DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to: an original application filed on 17 July 2026.
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and rejected.
Responses to the Argument
3. The applicant’s arguments filed on 17 July 2026 are moot in view of new ground of rejection rendered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 as being unpatentable over Vudathu et al. (US Publication No. 20200177576), hereinafter Vudathu and in view of Jha et al. (US patent No. 10425465), hereinafter Jha.
Regarding claim 1:
receiving an API call at a relay gateway from a client and directed to a target service, the API call including a credential that is not for the relay gateway (Vudathu, ¶30, ¶32), wherein API gateway 120 may communicate with backend service 130 and the first party computer application may send the request or payload details along with, for example, the device id, device IP, user profile id, user id, device mac id, device manufacturer, device geo-location, operating system (e.g., Android, iOS. Windows, Mac, Chrome, etc.), operating system version), operating system version, and the oAuth access token to the API gateway in plain text.
Vudathu does not explicitly the relay proxy however in a same filed of endeavor; however in a same field of endeavor Zha discloses this limiotation (Zha, col 7, lines 29-47).
The relay gateway comparing characteristics of the API call to stored characteristics (Vudathu, ¶47) compare the extracted values to the values received from the first party computer application in plain text.
the relay gateway authenticating the API call in response to comparing the characteristic; however, in a same field endeavor Marquie discloses this limitation (Vudathu, ¶47-48), decrypt the oAuth access token with the private key; (2) check the validity of the oAuth access token
forwarding the API call from the relay gateway to the target service in response to the authenticating API call (Vudathu, ¶49-50). If all the values match and the oAuth access token is valid, then the API routes the request to the backend service and In step 250, before routing the request or payload to the backend service, the API gateway may inject the authentication system cookie id or authentication system session id it extracted from the oAuth access token into the request or payload..
receiving an API response from the target service; and forwarding the API response from the relay gateway to the client (Vudathu, ¶51-54), wherein authentication system responds that the authentication system cookie id or the authentication system session id is valid, in step 275, the backend service may send the response back to the first party computer application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method securing APIs calling of Vudathu with the use of relay gateway disclosed in Zha to handle secure data service, stated by Zha col 1, lines 5-20.
Regarding claim 2:
wherein stored characteristics are stored in the relay gateway (Vudathu, ¶27).
Regarding claim 3:
wherein the characteristics include an IP address of the client (Vudathu, ¶10).
Regarding claim 4:
wherein the characteristics include account credentials of the client (Vudathu, ¶3).
Regarding claim 5:
wherein authenticating the API call comprises comparing factors of the client to known factors of the client (Vudathu, ¶9).
Regarding claim 6:
wherein the factors comprise time of day and parameters of a payload of the API call (Vudathu, ¶42).
Regarding claim 7:
further comprising retrieving a relay gateway credential with the target service and wherein forwarding the API call comprises forwarding the API call with the relay gateway credential (Vudathu, ¶6).
Regarding claim 8:
wherein the relay gateway has a plurality of credentials that are validated with the target service and wherein forwarding the API call comprises forwarding the API call to the target service with a relay gateway credential as an authentication to the target service (Vudathu, ¶9).
Regarding claim 9:
wherein: receiving the API call comprises receiving the API call with a client credential from an identity service; and authenticating the API call comprises validating the client credential at the relay gateway (Vudathu, ¶9).
Regarding claim 10:
wherein the client credential is from an identity service that is not the target service (Vudathu, ¶34).
Regarding claim 11:
wherein the identity service is an API service provider (Vudathu, ¶16).
Regarding claim 12:
wherein the identity service is an API identity service associated with the target service (Vudathu, ¶16).
Regarding claim 13:
wherein validating the client credential comprises receiving a validation of the client credential from the identity service (Vudathu, ¶40).
Regarding claim 14:
wherein receiving a validation comprises receiving the validation is in response to sending a callback function to the identity service (Vudathu, ¶15).
Regarding claim 15:
wherein the identity service receives identity information from the client in response to the callback function before sending a response to the callback function to the relay gateway (Vudathu, ¶23).
Regarding claim 18:
wherein forwarding the API call comprises forwarding the API call with the client credential (Vudathu, ¶9).
Regarding claim 17:
wherein the client credential comprises a service ticket of a web token (Vudathu, ¶9).
Regarding claim 18:
wherein the service ticket contains identities of the client and wherein the relay gateway maps the identities to an identity of the relay gateway (Vudathu, ¶40).
Regarding claim 19:
receiving an API call at a relay gateway from a client and directed to a target service, the API call including a credential that is not for the relay gateway (Vudathu, ¶30, ¶32), wherein API gateway 120 may communicate with backend service 130 and the first party computer application may send the request or payload details along with, for example, the device id, device IP, user profile id, user id, device mac id, device manufacturer, device geo-location, operating system (e.g., Android, iOS. Windows, Mac, Chrome, etc.), operating system version), operating system version, and the oAuth access token to the API gateway in plain text.
Vudathu does not explicitly the relay proxy however in a same filed of endeavor; however in a same field of endeavor Zha discloses this limiotation (Zha, col 7, lines 29-47).
The relay gateway comparing characteristics of the API call to stored characteristics (Vudathu, ¶47) compare the extracted values to the values received from the first party computer application in plain text.
the relay gateway authenticating the API call in response to comparing the characteristic; however, in a same field endeavor Marquie discloses this limitation (Vudathu, ¶47-48), decrypt the oAuth access token with the private key; (2) check the validity of the oAuth access token
forwarding the API call from the relay gateway to the target service in response to the authenticating API call (Vudathu, ¶49-50). If all the values match and the oAuth access token is valid, then the API routes the request to the backend service and In step 250, before routing the request or payload to the backend service, the API gateway may inject the authentication system cookie id or authentication system session id it extracted from the oAuth access token into the request or payload..
receiving an API response from the target service; and forwarding the API response from the relay gateway to the client (Vudathu, ¶51-54), wherein authentication system responds that the authentication system cookie id or the authentication system session id is valid, in step 275, the backend service may send the response back to the first party computer application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method securing APIs calling of Vudathu with the use of relay gateway disclosed in Zha to handle secure data service, stated by Zha col 1, lines 5-20.
Regarding claim 20:
a communications interface to receive an API call at a relay gateway from a client and directed to a target service, the API call including a credential that is not for the relay gateway (Vudathu, ¶30, ¶32), wherein API gateway 120 may communicate with backend service 130 and the first party computer application may send the request or payload details along with, for example, the device id, device IP, user profile id, user id, device mac id, device manufacturer, device geo-location, operating system (e.g., Android, iOS. Windows, Mac, Chrome, etc.), operating system version), operating system version, and the oAuth access token to the API gateway in plain text.
Vudathu does not explicitly the relay proxy however in a same filed of endeavor; however in a same field of endeavor Zha discloses this limiotation (Zha, col 7, lines 29-47).
and a credentials database containing stored characteristics to authenticate the API call at the relay gateway by comparing characteristics of the API call (Vudathu, ¶14, ¶6).
the communications interface further to forward the API call to the target service in response to the authentication, to receive an API response from the target service, and to forward the API response from the relay gateway to the client (Vudathu, ¶23,abstract)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method securing APIs calling of Vudathu with the use of relay gateway disclosed in Zha to handle secure data service, stated by Zha col 1, lines 5-20.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Monjour Rahim whose telephone number is (571)270-3890.
/Monjur Rahim/
Patent Examiner
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Art Unit: 2436; Phone: 571.270.3890
E-mail: monjur.rahim@uspto.gov
Fax: 571.270.4890