DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2022/0240122 A1), hereinafter “LIU”.
Regarding claim 1, LIU teaches, ‘A PDU session establishment method, comprising:’ (Paragraph
[0145], FIG. 9, method includes: Paragraph [0151], PDU-session establishment):
‘receiving, by a first core network device, first information, wherein the first information
indicates that a PDU session establishment request sent by relay UE is used to request establishment of a relay PDU session, and the relay PDU session is used to relay service data of remote UE;’ (Paragraphs [0151]-[0152], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request (corresponds to first information) to an SMF (corresponds to a first core network device). The PDU-session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement. Accordingly, the SMF receives the PDU-session establishment or modification request from the relay UE. Paragraph [0155], The PC5 QoS parameter is a QoS parameter of a PC5 interface used for communication between the remote UE and the relay UE);
‘and sending, by the first core network device, second information,’ (Paragraph [0154], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule (corresponds to second information) and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement);
‘wherein the second information is determined based on the first information, and the second information is any one of the following items: a QoS rule and a policy and charging control PCC rule.’ (Paragraphs [0154]-[0155], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE).
Regarding claim 2, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 1, ‘wherein in a case that the second information is the QoS rule, after the receiving, by a first core network device, first information, and before the sending, by the first core network device, second information, the method further comprises:’ (FIG. 9 and Paragraphs [0156], In some cases, if a PCF is deployed by an operator, S5031 and S5032 can be performed after S502 (corresponds to after the receiving … before the sending). Paragraph [0151], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request to an SMF. The PDU session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement. Paragraphs [0154]-[0155], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule (corresponds to second information) and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE):
‘sending, by the first core network device, the first information to a second core network device;’
(Paragraph [0157], S5031, the SMF (corresponds to first core network device) provides a session management (SM) policy association establishment or modification request to the PCF (corresponds to second core network device). The SM policy association establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information));
‘receiving, by the first core network device, a PCC rule sent by the second core network device,
wherein the PCC rule is generated by the second core network device based on the first information;’ (Paragraphs [0158]-[0160], Accordingly, the PCF (corresponds to second core network device) receives the SM policy association establishment or modification request and obtains the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). S5032, the PCF provides an SM policy association establishment or modification response to the SMF (corresponds to first core network device). The SM policy association establishment or modification response includes a PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter. Specifically, the PCF may generate the PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement and a pre-configured QoS control policy);
‘and generating, by the first core network device, the QoS rule based on the PCC rule.’ (Paragraph [0160], Then the PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter generated are provided to the SMF (corresponds to first core network device) through the SM policy association establishment or modification response The PCC rule can be used for determining the QoS rule, where the QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE).
Regarding claim 3, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 2, ‘wherein the sending, by the first core network device, the first information to a second core network device comprises:’ (Paragraph [0157], S5031, the SMF (corresponds to first core network device) provides a session management (SM) policy association establishment or modification request (corresponds to first information) to the PCF (corresponds to second core network device). The SM policy association establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement):
‘sending, by the first core network device, a session management policy association create message to the second core network device, wherein the session management policy association create message carries the first information;’ (Paragraph [0157], S5031, the SMF (corresponds to first core network device) provides a session management (SM) policy association establishment or modification request to the PCF (corresponds to second core network device). The SM policy association establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement(corresponds to first information));
‘and the receiving, by the first core network device, a PCC rule sent by the second core network device comprises:’ (Paragraphs [0159]-[0160], S5032, the PCF (corresponds to second core network device) provides an SM policy association establishment or modification response to the SMF (corresponds to first core network device). The SM policy association establishment or modification response includes a PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter. Specifically, the PCF may generate the PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement and a pre-configured QoS control policy):
‘receiving, by the first core network device, a session management policy association response message sent by the second core network device, wherein the session management policy association response message comprises the PCC rule.’ (Paragraphs [0158]-[0160], Accordingly, the PCF receives the SM policy association establishment or modification request and obtains the end-to-end QoS requirement. S5032, the PCF (corresponds to second core network device) provides an SM policy association establishment or modification response to the SMF (corresponds to first core network device). The SM policy association establishment or modification response includes a PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter. Specifically, the PCF may generate the PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement and a pre-configured QoS control policy).
Regarding claim 4, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 1, ‘wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following items:’ (Paragraph [0155], The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE):
‘a QoS requirement between the relay UE and the remote UE;’ (Paragraph [0155], The PC5 QoS parameter is a QoS parameter of a PC5 interface used for communication between the remote UE and the relay UE); ‘relay communication indication information, wherein the relay communication indication information is used to indicate that a PDU session that is established based on a request of the relay UE is the relay PDU session;’
‘and a dedicated parameter of the relay PDU session, wherein the QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following items: a PDB, a PER, and a PQI.’ (Paragraph [0161], PQI is used for a PC5 interface between the remote UE and the relay UE. 5QI is used between the relay UE and a UPF, or the 5QI may be comprehended as being used between the relay UE and the data network. The PCC rule used for controlling data transmission between the relay UE and the UPF may include 5QI=66, or packet delay budget (PDB) may be directly set to 100 ms. The QoS parameter used for a PC5 interface may include PQI=SS, or PC5 PDB may be directly set to 100 ms. PDB represents a delay).
Regarding claim 10, LIU teaches, ‘A protocol data unit PDU session establishment method,
comprising:’ (Paragraph [0145], FIG. 9, method includes: Paragraph [0151], PDU-session establishment):
‘sending, by relay UE, first information, wherein the first information indicates that a PDU
session establishment request sent by the relay UE is used to request establishment of a relay PDU session, and the relay PDU session is used to relay service data of remote UE.’ (Paragraphs [0151]-[0152], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request (corresponds to first information) to an SMF. The PDU-session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement. Accordingly, the SMF receives the PDU-session establishment or modification request from the relay UE. Paragraph [0155], The PC5 QoS parameter is a QoS parameter of a PC5 interface used for communication between the remote UE and the relay UE).
Regarding claim 11, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 10, wherein after the sending, by relay UE, first information, the method further comprises:
‘receiving, by the relay UE, a quality of service QoS rule, wherein the QoS rule is determined based on the first information.’ (Paragraph [0146], S501, a remote UE provides first information to a
relay UE. The first information includes an end-to-end QoS requirement. Paragraph [0154], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). Paragraphs [0154]-[0155], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement). The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE).
Regarding claims 12 and 16, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 10, ‘wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following items:’ (Paragraph [0155], The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE):
‘a QoS requirement between the relay UE and the remote UE;’ (Paragraph [0155], The PC5 QoS parameter is a QoS parameter of a PC5 interface used for communication between the remote UE and the relay UE); ‘relay communication indication information, wherein the relay communication indication information is used to indicate that a PDU session that is established based on a request of the relay UE is the relay PDU session; and a dedicated parameter of the relay PDU session.’
Regarding claim 13, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 12, ‘wherein the QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following items: a packet delay budget PDB, a packet error rate PER, and a PC5 QoS identifier PQI.’ (Paragraph [0161], PQI is used for a PC5 interface between the remote UE and the relay UE. 5QI is used between the relay UE and a UPF, or the 5QI may be comprehended as being used between the relay UE and the data network. The PCC rule used for controlling data transmission between the relay UE and the UPF may include 5QI=66, or packet delay budget (PDB) may be directly set to 100 ms. The QoS parameter used for a PC5 interface may include PQI=SS, or PC5 PDB may be directly set to 100 ms. PDB represents a delay).
Regarding claim 14, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 10, ‘wherein the first information is carried in the PDU session establishment request.’ (Paragraphs [0151]-[0152], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request to an SMF. The PDU-session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information)).
Regarding claim 15, LIU teaches, ‘A terminal, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or the instructions are executed by the processor to implement:’ (Paragraph [0008], terminal device includes. Paragraph [0249], FIG. 15, electronic device 500 includes a processor 511 is configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory 512):
‘sending first information, wherein the first information indicates that a PDU session establishment request sent by a relay UE is used to request establishment of a relay PDU session, and the relay PDU session is used to relay service data of remote UE.’ (Paragraphs [0151]-[0152], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request (corresponds to first information) to an SMF (corresponds to a first core network device). The PDU-session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement. Accordingly, the SMF receives the
PDU-session establishment or modification request from the relay UE. Paragraph [0155], The PC5 QoS parameter is a QoS parameter of a PC5 interface used for communication between the remote UE and the relay UE).
Regarding claim 17, ‘LIU teaches, A network side device, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0010], network device includes):
‘a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or the instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of the PDU session establishment method according to claim 1, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0249], FIG. 15, electronic device 500 includes a processor 511 is configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory 512):
‘receiving first information, wherein the first information indicates that a PDU session establishment request sent by relay UE is used to request establishment of a relay PDU session, and the relay PDU session is used to relay service data of remote UE;’ (Paragraphs [0151]-[0152], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request (corresponds to first information) to an SMF. The PDU-session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement. Accordingly, the SMF receives the PDU-session establishment or modification request from the relay UE. Paragraph [0155], The PC5 QoS parameter is a QoS parameter of a PC5 interface used for communication between the remote UE and the relay UE);
‘and sending second information,’ (Paragraph [0154], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule (corresponds to second information) and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement));
‘wherein the second information is determined based on the first information, and the second information is any one of the following items: a QoS rule and a policy and charging control PCC rule.’ (Paragraphs [0154]-[0155], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE).
Regarding claim 18, LIU teaches, the network side device according to claim 17, ‘wherein, in a case that the second information is the QoS rule, after the receiving first information, and before the sending second information, the program or the instructions are executed by the processor to further implement:’ (FIG. 9 and Paragraphs [0156], In some cases, if a PCF is deployed by an operator, S5031 and S5032 can be performed after S502 (corresponds to after the receiving … before the sending). Paragraph [0151], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request to an SMF. The PDU session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement. Paragraphs [0154]-[0155], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule (corresponds to second information) and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE):
‘sending the first information to a second core network device;’ (Paragraph [0157], S5031, the SMF provides a session management (SM) policy association establishment or modification request to the PCF (corresponds to second core network device). The SM policy association establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information));
‘receiving a PCC rule sent by the second core network device, wherein the PCC rule is generated by the second core network device based on the first information;’ (Paragraphs [0158]-[0160], Accordingly, the PCF (corresponds to second core network device) receives the SM policy association establishment or modification request and obtains the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). S5032, the PCF provides an SM policy association establishment or modification response to the SMF (corresponds to first core network device). The SM policy association establishment or modification response includes a PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter. Specifically, the PCF may generate the PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement and a pre-configured QoS control policy);
‘and generating the QoS rule based on the PCC rule.’ (Paragraph [0160], Then the PCC rule and the PC5 QoS parameter generated are provided to the SMF through the SM policy association establishment or modification response The PCC rule can be used for determining the QoS rule, where the QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Pan (US 2022/0132605 A1), hereinafter “PAN”.
Regarding claim 5, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 1, ‘wherein after the receiving, by a first core network device, first information, and before the sending, by the first core network device, second information, the method further comprises:’ (FIG. 9 and Paragraphs [0156], In some cases, if a PCF is deployed by an operator, S5031 and S5032 can be performed after S502 (corresponds to after the receiving … before the sending). Paragraph [0151], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request to an SMF. The PDU session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement. Paragraphs [0154]-[0155], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule (corresponds to second information) and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE):
LIU does not explicitly teach but PAN teaches, ‘splitting, by the first core network device, a first QoS requirement based on the first information to obtain a first QoS sub-requirement, wherein the first QoS requirement is a QoS requirement between the remote UE and an anchor user plane function UPF, and the first QoS sub-requirement is a QoS requirement between the relay UE and the anchor UPF;’ (PAN – Paragraph [0464], FIG. 6.24.1-1 of 3GPP TR 23.752 V0.5.0, Entitled "End-to-End QoS Split for Layer 3 UE-to-Network Relay Solution", is Reproduced as FIG. 26. Paragraph [0466], The SMF of the UE-to-Network Relay would provide the corresponding QoS rules and flow level QoS parameters (corresponds to first information) to the UE-to-Network Relay. Paragraph [0469], In case the QoS Flows setup are initiated by network, PCF or SMF (corresponds to first core network device) decides the Uu part QoS parameters (corresponds to first QoS sub-requirement). Based on this information received form SMF, the UE-to-Network Relay deduces the PC5 part QoS parameters and establishes corresponding PC5 QoS Flows. Paragraph [0527], For a Remote UE accessing network via a Relay UE, the QoS control between the Remote UE and User Plane Function (UPF) includes two parts: one part is the QoS control for the connection between the remote UE and the Relay UE, and the other part is the QoS control for the connection between the Relay UE and UPF. Possibly, Policy Control Function (PCF) is responsible to set the QoS parameters between the Remote UE and the Relay UE, (so called "PC5 QoS parameters"), and the QoS parameters between the Relay UE and UPF (so called "Uu QoS parameters") separately to support the (end-to-end) QoS requirement between the Remote UE and UPF (corresponds to first QoS requirement));
‘and the second information is generated based on the first QoS sub-requirement.’ (PAN – Paragraph [0475], The PCF can decide the Uu part QoS parameters (corresponds to first QoS sub-requirement) and generate corresponding PCC rules, and the SMF in tum generate the QoS rules (corresponds to second information) and flow level QoS parameters and signal to the VE-to-Network Relay using PDU Session Modification procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PAN with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PAN into LIU is that PAN provides that in UE-to-Network relay communication, a remote UE would access the network (e.g. 5GC) via a relay UE where the remote UE would be in out-of-coverage while the relay UE would be in-coverage. The remote UE would communicate with the relay UE via PC5 interface (or called sidelink interface) for accessing the network, while the relay UE would communicate with a base station (e.g. gNB) via Uu interface for forwarding traffic between the remote UE and the network. a remote UE may reuse the procedures (e.g. PC5 unicast link establishment procedure, PC5 unicast link authentication procedure, PC5 unicast link security mode control procedure and/or etc.) to establish a direct link with a relay UE. (See Paragraphs [0524]-[0525], PAN)
Regarding claim 6, LIU and PAN teach, the method according to claim 5, LIU further teaches,
wherein the second QoS sub-requirement satisfies any one of the following items:
‘in a case that the first information comprises a QoS requirement between the relay UE and the remote UE, the second QoS sub-requirement is the QoS requirement; (Paragraphs [0162]-[0166], the PC5 QoS parameter and the PCC rule may be separately provided, or the PC5 QoS parameter (corresponds to second QoS sub-requirement) may be carried in the PCC rule for transmission. The end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information) described above is satisfied by the PC5 QoS parameter and the QoS rule included in the PCC rule, which is possible to ensure quality of data transmission between the remote UE and the data network. S504, the SMF provides a PDU-session establishment or modification response to the relay UE. The PDU session establishment or modification response includes the QoS rule and the PC5 QoS parameter. The PC5 QoS parameter is a QoS parameter of a PC5 interface used for communication between the remote UE and the relay UE. Accordingly, the relay UE receives the PDU-session establishment or modification response from the SMF, and obtains the QoS rule and the PC5 QoS parameter included in the PDU-session establishment or modification response);
and in a case that the first information does not comprise the QoS requirement between the
relay UE and the remote UE, the second QoS sub-requirement satisfies any one of the following items: being determined based on an operator policy, being determined based on a local policy, being specified in a protocol, and being configured by a network side device.’
LIU does not explicitly teach but PAN teaches, wherein the splitting, by the first core network device, a first QoS requirement based on the first information to obtain a first QoS sub-requirement comprises:
‘determining, by the first core network device, a second QoS sub-requirement based on the first information;’ (PAN – Paragraph [0464], FIG. 6.24.1-1 of 3GPP TR 23.752 V0.5.0, Entitled "End-to-End QoS Split for Layer 3 UE-to-Network Relay Solution", is Reproduced as FIG. 26. Paragraph [0466], The SMF of the UE-to-Network Relay would provide the corresponding QoS rules and flow level QoS parameters (corresponds to first information) to the UE-to-Network Relay. Paragraph [0469], In case the QoS Flows setup are initiated by network, PCF or SMF (corresponds to first core network device) decides the Uu part QoS parameters (corresponds to first QoS sub-requirement). Based on this information received form SMF, the UE-to-Network Relay deduces the PC5 part QoS parameters and establishes corresponding PC5 QoS Flows);
‘and splitting, by the first core network device, the first QoS requirement based on the second QoS sub-requirement to obtain the first QoS sub-requirement,’ (Paragraph [0527], For a Remote UE accessing network via a Relay UE, the QoS control between the Remote UE and User Plane Function (UPF) includes two parts: one part is the QoS control for the connection between the remote UE and the Relay UE, and the other part is the QoS control for the connection between the Relay UE and UPF. Possibly, Policy Control Function (PCF) is responsible to set the QoS parameters between the Remote UE and the Relay UE, (so called "PC5 QoS parameters" – corresponds to second QoS sub-requirement), and the QoS parameters between the Relay UE and UPF (so called "Uu QoS parameters"– corresponds to first QoS sub-requirement) separately to support the (end-to-end) QoS requirement between the Remote UE and UPF (corresponds to first QoS requirement));
‘wherein the second QoS sub-requirement is a QoS requirement between the relay UE and the remote UE,’ (PAN – Paragraph [0527], Possibly, Policy Control Function (PCF) is responsible to set the QoS parameters between the Remote UE and the Relay UE, (so called "PC5 QoS parameters"– corresponds to second QoS sub-requirement), and the QoS parameters between the Relay UE and UPF (so called "Uu QoS parameters"– corresponds to first QoS sub-requirement) separately to support the (end-to-end) QoS requirement between the Remote UE and UPF (corresponds to first QoS requirement));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PAN with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PAN into LIU is that PAN provides that in UE-to-Network relay communication, a remote UE would access the network (e.g. 5GC) via a relay UE where the remote UE would be in out-of-coverage while the relay UE would be in-coverage. The remote UE would communicate with the relay UE via PC5 interface (or called sidelink interface) for accessing the network, while the relay UE would communicate with a base station (e.g. gNB) via Uu interface for forwarding traffic between the remote UE and the network. a remote UE may reuse the procedures (e.g. PC5 unicast link establishment procedure, PC5 unicast link authentication procedure, PC5 unicast link security mode control procedure and/or etc.) to establish a direct link with a relay UE. (See Paragraphs [0524]-[0525], PAN)
Regarding claim 7, LIU and PAN teach, the method according to claim 5, LIU further teaches,
‘and the first QoS sub-requirement comprises at least one of the following items: a PDB, a PER, and a 5G QoS identifier 5QI.’ (Paragraph [0161], PQI is used for a PC5 interface between the remote UE and the relay UE. 5QI is used between the relay UE and a UPF, or the 5QI may be comprehended as being used between the relay UE and the data network. The PCC rule used for controlling data transmission between the relay UE and the UPF (corresponds to first QoS sub-requirement) may include 5QI=66, or packet delay budget (PDB) may be directly set to 100 ms. The QoS parameter used for a PC5 interface may include PQI=SS, or PC5 PDB may be directly set to 100 ms. PDB represents a delay).
LIU does not explicitly teach but PAN teaches, ‘wherein the first QoS requirement comprises at least one of the following items: a PDB and a PER;’ (PAN – Paragraph [0496], PCF ensures the PDB associated with the 5QI in the Uu QoS parameters and the PDB associated with the PQI in the PC5 QoS parameters supports the PDB between Remote UE and UPF (corresponds to first QoS requirement). PCF also ensures other QoS parameters/QoS characteristics in the Uu QoS parameters and PC5 QoS parameters are compatible, e.g. have the same value);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PAN with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PAN into LIU is that PAN provides that in UE-to-Network relay communication, a remote UE would access the network (e.g. 5GC) via a relay UE where the remote UE would be in out-of-coverage while the relay UE would be in-coverage. The remote UE would communicate with the relay UE via PC5 interface (or called sidelink interface) for accessing the network, while the relay UE would communicate with a base station (e.g. gNB) via Uu interface for forwarding traffic between the remote UE and the network. a remote UE may reuse the procedures (e.g. PC5 unicast link establishment procedure, PC5 unicast link authentication procedure, PC5 unicast link security mode control procedure and/or etc.) to establish a direct link with a relay UE. (See Paragraphs [0524]-[0525], PAN)
Regarding claim 9, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the second information is the QoS rule, after the receiving, by a first core network device, first information, the method further comprises:
LIU does not explicitly teach but PAN teaches, ‘sending, by the first core network device, a QoS profile, wherein the QoS profile is determined based on the first information.’ (PAN – Paragraph [0508], SMF generates QoS rule to be enforced at UE-to-Network Relay (corresponds to first information) and the QoS profile to be enforced at RAN for the QoS control of Uu part. PDU session modification procedure is performed. The PC5 QoS parameters is also provided to UE-to-Network Relay together with the related QoS rule).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PAN with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PAN into LIU is that PAN provides that in UE-to-Network relay communication, a remote UE would access the network (e.g. 5GC) via a relay UE where the remote UE would be in out-of-coverage while the relay UE would be in-coverage. The remote UE would communicate with the relay UE via PC5 interface (or called sidelink interface) for accessing the network, while the relay UE would communicate with a base station (e.g. gNB) via Uu interface for forwarding traffic between the remote UE and the network. a remote UE may reuse the procedures (e.g. PC5 unicast link establishment procedure, PC5 unicast link authentication procedure, PC5 unicast link security mode control procedure and/or etc.) to establish a direct link with a relay UE. (See Paragraphs [0524]-[0525], PAN)
Regarding claim 19, LIU teaches, the network side device according to claim 17, ‘wherein, after the receiving first information, and before the sending second information, the program or the instructions are executed by the processor to further implement:’ (Paragraph [0249], FIG. 15, electronic device 500 includes a processor 511 is configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory 512. FIG. 9 and Paragraphs [0156], In some cases, if a PCF is deployed by an operator, S5031 and S5032 can be performed after S502 (corresponds to after the receiving … before the sending). Paragraph [0151], S502, the relay UE provides a PDU-session establishment or modification request to an SMF. The PDU session establishment or modification request includes the end-to-end QoS requirement. Paragraphs [0154]-[0155], S503, the SMF determines a QoS rule (corresponds to second information) and a PC5 QoS parameter according to the end-to-end QoS requirement (corresponds to first information). The QoS rule is a QoS rule of a PDU session executed by the relay UE):
LIU does not explicitly teach but PAN teaches, ‘splitting a first QoS requirement based on the first information to obtain a first QoS sub-requirement, wherein the first QoS requirement is a QoS requirement between the remote UE and an anchor user plane function UPF, and the first QoS sub-requirement is a QoS requirement between the relay UE and the anchor UPF;’ (PAN – Paragraph [0464], FIG. 6.24.1-1 of 3GPP TR 23.752 V0.5.0, Entitled "End-to-End QoS Split for Layer 3 UE-to-Network Relay Solution", is Reproduced as FIG. 26. Paragraph [0466], The SMF of the UE-to-Network Relay would provide the corresponding QoS rules and flow level QoS parameters (corresponds to first information) to the UE-to-Network Relay. Paragraph [0469], In case the QoS Flows setup are initiated by network, PCF or SMF decides the Uu part QoS parameters (corresponds to first QoS sub-requirement). Based on this information received form SMF, the UE-to-Network Relay deduces the PC5 part QoS parameters and establishes corresponding PC5 QoS Flows. Paragraph [0527], For a Remote UE accessing network via a Relay UE, the QoS control between the Remote UE and User Plane Function (UPF) includes two parts: one part is the QoS control for the connection between the remote UE and the Relay UE, and the other part is the QoS control for the connection between the Relay UE and UPF. Possibly, Policy Control Function (PCF) is responsible to set the QoS parameters between the Remote UE and the Relay UE, (so called "PC5 QoS parameters"), and the QoS parameters between the Relay UE and UPF (so called "Uu QoS parameters") separately to support the (end-to-end) QoS requirement between the Remote UE and UPF (corresponds to first QoS requirement));
‘and the second information is generated based on the first QoS sub-requirement.’ (PAN – Paragraph [0475], The PCF can decide the Uu part QoS parameters (corresponds to first QoS sub-requirement) and generate corresponding PCC rules, and the SMF in tum generate the QoS rules (corresponds to second information) and flow level QoS parameters and signal to the VE-to-Network Relay using PDU Session Modification procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PAN with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PAN into LIU is that PAN provides that in UE-to-Network relay communication, a remote UE would access the network (e.g. 5GC) via a relay UE where the remote UE would be in out-of-coverage while the relay UE would be in-coverage. The remote UE would communicate with the relay UE via PC5 interface (or called sidelink interface) for accessing the network, while the relay UE would communicate with a base station (e.g. gNB) via Uu interface for forwarding traffic between the remote UE and the network. a remote UE may reuse the procedures (e.g. PC5 unicast link establishment procedure, PC5 unicast link authentication procedure, PC5 unicast link security mode control procedure and/or etc.) to establish a direct link with a relay UE. (See Paragraphs [0524]-[0525], PAN)
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0338000 A1), hereinafter “LEE”.
Regarding claim 8, LIU teaches, the method according to claim 1, LIU does not explicitly teach but LEE teaches, ‘wherein in a case that the first information is a dedicated parameter of the relay PDU session, after the receiving, by a first core network device, first information, and before the sending, by the first core network device, second information, the method further comprises:’ (LEE- Paragraph [0206], When the SMF 905 (corresponds to first core network device) receives a PDU session establishment request including a request for permission to use the remote UE 901, the SMF 905 may obtain subscription information of the UE-to-network relay 902 (corresponds to dedicated parameter of the relay PDU session) from the UDM 906. Paragraph [0063], Subscription profile information for each user: This information may be the contents or part of the subscription information for each subscriber of UDM, and more specifically, may be access and mobility subscription information such as user specific allowed area and user specific restricted area, or session management related subscription information such as user subscribed single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and user subscribed data network name (DNN)):
‘querying, by the first core network device, UE subscription data to obtain a first query result related to the dedicated parameter;’ (LEE- Paragraph [0187], a network control method is described in order for a network operator to provide a function allowing a remote UE to use a PDU session of a UE-to-network relay. The 5GC authenticates the remote UE through information (e.g., remote UE identifier information) on the remote UE provided by the UE-to-network relay and provides permission to use (corresponds to querying) the remote UE. This procedure may be supported by the NF (e.g., SMF) in the 5G core network by identifying the subscriber information stored in UDM, PCF, or DN-AAA (data network authentication authorization accounting) for the remote UE);
‘and determining, by the first core network device in a case that the first query result indicates that the dedicated parameter is a dedicated parameter of the relay PDU session, that a first PDU session establishment request is used to request establishment of the relay PDU session.’ (LEE- Paragraph [0187], The 5GC authenticates the remote UE through information (e.g., remote UE identifier information) on the remote UE provided by the UE-to-network relay and provides permission to use the remote UE. This procedure may be supported by the NF (e.g., SMF) in the 5G core network by identifying (corresponds to determining) the subscriber information stored in UDM, PCF, or DN-AAA (data network authentication authorization accounting) for the remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LEE with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LEE into LIU is that LEE provides that receiving, from a first terminal, a first message requesting authentication of a second terminal including an identifier of the second terminal that has requested a connection to the first terminal; determining whether the second terminal can be connected to the first terminal based on at least one of information on the first terminal, information on the second terminal, or authentication information on the second terminal obtained from a unified data management (UDM); and transmitting, to the first terminal, a second message including an authentication result in case that the second terminal can be connected to the first terminal. In addition, the core network entity may be an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a session management function (SMF). (See paragraphs [0018]- [0020], LEE)
Regarding claim 20, LIU teaches, the network side device according to claim 17, ‘the program or the instructions are executed by the processor to further implement:’ (Paragraph [0010], network device includes. Paragraph [0249], FIG. 15, electronic device 500 includes a processor 511 is configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory 512):
LIU does not explicitly teach but LEE teaches, ‘wherein, in a case that the first information is a dedicated parameter of the relay PDU session, after the receiving first information, and before the sending second information,’ (LEE- Paragraph [0206], When the SMF 905 receives a PDU session establishment request including a request for permission to use the remote UE 901, the SMF 905 may obtain subscription information of the UE-to-network relay 902 (corresponds to dedicated parameter of the relay PDU session) from the UDM 906. Paragraph [0063], Subscription profile information for each user: This information may be the contents or part of the subscription information for each subscriber of UDM, and more specifically, may be access and mobility subscription information such as user specific allowed area and user specific restricted area, or session management related subscription information such as user subscribed single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and user subscribed data network name (DNN)):
‘querying UE subscription data to obtain a first query result related to the dedicated parameter;’
(LEE- Paragraph [0187], a network control method is described in order for a network operator to provide a function allowing a remote UE to use a PDU session of a UE-to-network relay. The 5GC authenticates the remote UE through information (e.g., remote UE identifier information) on the remote UE provided by the UE-to-network relay and provides permission to use (corresponds to querying) the remote UE. This procedure may be supported by the NF (e.g., SMF) in the 5G core network by identifying the subscriber information stored in UDM, PCF, or DN-AAA (data network authentication authorization accounting) for the remote UE);
‘and determining in a case that the first query result indicates that the dedicated parameter is a
dedicated parameter of the relay PDU session, that a first PDU session establishment request is used to request establishment of the relay PDU session.’ (LEE- Paragraph [0187], The 5GC authenticates the remote UE through information (e.g., remote UE identifier information) on the remote UE provided by the UE-to-network relay and provides permission to use the remote UE. This procedure may be supported by the NF (e.g., SMF) in the 5G core network by identifying (corresponds to determining) the subscriber information stored in UDM, PCF, or DN-AAA (data network authentication authorization accounting) for the remote UE);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LEE with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LEE into LIU is that LEE provides that receiving, from a first terminal, a first message requesting authentication of a second terminal including an identifier of the second terminal that has requested a connection to the first terminal; determining whether the second terminal can be connected to the first terminal based on at least one of information on the first terminal, information on the second terminal, or authentication information on the second terminal obtained from a unified data management (UDM); and transmitting, to the first terminal, a second message including an authentication result in case that the second terminal can be connected to the first terminal. In addition, the core network entity may be an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a session management function (SMF). (See paragraphs [0018]- [0020], LEE)
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479