DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5, 7-11, 17, and 18 in the reply filed on 12/02/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 2020/0361216).
Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka teaches an electronic device (Element 10B, wherein there is a printer) comprising:
an accommodating portion in which a consumable is mountable (Paragraphs 47 and 48, wherein the cartridges can be mounted in the attachment case), the consumable having a consumable memory storing identification information for identifying the consumable (Paragraph 52, wherein information about the cartridge is stored);
a main memory (Paragraph 61 and element 53, wherein there is memory);
a communication interface (element 47, wherein there is a communication interface); and
a controller (Element 51) configured to perform:
in response to a consumable being mounted into the accommodating portion, an acquisition process to acquire identification information from a consumable memory of the mounted consumable currently mounted in the accommodating portion (Paragraphs 68 and 69, wherein the information about the cartridge is read, this includes identification information); and
after performing the acquisition process, when an agreement has been concluded for the electronic device and the mounted consumable currently mounted in the accommodating portion satisfies a prescribed condition:
a first storage process to store the acquired identification information acquired in the acquisition process in the main memory as first identification information (Paragraph 75, wherein the information is stored); and
a permission process to permit a consumption process to perform a prescribed operation while consuming the mounted consumable (Paragraph 80, wherein a print permission is performed),
wherein the controller is configured to further perform:
a reception process to receive identification information of a consumable that has been mounted in another electronic device via the communication interface (Paragraphs 84 and 85, wherein the cartridge can be used by another device); and
a second storage process to store the received identification information received in the reception process in the main memory as second identification information (Paragraph 86, wherein the information can be transmitted and stored), and
wherein after performing the acquisition process, when an agreement has been concluded for the electronic device, the mounted consumable currently mounted in the accommodating portion does not satisfy the prescribed condition, and the acquired identification information acquired in the acquisition process matches one of the first identification information and the second identification information stored in the main memory, the controller performs the permission process (Paragraph 92, wherein the permission processing to allow for printing on another device can be performed).
Regarding Claim 2, Tanaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to further perform:
after performing the reception process, a first determination process to determine whether a write permission has been received via the communication interface, the write permission permitting storing of the received identification information received in the reception process in the main memory (Paragraphs 87 and 91, wherein the storage information can be updated), and
wherein when the controller determines in the first determination process that the write permission has been received, the controller performs the second storage process, whereas when the controller determines in the first determination process that the write permission has not been received, the controller skips the second storage process (Paragraphs 84, 87, and 91, wherein only when the printer can be used with the cartridge the data is updated).
Regarding Claim 3, Tanaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to further perform:
after performing the acquisition process, when the mounted consumable currently mounted in the accommodating portion satisfies the prescribed condition, a preparatory process to prepare for performing the consumption process (Paragraphs 94-96, wherein print preparation is done), and
wherein after performing the acquisition process, when the mounted consumable currently mounted in the accommodating portion does not satisfy the prescribed condition, the controller skips the preparatory process (Paragraph 95, wherein the process can be terminated).
Regarding Claim 4, Tanaka further teaches wherein the consumable includes a cartridge storing liquid therein (Paragraph 48, wherein the cartridge holds ink),
wherein the electronic device further comprises:
a liquid ejection head having a nozzle configured to eject the liquid stored in the cartridge (Paragraph 58, wherein there is a head), and
wherein the preparatory process includes an initial introduction process to fill the liquid ejection head with the liquid in the cartridge (Paragraphs 95 and 96, wherein the ink is set to the head accordingly).
Regarding Claim 5, Tanaka teaches an electronic device (Element 10B, wherein there is a printer) comprising:
an accommodating portion in which a consumable is mountable, the consumable having a consumable memory storing identification information for identifying the consumable (Paragraphs 47 and 48, wherein the cartridges can be mounted in the attachment case);
a main memory (Paragraph 61 and element 53, wherein there is memory);
a communication interface (element 47, wherein there is a communication interface); and
a controller (Element 51) configured to perform:
in response to a consumable being mounted into the accommodating portion, an acquisition process to acquire identification information from a consumable memory of the mounted consumable currently mounted in the accommodating portion (Paragraphs 68 and 69, wherein the information about the cartridge is read, this includes identification information); and
after performing the acquisition process, when an agreement has been concluded for the electronic device and the mounted consumable currently mounted in the accommodating portion satisfies a prescribed condition, a storage process to store the acquired identification information acquired in the acquisition process in the main memory (Paragraph 69, wherein the information is stored),
wherein the controller is configured to further perform:
a first determination process to determine whether a request to use the mounted consumable in another electronic device has been received via the communication interface (Paragraphs 84 and 85, wherein the cartridge can be used by another device); and
in response to determining in the first determination process that the request has been received, a transmission process to transmit the identification information stored in the main memory to an external device (Paragraph 87, wherein the information can be transmitted).
Regarding Claim 7, Tanaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to further perform:
a third determination process to determine whether the transmission process has been performed (Paragraph 88, wherein there is a determination if a reply has been received); and
in response to determining in the third determination process that the transmission process has been performed, a setting process to set the main memory to prohibit writing and reading of the identification information of the consumable (Paragraph 91, wherein the memory is updated accordingly).
Regarding Claim 8, Tanaka teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a set of computer- readable instructions for controlling a server (Paragraph 37, wherein the device can be a server, paragraph 35), the server including:
a server-side communication interface (Element 64, wherein there is a communication interface); and
a computer (Element 61, wherein there is a controller),
the server being communicable with a first electronic device and a second electronic device via the server-side communication interface (Paragraph 34, wherein the printers and server communicate), each of the first electronic device and the second electronic device being configured to perform a prescribed operation while consuming a consumable under an agreement concluded for the each of the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Paragraph 32, wherein the service is managed), the consumable satisfying a prescribed condition and having a consumable memory storing identification information for identifying the consumable (Paragraph 52, wherein information about the cartridge is stored), the first electronic device including a first main memory, the second electronic device including a second main memory (Paragraph 61 and element 53, wherein there is memory), the set of computer-readable instructions, when executed by the computer, causing the server to perform:
(a) acquiring identification information of a mounted consumable from the first main memory via the server-side communication interface, the mounted consumable being a consumable currently mounted in the first electronic device (Paragraphs 81 and 82, wherein the information and permission is transmitted by the server from the first printer to the second printer. This would have to include identification information); and
(b) transmitting notification information to the second electronic device via the server- side communication interface, the notification information notifying the second electronic device of the acquired identification information acquired in (a) as identification information of an available consumable that can be consumed in the second electronic device (Paragraph 86, wherein the permission is granted and the information is transmitted accordingly).
Regarding Claim 9, Tanaka further teaches wherein the notification information includes instruction information instructing the second electronic device to store the acquired identification information acquired in (a) in the second main memory as the identification information of the available consumable (Paragraphs 86 and 87, wherein the permission is granted and the information is transmitted accordingly. This would be stored accordingly).
Regarding Claim 10, Tanaka further teaches wherein the server is communicable with a user terminal via the server-side communication interface, the user terminal being used by a user of the first electronic device (Paragraph 45, wherein the display is attached on the printer and can be interacted with by the user),
wherein the set of computer-readable instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the server to further perform:
prior to performing the acquiring in (a):
(c) transmitting inquiry information to one of the first electronic device and the user terminal via the server-side communication interface, the inquiry information inquiring whether the mounted consumable currently mounted in the first electronic device is to be used in the second electronic device (Paragraph 85, wherein there is a permission screen); and
(d) determining whether response information to the inquiry information transmitted in (c) has been received via the server-side communication interface, the response information indicating that the mounted consumable is to be used in the second electronic device (Paragraph 92, wherein there is a confirmation screen), and
wherein the acquiring in (a) is performed when the determining in (d) determines that the response information has been received (Paragraph 92, wherein there is a confirmation screen).
Regarding Claim 11, Tanaka further teaches wherein the consumable memory of the consumable is configured to store residual quantity information indicating residual quantity of the consumable (Paragraph 97, wherein the remaining ink can be stored),
wherein the set of computer-readable instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the server to further perform:
prior to performing the acquiring in (a):
(e) acquiring residual quantity information of the mounted consumable currently mounted in the first electronic device from the first electronic device via the server-side communication interface (Paragraphs 96-101 and 111, wherein the residual amount of ink is communicated); and
(f) determining whether the residual quantity indicated by the acquired residual quantity information acquired in (e) is greater than or equal to a threshold (Paragraphs 96-101 and 111, wherein the residual amount of ink is communicated and compared to a threshold), and
wherein the acquiring in (a) is performed when the determining in (f) determines that the residual quantity is greater than or equal to the threshold (Paragraphs 96-101 and 111, wherein the residual amount of ink is communicated and compared to a threshold).
Regarding Claim 17, Tanaka teaches a system (Paragraph 2) comprising:
a first electronic device (Element 10A) configured to perform a prescribed operation while consuming a consumable satisfying a prescribed condition under an agreement concluded for the first electronic device (Paragraph 32, wherein the service is managed), the first electronic device comprising:
a first main memory (Paragraph 61 and element 53, wherein there is memory);
a second electronic device (Element 10B) configured to perform the prescribed operation while consuming the consumable satisfying the prescribed condition under the agreement newly concluded for the second electronic device (Paragraph 32, wherein the service is managed), the second electronic device comprising:
a second main memory (Paragraph 61 and element 53, wherein there is memory); and
a server (Paragraph 37, wherein the device can be a server, paragraph 35) communicable with the first electronic device and the second electronic device over a communication network (Paragraph 34, wherein the printers and server communicate),
wherein the consumable has a consumable memory storing identification information for identifying the consumable (Paragraph 52, wherein information about the cartridge is stored),
wherein the server is configured to perform:
(a) acquiring identification information of a mounted consumable from the first main memory via the communication network, the mounted consumable being a consumable currently mounted in the first electronic device (Paragraphs 81 and 82, wherein the information and permission is transmitted by the server from the first printer to the second printer. This would have to include identification information); and
(b) transmitting notification information to the second electronic device via the communication network, the notification information notifying the second electronic device of the acquired identification information acquired in (a) as identification information of an available consumable that can be consumed in the second electronic device (Paragraph 86, wherein the permission is granted and the information is transmitted accordingly).
Regarding Claim 18, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of A-E, F, and G all relate to processing contracts for use of cartridges.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699