DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 9/27/2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JAPAN 2022-155948, filed on 09/29/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 10, recites “the first terminal has a first…”. It is unclear to which terminal applicant is referring to. In line 8, “a plurality of first terminals” is recited in plural form. It is unclear whether “the first terminal” refers to the terminals found in the plurality of first terminals, or a completely different terminal. The Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim language to clarify whether the first terminal belongs to the plurality of first terminals (i.e. a first terminal of the plurality of first terminals). For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret as “the first terminal” belonging to the “plurality of first terminals”.
Claim 1, line 14, recites “the second terminal has a second…”. It is unclear to which terminal applicant is referring to. In line 8, “a plurality of second terminals” is recited in plural form. It is unclear whether “the second terminal” refers to the terminals found in the plurality of second terminals, or a completely different terminal. The Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim language to clarify whether the second terminal belongs to the plurality of second terminals (i.e. a second terminal of the plurality of second terminals). For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret as “the second terminal” belonging to the “plurality of second terminals”.
Claim 1, line 18, recites “the first terminals belonging to a terminal group are power supply…”. It is unclear whether “a terminal group” is one of the groups previously introduced in line 17, or a completely different group. The Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim to clearly identify whether the “a terminal group” is one of the groups introduced in line 17 (i.e. “the first terminal group of the two terminal groups”), or a completely different group. The Examiner notes that the same reasons for rejection apply for all the instances in this claim-set where “a terminal group” is recited. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret “a terminal group” as being one of the terminal groups introduced in line 17.
Claim 1, line 22, recites “in the first terminals belonging to a given terminal group…”. It is unclear whether the “given terminal group” is one of the groups introduced in line 17, or a completely different group. The Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim to clearly identify whether the “given terminal group” is one of the groups introduced in line 17 (i.e. “the second group of the two terminal groups”), or a completely different group. The Examiner notes that the same reasons for rejection apply for all the instances in this claim-set where “the given terminal group” is recited. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret as the “given terminal group” being one of the groups introduced in line 17.
Claim 1, lines 22 – 23, recite “a gap greater than the predetermined pitch is formed between a specific first terminal arranged on an innermost side in the terminal arrangement direction and another first terminal not belonging to the given terminal group, the other first terminal being adjacent to the specific first terminal”. It is unclear which terminal constitutes the “another first terminal”. In the specification, the specific first terminal is described as terminal 20B in ¶0041, but there is no disclosure as to which terminal constitutes the “another first terminal”. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the “another first terminal” as the terminal 20A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tojo (US 9685724) in view of Ito (US 20200169037).
Regarding claim 1, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) a ribbon conductor connector (see ribbon conductor connector in figure 3) comprising:
a housing (30) that receives a ribbon conductor (20) in a ribbon shape (i.e. see shape of 20 in figure 3) from a rear side, the ribbon conductor (20) being insertably and pullably connected to the ribbon conductor connector (see ribbon conductor connector in figure 3; column 3, lines 17 – 28) in a longitudinal direction (“X” direction); and
a plurality of terminals (50, 60) arranged in a width direction (“Y” direction) of the ribbon conductor (see figure 3) as a terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction), the plurality of terminals (50, 60) being held in the housing (30), wherein
the plurality of terminals (50, 60) has a plurality of first terminals (50) and a plurality of second terminals (60),
the first terminal (50) has a first contacting portion (56a) contactable with the ribbon conductor (see ribbon conductor connector in figure 3) and a first connecting portion (55a) connected with solder to a circuit board (i.e. column 10, lines 58 – 65) on which the ribbon conductor connector (see ribbon conductor connector in figure 3) is mounted in the longitudinal direction (“X” direction) on one side to the housing (30),
the second terminal (60) has a second contacting portion (66a) contactable with the ribbon conductor (see ribbon conductor connector in figure 3) and a second connecting portion (64b) connected with solder to the circuit board (i.e. column 11, lines 54 – 61) in the longitudinal direction (“X” direction) on another side to the housing (30), the second terminal (60) is disposed outside a region of the terminal group (outside of terminal group of bottom terminals 50) in the terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction).
But Tojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first terminals has two terminal groups, the first terminals belonging to a terminal group are power supply terminals sequentially arranged at a predetermined pitch, and in the first terminals belonging to a given terminal group, a gap greater than the predetermined pitch is formed between a specific first terminal arranged on an innermost side in the terminal arrangement direction and another first terminal not belonging to the given terminal group, the other first terminal being adjacent to the specific first terminal.
Ito teaches (figures 18 – 26) a connector wherein the plurality of first terminals (23) has two terminal groups (see figure 18, group 1 on the left side 24 and group 2 on the right side 23),
the first terminals (23) belonging to a terminal group (i.e. group 2 on the right side 23) are power supply terminals (i.e. 23 electrically connects to 1) sequentially arranged at a predetermined pitch (see pitch in figure 21b), and
in the first terminals (23) belonging to a given terminal group (i.e. 23 belong on group 2 on the right side of figure 19), a gap (see gap in figure 21b) greater than the predetermined pitch is formed between a specific first terminal (23) arranged on an innermost side in the terminal arrangement direction (i.e. “Y” direction in figure 19) and another first terminal (i.e. see terminals 24 in the left side of the connector in figure 19) not belonging to the given terminal group (i.e. terminals 24 are in another group), the other first terminal (i.e. see terminals 24 in the left side of the connector in figure 19) being adjacent to the specific first terminal (23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tojo with the connector as disclosed by Ito to provide the plurality of first terminals having two terminal groups, the first terminals belonging to a terminal group are power supply terminals sequentially arranged at a predetermined pitch, and in the first terminals belonging to a given terminal group, a gap greater than the predetermined pitch is formed between a specific first terminal arranged on an innermost side in the terminal arrangement direction and another first terminal not belonging to the given terminal group, the other first terminal being adjacent to the specific first terminal, as the particular terminal grouping and pitch selection constitutes a design choice among known alternatives yielding predictable results (such as improved alignment and reliable engagement) without changing the basic operation of the connector.
Regarding claim 2, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) the ribbon conductor connector according to claim 1.
But Tojo does not explicitly disclose wherein in the plurality of second terminals, at least a part of the second terminal is disposed as a signal terminal between the two terminal groups in the terminal arrangement direction.
Ito teaches (figures 18 – 26) a connector wherein in the plurality of second terminals (24), at least a part of the second terminal (24) is disposed as a signal terminal (i.e. 24 is capable of being a signal terminal) between the two terminal groups (i.e. see figure 18, group 1 on the left side 24 and group 2 on the right side 23) in the terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction in figure 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tojo with the connector as disclosed by Ito to provide at least a part of the second terminal being disposed as a signal terminal between the two terminal groups in the terminal arrangement direction, as the relative placement of signal and power terminals constitutes a design choice yielding predictable electrical behavior (the expected electrical interaction between the adjacent signal and power terminals based on their relative position) without altering the fundamental operation of the ribbon connector.
Regarding claim 3, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) the ribbon conductor connector according to claim 2.
But Tojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of second terminals is provided between the two terminal groups, and the first terminal not belonging to the terminal group is disposed, as a signal terminal, between the second terminals adjacent to the first terminal.
Ito teaches (figures 18 – 26) a connector wherein the plurality of second terminals (24) is provided between the two terminal groups (see figure 18, group 1 on the left side 24 and group 2 on the right side 23), and the first terminal (23) not belonging to the terminal group (one of the terminals 23 not belonging to group 2 on the right side where 23 is) is disposed, as a signal terminal (i.e. 23 is capable of transmitting signals), between the second terminals (24) adjacent to the first terminal (23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tojo with the connector as disclosed by Ito to provide the plurality of second terminals being provided between the two terminal groups, and the first terminal not belonging to the terminal group is disposed, as a signal terminal, between the second terminals adjacent to the first terminal, as such terminal placement represents a design choice and mere rearrangement of known terminals yielding predictable electrical behavior (the expected electrical interaction between the adjacent signal and power terminals based on their relative position) without altering the fundamental operation of the ribbon connector.
Regarding claim 4, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) the ribbon conductor connector according to claim 1, further comprising a reinforcement metal fitting (50A) disposed outside a terminal arrangement region (i.e. 50A is disposed outside the region where terminals 50, 60 are located, see bottom of terminal arrangement) of the plurality of terminals (50, 60), wherein the reinforcement metal fitting (50A) has a contacting portion (54aA and 56aA in figure 16) contactable with the ribbon conductor (20) and a fixing portion (55aA) located in the longitudinal direction (“X” direction) on one side to the housing (30), the fixing portion (55aA) being connected with solder to the circuit board (i.e. column 10, lines 58 – 65), and the fixing portion (55aA) is adjacent to the first connecting portion (55a) of the first terminal (50) located on an outermost position in the terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction), in the first terminals (50) belonging to the terminal group (i.e. group of terminals in figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) the ribbon conductor connector according to claim 2, further comprising a reinforcement metal fitting (50A) disposed outside a terminal arrangement region (i.e. 50A is disposed outside the region where terminals 50, 60 are located, see bottom of terminal arrangement) of the plurality of terminals (50, 60), wherein the reinforcement metal fitting (50A) has a contacting portion (54aA and 56aA in figure 16) contactable with the ribbon conductor (20) and a fixing portion (55aA)located in the longitudinal direction (“X” direction) on one side to the housing (30), the fixing portion (55aA) being connected with solder to the circuit board (i.e. column 10, lines 58 – 65), and the fixing portion (55aA) is adjacent to the first connecting portion (55a) of the first terminal (50) located on an outermost position in the terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction), in the first terminals (50) belonging to the terminal group (i.e. group of terminals in figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20)the ribbon conductor connector according to claim 3, further comprising a reinforcement metal fitting (50A) disposed outside a terminal arrangement region (i.e. 50A is disposed outside the region where terminals 50, 60 are located, see bottom of terminal arrangement) of the plurality of terminals (50, 60), wherein the reinforcement metal fitting (50A) has a contacting portion (54aA and 56aA in figure 16) contactable with the ribbon conductor (20) and a fixing portion (55aA) located in the longitudinal direction (“X” direction) on one side to the housing (30), the fixing portion (55aA) being connected with solder to the circuit board (i.e. column 10, lines 58 – 65), and the fixing portion (55aA) is adjacent to the first connecting portion (55a) of the first terminal (50) located on an outermost position in the terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction), in the first terminals (50) belonging to the terminal group (i.e. group of terminals in figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) a ribbon conductor (i.e. see figure 4) connectable to the ribbon conductor connector (i.e. see figure 3) according to claim 3, the ribbon conductor (i.e. see figure 4) comprising:
a notch (see notch near 22) formed on both end portions of the ribbon conductor (i.e. see figure 4) in a width direction (“Y” direction), the notch (see notch near 22) being capable of receiving a retainer (50a) provided on the ribbon conductor connector (i.e. see figure 3);
a retained portion (22) formed in front of the notch (see notch near 22), the retained portion (22) being retained on the retainer (50a, see figure 4) in a longitudinal direction (“X” direction); and
a plurality of pads (21) provided on a front end side of the ribbon conductor (see figure 4), the plurality of pads (21) being contactable with the terminal (50, 60), wherein the plurality of pads (21) has a power supply pad (i.e. column 3, lines 60 – 64) contactable with the first terminal (50) that is a power supply terminal (i.e. 50 is capable of being a power supply terminal), a first signal pad (21b) contactable with the first terminal (50) that is a signal terminal (i.e. 50 is capable of being a signal terminal), and a second signal pad (21, 21a) contactable with the second terminal (60) that is a signal terminal (i.e. 60 is capable of being a signal terminal),
a front end (i.e. see figure 3) of the second signal pad (21, 21a) is located on a rear side of a front end of the power supply pad (50) and a front end (i.e. see figure 3) of the first signal pad (21b),
the power supply pad (21) is formed such that the power supply pad (21) has a dimension in a width direction (“Y” direction) at the both end portions of the ribbon conductor (end portions of 20) in the width direction (“Y” direction) and the dimension is greater (i.e. see width of 21 compared to 21b in figure 3) than the first signal pad (21b) and the second signal pad (21a),
a part of a front end side portion (i.e. front end side portion of 20) located on a front side of the second signal pad (21a) in the power supply pad (21) is formed to have a region (i.e. see figure 3) overlapping a second signal pad (21a) adjacent to the power supply pad (21) in the width direction (“Y” direction), and the notch (see notch near 22) is formed on a rear side of the front end of the second signal pad (21a; see figure 3).
Claim(s) 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tojo (US 9685724) in view of Ito (US 20200169037) and further in view of Nagae (US 20210175651).
Regarding claim 7, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) the ribbon conductor connector according to claim 1.
But Tojo and Ito do not explicitly disclose wherein a lock metal fitting held in the housing is provided outside a terminal arrangement region of the plurality of terminals, the lock metal fitting has a shape equal to the second terminal, and the lock metal fitting is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction, and a portion of the second terminal corresponding to the second contacting portion forms a retainer that is capable of retaining a retained portion of the ribbon conductor from a rear side.
Nagae teaches (figures 1A – 10B) a connector wherein a lock metal fitting (4) held in the housing (1) is provided outside a terminal arrangement region (outside of the region where terminals 3 are arranged) of the plurality of terminals (3), the lock metal fitting (4) has a shape equal to the second terminal (i.e. see figure 2A), and the lock metal fitting (4) is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal (3; see figure 2A) when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction), and a portion of the second terminal (3) corresponding to the second contacting portion (41, 42) forms a retainer (41a, 42a) that is capable of retaining a retained portion (see figure 2B; 42a retains F1) of the ribbon conductor (F) from a rear side (see figure 2B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tojo and Ito with the connector as disclosed by Nagae to provide a lock metal fitting held in the housing is provided outside a terminal arrangement region of the plurality of terminals, the lock metal fitting has a shape equal to the second terminal, and the lock metal fitting is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction, and a portion of the second terminal corresponding to the second contacting portion forms a retainer that is capable of retaining a retained portion of the ribbon conductor from a rear side, to improve the connector’s mechanical stability when engaged by increasing the holding force exerted on the ribbon conductor.
Regarding claim 8, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) the ribbon conductor connector according to claim 2.
But Tojo and Ito do not explicitly disclose wherein a lock metal fitting held in the housing is provided outside a terminal arrangement region of the plurality of terminals, the lock metal fitting has a shape equal to the second terminal, and the lock metal fitting is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction, and a portion of the second terminal corresponding to the second contacting portion forms a retainer that is capable of retaining a retained portion of the ribbon conductor from a rear side.
Nagae teaches (figures 1A – 10B) a connector wherein a lock metal fitting (4) held in the housing (1) is provided outside a terminal arrangement region (outside of the region where terminals 3 are arranged) of the plurality of terminals (3), the lock metal fitting (4) has a shape equal to the second terminal (i.e. see figure 2A), and the lock metal fitting (4) is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal (3; see figure 2A) when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction), and a portion of the second terminal (3) corresponding to the second contacting portion (41, 42) forms a retainer (41a, 42a) that is capable of retaining a retained portion (see figure 2B; 42a retains F1) of the ribbon conductor (F) from a rear side (see figure 2B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tojo and Ito with the connector as disclosed by Nagae to provide a lock metal fitting held in the housing is provided outside a terminal arrangement region of the plurality of terminals, the lock metal fitting has a shape equal to the second terminal, and the lock metal fitting is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction, and a portion of the second terminal corresponding to the second contacting portion forms a retainer that is capable of retaining a retained portion of the ribbon conductor from a rear side, to improve the connector’s mechanical stability when engaged by increasing the holding force exerted on the ribbon conductor.
Regarding claim 9, Tojo teaches (figures 1 – 20) the ribbon conductor connector according to claim 3.
But Tojo and Ito do not explicitly disclose wherein a lock metal fitting held in the housing is provided outside a terminal arrangement region of the plurality of terminals, the lock metal fitting has a shape equal to the second terminal, and the lock metal fitting is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction, and a portion of the second terminal corresponding to the second contacting portion forms a retainer that is capable of retaining a retained portion of the ribbon conductor from a rear side.
Nagae teaches (figures 1A – 10B) a connector wherein a lock metal fitting (4) held in the housing (1) is provided outside a terminal arrangement region (outside of the region where terminals 3 are arranged) of the plurality of terminals (3), the lock metal fitting (4) has a shape equal to the second terminal (i.e. see figure 2A), and the lock metal fitting (4) is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal (3; see figure 2A) when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction (“Y” direction), and a portion of the second terminal (3) corresponding to the second contacting portion (41, 42) forms a retainer (41a, 42a) that is capable of retaining a retained portion (see figure 2B; 42a retains F1) of the ribbon conductor (F) from a rear side (see figure 2B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tojo and Ito with the connector as disclosed by Nagae to provide a lock metal fitting held in the housing is provided outside a terminal arrangement region of the plurality of terminals, the lock metal fitting has a shape equal to the second terminal, and the lock metal fitting is disposed at a position the same as the second terminal when viewed in the terminal arrangement direction, and a portion of the second terminal corresponding to the second contacting portion forms a retainer that is capable of retaining a retained portion of the ribbon conductor from a rear side, to improve the connector’s mechanical stability when engaged by increasing the holding force exerted on the ribbon conductor.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834