DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign priority papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d) or 35 U.S.C. § 365(a)-(c) are acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claim(s) 1-9 in the reply filed on 11/04/2025 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method/apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 09/27/2023 has/have been considered. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170063646 to Kawai (hereinafter “Kawai”).
With respect to claim 1, Kawai discloses a consumable consuming device (image-recording device, printer 10 FIG. 1) comprising: a consumable holder (10, 38 FIG. 1); and a controller switchable between a first state in which no agreement for delivery of a consumable is in effect and a second state in which an agreement for delivery of the consumable is in effect (status of a service agreement, central processing unit 12 FIG. 1), the controller being configured to perform: a first determination process to determine a first remaining life, the first remaining life being a remaining life of the consumable that is provided to the consumable holder during a time when no agreement for delivery of the consumable is in effect (central processing unit 12, sensors 27 FIG. 1); a consumption process to perform a prescribed operation while consuming the consumable in the second state (printed pages FIG.s 6-11); and a billing control process in which the controller performs a billing-related process after the first remaining life is decreased to a predetermined quantity through execution of the consumption process but does not perform the billing-related process until the first remaining life is decreased to the predetermined quantity (“deliver the specific type of cartridge when remaining quantity of recording material contained in the specific type of cartridge in use has reached a predetermined minimum” Claims 1-9 and [0079]-[0113], FIG.s 6-11).
With respect to claim 2, Kawai discloses wherein a plurality of consumables can be provided to the consumable holder (38 FIG. 1), wherein, in the first determination process, the controller determines the first remaining life for each of the plurality of consumables (central processing unit 12, sensors 27 FIG. 1), and wherein, in the billing control process, the billing-related process is performed after the first remaining life of at least one of the plurality of consumables is decreased to the predetermined quantity (“deliver the specific type of cartridge when remaining quantity of recording material contained in the specific type of cartridge in use has reached a predetermined minimum” Claims 1-9 and [0079]-[0113], FIG.s 6-11).
With respect to claim 3, Kawai discloses wherein types of the consumption process include the consumption process for which billing is to be conducted and the consumption process for which billing is not to be conducted, and wherein, in the billing control process, the billing-related process is performed after the consumption process for which billing is to be conducted is performed and the first remaining life is decreased to the predetermined quantity (“deliver the specific type of cartridge when remaining quantity of recording material contained in the specific type of cartridge in use has reached a predetermined minimum” Claims 1-9 and [0079]-[0113], FIG.s 6-11).
With respect to claim 4, Kawai discloses wherein the controller is configured to further perform: a second determination process to determine a second remaining life, the second remaining life being a remaining life of the consumable that is provided to the consumable holder during a time when an agreement for delivery of the consumable is in effect (“deliver the specific type of cartridge when remaining quantity of recording material contained in the specific type of cartridge in use has reached a predetermined minimum” Claims 1-9 and [0079]-[0113], FIG.s 6-11).
With respect to claim 5, Kawai discloses wherein, in the second determination process performed after the consumable is provided to the consumable holder during a time when an agreement for delivery of the consumable is in effect, the controller determines, as the second remaining life, a difference between a maximum remaining life of the consumable and the first remaining life (“deliver the specific type of cartridge when remaining quantity of recording material contained in the specific type of cartridge in use has reached a predetermined minimum” Claims 1-9 and [0079]-[0113], FIG.s 6-11).
With respect to claim 6, Kawai discloses wherein, both in the first determination process performed after the consumption process is performed and in the second determination process performed after the consumption process is performed, the controller prioritizes decreasing the first remaining life over decreasing the second remaining life (S156 FIG. 9 and S174 FIG. 10, Claims 1-9 and [0079]-[0113], FIG.s 6-11).
With respect to claim 7, Kawai discloses wherein the controller includes a storage, and wherein the controller is configured to further perform: in response to the consumable being provided to the consumable holder during a time when no agreement for delivery of the consumable is in effect, a storage process to store the second remaining life in the storage; and in response to the consumable being provided to the consumable holder during a time when an agreement for delivery of the consumable is in effect and prior to performing the second determination process, a correction process to correct the first remaining life on the basis of the second remaining life stored in the storage (storage 14, 32, 30 FIG. 1, Claims 1-9 and [0079]-[0113]).
With respect to claim 8, Kawai discloses further comprising a user interface, wherein the controller is configured to perform: in response to performing the billing-related process in the billing control process, a notification process to control the user interface to notify that billing has been conducted (display 76 FIG.s 12-24).
With respect to claim 9, Kawai discloses further comprising a printing engine (printer 10 FIG. 1), wherein the consumable is a printing agent (38 FIG. 1), wherein the consumable holder is a tank including an inlet port, the tank configured to store the printing agent injected thereinto through the inlet port (38 FIG. 1), wherein the first remaining life is a remaining amount of the printing agent injected into the tank during a time when no agreement for delivery of the consumable is in effect, and wherein the prescribed operation is a printing operation in which the controller controls the printing engine to perform printing while consuming the printing agent stored in the tank (“deliver the specific type of cartridge when remaining quantity of recording material contained in the specific type of cartridge in use has reached a predetermined minimum” Claims 1-9 and [0079]-[0113], FIG.s 6-11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, whether or not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220171576 to Yamada discloses a printing device configured to operate in contract mode or normal mode with multiple types of attachable consumables.
/BRADLEY W THIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853