Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 having been previously withdrawn.
Claim 9 has been canceled.
Claims 6-8, 10-14 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gayden et al. (US2021/0193986A1).
As to claim 6, the limitations of claim 6, depositing lithium layers and pressing the layers together are considered to be a product by process limitations and therefore are not given patentable weight, and any process which arrives at the end product of a layered anode, separator and cathode, meets the claimed limitation, and as shown in fig. 4 and paragraph [0049] of Gayden, discloses the final structure and product having an lithium metal anode [0043], separator, cathode [0047].
The product-by-limitations of claim 6 are not given patentable weight since the courts have held that patentability is based on a product itself, even if the prior art product is made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 1985). Moreover, a product-by-process limitation is held to be obvious if the product is similar to a prior art product (In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, and In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324). Claim 1 as written does not distinguish the product of the instant application from the product of the prior art.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henslee et al. (US10,916,803B1, with priority date of December 20, 2019).
As to claim 7, Henslee discloses a lithium battery layer stack (fig. 1 , [C4L30-41] comprising: a cathode current collector (Conductive aluminum foil [C11L34-37]); a cathode on the cathode current collector (cathode casting, [C11L34-37] ); a separator (hybrid electrolyte (40) [C4L30-41])) on the cathode current collector ((20), fig. 1);
an anode layer (30) directly on the separator ((40) fig. 1) and an anode current collector on the anode layer (lithium sputter-coated copper foil. [C7L31-33] Where lithium sputter-coated would provide an anode layer).
wherein the anode layer is a lithium film (as exemplified in the instant specification paragraph [0022], “In the present disclosure, a "lithium film" or "lithium layer" can be understood as a layer, disclosing a “lithium film” and a “lithium layer” are synonymous.), in direct contact with both the anode current collector and the separator ((30) fig.1),
Henslee teaches (the lithium anode comprises a lithium sputter-coated copper foil [C7L31-33], where sputter coated lithium would provide a first sublayer and a second sublayer in direct contact as claimed.)
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Henslee discloses a first interface between the lithium metal anode layer and the anode current collector (lithium sputter-coated copper foil [C7L31-33]), and a second interface between the lithium metal anode layer and the separator or solid state electrolyte layer as shown in (30) fig. 1. With respect to the interfaces being lithium evaporation interfaces, this limitation is deemed a product by process and the product-by-process limitations of claim 8 are not given patentable weight since the courts have held that patentability is based on a product itself, even if the prior art product is made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 1985). Moreover, a product-by-process limitation is held to be obvious if the product is similar to a prior art product (In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, and In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324). Claim 8 as written does not distinguish the product of the instant application from the product of the prior art.
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Henslee discloses a cathode current collector is an Al foil (conductive aluminum foil substrate [C11L34-37]).
Claim(s) 11- 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henslee et al. (US10,916,803B1, with priority date of December 20, 2019), in view of Seok et al. (US2022/0109143A1, with priority date of February 1, 2019).
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Henslee discloses anode layer with lithium metal (lithium sputter-coated copper foil [C7L31-33]… lithium metal anode 30 [C7L51-55] Where sputtering provides a layer of lithium metal) .
Seok discloses an anode structure [0073] and further teaches, anode active material may include at least one selected from a lithium metal, a metal alloyable with lithium, a transition metal oxide, a non-transition metal oxide, and a carbon-based material, the metal alloyable with lithium may be Si, Sn, Al, Ge, Pb, Bi, Sb, a Si—Y alloy [0088-0089].
Since Seok teaches the anode layer may be lithium metal without alloys would provide an anode layer with lithium of 100% or as a main component, exemplified in paragraph [0022] of the instant specification a main component to be 90% or more.
Seok further teaches a secondary battery including such an electrode has improved charge-discharge characteristics at high rate [0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Henslee with the lithium content of Seok to improve the electrode charge-discharge characteristics at high rate.
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, modified Henslee discloses anode layer (lithium sputter-coated copper foil [C7L31-33] with lithium metal [Seok, 0088], and as exemplified in the instant specification paragraph [0022], “In the present disclosure, a "lithium film" or "lithium layer" can be understood as a layer,” disclosing a “lithium film” and a “lithium layer” are synonymous. Since Seok teaches the anode layer (film) may be lithium metal without alloys would provide an anode layer with lithium of 100% or as pure lithium, exemplified in paragraph [0024] of the instant specification pure lithium to be 99% or more.
Claim(s) 13- 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gayden et al. (US2021/0193986A1), in view of Seok et al. (US2022/0109143A1, with priority date of February 1, 2019).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Gayden discloses anode layer [0049] but is silent on the anode layer being a lithium metal.
In the same field of endeavor Seok discloses an anode structure [0073] and further teaches, anode active material may include at least one selected from a lithium metal, a metal alloyable with lithium, a transition metal oxide, a non-transition metal oxide, and a carbon-based material, the metal alloyable with lithium may be Si, Sn, Al, Ge, Pb, Bi, Sb, a Si—Y alloy [0088-0089].
Since Seok teaches the anode layer may be lithium metal without alloys would provide an anode layer with lithium of 100% or as a main component, exemplified in paragraph [0022] of the instant specification main component to be 90% or more.
Seok further teaches a secondary battery including such an electrode has improved charge-discharge characteristics at high rate [0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Gayden with the lithium content of Seok to improve the electrode charge-discharge characteristics at high rate.
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, modified Gayden discloses anode layer [0049] with lithium metal [Seok, 0088], and as exemplified in the instant specification paragraph [0022], “In the present disclosure, a "lithium film" or "lithium layer" can be understood as a layer,” disclosing a “lithium film” and a “lithium layer” are synonymous. Since Seok teaches the anode layer (film) may be lithium metal without alloys would provide an anode layer with lithium of 100% or as pure lithium, exemplified in paragraph [0024] of the instant specification to be 99% or more.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues regarding claim 6, pages 6-7, the process of building an anode structure of Gaydon is different from the claimed process of first depositing an anode material. As discussed above the rejection of claim 6 relies on the limitations of claim 6 being a product by process claim and Gaydon discloses the end product of the claimed lithium anode structure ( lithium titanate (LTO), [0043]) , with a separator and cathode in paragraph [0049] and fig. 4, which meets the limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US2010/0285372A1) Multilayer solid electrolyte for lithium thin film batteries.
Yamamoto et al. (US2005/0147888A1) Copper anode collector with lithium alloys.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728