Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of all generic claims 1, 2, 5-11, 14, and 15 in the reply filed on May 12th, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3 and 4 have been cancelled. Claims 16-22 have been added and will also be examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, and 14-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 16 recite “wherein at least some of said separating elements are configured”. The word “some” may mean one, more than one, or an unspecified amount; this set of definitions include contradictions. If the underlying intent of the current language is to indicate that one or more of the separating elements are configured to perform a function, the Examiner recommends amending the claim such that it recites “wherein at least one of said separating elements are configured”.
Claim 9 recites “wherein said cover element a sheet, a disk, or a foil made of metal, ceramic, or glass.” Paragraph [0055] of the specification as filed recites “said cover element is a sheet, a disk, a foil…, preferably made of metal, ceramic or glass.” In view of the Applicant’s specification, the claim will be interpreted as “wherein said cover element is a sheet, a disk, or a foil made of metal, ceramic, or glass.” The claim should be amended appropriately in the reply to this Office Action.
Claims 2, 5-8, 10, 11, 14, 15-22 are objected to due to their dependence on the above objected claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
As mentioned above, claim 9 will be interpreted as “…wherein said cover element is a sheet, a disk, or a foil made of metal, ceramic, or glass”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation "an aircraft", and the claim also recites "in particular an electrically propelled aircraft" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meredith (US 2021/0288379 A1) and further in view of Godding (US 2023/0327284 A1) and Ashizaki (US 2009/0181297 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, 9, and 10, Meredith teaches a battery cell arrangement comprising a thermal isolation frame (TIF) that may hold a plurality of battery cells [0038]. Meredith continues to teach a number of separating elements (different portions of the TIF, see Fig. 6E below) that separate the batteries from each other.
Meredith continues to teach that each battery cell (Fig. 10, 50) is associated with a vent channel (Fig. 10, aperture 812 and the space immediately above it) and therefore each vent channel defines a battery compartment holding a subset of the plurality of cells where the number of cells in said subset is equal to one (as required by claim 2). Meredith continues to teach how the separating elements are configured to guide gaseous venting products toward said vent channels via extensions of the separating elements (see annotated figure below).
Meredith continues to teach how the separating elements are configured to guide gaseous venting products toward said vent channels via extensions of the separating elements (see the annotated figures below).
Meredith fails to teach the claimed housing, cover element, and the opening of the housing. Godding is analogous art to Meredith because both of their disclosures involve batteries (Meredith, title; Godding, title). Godding teaches battery cells enclosed by a housing where said housing also has an exhaust port corresponding with the claimed opening ([0016] and [0076]; not explicitly shown in Fig. 3 below). Godding also teaches a cover comprising of a support component (Fig. 3, 322; [0071] and [0072]) and protective layers (Fig. 3, 326; [0010], [0072], and [0073]). The support component may be a sheet comprised of steel ([0097], required by claim 9). The support component, as depicted by Godding, provides a vent volume (Fig. 3, 330) that allows the vented gas to cool [0071] before it leaves the housing [0076]. The protective layers, corresponding with the claimed rigid burst disk, rupture after sufficient pressure has built up in the compartments because of the venting gases ([0073], required by claim 10). Said protective layers “may help to mitigate against the risk of vent gases ejected from a cell entering the space between cells” or any other place where it is undesirable for those gases to exist. Furthermore, these protective layers may comprise mica [0086], a fire-resistant material (as required by claim 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use Godding’s protective layers to prevent undesirable movement of vent gases, Godding’s support to provide a vent volume that allows gases to cool, and Godding’s housing comprising an exhaust port that vents out the cooled gas from the housing that would contain Meredith’s battery cell arrangement.
Meredith and Godding fail to explicitly teach that the battery housing which encloses the battery cells or that the container containing the housing are sealed and gas-tight. Meredith and Godding are analogous art to Ashizaki because all of their disclosures involve batteries (Meredith, title; Godding, title; Ashizaki, [003] – [0008]). Ashizaki teaches that sealing storage elements, such as the claimed housing and container, prevents water and gas from entering the storage element [0044] which may result in damage to the batteries within (as required by claims 1, 6, and 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to ensure that the housing and container enclosing the housing are sealed to prevent potential damage due to external fluids.
Regarding claim 5, Meredith teaches that the frame, TIF, is made of thermal insulating material (abstract).
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 14, Meredith does not teach a gas-tight container that contains the housing where said container has at least one venting port and comprises a free air volume around the housing. Godding teaches that the provision of a vent volume, or free air volume, allows vented gases and debris to cool [0071]. Duplicating Godding’s housing (without a battery inside) to create a container that has a vent volume and an exhaust port would allow for additional cooling of the vented gases inside of the first housing ([0071], [0076]). See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B). Ashizaki teaches that sealing the container and making it gas-tight keeps water and gas out [0044] which may prevent the internal components from being damaged. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to place the housing taught by Meredith and modified by Godding into another gas-tight container with an exhaust port to further cool the gases vented from batteries and then exhaust said gases to an external area.
Furthermore, it is nonobvious to duplicate the housing of Meredith modified by Godding and to place a plurality of those housings in a single gas-tight container to achieve the benefits described immediately above (as required by claim 14). See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B).
Regarding claim 11, Meredith fails to teach the usage of silicone or another non-conductive thermally isolating potting compound to shield a battery cell from neighboring battery cells. Godding teaches that the usage of silicone near an area where hot gas is vented out can prevent those vent gases from entering undesirable places, including areas containing other battery cells ([0099] – [0101]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to cover the venting area of a battery cell by silicone to prevent hot gases from neighboring cells from entering said venting area (in other words, mechanically shielding the battery cells using silicone).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meredith, Godding, and Ashizaki as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Lohe (US 11,476,676 B1). Meredith, Godding, and Ashizaki do not teach electrically propelled aircraft. Lohe is analogous art to Meredith, Godding, and Ashizaki because their disclosure includes an energy storage system (Lohe, abstract). The battery cell arrangement of Meredith, Godding, and Ashizaki is suitable to be used in Lohe’s disclosure as Lohe’s energy system that is configured to provide energy to Lohe’s aircraft (abstract). See MPEP 2144.07. The gas-tight container’s exhaust port of Meredith et. al connects to the exterior of the container (Godding, [0076]), which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, in the context of exhausting gases from an aircraft, would ultimately open to an outside of the aircraft fuselage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use the battery cell arrangement of Meredith, Godding, and Ashizaki in Lohe’s aircraft where the battery cell arrangement would exhaust the gases vented from the batteries to the exterior of the aircraft’s fuselage.
Claims 16-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meredith and further in view of Godding and Lohe.
Regarding claims 16, 17, and 20, Meredith teaches a battery cell arrangement comprising a thermal isolation frame (TIF) that may hold a plurality of battery cells [0038]. Meredith continues to teach a number of separating elements (different portions of the TIF, see Fig. 6E below) that separate the batteries from each other.
Meredith continues to teach that each battery cell (Fig. 10, 50) is associated with a vent channel (Fig. 10, aperture 812 and the space immediately above it) and therefore each vent channel defines a battery compartment holding a subset of the plurality of cells where the number of cells in said subset is equal to one (as required by claim 17). Meredith continues to teach how the separating elements are configured to guide gaseous venting products toward said vent channels via extensions of the separating elements (see annotated figure below).
Meredith continues to teach how the separating elements are configured to guide gaseous venting products toward said vent channels via extensions of the separating elements (see the annotated figures below):
Meredith fails to teach the claimed housing, cover element, and the opening of the housing. Godding is analogous art to Meredith because both of their disclosures involve batteries (Meredith, title; Godding, title). Godding teaches battery cells enclosed by a housing where said housing also has an exhaust port corresponding with the claimed opening ([0016] and [0076]; not explicitly shown in Fig. 3 below). Godding also teaches a cover comprising of a support component (Fig. 3, 322; [0071] and [0072]) and protective layers (Fig. 3, 326; [0010], [0072], and [0073]). The support component may be a sheet comprised of steel ([0097], required by claim 20). The support component, as depicted by Godding, provides a vent volume (Fig. 3, 330) that allows the vented gas to cool [0071] before it leaves the housing [0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use Godding’s cover comprised of protective layers and a support component to provide a vent volume that allows the hot gases vented from the battery cells to cool.
Meredith and Goddard fail to teach that the claimed system comprises an aircraft. Lohe discloses an electric aircraft that includes an energy storage system (abstract), and the battery arrangement of Meredith, Goddard, and Ashizaki is suitable to be used in Lohe’s aircraft. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to create a system comprising Lohe’s electric aircraft and the battery arrangement of Meredith et. al.
Regarding claim 18, Meredith teaches that the frame, TIF, is made of thermal insulating material (abstract).
Regarding claim 21, Meredith fails to teach the usage of silicone or another non-conductive thermally isolating potting compound to shield a battery cell from neighboring battery cells. Godding teaches that the usage of silicone near an area where hot gas is vented out can prevent those vent gases from entering undesirable places, including areas containing other battery cells ([0099] – [0101]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to cover the venting area of a battery cell by silicone to prevent hot gases from neighboring cells from entering said venting area (in other words, mechanically shielding the battery cells using silicone).
Claims 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meredith, Godding, and Lohe as applied to claim 16 and further in view of Ashizaki (US 2009/0181297 A1). Meredith does not teach a gas-tight container that contains the housing where said container has at least one venting port. Godding teaches that the provision of a vent volume, or free air volume, allows vented gases and debris to cool [0071]. Duplicating Godding’s housing (without a battery inside) to create a container that has a vent volume and an exhaust port would allow for additional cooling of the vented gases inside of the first housing ([0071], [0076]). See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B). Meredith and Ashizaki teaches that sealing the container and making it gas-tight keeps water and gas out [0044] which may prevent the internal components from being damaged. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to place the housing taught by Meredith and modified by Godding into another gas-tight container with an exhaust port to further cool the gases vented from batteries and then exhaust said gases to an external area. Furthermore, it is nonobvious to duplicate the housing of Meredith modified by Godding and to place a plurality of those housings in a single gas-tight container to achieve the benefits described immediately above (as required by claim 22). See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sweney (US 2016/0028059 A1) teaches that using hexagonal shaped battery compartments because the resulting air gap thermally insulates each battery cell from neighboring battery cells [0028].
Gao (US 2023/0040343 A1) teaches the usage of a circular explosive-proof atop a cylindrical battery cell.
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722