DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 09/27/2023 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Claim 16, line 2, “said hole” should read “said hose”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 12-15, 17-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 6,314,949 B1 to DeGrazia.
A) As per Claims 1 & 12, DeGrazia teaches an apparatus (DeGrazia: Figure 2) comprising:
a vehicle having an air conditioning system adapted to supply conditioned air to a passenger compartment of the vehicle, the air conditioning system having a fan motor (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 25 & 27 and the ductwork (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 30), the ductwork extending from the fan motor to vents in the passenger compartment of said vehicle, said vehicle having an engine with an air intake manifold, the air intake manifold adapted to supply air to the engine of said vehicle (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 15); and
a hose (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 30 from Item 20 down to Item 15) communicating with the air conditioning system of said vehicle and extending through an interior of said vehicle so as to communicate with the air intake manifold.
B) As per Claims 2 & 17, DeGrazia teaches a valve (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 40; Col. 3, lines 38-50) positioned in said hose or connected to said hose so as to cause a unidirectional flow of the conditioned air from said AC system to said air intake manifold.
C) As per Claims 3 & 18, DeGrazia teaches that said valve being a butterfly valve positioned in line of said hose (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 40; Col. 3, lines 38-50).
D) As per Claims 5 & 20, DeGrazia teaches that said hose comprising: a first hose connecting said valve with said air intake manifold; and a second hose connecting said valve with said air conditioning system (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 40; Col. 3, lines 38-50; part of Item 30 from HVAC to Item 40 and Part of Item 30 from Item 40 to Item 15).
E) As per Claims 6 & 15, DeGrazia teaches that the fan motor of said air conditioning system has an opening formed therein, said hose having one end secured in the opening of the fan motor so as to open to an interior of the fan motor (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 20).
F) As per Claim 7, DeGrazia teaches that said hose opens to the ductwork of said air conditioning system (DeGrazia: connection from one Item 30 down to Item 15 to another portion of ductwork system Item 30 in Figure 2).
G) As per Claims 8 & 14, DeGrazia teaches that said air intake manifold having an opening formed in a wall thereof, said hose extending into the opening of said air intake manifold (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 15).
H) As per Claim 13, DeGrazia teaches that said hose passing a portion of the conditioned air from the air conditioning system to the air intake manifold (DeGrazia: Figure 2, Item 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeGrazia in view of US Patent Publication Number 2012/0167860 A1 to Wong.
A) As per Claim 10, DeGrazia teaches all the limitations except that the opening of said air intake manifold has a sealant applied thereto so as to form an air-tight seal between said air intake manifold and said hose.
However, Wong teaches a sealant to form an air-tight seal for an intake system (Wong: Paragraph 0016).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of DeGrazia by having sealant in the system, as taught by Wong, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified DeGrazia with these aforementioned teachings of Wong with the motivation of preventing air leaks within the system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeGrazia in view of US Patent Number 10,279,645 B1 to Nazarian.
A) As per Claim 11, DeGrazia teaches all the limitations except that said hose is a flex hose formed of a polymeric material.
However, Nazarian teaches a hose is a flex hose formed of a polymeric material (Nazarian: Figure 1, Item 110).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of DeGrazia by having the hose be a flexible polymeric material, as taught by Nazarian, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified DeGrazia with these aforementioned teachings of Nazarian with the motivation of making installation and maintenance easier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 16 & 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762