Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amendment filed on 8/5/2026 have been considered and new rejection presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,4,9,10,12,17,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20230102655A1) in view of Chien-Chun et al. ( US20210051562A1)(hereinafter “Chun”)
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches, A method comprising: registering, by a user equipment, to a 3GPP network, wherein the registering includes an indication that the user equipment supports multi-access packet data unit (MA-PDU) sessions; [87]- The WTRU 102 may check its registration status in the EPC 306 to determine whether a MA-PDU session 220 with 3GGP access in the EPC 306 may be established.
receiving, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a first application executing at the user equipment and permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies for communications while accessing the first application, wherein the UE policy is received from an access mobility function (AMF) of the 3GPP network; and [84]- URSP rules may be configured (e.g., preconfigured)(= receiving, by the user equipment, a UE policy) for the WTRU 102 and may include an indication for establishing a MA-PDU session 220 (=permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies for communications). Also see [89].
[82]- The MA-PDU session 220 may be associated with multiple (e.g., two) access network types (e.g., a RAN and WLAN) and/or multiple 3GGP core networks (e.g., EPC 306 and 5GC 115).(= permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies, the 3 being any of RAN, WLAN, EPC 306 and 5GC)
[89]- For example, the WTRU 102 may establish a MA-PDU session 220 when the route selection descriptor associated with triggering application traffic (=for communications while accessing the first application)
[81]- THE 5GC 115 may include an AMF 182 which may be connected to the N3IWF 210 over an N2 interface. (=base station with AMF)
wherein the UE policy is received from an access mobility function (AMF) of the 3GPP network, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (iii) an Access-Rat-Selector field identifying the at least three access technologies; and determining, by the user equipment and based on the UE policy the Access-Rat- Selector field of the UE policy and prior to PDU session establishment, one or more of the access technologies[82]The MA-PDU session 220 may be associated with multiple (e.g., two) access network types (e.g., a RAN and WLAN) and/or multiple 3GGP core networks (e.g., EPC 306 and 5GC 115).
Wang does not teach, wherein the UE policy is received from an access mobility function (AMF) of the 3GPP network, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application, (ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, and (iii) an Access-Rat-Selector field identifying the at least three access technologies; and determining, by the user equipment and based on the UE policy the Access-Rat- Selector field of the UE policy and prior to PDU session establishment, one or more of the access technologies identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor.
Chun teaches, wherein the UE policy is received from an access mobility function (AMF) of the 3GPP network, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application,[22]- Specifically, UE 101 evaluates the URSP rules, except the default URSP rule, with a traffic descriptor matching the application information in increasing order of their precedence values
(ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, and [9]- The UE selects a Route selection descriptor from a list of route selection descriptors of the non-default URSP rule, wherein the route selection descriptor comprises a preferred access type and/or a multi access preference
identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor.[26]- PDU session handling circuit 273 matches an existing PDU session for the application by ignoring the preferred access type and/or a multi access preference, or establishes a new PDU session by using the preferred access type and/or a multi access preference.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, wherein the UE policy is received from an access mobility function (AMF) of the 3GPP network, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application, (ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, and identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor as taught by Chun to add USRP eval framework to add structured approach to USRP rule evaluation as standard mechanism.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the UE policy contains an Access-Rat-Selector field, the Access-Rat-Selector field defines the at least three access technologies for communications while accessing the first application, wherein at least two of the at least three access technologies are non-3GPP connections or 3GPP connections.
Chun teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the UE policy contains an Access-Rat-Selector field, the Access-Rat-Selector field defines the at least three access technologies for communications while accessing the first application, wherein at least two of the at least three access technologies are non-3GPP connections or 3GPP connections. [67]- The AMF 162 may provide a control plane function for switching between the RAN 113 and other RANs (not shown) that employ other radio technologies, such as LTE, LTE-A, LTE-A Pro, and/or non-3GPP access technologies such as WiFi.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 1, wherein the UE policy contains an Access-Rat-Selector field, the Access-Rat-Selector field defines the at least three access technologies for communications while accessing the first application, wherein at least two of the at least three access technologies are non-3GPP connections or 3GPP connections as taught by Chun to add USRP eval framework to add structured approach to USRP rule evaluation as standard mechanism.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the UE policy defines a priority order to influence the user equipment to select a higher priority access technology over a lower priority access technology when both access technologies are available. [84]- For example, when 3GGP access in the 5GC 115 is available, it may be given a higher priority than 3GGP access in the EPC 306 for establishing the MA-PDU session 220.
Regarding Claim 9, Wang teaches, A network device comprising: one or more memories having computer-readable instructions stored therein; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-readable instructions to: register, by a user equipment, to a 3GPP network, wherein the registering includes an indication that the user equipment supports multi-access packet data unit (MA-PDU) sessions; [87]- The WTRU 102 may check its registration status in the EPC 306 to determine whether a MA-PDU session 220 with 3GGP access in the EPC 306 may be established.
receive, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a first application permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies for communications while accessing the first application executing at the user equipment and, wherein the UE policy is received from an access mobility function (AMF) of the 3GPP network; and [84]- URSP rules may be configured (e.g., preconfigured)(= receiving, by the user equipment, a UE policy) for the WTRU 102 and may include an indication for establishing a MA-PDU session 220 (=permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies for communications). Also see [89].
[82]- The MA-PDU session 220 may be associated with multiple (e.g., two) access network types (e.g., a RAN and WLAN) and/or multiple 3GGP core networks (e.g., EPC 306 and 5GC 115).(= permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies, the 3 being any of RAN, WLAN, EPC 306 and 5GC)
[89]- For example, the WTRU 102 may establish a MA-PDU session 220 when the route selection descriptor associated with triggering application traffic (=for communications while accessing the first application)
[81]- THE 5GC 115 may include an AMF 182 which may be connected to the N3IWF 210 over an N2 interface. (=base station with AMF)
Wang does not teach, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application, (ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, and (iii) an Access-Rat-Selector field identifying the at least three access technologies; and determine, by the user equipment and based the Access-Rat- Selector field of the UE policy and prior to PDU session establishment, one or more of the access technologies identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor.
Chun teaches, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application,[22]- Specifically, UE 101 evaluates the URSP rules, except the default URSP rule, with a traffic descriptor matching the application information in increasing order of their precedence values
(ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, [9]- The UE selects a Route selection descriptor from a list of route selection descriptors of the non-default URSP rule, wherein the route selection descriptor comprises a preferred access type and/or a multi access preference
and (iii) an Access-Rat-Selector field identifying the at least three access technologies; and determine, by the user equipment and based the Access-Rat- Selector field of the UE policy and prior to PDU session establishment, one or more of the access technologies[26]- list of route selection descriptors of the selected non-default URSP rule, wherein the route selection descriptor comprises a preferred access type and/or a multi access preference.
identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor.[26]- PDU session handling circuit 273 matches an existing PDU session for the application by ignoring the preferred access type and/or a multi access preference, or establishes a new PDU session by using the preferred access type and/or a multi access preference.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application, (ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, and (iii) an Access-Rat-Selector field identifying the at least three access technologies; and determine, by the user equipment and based the Access-Rat- Selector field of the UE policy and prior to PDU session establishment, one or more of the access technologies identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor as taught by Chun to add USRP eval framework to add structured approach to USRP rule evaluation as standard mechanism.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang teaches, The network device of claim 9, wherein the UE policy contains an Access-Rat-Selector field, the Access-Rat-Selector field defines the at least three access technologies for the communications while accessing the first application, wherein at least two of the at least three access technologies are non-3GPP connections or 3GPP connections. [67]- The AMF 162 may provide a control plane function for switching between the RAN 113 and other RANs (not shown) that employ other radio technologies, such as LTE, LTE-A, LTE-A Pro, and/or non-3GPP access technologies such as WiFi.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang teaches, The network device of claim 9, wherein the UE policy defines a priority order to influence the user equipment to select a higher priority access technology over a lower priority access technology when both access technologies are available. [84]- For example, when 3GGP access in the 5GC 115 is available, it may be given a higher priority than 3GGP access in the EPC 306 for establishing the MA-PDU session 220.
Regarding Claim 17, Wang teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising computer-readable instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a network appliance, cause the network appliance to: register, by a user equipment, to a 3GPP network, wherein the registering includes an indication that the user equipment supports multi-access packet data unit (MA-PDU) sessions; [87]- The WTRU 102 may check its registration status in the EPC 306 to determine whether a MA-PDU session 220 with 3GGP access in the EPC 306 may be established.
receive, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a first application permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies for communications while accessing the first application, wherein the UE policy is received from an access mobility function (AMF) of the 3GPP network; and [84]- URSP rules may be configured (e.g., preconfigured)(= receiving, by the user equipment, a UE policy) for the WTRU 102 and may include an indication for establishing a MA-PDU session 220 (=permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies for communications). Also see [89].
[82]- The MA-PDU session 220 may be associated with multiple (e.g., two) access network types (e.g., a RAN and WLAN) and/or multiple 3GGP core networks (e.g., EPC 306 and 5GC 115).(= permitting the user equipment to access at least three access technologies, the 3 being any of RAN, WLAN, EPC 306 and 5GC)
[89]- For example, the WTRU 102 may establish a MA-PDU session 220 when the route selection descriptor associated with triggering application traffic (=for communications while accessing the first application)
[81]- THE 5GC 115 may include an AMF 182 which may be connected to the N3IWF 210 over an N2 interface. (=base station with AMF)
Wang does not teach, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application, (ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, and (iii) an Access-Rat-Selector field identifying the at least three access technologies; and determine, by the user equipment and based the Access-Rat- Selector field of the UE policy and prior to PDU session establishment, one or more of the access technologies identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor.
Chun teaches, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application,[22]- Specifically, UE 101 evaluates the URSP rules, except the default URSP rule, with a traffic descriptor matching the application information in increasing order of their precedence values
(ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, [9]- The UE selects a Route selection descriptor from a list of route selection descriptors of the non-default URSP rule, wherein the route selection descriptor comprises a preferred access type and/or a multi access preference
and (iii) an Access-Rat-Selector field identifying the at least three access technologies; and determine, by the user equipment and based the Access-Rat- Selector field of the UE policy and prior to PDU session establishment, one or more of the access technologies[26]- list of route selection descriptors of the selected non-default URSP rule, wherein the route selection descriptor comprises a preferred access type and/or a multi access preference.
identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor.[26]- PDU session handling circuit 273 matches an existing PDU session for the application by ignoring the preferred access type and/or a multi access preference, or establishes a new PDU session by using the preferred access type and/or a multi access preference.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, wherein the UE policy comprises a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) having (i) a traffic descriptor identifying traffic of the first application, (ii) a route selector including one or more route-selection attributes, and (iii) an Access-Rat-Selector field identifying the at least three access technologies; and determine, by the user equipment and based the Access-Rat- Selector field of the UE policy and prior to PDU session establishment, one or more of the access technologies identified by the Access-Rat-Selector field to use to establish, in accordance with the route selector, a protocol data unit (PDU) session for carrying the traffic of the first application identified by the traffic descriptor as taught by Chun to add USRP eval framework to add structured approach to USRP rule evaluation as standard mechanism.
Regarding Claim 18, Wang teaches, The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the UE policy contains an Access-Rat-Selector field, the Access-Rat-Selector field defines the at least three access technologies for the communications while access the first application, wherein at least two of the at least three access technologies are non-3GPP connections or 3GPP connections. [67]- The AMF 162 may provide a control plane function for switching between the RAN 113 and other RANs (not shown) that employ other radio technologies, such as LTE, LTE-A, LTE-A Pro, and/or non-3GPP access technologies such as WiFi.
Regarding Claim 20, Wang teaches, The computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the UE policy defines a priority order to influence the user equipment to select a higher priority access technology over a lower priority access technology when both access technologies are available. [84]- For example, when 3GGP access in the 5GC 115 is available, it may be given a higher priority than 3GGP access in the EPC 306 for establishing the MA-PDU session 220.
Claim 3,11,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Wang et al. (US20230102655A1) in view of Chien-Chun et al. ( US20210051562A1)(hereinafter “Chun”)
In further view of Youn et al. (US20220132454A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously.
Youn teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously. [84]- FIG. 3 illustrates an architecture that allows the UE to simultaneously access two data networks using one PDU session.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Chun, The method of claim 1, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously as taught by Youn to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The network device of claim 9, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously.
Youn teaches, The network device of claim 9, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously. [84]- FIG. 3 illustrates an architecture that allows the UE to simultaneously access two data networks using one PDU session.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Chun, The network device of claim 9, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously as taught by Youn to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Regarding Claim 19, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously.
Youn teaches, The computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously. [84]- FIG. 3 illustrates an architecture that allows the UE to simultaneously access two data networks using one PDU session.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Chun, The computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the UE policy defines a Max-Access value that designates a maximum number of access technologies that can be in use simultaneously as taught by Youn to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Claim 5-7,13-15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20230102655A1) in view of in view of Chien-Chun et al. ( US20210051562A1)(hereinafter “Chun”) further view of Bhowmik et al. (US 20220132299 A1)
Regarding Claim 5, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a second application designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the second application
Bhowmik teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a second application designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the second application. [13]- Since each SIM is having its own URSP rules, it may be possible that for the same application, the MA-PDU session may be established when the data of the application is evaluated with URSP rules 1 belonging to a SIM 1 or the SA-PDU session may be established when the data of the application is evaluated with URSP rules 2 belonging to a SIM 2.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a second application designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the second application as taught by Bhowmik to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising:receiving, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications;determining, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number UE policies are active at a same time; andutilizing a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications.
Bhowmik teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; [81]- When the multiple applications are ready to be mapped, the UE 200 may utilize both the first SIM 206 a and the second SIM 206 b for better services using the first URSP and the second URSP of the first SIM and the second SIM.
determining, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number UE policies are active at a same time; and [83]- the app 2, and the app 3 with the first URSP and the second URSP of the first SIM 206 a, and the second SIM 206 b, respectively.( =since usrp2 is max number of policy, using combined usrp1 and usrp 2 is greater than max policy)
utilizing a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications. [82]- UE 200 assigns a priority to a first SIM 206 a or a second SIM 206 b , whose URSP allows a MA-PDU session for a default PDU session.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; determining, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number UE policies are active at a same time; and utilizing a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications as taught by Bhowmik to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Regarding Claim 7, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; determining, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number of access technologies are in use at the same time; and utilizing a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications.
Bhowmik teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; [81]- When the multiple applications are ready to be mapped, the UE 200 may utilize both the first SIM 206 a and the second SIM 206 b for better services using the first URSP and the second URSP of the first SIM and the second SIM.
determining, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number of access technologies are in use at the same time; and [83]- the app 2, and the app 3 with the first URSP and the second URSP of the first SIM 206 a, and the second SIM 206 b, respectively.( =since usrp2 is max number of policy, using combined usrp1 and usrp 2 is greater than max policy)
utilizing a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications. [82]- UE 200 assigns a priority to a first SIM 206 a or a second SIM 206 b , whose URSP allows a MA-PDU session for a default PDU session.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; determining, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number of access technologies are in use at the same time; and utilizing a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications as taught by Bhowmik to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a second application designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the second application
Bhowmik teaches, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a second application designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the second application. [13]- Since each SIM is having its own URSP rules, it may be possible that for the same application, the MA-PDU session may be established when the data of the application is evaluated with URSP rules 1 belonging to a SIM 1 or the SA-PDU session may be established when the data of the application is evaluated with URSP rules 2 belonging to a SIM 2.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by the user equipment, a UE policy for a second application designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the second application as taught by Bhowmik to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Regarding Claim 14, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to :receive, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; determine, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number UE policies are active at a same time; and utilize a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications.
Bhowmik teaches The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; [81]- When the multiple applications are ready to be mapped, the UE 200 may utilize both the first SIM 206 a and the second SIM 206 b for better services using the first URSP and the second URSP of the first SIM and the second SIM.
determine, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number UE policies are active at a same time; [83]- the app 2, and the app 3 with the first URSP and the second URSP of the first SIM 206 a, and the second SIM 206 b, respectively.( =since usrp2 is max number of policy, using combined usrp1 and usrp 2 is greater than max policy)
and utilize a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional application; [82]- UE 200 assigns a priority to a first SIM 206 a or a second SIM 206 b , whose URSP allows a MA-PDU session for a default PDU session.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; determine, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number UE policies are active at a same time; and utilize a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications as taught by Bhowmik to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang in view of Chun does not teach, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications
Bhowmik teaches, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; [81]- When the multiple applications are ready to be mapped, the UE 200 may utilize both the first SIM 206 a and the second SIM 206 b for better services using the first URSP and the second URSP of the first SIM and the second SIM.
determine, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number access technologies are in use at the same time; [83]- the app 2, and the app 3 with the first URSP and the second URSP of the first SIM 206 a, and the second SIM 206 b, respectively ( =since usrp2 is max number of policy, using combined usrp1 and usrp 2 is greater than max policy)
and utilize a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications. [82]- UE 200 assigns a priority to a first SIM 206 a or a second SIM 206 b , whose URSP allows a MA-PDU session for a default PDU session.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by the user equipment, UE policies for respective additional applications designating permitted access technologies for communications while accessing the respective additional applications; determine, by the user equipment, that greater than a maximum number access technologies are in use at the same time; and utilize a default UE policy to access one or more the respective additional applications as taught by Bhowmik to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Claim 8,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20230102655A1) in view of Chien-Chun et al. ( US20210051562A1)(hereinafter “Chun”) In view of Youn et al. (US20220132454A1) In further view of Qiao et al. (US20240381180A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Wang in view of Chun does not teach,, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
registering, by the user equipment, with the determined one or more of the access technologies permitted in the UE policy for the first application.
Youn teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
registering, by the user equipment, with the determined one or more of the access technologies permitted in the UE policy for the first application; [548]- if the UE is simultaneously registered for 3GPP access in the N3IWF's PLMN and another PLMN, functional entities (e.g. UPF, SMF, AMF, etc.) may be located within the N3IWF's PLMN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 1, further comprising: registering, by the user equipment, with the determined one or more of the access technologies permitted in the UE policy for the first application as taught by Youn to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Youn does not teach, after the registering with the determined one or more of the access technologies, creating a MA-PDU session with a service mobility function (SMF); retrieving, by the SMF, the UE policy for the first application from a policy control function.
Qiao teaches, after the registering with the determined one or more of the access technologies, creating a MA-PDU session with a service mobility function (SMF); and [290]- If the SMF was informed that the UE is registered over both accesses, the SMF may initiate the establishment of user-plane resources over non-3GPP access.
retrieving, by the SMF, the UE policy for the first application from a policy control function (PCF).[231]- In an example, the SMF may select a PCF and send to the PCF a message (e.g. SM Policy Association Establishment Request) to request PCC rules
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, after the registering with the determined one or more of the access technologies, creating a MA-PDU session with a service mobility function (SMF); retrieving, by the SMF, the UE policy for the first application from a policy control function as taught by Youn to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Regarding Claim 16, Wang in view of Chun does not teach,, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: register, by the user equipment, with the determined one or more of the access technologies permitted in the UE policy for the first application; after the registering with the determined one or more of the access technologies, create a MA-PDU session with a service mobility function (SMF); and retrieve, by the SMF, the UE policy for the first application from a policy control function (PCF).
Youn teaches, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: register, by the user equipment, with the determined one or more of the access technologies permitted in the UE policy for the first application; [548]- if the UE is simultaneously registered for 3GPP access in the N3IWF's PLMN and another PLMN, functional entities (e.g. UPF, SMF, AMF, etc.) may be located within the N3IWF's PLMN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The network device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: register, by the user equipment, with the determined one or more of the access technologies permitted in the UE policy for the first application as taught by Youn to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Youn does not teach, after the registering with the determined one or more of the access technologies, create a MA-PDU session with a service mobility function (SMF); and retrieve, by the SMF, the UE policy for the first application from a policy control function (PCF).
Qiao teaches, after the registering with the determined one or more of the access technologies, create a MA-PDU session with a service mobility function (SMF); and [290]- If the SMF was informed that the UE is registered over both accesses, the SMF may initiate the establishment of user-plane resources over non-3GPP access.
and retrieve, by the SMF, the UE policy for the first application from a policy control function (PCF).; 231]- In an example, the SMF may select a PCF and send to the PCF a message (e.g. SM Policy Association Establishment Request) to request PCC rules
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, , after the registering with the determined one or more of the access technologies, create a MA-PDU session with a service mobility function (SMF); and retrieve, by the SMF, the UE policy for the first application from a policy control function (PCF) as taught by Youn to add additional access and quantifiable number to control traffic.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478