal from 101 or 108; [0027], “a multiplexed optical signal 101 entering the signal-routing block 50 through the common port 10”), a transmission port (for the wavelength that can pass through the filter; e.g., “wavelength-selective transmission”, [0027]), and a reflection port (for the wavelength that is reflected by the filter; e.g., “wavelength-selective … reflection”, [0027]), wherein the transmission port is located at one side of the filter (near 20a in the Figure 1; left side of the filter 30a), and the reflection port and the common port are both located at another side of the filter (Figures 1 and 3; right side of the filter 30a). And reference Yan et al discloses that fibers are used in data center, and multiplexer/demultiplexer assemblies (e.g., CAWG etc.) are used at the aggregation-layer (or convergence layer) (Figures 1 and 3 etc., [0004]-[0005]) in a data center 3-layer hierarchy. Another prior art, Kilper et al discloses a fiber-optic access network (a PON, Figure 7 etc.), which can be used in data center ([0002]), and the ONUs are in access-layer ([0015]-[0019 and [0038]-[0042] etc.), and the aggregation-layer (optical system node 500) contains a first multiplexer/demultiplexer (530) and a second multiplexer/demultiplexer (550/560; [0039], “The mux/demux 550 is coupled to one or more arrayed waveguide gratings (AWGs) 560, and can have a multi-branch optical tree configuration. The mux/demux 550 can be optional in the case that only a single AWG 560 is present. Each AWG 560 multiplexes channels of several wavelengths from end users onto a single optical fiber (upstream) and de-multiplexes signals on the single optical fiber into individual channels of different wavelengths for transmission to end users (downstream)”), and an optical fiber (535) connects the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer; that is, the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node (the optical system node 500).
Also, AAPA discloses “In a conventional three-layer network networking mode, a three-layer network includes a core layer, an aggregation layer, and an access layer. … . For a campus including one or more buildings, such as a school, a hospital, an enterprise, and a government office, the core-layer network device is generally deployed in a data center equipment room of the campus, the aggregation-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus, and the access-layer network device is generally deployed in a low voltage room of each building of the campus and a low voltage room of each floor”; AAPA indicates a data center, and multiple buildings; and the data center and the multiple buildings are different, or the data center is separated or away from the buildings. That is, the AAPA discloses that the aggregation-layer network device is located in a building, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room and access-layer network device is in the building; and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room.
Matsuyama et al discloses a PON access network, and wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation device; Xiao et al discloses that multiplexers/demultiplexers can be used in data center as an aggregation-layer device to save space etc., and thin-film filters used for the multiplexer/demultiplexer, Yan discloses that wavelength multiplexers/demultiplexers are used as an aggregation layer between a core-layer device and a plurality of access-layer device; and Kilper et al discloses that the first multiplexer/demultiplexer and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer can be located in one node; and AAPA discloses that an aggregation-layer network device is located in a building in which access-layer network device is located, and the core-layer network device is located in a data center equipment room, and the first multiplexer/demultiplexer (in a building) is located away from the data center equipment room. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Xiao et al and Yan and Kilper et al and AAPA with Matsuyama et al so that a simple optical multi wavelength multiplexer/demultiplexer structure can be used as an aggregation-layer device between a core-layer device and access-network devices in a three-layer data center system, so to reduce the system complexity, save space in equipment room, increase system capacity, and make the maintenance easier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20100014868 A1
US 20170164076 A1
US 20240348337 A1
US 6469826 B1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 August 30, 2026