DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: a colon should be inserted after “comprising” to distinguish the preamble from the body of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wilson et al.
For claim 1, Wilson et al. (2009/0039819) disclose a robotic vehicle (100), comprising:
a body and two legs (102, 102; four are shown) for locomotion, and
a control unit ([0035]) for controlling movement of the two legs,
the two legs being attached to opposing sides of the body,
wherein for each of the two legs it is the case that:
the leg comprises a respective hip joint, an upper link, a knee joint, a lower link, a wheel joint (FIG.5), and a wheel (108),
the upper link (upper portion shown in FIG.5) being attached to the body and being rotatable relative to the body by the hip joint, with a relative angular position of the hip joint being set by a hip drive,
the lower link (lower portion shown in FIG.5) being attached to the upper link and rotatable relative to the upper link by the knee joint, with a relative angular position of the knee joint being set by a knee drive,
the wheel (108) being attached to the lower link and rotatable relative to the lower link by the wheel joint, with a relative angular position of the wheel joint being set by a wheel drive,
characterised in that for at least one of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective hip joint has a range of at least 180° ([0063]).
For claim 2, for at least one of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective hip joint has a range of at least 350°. (Paragraph 63 of Wilson describes the wheels, legs and hips as being able to rotate through 360 degrees both forwards and backwards.)
For claim 4, for at least one of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective knee joint has a range of at least 180° ([0063]).
For claim 5, for at least one of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective knee joint has a range of at least 350° ([0063]).
For claim 6, a sensor is provided for noncontact sensing, the sensor being one or more of a camera, a distance sensor, microphones, and ground penetrating radars. (Paragraph 68 of Wilson describes multiple types of noncontact sensing, including a camera, as well as ultrasonic, motion, location, and depth sensors.)
For claim 7, a sensor is provided for contact sensing, the sensor being one or more of an ohm-metre, corrosion sensor, ultrasonic transducer, electro magnetic acoustic transducer and dry Film thickness gauge. (Paragraph 68 of Wilson describes sensor types including touch sensors and ultrasonic sensors.)
For claim 19, for both of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective hip joint has a range of at least 180° and of less than 350° (Paragraph 63 of Wilson describes the hips as being able to rotate through 360 degrees both forwards and backwards; but it is implicit that hip joints need not rotate to this extent unless desired), and
wherein for both of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective knee joint has a range of less than 180° ([0063]).
For claim 20, for both of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective hip joint has a range of at least 350°, (Paragraph 63 of Wilson describes the wheels, legs and hips as being able to rotate through 360 degrees both forwards and backwards.)
wherein for both of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective knee joint has a range of at least 180° ([0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. as applied above.
For claim 3, for at least one of the two legs of Wilson, the relative angular position of the respective hip joint has a range of at least 360 degrees but does not explicitly disclose rotating the hip joint three full rotations amounting to 1080°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have allowed what is already present in Wilson (that is 360 degrees of rotation) to be iterated two additional times (thereby allowing for three full turns and 1080 degrees of rotation) as an obvious modification because a PHOSITA would have expected this capability (performing the 360 degrees rotation a desired number of times) and allowing additional rotations is not deemed critical or inventive (MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed range (1080 degrees), over more iterations of 360 degree rotations.
Furthermore, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984).
In the instant case, the device of Wilson et al. would not operate differently by providing additional revolutions of 360 degree motion up to or beyond 1080 degrees.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. as applied above to claim 1.
For claim 15, for both legs the relative angular position of the respective hip joints has a range of at least 180°, (Paragraph 63 of Wilson; the hips as being able to rotate through 360 degrees both forwards and backwards.); and the relative angular position of the respective knee joint has a range of at least 180° ([0063]).
Wilson et al. provide the structure and structural capability for the movement of the robot but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the control unit ([0035]) is programmed to:
upright the vehicle by first rotating the hips to place both upper links parallel to each other, then by rotating its knees, so that the body is placed in between the wheels, and then by lifting the knees and the body.
However, a PHOSITA understands that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have allowed the controller of the robot of Wilson to be programmed in such a manner so the robot and its legs move as set forth above as obvious variants in order to comply with desired user output, as the steps are simply experimental details that a PHOSITA armed with the principles disclosed in the prior art and with knowledge, creativity, and common sense would have utilized in routine experimentation.
Applicant is reminded that the current claim is directed not to a method but to a product claim and that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of use or production. The limitation(s) of claim 15 is intended use limitation(s) and are not further limiting in so far as the structure of the product is concerned. Note that in apparatus, article, and composition claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 1, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuwa in view of Wilson et al. (‘819).
For claim 1, Fuwa (8170781) discloses a robotic vehicle, comprising:
a body (12) and two legs (as arms 14,16) for locomotion, and
a control unit (80) for controlling movement of the two legs, the two legs being attached to opposing sides of the body,
wherein for each of the two legs it is the case that
the leg comprises a respective hip joint (61,91), an upper link, a knee joint (63,93), a lower link, a wheel joint (17,19; 26,28), and a wheel (18,20),
the upper link being attached to the body and being rotatable relative to the body by the hip joint, with a relative angular position of the hip joint being set by a hip drive,
the lower link being attached to the upper link and rotatable relative to the upper link by the knee joint, with a relative angular position of the knee joint being set by a knee drive,
the wheel being attached to the lower link and rotatable relative to the lower link by the wheel joint, with a relative angular position of the wheel joint being set by a wheel drive.
Fuwa specifically teaches the robot can be elevated to a height and lowered as seen in FIGS. 3A and 3B where the legs (right and left ‘arms 14,16) have specific inclination angles relative the body (12) and the ground.
Fuwa fails to provide the degrees of rotation possible with Wilson et al. which teaches that for at least one leg of the robot the relative angular position of the respective hip joint has a range of at least 180°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have allowed the freedom of degrees of rotation for the hip and knee joints of Fuwa to be 180 degrees of rotation as taught by Wilson et al. in order to allow for additional flexibility, adaptability, and control of the movement of the device of Fuwa.
For claims 14 and 16, Fuwa, as modified, provides for both legs the relative angular position of the respective hip joints has a range of at least 180°, (Paragraph 63 of Wilson; the hips as being able to rotate through 360 degrees both forwards and backwards.); and the relative angular position of the respective knee joint has a range of at least 180° ([0063]).
Fuwa, as modified provides the structure and structural capability for the movement of the robot but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is programmed to:
upright the vehicle by first rotating the hips to place both upper links parallel to each other, then by rotating its knees, so that the body is placed in between the wheels, and then by lifting the knees and the body;
flip the body from a reference position to an inverted position by rotating both hip joints, while keeping the legs otherwise in essentially the same configuration,
wherein in the reference position a first side of the body is on top, facing upward, and an opposite second side is on the bottom, facing downward and in the inverted position, the first side faces downward and the second face faces upward; and
upright the vehicle when lying on one of its wheels, by first extending a top leg, to generate a moment due to the weight of the top leg and a top wheel, then, after this moment has rotated the body and both wheels are in contact with the ground, by extending the bottom leg.
However, a PHOSITA understands that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have allowed the controller of the robot of Fuwa, as modified, to be programmed in such a manner so the robot and its legs move as set forth above as obvious variants in order to comply with desired user output, as the steps are simply experimental details that a PHOSITA armed with the principles disclosed in the prior art and with knowledge, creativity, and common sense would have utilized in routine experimentation.
Applicant is reminded that the current claim is directed not to a method but to a product claim and that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of use or production. The limitation(s) of claims 14-16 are intended use limitation(s) and are not further limiting in so far as the structure of the product is concerned. Note that in apparatus, article, and composition claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. as applied above to claim 1.
For claim 17, for both of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective hip joint has a range of at least 180° and of less than 350°. With regard to the range of less than 350 degrees, Wilson et al. need only to not rotate the full 360 degrees to satisfy this limitation, based on for example, controller input and desirability.
Wilson et al. fail to provide wherein for both of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective knee joint has a range of at least 1080°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have allowed what is already present in Wilson (that is 360 degrees of rotation) to be iterated two additional times (thereby allowing for three full turns and 1080 degrees of rotation) as an obvious modification because a PHOSITA would have expected this capability (performing the 360 degrees rotation a desired number of times) and allowing additional rotations is not deemed critical or inventive (MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed range (1080 degrees), over more or less iterations of 360 degree rotations.
Furthermore, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984).
In the instant case, the device of Wilson et al. would not operate differently by providing additional revolutions of 360 degree motion up to or beyond 1080 degrees.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. as applied above to claim 1.
For claim 18, for both of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective hip joint has a range of at least 350°, (Paragraph 63 of Wilson describes the wheels, legs and hips as being able to rotate through 360 degrees both forwards and backwards).
Wilson et al. lack wherein for both of the two legs, the relative angular position of the respective knee joint has a range of at least 1080°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have allowed what is already present in Wilson (that is 360 degrees of rotation) to be iterated two additional times (thereby allowing for three full turns and 1080 degrees of rotation) as an obvious modification because a PHOSITA would have expected this capability (performing the 360 degrees rotation a desired number of times) and allowing additional rotations is not deemed critical or inventive (MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed range (1080 degrees), over more or less iterations of 360 degree rotations.
Furthermore, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984).
In the instant case, the device of Wilson et al. would not operate differently by providing additional revolutions of 360 degree motion up to or beyond 1080 degrees.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. as applied above to claim 1, in view of Chernyak (2020/0290217).
For claim 8, Chernyak teaches an actuator (end effector 900; paragraph 55, fig. 3) is one or more of a gripper, electromagnet, a drill, a brush, a grinder machine, and a sanding machine. (Paragraph 55 describes the end effector as including one or more actuators including grippers.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have applied such an actuator as taught by Chernyak to the robot of Wilson et al. in order to impart the robot with gripping capabilities.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. as applied above to claim 1, in view of Chernyak (2020/0290217).
Wilson et al. lack the specifics of a cooperating unit as recited.
For claim 9, Chernyak teaches a cooperating unit (target object; paragraph 55) is configured to be carried by the vehicle, and a connecting element (end effector 900) arranged to releasably connect the body to the cooperating unit by a mating operation, wherein the mating operation comprises moving the body relative to the cooperating unit. (Paragraph 55 describes a connecting element in the form of the end effector (900) mounted on the end of an articulated arm (800), which is configured to grip and manipulate a target object. Paragraph 60 and fig. 1D describe two appendages (800a, 800b) and two actuators (900, 902). Paragraph 57 describes moving the appendages and altering the pose of the robot to allow positioning of the end effectors on a target object.)
For claim 10, the cooperating unit is one of an actuator or a sensor (Chernyak discloses the ability to pick up and carry heavy objects (paragraph 2), utilizing actuators located on articulated arms. Additionally, Chernyak discloses actuators (paragraph 53) and sensors (paragraph 68).
For claim 11, the cooperating unit is a battery. (Paragraph 71 describes the use of batteries to power the vehicle.
For claim 12, the cooperating unit is a payload or a unit configured to receive and carry a payload. (Paragraph 39 describes the robot as carrying a load. Paragraph 55 describes an end effector and manipulator arm for gripping and manipulating a target object. This constitutes a payload, as a cooperating unit received by the robot utilizing its connecting element.)
For claim 13, the control unit is programmed to perform a connection operation to connect the body to the cooperating unit, (Paragraph 55 describes the end effectors (900) as gripping and manipulating a target object. Additionally, a vacuum device is described for connecting the body of the robot (via the manipulator arm) with a cooperating unit (target object). This requires a control unit to operate a vacuum unit to perform the connection operation.)
wherein the connection operation comprises operating the legs to move the body to be located above the cooperating unit, and to perform a mating movement of the body towards and against the cooperating unit. (Fig. 1B and paragraph 55 describe the end effector and manipulator arm as exerting a force (Fee) at the end of the arm towards a target object. This force is generated by the movement of the vehicle with respect to the ground as well as actuated movement of the vehicle legs and manipulator arm in vertical and horizontal directions. These abilities describe a vehicle which performs a connection operation by moving the body, with the legs, above a cooperating unit and performing a mating movement of the body, including the manipulator arm, towards the cooperating unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have applied such a system as taught by Chernyak and set forth above to the robot of Wilson et al. in order to allow the robot to interact with a cooperating unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With regard to claim 13, remarks have been set forth below.
Claim 13: Dependent Claim
For claim 13, Applicant submits that the Examiner has misinterpreted the claimed invention and the teachings of Chernyak stating that the novelty lies in how the mating operation is performed. Applicant then goes on to describe what is disclosed in the specification not the claims. MPEP 2111 sets forth that it is improper to read limitations of the specification into a claim to thereby narrow the scope of the claim.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
1. Mating is Performed by the Body Itself, whereas Chernyak Uses a Separate Manipulator Arm
Applicant states “As recited in the claim, and disclosed in the specification”, Applicant's invention uses the six degrees of freedom of the robotic vehicle's body (2) itself to perform the final, precise mating operation. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,the six degrees of freedom) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant goes on to argue that Chernyak teaches a movement of the arms and not the body but there is no distinguishing limitation separating the two. That is, nothing prevents the arm of Chernyak from being interpreted as a part of the body of the robot or as the body itself when considering the language of the claims, as broadly recited and interpreted.
2. The Claim recites a Vehicle not Capable but Programmed to Perform a Connection
Operation:
Applicant argues the semantics of the language of the rejection without providing proof of impermissible error. Regardless, the rejection of claim 13 has been modified above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art is replete with bipedal, self balancing robots of the type recited.
In ‘This is Ascento Pro’ (Jan 19, 2022) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2UBhLKNN2c a bipedal self balancing robot is seen using its own momentum to jump/traverse stairs upwardly.
In addition, AgileX has a bipedal robot called T-Rex; Mondo Robotics has Beni a camera robot; Tencent has a similar robot called Ollie, and Direct Drive Tech has Diablo.
Fuwa (2010/0174476), similar to Fuwa ‘781 above discloses a robot having a body, two legs, and a controller, with hip and knee joints, corresponding links, and wheels (18,20). Like Fuwa ‘781, Fuwa ‘476 provides the joints capable of rotation to raise and lower the height of the body of the robot (as seen in FIGS. 3A-3B).
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B