Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui (US 2013/0024076) in view of Henes (US 2022/0025692).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui in view of Henes in view of Kubota (US 2016/0285394).
Priority
The priority date for this application is 09/29/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui in view of Henes.
As per Claim 1:
Fukui discloses all of the following limitations:
“A vehicle door control device that is applied to a vehicle including a door and a drive device, the door being configured to: open and close a door opening of a vehicle body by rotating about a rotation axis extending along an upper edge of the door opening, and the drive device including a motor configured to drive the door to open and close, the vehicle door control device controlling driving of the motor, wherein in a case where a door opening degree between a door opening degree of the door in a fully open state and a door opening degree of the door in a fully closed state is defined as a determination opening degree, the vehicle door control device executes door control processing when the door moves in a closing direction from a stopped state in a state where a closing operation command signal for commanding a closing operation of the door is not received, and in the door control processing, the vehicle door control device executes a braking mode, in which a braking force is applied to the door by regenerative braking action of the motor, when the door opening degree is less than the determination opening degree.... when the door opening degree is equal to or greater than the determination opening degree””
Fukui Paragraphs [0040]-[0043] disclose a rear door of a vehicle that receives an unexpected force during the automatic opening or closing of the door and applies a variable level of braking based on the door opening degree or a door speed.
Fukui does not disclose the following limitations that Henes teaches:
“and executes a closing operation mode carried out by a driving action of the motor, in which the door performs the closing operation such that a moving speed of the door is constant, …”
Henes Paragraph [0026] teaches activating an power assisted closing of a door based on the detected movement of said door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Fukui with the power closing of a door based on door movement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by detecting a user intent to close a door.
With regards to Claim 6, Fukui in view of Henes teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the vehicle is provided with a notification unit configured to notify a person around the door that the door control processing is being executed, and the notification unit is operated when the door control processing is being executed.”
Fukui Paragraph [0069] discloses a flag being raised in response to emergency control of a door being exercised to be read at a dealer.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui in view Henes in view of Kubota (US 2016/0285394).
With regards to Claim 2, Fukui in view of Henes teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“..., and in the door control processing, the vehicle door control device executes the closing operation mode when the door opening degree is equal to or greater than the determination opening degree and the closing speed of the door is equal to or greater than the determination speed, and executes a stopping mode, in which the power supply to the motor is stopped, when the door opening degree is equal to or greater than the determination opening degree and the closing speed of the door is less than the determination speed.”
Fukui Paragraphs [0040]-[0043] disclose a rear door of a vehicle that receives an unexpected force during the automatic opening or closing of the door and applies a variable level of braking based on the door opening degree or a door speed.
Fukui in view of Henes does not disclose the following limitations that Kubota does disclose:
“wherein a determination speed is set as a determination value of a closing speed of the door during execution of the door control processing, the drive device is configured to bias the door in an opening direction in a state where power supply to the motor is stopped...”
Kubota Paragraph [0004] discloses a system the disables the motor, i.e. biases the motor against closing, during an instance in which the power to the motor is lost.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Fukui in view of Henes with the door biases disclosed by Kubota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both references are directed towards vehicle door control mechanisms (see Paragraph [0002] of Fukui and Paragraph [0002] of Kubota) and to make the system more effective by avoiding unintended closures.
With regards to Claim 3, Fukui in view of Henes in view of Kubota discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein when the determination speed is defined as a first determination speed, a second determination speed greater than the first determination speed is set as the determination value, and in the door control processing, the vehicle door control device executes the braking mode when the door opening degree is less than the determination opening degree and the closing speed of the door is equal to or greater than the second determination speed, and executes the stopping mode when the door opening degree is less than the determination opening degree and the closing speed of the door is less than the second determination speed.”
Fukui Paragraphs [0040]-[0043] disclose a rear door of a vehicle that receives an unexpected force during the automatic opening or closing of the door and applies a variable level of braking based on the door opening degree or a door speed. As both of these variables are considered when making a determination it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that both could be simultaneously considered.
With regards to Claim 4, Fukui in view of Henes in view of Kubota discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein in the door control processing, the vehicle door control device executes the braking mode when the closing speed of the door is equal to or greater than the determination speed in a case where the door moves in the closing direction from a stopped state in a state where the closing operation command signal for commanding a closing operation of the door is not received after any one of the braking mode, the closing operation mode and the stopping mode is executed.”
Fukui Paragraphs [0040]-[0043] disclose a rear door of a vehicle that receives an unexpected force during the automatic opening or closing of the door and applies a variable level of braking based on the door opening degree or a door speed. As both of these variables are considered when making a determination it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that both could be simultaneously considered.
With regards to Claim 5, Fukui in view of Henes in view of Kubota discloses all of the limitations of Claim 3 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein in the door control processing, the vehicle door control device executes the braking mode when the closing speed of the door is equal to or greater than the determination speed in a case where the door moves in the closing direction from a stopped state in a state where the closing operation command signal for commanding a closing operation of the door is not received after any one of the braking mode, the closing operation mode and the stopping mode is executed.”
Fukui Paragraphs [0040]-[0043] disclose a rear door of a vehicle that receives an unexpected force during the automatic opening or closing of the door and applies a variable level of braking based on the door opening degree or a door speed. As both of these variables are considered when making a determination it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that both could be simultaneously considered.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Worden can be reached on (571) 272-4876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658