Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIBERG et al. (US 20220150818 A1, hereinafter, "LIBERG") in view of ISLAM et al. (US 10069555 B2, hereinafter, "ISLAM"), MA et al. (US 20230224725 A1, hereinafter, "MA"), SHRESTHA et al. (US 20220225415 A1, hereinafter, "SHRESTHA"), and LANDIS et al. (US 20220240306 A1, hereinafter, "LANDIS ").
Regarding claim 13, LIBERG teaches receiving at least one first signal from a satellite based on
at least one first beam,
LIBERG writes, “A satellite radio access network usually includes the following components: A satellite
that refers to a space-borne platform. An earth-based gateway that connects the satellite to a base
station or a core network, depending on the choice of architecture. Feeder link that refers to the link
between a gateway and a satellite. Service link that refers to the link between a satellite and a user
equipment (UE). Two popular architectures are the Bent pipe transponder and the Regenerative
transponder architectures. In the first case, the base station is located on earth behind the gateway, and
the satellite operates as a repeater forwarding the feeder link signal to the service link, and vice versa. In
the second case the satellite is in the base station and the service link connects it to the earth-based
core network” (paragraphs 0005-0010; figure1). LIBERG indicates the transmitting and receiving of a
feeder link and a service link between a gateway and a satellite, and between a satellite and a UE.
Thereby, indicating the presence of a beam and signal.
each first signal of the at least one first signal includes information about a first geographical
location of a center point of the one first beam of the at least one first beam corresponding to each
first signal of the at least one first signal;
LIBERG writes, “The reference point associated with a cell may be tied to the satellite ephemeris data
that may be stored at the UE or otherwise obtained by the UE, e.g., through signalling or other data
gathering/receiving. In certain embodiments, the reference point associated to a cell corresponds to a
geographical location, for example, the centre point of a cell defining spot beam. In certain
embodiments, the reference point may move in case the satellite spot beams move. In other
embodiments, the reference point may be fixed on earth, for example, in case of earth fixed spot
beams” (paragraph 0096). LIBERG indicates a reference point associated with a cell that may be tied to
the ephemeris data. The reference point, corresponding to a geographical location, for example, the
center point of a cell defining a spot beam, may be obtained by the UE.
determining a second beam from the at least one first beam based on the information about the first geographical location in each first signal of the at least one first signal,
LIBERG writes, “According to certain embodiments, a UE equipped with a GNSS receiver may base its mobility at least in part on its geographical position. For example, instead of basing its mobility entirely on RSRP measurements, mobility may be based on its geographical position relative to a set of well-defined geographical positions corresponding to the cell centres in the NTN, as depicted in FIG. 2. A variety of solutions or considerations may be contemplated. For example, a location-based criterion may be considered in cell selection/reselection procedures, e.g., a UE is only permitted to camp on a cell that is within a certain distance. Further enhanced cell reselection procedures for NTN may also be contemplated” (paragraph 0032). LIBERG continues, “With respect to each of the above-described method, wireless device, and computer program, the one or more NTN-related metrics comprise one or more of: a geographical distance between the wireless device and a reference point associated with a respective cell; a geographical distance between the wireless device and a reference point associated with an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) beam of a respective New Radio (NR) cell...” (paragraphs 0037-0039). LIBERG adds, “In one embodiment, the RSRP/RSRQ metrics are complemented by one or more of the following metrics for determining the cell suitability: The geographical distance between the wireless device and a reference point associated with a cell. The geographical distance between the wireless device and a reference point associated with a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) beam of an NR cell. The distance between the wireless device and the satellite(s) serving each cell” (paragraphs 0085-0088). LIBERG concludes, “The reference point associated with a cell may be tied to the satellite ephemeris data that may be stored at the UE or otherwise obtained by the UE, e.g., through signalling or other data gathering/receiving. In certain embodiments, the reference point associated to a cell corresponds to a geographical location, for example, the centre point of a cell defining spot beam. In certain embodiments, the reference point may move in case the satellite spot beams move. In other embodiments, the reference point may be fixed on earth, for example, in case of earth fixed spot beams” (paragraph 0096). LIBERG indicates the NTN related metrics include the geographical distance between a wireless device and a reference point that may be associated with an SSB beam of a cell. LIBERG further states that “a location-based criterion may be considered in cell selection/reselection procedures”.
an ephemeris of the satellite,
LIBERG writes, “The reference point associated with a cell may be tied to the satellite ephemeris data
that may be stored at the UE or otherwise obtained by the UE, e.g., through signalling or other data
gathering/receiving. In certain embodiments, the reference point associated to a cell corresponds to a
geographical location, for example, the centre point of a cell defining spot beam. In certain
embodiments, the reference point may move in case the satellite spot beams move. In other
embodiments, the reference point may be fixed on earth, for example, in case of earth fixed spot
beams” (paragraph 0096). LIBERG indicates a reference point associated with a cell that may be tied to
the ephemeris data. The reference point, corresponding to a geographical location, for example, the
center point of a cell defining a spot beam, may be obtained by the UE.
and information about a second geographical location, wherein the second geographical
location is a geographical location of a terminal;
LIBERG writes, “At step 1110, the method comprises comparing a location of a wireless device to a
reference point associated with a cell. The reference point is based on satellite ephemeris data
(paragraph 0140). LIBERG states the method compares the location of a wireless device to a reference
point, therefore, indicating, having information about a second geographical location.
LIBERG fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a apparatus, comprising”, “a processor
and a memory,”, “wherein the memory is configured to store non-transitory instructions,”, “and the
processor is configured to execute the non- transitory instructions thereby causing the wireless
communication apparatus to perform:”, “wherein each first signal of the at least one first signal
corresponds to one first beam of the at least one first beam,”, “a beamwidth of each first beam of the at least one first beam,”, “and sending a random access request to the satellite,”, and “wherein the random access request includes an identifier of the second beam.”
However, in analogous art, ISLAM teaches a apparatus (column 50, line 7; figure 18, apparatus:
1702'), comprising
a processor and a memory (column 50, lines 15-17; figure 18, processor: 1804, computer-
readable medium/memory: 1806),
wherein the memory is configured to store non-transitory instructions (column 50, lines 15-17;
figure 18, processor: 1804, computer-readable medium/memory: 1806),
and the processor is configured to execute the non- transitory instructions thereby causing the
wireless communication apparatus to perform:
ISLAM writes, “The processor 1804 is responsible for general processing, including the execution of
software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory 1806” (column 50, lines 36-38).
wherein each first signal of the at least one first signal corresponds to one first beam of the at
least one first beam,
ISLAM writes, “A UE comprising: means for communicating with a base station through a first active
beam; means for receiving a first signal and a second signal from the base station associated with beam
tracking, wherein the first signal is received initially through a first beam of a first plurality of beams and
the second signal is received subsequently through a second beam of a second plurality of beams... ”
(claim 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIBERG to include aspects described by
ISLAM that “relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to a user equipment
and a base station that may communicate through one of more beams.” ISLAM provides the motivation
for modification stating, “The small cell 102′ may operate in a licensed and/or an unlicensed frequency
spectrum. When operating in an unlicensed frequency spectrum, the small cell 102′ may employ NR and
use the same 5 GHz unlicensed frequency spectrum as used by the Wi-Fi AP 150. The small cell 102′,
employing NR in an unlicensed frequency spectrum, may boost coverage to and/or increase capacity of
the access network” (column 8, lines 48-54). ISLAM adds, “Communications using the mmW/near mmW
radio frequency band has extremely high path loss and a short range. The mmW base station 180 may
utilize beamforming 184 with the UE 182 to compensate for the extremely high path loss and short
range” (column 8, line 67; column 9, lines 1-4).
LIBERG and ISLAM fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a beamwidth of each first beam of the at least one first beam,”, “and sending a random access request to the satellite,”, and “wherein the random access request includes an identifier of the second beam.”
However, in analogous art, MA teaches a beamwidth of each first beam of the at least one first beam,
MA writes, “The UE 115 may thereby derive position coordinates of a center of a beam footprint using the beam direction, the beam width, and an altitude of a base station (e.g., a satellite) to support efficient beam switching operations for beamformed communications” (paragraph 0129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIBERG and ISLAM to include aspects described by MA that "relates to wireless communications and more specifically to managing beam coverage areas." MA provides the motivation for modification stating, "Various aspects of the subject matter described herein may be implemented to realize one or more potential advantages, including providing benefits and enhancements to the operation of the UEs. In some examples, the operations performed by the UE for beam selection or cell switching may improve beamformed communications by reducing or eliminating interference between directional beams of a base station (e.g., a satellite). In some examples, operations performed by the UEs may support improvements to power consumption, reliability for beamformed communications, spectral efficiency, higher data rates and, in some examples, low latency for beamformed communications, among other benefits" (paragraph 0069).
LIBERG, ISLAM, and MA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and sending a random access request to the satellite,”, and “wherein the random access request includes an identifier of the second beam.”
However, in analogous art, SHRESTHA teaches and sending a random access request to the satellite,
SHRESTHA writes, “In the example of a two-step RACH procedure, the random access messages 215 may include a msgA (also referred to as a random access request message) and a msgB (also referred to as a random access response message). The UE 115-a may transmit a msgA and the base station 105-a (or the satellite 120-a) may transmit a msgB in response to the msgA” (paragraph 0100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIBERG, ISLAM, and MA to include aspects described by SHRESTHA that "relates to wireless communication, including resource selection associated with two-step random access procedures." SHRESTHA provides the motivation for modification stating, "The described techniques may thus provide improvements to power consumption and, in some examples, may promote higher reliability and lower latency random access operations in a non-terrestrial network, among other benefits" (paragraph 0039).
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, and SHRESTHA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the random access request includes an identifier of the second beam.”
However, in analogous art, LANDIS teaches wherein the random access request includes an identifier of the second beam.
LANDIS writes, “At 514, the UE 504 transmits a RACH Msg 1. In a first step of the RACH procedure, for example, UE 504 may transmit a message (RACH Msg 1), which may be referred to as a random access request message, to the base station 502 via a physical channel, such as a physical random access channel (PRACH)...The RACH Msg 1 may include an SSB index to indicate the selected SSB beam. In some aspects, the RACH Msg 1 may be transmitted with a beam width that corresponds to that of the selected SSB” (paragraph 0086). Though LANDIS refers to a terrestrial base station, the concept of including an identifier of a selected SSB beam in the random access request message can still be applied to the prior art of SHRESTHA. SHRESTHA states, “The UE 115-a may transmit a msgA and the base station 105-a (or the satellite 120-a) may transmit a msgB in response to the msgA.” Wherein SHRESTHA informs the reader, “…a msgA (also referred to as a random access request message)…” Therefore the identifier can be included in a random access request that is transported to a satellite.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, and SHRESTHA to include aspects described by LANDIS that "relates generally to wireless communication, and more particularly, to techniques for sounding reference signals (SRSs) triggered by random access channel (RACH) message 2 for RACH message 4 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) quasi co-location (QCL)." LANDIS provides the motivation for modification stating, "Particular implementations of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented to realize one or more of the following potential advantages. In some implementations, the described techniques can be used to improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, facilitate access to a wireless network and establish a communication connection between a UE and a base station. For example, the subject technology can improve beam refinement at the UE and base station by SRS signaling triggered with RACH message 2 signaling, which can allow the UE to utilize narrower receive beams based on SRI information in the RACH message 4 PDCCH to achieve better coverage between the UE and the base station and provide initial link stability" (paragraph 0008).
Claims 1 and 8 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 13 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 13. Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under the same rational as claim 13.
Claim(s) 6-7, 11-12, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS as applied to claims 1, 8, and 13 above, and further in view of CIOCHINA et al. (US 20230370154 A1, hereinafter, "CIOCHINA").
Regarding claim 18, LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS teach the apparatus according to claim 13,
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the information about the first geographical location includes a first distance difference of the first geographical location relative to a terrestrial reference point; or the information about the first geographical location is a second distance difference of the first geographical location relative to a geographical location of a center point of a fourth beam, wherein the fourth beam is one of the at least one first beam.”
However, in analogous art, CIOCHINA teaches wherein the information about the first geographical location includes a first distance difference of the first geographical location relative to a terrestrial reference point; or the information about the first geographical location is a second distance difference of the first geographical location relative to a geographical location of a center point of a fourth beam, wherein the fourth beam is one of the at least one first beam.
CIOCHINA writes, “According to an aspect of the invention, the user equipment, occupying a current
location, is able to obtain data of said current location, and wherein said data of assistance information
include at least data of current and future positions of reference points associated to respective satellite
beams and distance thresholds data defined for each of the satellite beams, said distance threshold
being a maximum allowed distance between a location of a user equipment and a current position of a
reference point associated to a satellite beam, and the user equipment: determines distances
respectively between its current location and the positions of the reference points associated to the
satellite beams, compares said determined distances respectively to said distance thresholds for each
satellite beam, and applies a temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected
satellite beam as long as the distance between the current location of the user equipment and the
position of the reference point associated to the selected satellite beam exceeds the distance threshold
of the selected satellite beam” (paragraphs 40-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS to include aspects described by CIOCHINA that “relates to the field of telecommunication using non-terrestrial networks, and more specifically to the access to satellite communication networks.” CIOCHINA provides the motivation for modification stating, “The user equipment is thus provided with relevant information about the satellite network in order to access the satellite network in a way that optimizes both the overall performance of the network and the connection conditions of the user equipment on the long run” (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 19, LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS teach the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein processor is further configured to execute the non-transitory instructions thereby further causing the wireless communication apparatus to perform:
Additionally, ISLAM teaches wherein the first information is useable to indicate to the satellite
to perform sweeping based on a second sweeping cycle based on a fifth beam.
ISLAM writes, “Based on the received information, the base station 502 and/or the UE 504 may
determine various configuration information, such as mmW network access configuration information,
information for adjusting beam sweeping periodicity, information regarding overlapping coverage for
predicting a handoff to another base station, such as a mmW base station” (column 18, lines 40-46).
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining a third distance difference between the second geographical location and an edge of the second beam;” and “and sending first information to the satellite in response to the third distance difference being less than a preset distance threshold,”
However, in analogous art, CIOCHINA teaches determining a third distance difference between the second geographical location and an edge of the second beam;
CIOCHINA writes, “Reference points associated to a satellite beam can be understood as the center of
satellite beam but also any other point belonging to the surface zone of the satellite beam like an
equidistant point to some points on the borders delimiting the beam for instance. Distance threshold
defined for a satellite beam can be defined by the base stations of the satellite managing said satellite
beam. Both reference points and distance thresholds define an access region of a given satellite beam.
They are transmitted to the user equipment as assistance information so that it can determine if it is
within said access region of the given satellite beam...In this context, the assistance information thus
enables the user equipment to avoid failed attempts of access and save radio resources as well as
accessing the network in optimized connection conditions (which are considered to be met when the
distance between the location of the user equipment and the reference point of the beam is below its
distance threshold)” (paragraph 0046).
and sending first information to the satellite in response to the third distance difference being
less than a preset distance threshold,
CIOCHINA writes, “Reference points associated to a satellite beam can be understood as the center of
satellite beam but also any other point belonging to the surface zone of the satellite beam like an
equidistant point to some points on the borders delimiting the beam for instance. Distance threshold
defined for a satellite beam can be defined by the base stations of the satellite managing said satellite
beam. Both reference points and distance thresholds define an access region of a given satellite beam.
They are transmitted to the user equipment as assistance information so that it can determine if it is
within said access region of the given satellite beam...In this context, the assistance information thus
enables the user equipment to avoid failed attempts of access and save radio resources as well as
accessing the network in optimized connection conditions (which are considered to be met when the
distance between the location of the user equipment and the reference point of the beam is below its
distance threshold)” (paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS to include aspects described by CIOCHINA that “relates to the field of telecommunication using non-terrestrial networks, and more specifically to the access to satellite communication networks.” CIOCHINA provides the motivation for modification stating, “The user equipment is thus provided with relevant information about the satellite network in order to access the satellite network in a way that optimizes both the overall performance of the network and the connection conditions of the user equipment on the long run” (paragraph 0016).
Claims 6-7 and 11-12 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 18-19 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 18-19. Claims 6-7 and 11-12 are rejected under the same rational as claims 18-19.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of CIOCHINA, ÚBEDA et al. (US 20210076286 A1, hereinafter, "UBEDA"), WU et al. (US 20210211244 A1, hereinafter, "WU"), and SEKAR et al. (US 10932122 B1, "SEKAR").
Regarding claim 14, LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS teach the apparatus according to claim 13,
Additionally, LIBERG teaches the ephemeris of the satellite,
LIBERG writes, “The reference point associated with a cell may be tied to the satellite ephemeris data
that may be stored at the UE or otherwise obtained by the UE, e.g., through signalling or other data
gathering/receiving. In certain embodiments, the reference point associated to a cell corresponds to a
geographical location, for example, the centre point of a cell defining spot beam. In certain
embodiments, the reference point may move in case the satellite spot beams move. In other
embodiments, the reference point may be fixed on earth, for example, in case of earth fixed spot
beams” (paragraph 0096).
Additionally, ISLAM teaches wherein the at least one first signal includes a first reference
signal;
ISLAM writes, “In an aspect, the communication with the UE through the first active beam includes
sending a reference signal to the UE…” (column 2, lines 62-64)
the method further comprises: measuring a quality of the first reference signal;
ISLAM writes, “The UE 604 may measure a signal quality of the BRSs 612a-h, and each measured signal
quality may correspond to a beam 620a-h of the set of beams” (column 21, lines 62-64).
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and the determining the second beam comprises: determining a first beam corresponding to a second signal as a third beam,”, “wherein the second signal is a first signal having a second reference signal,”, “the second reference signal having a quality that is greater than a preset quality threshold;”, “determining a coverage area of the third beam based on a beamwidth of the third beam and information about a first geographical location of the second signal;”, “and determining the second beam based on the coverage area of the third beam,”, and “and the information about the second geographical location.”
However, in analogous art, UBEDA teaches and the determining the second beam comprises:
determining a first beam corresponding to a second signal as a third beam,
UBEDA writes, “The HAP has an antenna system defining a plurality of beams, such that the beams
provide separate geographical coverage areas. Preferably, the first and second carrier signals are
transmitted by the same beam or beams of the HAP. The first and second carrier signals are therefore
providing service (in terms of the radio access network) to user terminals in the same geographical area”
(paragraph 0014). UBEDA indicates the first and second signals may be transmitted by the same beam,
such as the first beam, but even when the second signal corresponds to the first beam, it may be
transmitted by a different beam.
and determining the second beam based on the coverage area of the third beam,
UBEDA writes, “The HAP advantageously has an antenna system defining a plurality of beams, such that
the beams provide separate geographical coverage areas” (paragraph 0041). UBEDA describes defining a
plurality of beams, such that the beams provide separate geographical coverage areas, thereby,
indicating that each beam take into account the coverage area of the other beams in order to have
separate coverage areas.
and the information about the second geographical location.
UBEDA writes, “The HAP advantageously has an antenna system defining a plurality of beams, such that the beams provide separate geographical coverage areas” (paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS to include aspects described by UBEDA that “concerns adjusting a bandwidth of a carrier signal providing access to a cellular radio network, particularly in which the access is provided through a High Altitude Platform (HAP), such as an airship or a satellite (considered a HAP in this disclosure).” UBEDA provides the motivation for modification stating, “The ability to change the bandwidth for the provision of service in this way may allow significant improvements in efficiency and performance for a HAP-providing RAN” (paragraph 0014).
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, and UBEDA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the second signal is a first signal having a second reference signal,”, “the second reference signal having a quality that is greater than a preset quality threshold;”, and “determining a coverage area of the third beam based on a beamwidth of the third beam and information about a first geographical location of the second signal;”.
However, in analogous art, WU teaches wherein the second signal is a first signal having a second reference signal,
WU writes, “A first node receives a first signaling; transmits a first signal, a first reference signal and a
first demodulation reference signal in the first time-frequency resource block set; and transmits a
second signal, a second reference signal and a second demodulation reference signal in the second
time-frequency resource block set” (abstract; figure 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, and UBEDA to include aspects described by WU that “relates to transmission methods and devices in wireless communication systems, and in particular to a method and device of radio signal transmission in a wireless communication system that support cellular networks.” WU provides the motivation for modification stating, “In one embodiment, the method in the present disclosure is advantageous in the following aspects: the present disclosure proposes a scheme for designing PTRSs in transmissions of multiple TRPs, antenna panels or beams, in the method proposed in the present disclosure, PTRSs of two data transmissions correspond to a same port number, a signaling is scheduled for determining DMRS port numbers respectively associated with PTRS port numbers of the two data transmissions, in the method proposed in the present disclosure, the two data transmissions can be performed for different TRPs, antenna panels or beams, so that a most appropriate DMRS port number can be associated with a PTRS port number of each data transmission” (paragraphs 0051-0054).
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, and WU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the second reference signal having a quality that is greater than a preset quality threshold;”, and “determining a coverage area of the third beam based on a beamwidth of the third beam and information about a first geographical location of the second signal;”.
However, in analogous art, CIOCHINA teaches the second reference signal having a quality that is greater than a preset quality threshold;
CIOCHINA writes, “...the user equipment can select a satellite beam through which it can access the
satellite network based on a comparison of its measurements of said beam with a channel quality
threshold, which guarantees the quality of the connection to said cell. Indeed, the user equipment can
classically measure various indicators of the channel quality of satellite beams, such indicators being
a signal to noise ratio (SNR) or a reference signal received power (RSRP) for example. Thus, such channel
quality thresholds enable the user equipment to avoid failed access attempts by selecting satellite
beams for which its channel quality measurements are superior to said channel quality thresholds”
(paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, and WU to include aspects described by CIOCHINA that “relates to the field of telecommunication using non-terrestrial networks, and more specifically to the access to satellite communication networks.” CIOCHINA provides the motivation for modification stating, “The user equipment is thus provided with relevant information about the satellite network in order to access the satellite network in a way that optimizes both the overall performance of the network and the connection conditions of the user equipment on the long run” (paragraph 0016).
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, WU, and CIOCHINA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining a coverage area of the third beam based on a beamwidth of the third beam and information about a first geographical location of the second signal;”.
However, in analogous art, SEKAR teaches determining a coverage area of the third beam based on a beamwidth of the third beam and information about a first geographical location of the second signal;
SEKAR writes, “As shown, the UE 408 has moved longitudinally from location 412a to 412b. By utilizing
predicative beamforming based on the analysis of UE 408's past Doppler shift values, the system 400 is
able to resolve the poor feedback and ineffective beamforming that previously occurred with high
mobility UEs like UE 408 by predicting the next location of the high mobility UE 408 and adjusting
the beamwidth of the first beam 410 so that it will cover the UE 408 as it moves. As a result, the
feedback sent over the SRS will be more effective, overall UE feedback will be better, and the
beamforming will be more effective since the beam 410 will accurately cover the high mobility UE 408's
movements through the prediction of the future shift value” (column 15, lines 22-34). SEKAR adds, “In
this example, the predictor 224 has predicted that the UE 408 will move upward in a rotational direction
from position 414a (shown in dotted lines in the lower image of FIG. 4B) to position 414b. Based on this
prediction, the modifier adjusted the beamwidth of the first beam 410 so that the beam's direction and
location would cover the UE 408 as it moved rotationally upward from position 414a to 414b” (column
15, lines 56-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, WU, and CIOCHINA to include aspects described by SEKAR that “relates to the use of predictive beamforming based on past shift values to improve user equipment beam effectiveness, substantially as shown in and/or described in connection with at least one of the figures, and as set forth more completely in the claims.” SEKAR provides the motivation for modification stating, “In aspects set forth herein, systems and methods for dynamically improving user equipment (UE) beam effectiveness for a high mobility UE are disclosed. As wireless technology advances, utilizing Massive MIMO for wireless communication sessions on different communication protocols (e.g. 5G/4G) has become more prevalent and can improve the user experience, while being more efficient due to the Massive MIMO system design” (column 1, lines 21-28).
Regarding claim 15, LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, WU, CIOCHINA, and SEKAR teach the apparatus according to claim 14,
Additionally, LIBERG teaches wherein the determining the second beam further comprises:
determining the second beam based on the ephemeris of the satellite and a distance between a
center point of the coverage area of the third beam and the second geographical location.
LIBERG writes, “The reference point associated with a cell may be tied to the satellite ephemeris data
that may be stored at the UE or otherwise obtained by the UE, e.g., through signalling or other data
gathering/receiving. In certain embodiments, the reference point associated to a cell corresponds to a
geographical location, for example, the centre point of a cell defining spot beam. In certain
embodiments, the reference point may move in case the satellite spot beams move. In other
embodiments, the reference point may be fixed on earth, for example, in case of earth fixed spot
beams” (paragraph 0096).
Claims 2-3 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 14-15 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 14-15. Claims 2-3 are rejected under the same rational as claims 14-15.
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS as applied to claims 1, 8, and 13 above, and further in view of AGARWAL et al. (US 20080219266 A1, hereinafter, "AGARWAL") and KANG et al. (US 20240106527 A1, hereinafter, "KANG").
Regarding claim 16, LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS teach the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the non-transitory instructions
thereby further causing the wireless communication apparatus to perform:
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receiving at least one third signal from the satellite based on the at least one first beam,” and “wherein the third signal includes information about a first sweeping cycle; or information about a beamwidth of the at least one first beam, and the information about the first sweeping cycle are useable to determine a moment for sending the random access request.”
However, in analogous art, AGARWAL teaches receiving at least one third signal from the
satellite based on the at least one first beam,
AGARWAL writes, “A communications device including a plurality of processing paths for use on a multi-
beam satellite, the communications device comprising: a first modem unit, in communication with a first
plurality of ground terminals within a first beam, the first modem unit configured to: receive a first
signal comprising a first data packet, a second signal comprising a second data packet, and a third signal
comprising a third data packet, the first, second, and third signals received via the first beam...” (claim
25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, and LANDIS to include aspects described by AGARWAL that “relates to satellite communications in general and, in particular, to reference terminal and routing functionality onboard satellite.” AGARWAL provides the motivation for modification stating, “It may, therefore, be desirable to perform certain processing tasks on satellite in order to improve multiplexing gains, better utilize available bandwidth, or capture other operational improvements. However, it may be costly or inefficient to have all of the processing functionality typically associated with a router onboard a satellite. Thus, it may be desirable in certain instances to partition functionality to allow for multiplexing gains and other efficiencies set forth above, while having related processes performed on one or more ground terminals.” (paragraph 0004).
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS and AGARWAL fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the third signal includes information about a first sweeping cycle; or information about a beamwidth of the at least one first beam, and the information about the first sweeping cycle are useable to determine a moment for sending the random access request.”
However, in analogous art, KANG teaches wherein the third signal includes information about a
first sweeping cycle; or information about a beamwidth of the at least one first beam, and the
information about the first sweeping cycle are useable to determine a moment for sending the
random access request.
KANG writes, “According to a second aspect of the present application, an apparatus of accessing a
network access apparatus for a terminal is provided, which includes: a signal receiver configured to
determine a beam sweeping interval and a sweeping frequency, and receive a base station signal
transmitted or forwarded by a satellite…” (paragraphs 0012-0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, and AGARWAL to include aspects described by KANG that “relates to the field of communication, and in particular, to a method and apparatus of accessing a network for a terminal, an electronic device and a storage medium.” KANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “In the embodiments of the present application, a quality of a downlink signal of the base station can be determined according to the base station signal transmitted or forwarded by the satellite, then that whether the terminal is able to perform a satellite search successfully can be determined according to the quality of a downlink signal, and the terminal can be accurately and fast search for the satellite for successful access and communication without ephemeris information, which is convenient for users to set the usage status of the terminal and prolong the service cycle of the terminal” (paragraph 0022).
Claims 4 and 9 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 16 that has already
been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 16. Claims 4 and 9 are
rejected under the same rational as claim 16.
Claim(s) 5, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, WU, CIOCHINA, and SEKAR as applied to claims 4, 9, and 14 above, and further in view of KANG.
Regarding claim 17, LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, WU, CIOCHINA, and SEKAR teach the apparatus according to claim 14,
LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, WU, CIOCHINA, and SEKAR fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the information about the first sweeping cycle is a value of the first sweeping cycle or an index of the first sweeping cycle.”
However, in analogous art, KANG teaches wherein the information about the first sweeping
cycle is a value of the first sweeping cycle or an index of the first sweeping cycle.
KANG writes, “At each sweeping frequency in each beam sweeping interval, after the base station signal
transmitted or forwarded by the satellite is received, the quality of the downlink signal of the base
station is determined according to a signal measurement value of the base station signal or other
methods” (paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIBERG, ISLAM, MA, SHRESTHA, LANDIS, UBEDA, WU, CIOCHINA, and SEKAR to include aspects described by KANG that “relates to the field of communication, and in particular, to a method and apparatus of accessing a network for a terminal, an electronic device and a storage medium.” KANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “In the embodiments of the present application, a quality of a downlink signal of the base station can be determined according to the base station signal transmitted or forwarded by the satellite, then that whether the terminal is able to perform a satellite search successfully can be determined according to the quality of a downlink signal, and the terminal can be accurately and fast search for the satellite for successful access and communication without ephemeris information, which is convenient for users to set the usage status of the terminal and prolong the service cycle of the terminal” (paragraph 0022).
Claims 5 and 10 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 17 that has already
been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 17. Claims 5 and 10
are rejected under the same rational as claim 17.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 6/5/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475