Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 10, 12, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strizki (US No. 20090250580) in view of Shingleton (US No. 6672018).
Regarding claim 1, Strizki discloses a system for securing a panel (2000, figure 1) having a top surface and a bottom surface, the system comprising: a frame (1000) comprising a base (b, see examiner’s markup above), side walls (sw), and opposing grooves (sg),; a sliding element (se) having flange portions (f) on opposing sides of the sliding element such that the flange portion on each side of the sliding element fits slidably within the opposing grooves, and wherein the sliding element (se) includes at least one sliding element hole (hole where 116A passes through) passing therethrough; a panel anchoring element (100) comprising a first member (102A) and a second member (104B), said first member (102A) having a top surface, a bottom surface, and at least one first member hole (111 hole in 102A receiving fastener 112) extending through the top surface and the bottom surface of the first member; and a second member (114) having a top surface, a bottom surface and at least one second member hole (hole in 114 receiving fastener 112, figure 1) extending through the top surface and the bottom surface of the second member; wherein when at least a portion (102, figure 1) of the first member(102A) is fitted over the top surface of the panel (2000) and at least a portion of the second member (104B, figure 1) is fitted over the bottom surface of the panel (2000) such that the at least one first member hole in the first member is substantially aligned with the at least one second member hole in the second member, a mechanical fastener (112) is insertable through the first member hole and through the second member hole to secure the first and second members (102A and 104) to the panel;
However, Strizk does not show wherein the base of the frame includes at least one hole passing therethrough and a mount for said frame, comprising a surface anchoring element having at least one mount hole therethrough and being securable to a surface.
Shingleton teaches a system for securing a panel (15, figures 5 and 6) having a top surface and a bottom surface, the system comprising: a frame (111, figures 5 and 6)) comprising a base, side walls, and opposing grooves (groove formed by base and inward flange 114), wherein the base of the frame includes at least one hole (hole through base of 111 receiving fastener 134, figure 6 ) passing therethrough; a sliding element (128) having flange portions (end flange portions of 128, figure 6) on opposing sides of the sliding element (128) such that the flange portion on each side of the sliding element fits slidably within the opposing grooves, and wherein the sliding element includes at least one sliding element hole passing therethrough (hole wherein 127 passes through); a panel anchoring element (120 and 32); comprising a surface anchoring element (133, figure 6) having at least one mount hole (hole receiving 134 in anchoring element 133) therethrough and being securable to a surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the system of Strizk such that the base of the frame includes at least one hole passing therethrough and a mount for said frame, comprising a surface anchoring element having at least one mount hole therethrough and being securable to a surface as taught to be desirable by Shingleton.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Strizk and Shingleton combined discloses the system of claim 1 wherein Shingleton teaches the at least one hole passing therethrough in the base of the frame (hole through base of 111 receiving fastener 134, figure 6 ) is substantially aligned with the at least one mount hole (133, figure 6, having at least one mount hole receiving 134 in anchoring element 133), a mechanical fastener (134) is insertable through the at least one hole passing therethrough in the base of the frame to secure the frame to the mount.
Regarding claim 9, Strizki and Shingleton combined disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Strizk discloses the panel is a photovoltaic (PV) module.
Regarding claim 10, Strizki discloses a system for securing a panel (2000, figure 1) having a top surface and a bottom surface, the system comprising: a frame (1000) for receiving a sliding element (se, see examiner’s markup above), said frame having a base (b, see examiner’s markup above), side walls (sw), and opposing grooves (sg),; a sliding element (se) having flange portions (f) on opposing sides of the sliding element such that the flange portion on each side of the sliding element fits slidably within the opposing grooves, and wherein the sliding element (se) includes at least one sliding element hole (hole where 116A passes through) passing therethrough; a first member (102A) having a top surface, a bottom surface, and at least one first member hole (hole in 102A receiving fastener 112) extending through the top surface and the bottom surface of the first member; and a second member (114) having a top surface, a bottom surface and at least one second member hole (hole in 114 receiving fastener 112) extending through the top surface and the bottom surface of the second member; wherein when at least a portion (102) of the first member(102A) is fitted over the top surface of the panel (2000) and at least a portion of the second member (104B, figure 1) is fitted over the bottom surface of the panel (2000) such that the at least one first member hole in the first member is substantially aligned with the at least one second member hole in the second member, a mechanical fastener (112) is insertable through the first member hole and through the second member hole to secure the first and second members (102A and 104) to the panel;
However, Strizk does not show wherein the base of the frame includes at least one hole passing therethrough for securing the frame to a surface,
Shingleton teaches a system for securing a panel (15, figures 5 and 6) having a top surface and a bottom surface, the system comprising: a frame (111, figures 5 and 6)) comprising a base, side walls, and opposing grooves (groove formed by base and inward flange 114), wherein the base of the frame includes at least one hole (hole through base of 111 receiving fastener 134, figure 6 ) passing therethrough; a sliding element (128) having flange portions (end flange portions of 128, figure 6) on opposing sides of the sliding element (128) such that the flange portion on each side of the sliding element fits slidably within the opposing grooves, and wherein the sliding element includes at least one sliding element hole passing therethrough (hole wherein 127 passes through); a panel anchoring element (120 and 32); comprising a surface anchoring element (133, figure 6) having at least one mount hole (hole receiving 134 in anchoring element 133) therethrough and being securable to a surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the system of Strizk such that the base of the frame includes at least one hole passing therethrough and a mount for said frame, comprising a surface anchoring element having at least one mount hole therethrough and being securable to a surface as taught to be desirable by Shingleton.
Regarding claim 15, Strizk and Shingleton combined discloses he system of claim 10 wherein Strizk discloses the frame (1000, figure 8) comprises a plurality of frame elements (1000, figure 8); wherein a frame element may be secured to said sliding element (se, see markup above).
Regarding claim 17, Strizki and Shingleton combined disclose the system of claim 10, wherein Strizk discloses the panel is a photovoltaic (PV) module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 11, 13-14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate panel securing device of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc