DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is in response to the amendments filed on July 28, 2026 for Application No. 18/475,654 in which Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. The amendments filed on July 28, 2026 have been considered. Claims 1, 6, 9, 15, and 17 have been amended. Thus, Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
4. Applicant’s arguments and corresponding amendments filed July 28, 2026 with respect to the objection of the specification have been considered. Thus, the objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
5. Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 abstract idea rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments on Pgs. 7-8 of Arguments/Remarks state:
“Claims 1-20 stand rejected as being directed to an abstract idea.
Without agreeing with the rejection, claim 1 is amended to recite "operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector". Claim 1 recites integration of a novel solution to the problem of finding an optimal policy for a new task into a practical application.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-20, the rejection is traversed because it amounts to a de facto bar on Al technology. This conflicts with the guidance provided by the Commissioner in the recent BPAI Desjardins decision (Appeal 2024-000567, 9/26/2025), in which the Commissioner, in an Appeals Review Panel overturning a Section 101 rejection, remarked as follows:
[…]
Although each application's claims stand or fall on their own merits, the Applicant respectfully notes that claim 1 recites similar features. The rejection's holding that claims with such limitations are unpatentable is a de facto holding that inventions in the field of Successor Features are generally unpatentable. The outstanding Section 101 rejection appears to conflict with the Commissioner's admonition against "[clategorically excluding Al innovations from patent protection".
For comparison, Desjardins' claims are directed to optimizing the performance of a machine learning model by updating its parameters, without any application of the model. Similarly, the instant claims recite various steps that optimize a policy (described in the Specification as a neural network).
In the Desjardins decision, the Commissioner found just one limitation sufficient to satisfy Section 101, noting the following (emphasis added):
[…]
Similarly, the claims of the instant application recite features that determine an optimal policy of an agent when confronted with a new task.
Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the Independent claims have been amended to add “operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector”, this limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and still amounts to merely indicating a “field of use” at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B – the “agent device” is merely “operated […] according to the determined optimal policy” without significantly more. Furthermore, the preceding claim language of Claim 1 including “approximate an optimal value-function […]”, “determine an upper and lower bound […]”, “adjust the optimal value-function […]”, and “determine an optimal policy […]” still clearly recite a combination of practically performable mental and mathematical processes at Step 2A Prong 1 – further explanation and examples are provided in the subsequent 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection below. Moreover, the remaining limitations of the claim including “an electronic device […]” is considered mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and cannot provide an inventive concept and “[…] using a value approximator trained to output […]” amounts to merely adding the words “apply it” with the judicial exception, as the “value approximator” is already pre-trained/configured to “output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors” without significantly more.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Desjardins decision, Examiner asserts that the instant claims are not comparable to that of Desjardins. The claims presented by Desjardins specifically recite a training method which is directed towards optimizing the performance of a machine learning model on a second task while protecting performance of the model on the first task. In comparison, the instant claims amount to merely approximating an optimal value-function (mathematical process) using an already trained value approximator (“apply it”), determining an upper and lower bound (mathematical/mental process), adjusting the optimal value-function based on the bounds (mathematical/mental process), determining an optimal policy (mathematical/mental process), and operating an agent device (field of use). The claim still recites abstract idea and moreover, uses an already trained/configured “value approximator” to perform the “approximating” without significantly more. Nonetheless, nothing presented by the currently drafted claim language precludes the aforementioned limitations from being practically performed by mere mathematical/mental process. The Examiner is not “categorically excluding AI innovations from patent protection”, but instead, the claims are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 due to the clear recitation of abstract idea and additional elements which are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Applicant should consider further amending the claims to add more technical details, such that the instant claim limitations may not be interpreted as being feasibly performed by mathematical/mental process alone. Applicant may also consider expanding upon, or providing more technical details regarding, the “value approximator” which, as currently drafted, reads as merely “applying” a machine learning model without significantly more. Moreover, Examiner asserts that the currently drafted claims do not clearly recite “reinforcement learning transferal” as cited by Applicant’s title – Applicant may also consider amending the claims to provide more details on such a “reinforcement learning transferal”, which may disclose more technical features. This applies to Independent Claims 1, 9, 17, and their respective dependents.
Thus, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained.
6. Applicant’s arguments filed July 28, 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments on Pgs. 8-10 of Arguments/Remarks state:
“Nemecek discusses techniques for determining upper bounds of existing policies, not of an as-yet-to-be-determined optimal value-function, and using those bounds to decide whether to cache/reuse policies based. The following passages of Nemecek are relevant:
[…]
As can be seen from the preceding passages of Nemecek, as well as others, Nemecek's use of upper and lower bounds of a theoretical optimal value-function differ from the use of claim. Claim 1 recites using the upper and lower bounds to "correct the [actually determined] optimal value-function" (which is a Constrained Generalized Policy Improvement (CGPI) technique). In contrast, Nemecek teaches using its upper and lower bounds to evaluate policy performance (not to determine an actual optimal value-function, as discussed later), that is to say, Nemecek's bounds are used to evaluate potential policies for a new task. Nemecek uses a standard GPI technique for finding the lower bound on policy performance, and finds the upper bound for hard-max Q-functions using successor features (as an approximate upper bound on policy performance). Put another way, Nemecek uses its upper and lower bounds to decide whether to reuse a cached policy, rather than to correct an optimal value-function. This technique in Nemecek does not require a corrective function.
Further regarding the nature of the upper and lower bounds in Nemecek, they are not upper and lower bounds of an optimal value-function, rather, they are "new bounds for the performance of optimal policies" (in the field of Successor Features, policies and value-functions are distinctly different entities). For additional understanding, see Figure 2(c), comparing the bounds of Barreto with Nemecek's bounds ("Barreto et al. used successor features with Generalized Policy Improvement (GPI) to provide a lower bound on the value of reusing previous policies in a new task", page 1, second col.). Nemecek and Barreto teach the same kind of bounds, they only differ in how to compute their respective bounds.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant states on Pg. 8 of Arguments “Nemecek discusses techniques for determining upper bounds of existing policies, not of an as-yet-to-be-determined optimal value-function, and using those bounds to decide whether to cache/reuse policies” – however, the instant claim does not call for “determining upper bounds of an as-yet-to-be-determined optimal value function”, the instant claim instead calls for “determining an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector” and “adjusting the optimal value-function for the task vector based on the upper bound and the lower bound” thus, after already approximating the optimal value-function in the preceding steps, the function is only “adjusted” to account for the bounds. This is analogous to the teachings of Nemecek, as Nemecek Section 4. Bounds on Policy Cache Performance Theorem 1 on Pgs. 3-4 states:
“Theorem 1. If πR is an optimal policy under rR and rR is a positive conical combination, i.e., αi ≥ 0 and α = i∈T αi > 0, then max i∈T αi ˜Vπi ˜ Vπi R (s)− πi R(s) ≤ i (s)+ i∈T VπR R (s) ≤ αi πi i (s) i∈T Proof. See appendix. Theorem 1 turns out to be quite powerful in practice because the optimality of a value function for a particular reward function significantly constrains the value function for other reward functions with similar weights. Using the information contained in the corresponding value functions allows us to avoid the 1 1−γ factor that is often found in value function bounds, as this can be quite large for γ close to 1. The bound presented in Theorem 2 from Barreto et al. (2017) is not far from the best that can be done when only the reward functions are known (see appendix) but, as shown in Figure 2(c), it can be quite loose compared to our bound.”
Further, Nemecek Section 6. Experimental Results on Pg. 4 states:
“As described in Algorithm 1, the agent starts with a policy cache containing policies for each of the base tasks for the given environment and when presented with each subsequent task, calculates the upper and lower bounds at the start state using the current policy cache and compares them. If the size of the gap exceeds threshold η, then a new policy is added to the cache.”
Therefore, an optimal value-function is approximated and accordingly an upper and lower bound is determined and the optimal value-function is adjusted based on the bounds, in order to determine an optimal policy based on the adjusted optimal value-function. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s points that Nemecek’s bounds are used to evaluate potential policies for a new task and decide whether to reuse a cached policy. However, regardless of what Nemecek’s bounds aim to accomplish, they are still used to “adjust” the optimal value-function for the task vector and determine an optimal policy, as Nemecek constrains the value function based on the calculated upper and lower bounds, in order to decide whether to add a new policy to the cache. Nemecek even states on Pg. 4 Section 5. Policy Cache Construction that:
“If the gap between the upper and lower bounds is small enough for a given state, then we know that the value of the best policy in the cache must be within some small factor of the value for the optimal policy. If the agent is given the starting state distribution or can approximate it based on previous experience, it can calculate the expected size of the gap for that state distribution. With that information, the agent decides if the performance of the existing policy cache is sufficient.”
Thus, an optimal (best) policy is determined using the adjusted optimal value-function which accounts for the upper and lower bounds. Even though Nemecek’s teachings are geared towards deciding whether to reuse an old policy from the cache or to add a new policy depending on the bounds, this is still analogous to Applicant’s instant claims. According to Applicant’s broad claim language it does not limit whether the “optimal policy” is a reused policy from cache or a brand-new policy, just that the “optimal policy” is “determined” based on the preceding steps of determining bounds and adjusting the value-function to account for the bounds. All of which is disclosed by Nemecek, as shown above. This applies to Independent Claims 1, 9, 17, and their respective dependents. Examiner recommends that Applicant amend the claims as advised by Examiner above (with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 response to arguments), which may help to put the claims in a better direction for both 35 U.S.C. 101 eligibility and 35 U.S.C. 103 novelty.
Thus, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1:
Step 1: Claim 1 is a system type claim. Therefore, Claims 1-8 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
2A Prong 1: If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by mathematical calculation but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas.
approximate an optimal value-function for a task vector […] using a state of an agent and source task vectors (mathematical process/mental process – approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing Equation 2 in Par. [0056] of Applicant’s specification, in which when a policy vector space is equal to a task vector space and a given policy vector z is equal to the task vector w, the optimal-value function may be approximated for the task vector w using state of an agent and source task vectors according to the equation 2. Alternatively, approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the state of an agent and source task vectors and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to approximate an optimal value-function for a task vector (with the aid of pen and paper) based on said analysis)
determine an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector (mathematical process/mental process – determining an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing Equations 4, 5, and/or 6 in Par. [0074-0083] of Applicant’s specification, in which the upper and lower bounds are determined. Alternatively, determining an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the optimal value-function and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine an upper and lower bound based on said analysis)
adjust the optimal value-function for the task vector based on the upper bound and the lower bound (mathematical process/mental process – adjusting the optimal value-function for the task vector based on the upper bound and the lower bound may be performed by mathematical process utilizing the equations/mathematical operations described in Par. [0084-0087] of Applicant’s specification, in which the optimal value-function is adjusted/corrected based on the bounds. Alternatively, adjusting the optimal value-function may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the optimal value-function and the upper/lower bounds and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to adjust the optimal value-function (with the aid of pen and paper) based on the upper/lower bounds)
determine an optimal policy for the task vector using the adjusted optimal value-function for the task vector (mathematical process/mental process – determining an optimal policy for the task vector using the adjusted optimal value-function for the task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing the equations/mathematical operations described in Par. [0087-0089] of Applicant’s specification, in which the optimal policy is determined by calculating/solving the adjusted optimal value-function. Alternatively, determining an optimal policy may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the adjusted optimal value-function and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine an optimal policy using the adjusted optimal value-function (by solving the function with the aid of pen and paper))
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory electrically connected with the one or more processors and storing instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to: […] (i.e., as a generic device comprising generic processor and memory such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
using a value approximator trained to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of applying an already trained machine learning model using generic data without significantly more)
operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory electrically connected with the one or more processors and storing instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to: […] (mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept)
using a value approximator trained to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of applying an already trained machine learning model using generic data without significantly more. This cannot provide an inventive concept)
operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that an agent device is operated in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy without significantly more does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
For the reasons above, Claim 1 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This rejection applies equally to dependent claims 2-8. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are addressed below.
Regarding Claim 2:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 2 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the task vector is represented as a linear combination of the source task vectors (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the task vector is represented as a linear combination of source task vectors does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 2 above, which Claim 3 depends on.
determine a number of combinations of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector according to a threshold (mental process – determining a number of combinations of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector according to a threshold may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the linear combination of the source task vectors and threshold and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine a number of combinations of the linear combination (with the aid of pen and paper) to represent the task vector according to the threshold)
determine the upper bound according to one of the determined linear combinations of the task vectors (mathematical process/mental process – determining the upper bound may be performed by mathematical process per Applicant’s specification Par. [0083] which specifies how the upper bound may be calculated using the linear combination of source task vectors, as described by the rejection of Claim 1 above. Alternatively, the determining the upper bound may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the determined linear combinations of the task vectors and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine the upper bound according to said analysis of the linear combinations)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 4 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the lower bound is determined based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the lower bound is determined generically based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 5 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the upper bound is determined based on an arbitrary linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the upper bound is determined based on an arbitrary linear combination of source task vectors does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 6 depends on.
adjust the optimal value-function in a range of less than or equal to the upper bound and greater than or equal to the lower bound (mathematical process/mental process - adjusting the optimal value-function for the task vector based on the upper bound and the lower bound may be performed by mathematical process utilizing the equations/mathematical operations described in Par. [0084-0087] of Applicant’s specification, in which the optimal value-function is adjusted based on the bounds. Alternatively, adjusting the optimal value-function may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the optimal value-function and the upper/lower bounds and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to adjust the optimal value-function (with the aid of pen and paper) based on the upper/lower bounds)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 7 depends on.
approximate a minimum value for the task vector […] (mathematical process/mental process – other than reciting “minimum value approximator”, approximating a minimum value may be performed by mathematical process/calculation. Alternatively, approximating a minimum value for the task vector may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the task vector and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to approximate a minimum value for the task vector (with the aid of pen and paper))
determine the upper bound using the minimum value for the task vector (mathematical process/mental process – determining the upper bound using the minimum value for the task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing the equations/mathematical operations per Applicant’s specification Par. [0110-0111]. Alternatively, the upper bound may be determined manually by a user observing/analyzing the minimum value for the task vector and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine the upper bound based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
[…] using a minimum value approximator trained to output a minimum value for the source task vectors (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner' s note: high level recitation of applying an already trained machine learning model without significantly more. This cannot provide an inventive concept)
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 8 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the optimal policy comprises a neural network model (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the optimal policy comprises a neural network model does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Independent Claim 9 recites substantially the same limitations as Claim 1, in the form of a method. The claim is also directed to performing mental processes/mathematical calculations without significantly more, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
For the reasons above, Claim 9 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This rejection applies equally to dependent claims 10-16. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are addressed below.
Claim 10 recites substantially the same limitations as Claim 2, in the form of a method. The claim is also directed to performing mental processes/mathematical calculations without significantly more, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 11:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 9 above, which Claim 11 depends on.
determining a number of combinations of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector by a predetermined threshold (mental process – determining a number of combinations of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector according to a threshold may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the linear combination of the source task vectors and threshold and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine a number of combinations of the linear combination (with the aid of pen and paper) to represent the task vector according to the threshold)
determining the upper bound according to a combination of the linear combination of the source task vectors (mathematical process/mental process – determining the upper bound may be performed by mathematical process per Applicant’s specification Par. [0083] which specifies how the upper bound may be calculated using the linear combination of source task vectors, as described by the rejection of Claim 1 above. Alternatively, the determining the upper bound may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the determined linear combinations of the task vectors and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine the upper bound according to said analysis of the linear combinations)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 12:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 9 above, which Claim 12 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the lower bound is determined based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function for the task vector of policies based on the source task vectors (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the lower bound is determined generically based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 13:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 12 above, which Claim 13 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the policies comprise respective neural networks trained with respect to the source task vectors (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the policies comprise respective neural networks trained with respect to the source task vectors does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 14:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 9 above, which Claim 14 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the upper bound is determined based on a combination of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the upper bound is determined based on a combination of the linear combination of source task vectors does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 15:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 9 above, which Claim 15 depends on.
adjusting of the optimal value-function for the task vector comprises changing the optimal value-function for the task vector in a range of less than or equal to the upper bound and greater than or equal to the lower bound (mathematical process/mental process - adjusting the optimal value-function for the task vector based on the upper bound and the lower bound may be performed by mathematical process utilizing the equations/mathematical operations described in Par. [0084-0087] of Applicant’s specification, in which the optimal value-function is adjusted based on the bounds. Alternatively, adjusting the optimal value-function may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the optimal value-function and the upper/lower bounds and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to adjust the optimal value-function (with the aid of pen and paper) based on the upper/lower bounds)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 16:
Step 2A Prong 1: See the rejection of Claim 9 above, which Claim 16 depends on.
approximating a minimum value for the task vector […] (mathematical process/mental process – other than reciting “minimum value approximator”, approximating a minimum value may be performed by mathematical process/calculation. Alternatively, approximating a minimum value for the task vector may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the task vector and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to approximate a minimum value for the task vector (with the aid of pen and paper))
determining the upper bound using the minimum value for the task vector (mathematical process/mental process – determining the upper bound using the minimum value for the task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing the equations/mathematical operations per Applicant’s specification Par. [0110-0111]. Alternatively, the upper bound may be determined manually by a user observing/analyzing the minimum value for the task vector and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine the upper bound based on said analysis)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
[…] using a minimum value approximator trained to output a minimum value for the source task vectors (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner' s note: high level recitation of applying an already trained machine learning model without significantly more. This cannot provide an inventive concept)
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 17:
Step 1: Claim 17 is a method type claim. Therefore, Claims 17-20 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
2A Prong 1: If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by mathematical calculation but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas.
approximating a task vector […] to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks (mathematical process/mental process – other than reciting “task vector approximator”, approximating a task vector may be performed by mathematical process/calculation according to Par. [0117] of Applicant’s specification. Alternatively, approximating a task vector may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the source task information and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to generate/approximate a task vector (with the aid of pen and paper) based on said analysis)
approximating a feature of the task vector […] to output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent (mathematical process/mental process – other than reciting a “feature approximator”, approximating a feature of the task vector may be performed by mathematical process/calculation. Alternatively, approximating a feature of the task vector may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the state of an agent and source task vector and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to generate/approximate features of the task vector (with the aid of pen and paper) based on said analysis)
approximating an optimal value-function for the task vector using the task vector and the feature of the task vector (mathematical process/mental process – approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing Equation 2 in Par. [0056] of Applicant’s specification or the equations/mathematical operations described in Par. [0117) of Applicant’s specification. Alternatively, approximating an optimal value-function for the task vector may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the task vector and feature of the task vector and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to approximate an optimal value-function for the task vector (with the aid of pen and paper) based on said analysis)
determining an upper bound of the optimal value-function (mathematical process/mental process – determining an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing Equations 4, 5, and/or 6 in Par. [0074-0083] of Applicant’s specification, in which the upper and lower bounds are determined. Alternatively, determining an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the optimal value-function and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine an upper and lower bound based on said analysis)
determining a lower bound of the optimal value-function (mathematical process/mental process – determining an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing Equations 4, 5, and/or 6 in Par. [0074-0083] of Applicant’s specification, in which the upper and lower bounds are determined. Alternatively, determining an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the optimal value-function and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine an upper and lower bound based on said analysis)
adjusting the optimal value-function based on the upper bound and the lower bound (mathematical process/mental process – adjusting the optimal value-function for the task vector based on the upper bound and the lower bound may be performed by mathematical process utilizing the equations/mathematical operations described in Par. [0084-0087] of Applicant’s specification, in which the optimal value-function is adjusted based on the bounds. Alternatively, adjusting the optimal value-function may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the optimal value-function and the upper/lower bounds and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to adjust the optimal value-function (with the aid of pen and paper) based on the upper/lower bounds)
determining an optimal policy for the task vector using the adjusted optimal value-function (mathematical process/mental process – determining an optimal policy for the task vector using the adjusted optimal value-function for the task vector may be performed by mathematical process utilizing the equations/mathematical operations described in Par. [0087-0089] of Applicant’s specification, in which the optimal policy is determined by calculating/solving the adjusted optimal value-function. Alternatively, determining an optimal policy may be performed manually by a user observing/analyzing the adjusted optimal value-function and accordingly using judgement/evaluation to determine an optimal policy using the adjusted optimal value-function (by solving the function with the aid of pen and paper))
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
method of transferring reinforcement learning […] (recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic method for transferring reinforcement learning without significantly more) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components)
[…] using a task vector approximator trained to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of applying an already trained machine learning model with generic data without significantly more)
[…] using a feature approximator trained to output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of applying an already trained machine learning model with generic data without significantly more)
operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
method of transferring reinforcement learning […] (mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept)
[…] using a task vector approximator trained to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of applying an already trained machine learning model with generic data without significantly more. This cannot provide an inventive concept)
[…] using a feature approximator trained to output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level recitation of applying an already trained machine learning model with generic data without significantly more. This cannot provide an inventive concept)
operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that an agent device is operated in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy without significantly more does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
For the reasons above, Claim 17 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This rejection applies equally to dependent claims 18-20. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are addressed below.
Regarding Claim 18:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 17 above, which Claim 18 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the task vector is represented as a linear combination of the source task vectors (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the task vector is represented as a linear combination of source task vectors does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 19:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 17 above, which Claim 19 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the lower bound is determined based on an approximation and an approximation error of the optimal value-function, wherein the approximation error is based on the source task vectors (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the lower bound is determined generically based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function wherein the approximation error is based on the source task vectors does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 20:
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 17 above, which Claim 20 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
wherein the upper bound is determined based on one of multiple linear combination of the source task vectors (Field of Use – limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application; in this case specifying that the upper bound is determined based on one of multiple linear combinations of source task vectors does not integrate the exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more – See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Accordingly, under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemecek et al. (hereinafter Nemecek) (“Policy Caches with Successor Features”), in view of Zahavy et al. (hereinafter Zahavy) (US PG-PUB 20240104389).
Regarding Claim 1, Nemecek teaches:
approximate an optimal value-function for a task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 2, Section 2. Background, “A value function V π(s) is the expected total discounted reward for starting in state s and performing actions according to π. The action-value function Qπ(s,a) gives the value of taking action a from state s and following π afterwards. The goal of a learning agent is to learn the optimal policy π∗ which maximizes the expected future reward from each state. We can express the optimal value function V ∗ and action-value function Q∗ via the Bellman equation as: [See equation on Pg. 2] […] The underlying idea of transfer learning for reinforcement learning (Taylor & Stone, 2009) is that through learning to perform well in one or more tasks, the learning process for a new task should be improved in some way, typically by reducing the amount of training in the new task required to reach a given level of performance.”, therefore, an optimal value-function is approximated for a task vector (See Nemecek Pg. 3 which states that the variable T comprises a set of tasks). This is analogous to the equation 2, for approximating an optimal value-function, as presented by Applicant’s specification Par. [0056]) using a value approximator trained (While Nemecek discloses approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector […] to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors, Nemecek does not explicitly disclose approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector using a value approximator trained to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors. See introduction of Zahavy reference below for explicit disclosure of approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector using a value approximator trained to perform these operations of the claim language) to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 4. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound. For this LP, the variables are the coefficients αi, W is the set of reward weight vectors for the tasks in which the policies in the cache were learned, wnew is vector of reward weights for the new task, m is the number of policies in the cache, and s is the start state: [See equation on Pg. 4]”, thus, a minimum value-function may be outputted (based on minimizing the upper bound in accordance to the policy cache) using a state of an agent (start state, also described by the cited action-value function above) and source task vectors (reward weight vectors for tasks));
determine an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 6. Experimental Results, “As described in Algorithm 1, the agent starts with a policy cache containing policies for each of the base tasks for the given environment and when presented with each subsequent task, calculates the upper and lower bounds at the start state using the current policy cache and compares them. If the size of the gap exceeds threshold η, then a new policy is added to the cache.”, thus, an upper and lower bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector may be determined. This is similarly supported by Algorithms 1 & 2 on Pg. 4);
adjust the optimal value-function for the task vector based on the upper bound and the lower bound (Nemecek, Pgs. 3-4, Section 4. Bounds on Policy Cache Performance, “We now consider a task R with reward function rR = i∈T αiri such that αi ≥ 0 and i∈T αi > 0, i.e., rR is a positive conical combination of the reward functions of the tasks in T. The proof of the theorem below (see appendix) provides an alternate derivation of the lower bound from Barreto et al., but does not improve upon it, while the upper bound is more general than those offered in Hunt et al. (2019) and applies to hard-max Q-learning. [See Theorem 1 on Pg. 3] Theorem 1 turns out to be quite powerful in practice because the optimality of a value function for a particular reward function significantly constrains the value function for other reward functions with similar weights” & Pg. 4, Section 6. Experimental Results, “As described in Algorithm 1, the agent starts with a policy cache containing policies for each of the base tasks for the given environment and when presented with each subsequent task, calculates the upper and lower bounds at the start state using the current policy cache and compares them. If the size of the gap exceeds threshold η, then a new policy is added to the cache”, therefore, the value function may be adjusted to account for the upper and lower bounds, see Algorithms 1 & 2 on Pg. 4);
determine an optimal policy for the task vector using the adjusted optimal value-function for the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “We start with a set of base tasks defined by a set of reward feature weights, and assume all subsequent tasks have rewards within the conical hull of the initial set. Algorithm 1 uses Theorem 1 to decide if the current policy cache is sufficient, given a performance threshold. If the gap between the upper and lower bounds is small enough for a given state, then we know that the value of the best policy in the cache must be within some small factor of the value for the optimal policy.”, thus, based on the adjusted optimal value-function (which accounts for the upper/lower bounds as shown by Algorithm 1 & Theorem 1), an optimal policy for the task vector may be determined. This is similarly supported by Pg. 2 which states “Our first contribution is to address these limitations by presenting a new upper bound on the hard-max Q-function of the optimal policy for a new task when that task is a conical combination of previous tasks.”); and
operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector (See introduction of Zahavy reference below)
Although Nemecek teaches transfer in reinforcement learning, algorithms, and neural networks that are seemingly run on a computing device (See Nemecek Pgs. 4 & 7), Nemecek does not explicitly disclose an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory electrically connected with the one or more processors and storing instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to: […]
However, Zahavy teaches an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory electrically connected with the one or more processors and storing instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to: […] (Zahavy, Par. [0118], “Computers suitable for the execution of a computer program include, by way of example, can be based on general or special purpose microprocessors or both, or any other kind of central processing unit. Generally, a central processing unit will receive instructions and data from a read only memory or a random access memory or both.”, thus, an electronic device (computer) comprising one or more processors (central processing unit(s)) and a memory electrically connected with the one or more processors and storing instructions to be executed by the one or more processors is disclosed)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for determining an optimal policy for a task vector based on a corrected optimal value-function for the task vector, as disclosed by Nemecek to include wherein the device is an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory electrically connected with the one or more processors and storing instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to perform the operations of the claim language, as disclosed by Zahavy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the use of an electronic device (computer) which may efficiently perform and execute instructions and facilitate streamlined data transfer for determining an optimal policy for a task vector (Zahavy, Par. [0118], “The essential elements of a computer are a central processing unit for performing or executing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data. Generally, a computer will also include, or be operatively coupled to receive data from or transfer data to, or both, one or more mass storage devices for storing data, e.g., magnetic, magneto optical disks, or optical disks.”).
While Nemecek discloses approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector […] to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors (See rejection above), Nemecek does not explicitly disclose approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector using a value approximator trained to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors
However, Zahavy teaches approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector using a value approximator trained to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors (Zahavy, Par. [0029], “In implementations the one or more policy neural networks 110 comprise a value function neural network configured to process the observation 106 for the current time step, in accordance with current values of value function neural network parameters, to generate a current value estimate relating to the current state of the environment. The value function neural network may be a state or state-action value function neural network. That is, the current value estimate may be a state value estimate, i.e. an estimate of a value of the current state of the environment, or a state-action value estimate, i.e. an estimate of a value of each of a set of possible actions at the current time step.”, thus, a value approximator (which may comprise a neural network, as supported by Applicant’s specification Par. [0100]) is trained to output a minimum value-function (satisfying a minimum performance criterion as supported by Nemecek Par. [0038-0040]) using a state of an agent and source task vectors to approximate an optimal value-function for a task vector (See Nemecek Par. [0051-0054] which explicitly discloses these vectors)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device for approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector, as disclosed by Nemecek in view of Zahavy to include wherein the optimal value-function is approximated using a value approximator trained to output a minimum value-function using a state of an agent and source task vectors, as disclosed by Zahavy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the use of a value approximator (neural network) which may more efficiently and accurately approximate the value function to generate value estimates, allowing for improved generalization across a variety of parameters, datasets, and tasks (Zahavy, Par. [0029], “In implementations the one or more policy neural networks 110 comprise a value function neural network configured to process the observation 106 for the current time step, in accordance with current values of value function neural network parameters, to generate a current value estimate relating to the current state of the environment. The value function neural network may be a state or state-action value function neural network. That is, the current value estimate may be a state value estimate, i.e. an estimate of a value of the current state of the environment, or a state-action value estimate, i.e. an estimate of a value of each of a set of possible actions at the current time step.”).
Nemecek teaches operating an agent device according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a task according to the task vector, as shown by the experiments performed using GridWorld, Terrainworld, and Reacher, detailed in Section 6. Experimental Results and Figures 1 & 2 on Pg. 6. Nemecek also broadly describes optimal policies with respect to safe driving on Pg. 1. However, Nemecek does not explicitly disclose operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector.
However, Zahavy teaches operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector (Zahavy, Par. [0022], “There are many potential applications for the present framework. For example, consider the process of using reinforcement learning to train a robot to walk. The designer does not know a priori which reward will result in the desired walking pattern. Thus, robotic engineers often train a policy to maximize an initial reward, tweak the reward, and iterate until they reach the desired behavior. Using the present approach, the engineer would have multiple forms of walking to choose from in each attempt, thereby speeding up the process of training the robot.” & Par. [0096], “In some applications the environment is a real-world environment and the agent is a mechanical agent interacting with the real-world environment. For example, the agent may be a robot interacting with the environment to accomplish a specific task. As another example, the agent may be an autonomous or semi-autonomous land or air or water vehicle navigating through the environment. In these implementations, the actions may be control inputs to control a physical behavior of the robot or vehicle.”, thus, an agent device (robot or vehicle) is operated in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy (See preceding Par. [0020-0021]) to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device for approximating an optimal value-function for a task vector, as disclosed by Nemecek in view of Zahavy to include operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector, as disclosed by Zahavy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable real-time low-latency decision making alongside safer and more predictable behavior, hence improving resource efficiency and performance through maximization of long-term rewards (Zahavy, Par. [0022], “There are many potential applications for the present framework. For example, consider the process of using reinforcement learning to train a robot to walk. The designer does not know a priori which reward will result in the desired walking pattern. Thus, robotic engineers often train a policy to maximize an initial reward, tweak the reward, and iterate until they reach the desired behavior. Using the present approach, the engineer would have multiple forms of walking to choose from in each attempt, thereby speeding up the process of training the robot.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the task vector is represented as a linear combination of the source task vectors (Nemecek, Pg. 3, Section 3. Representation and Successor Features, “Successor features (SFs) (Barreto et al., 2017) have been proposed as a generalization to the successor representation. SFs assume that the reward function can be decomposed into a linear combination of features, r(s,a,s) = φ(s,a,s)Tw, where φ(s,a,s)T is a row vector of features and w is the weights, changing the representation from one based on state visitation to one based on feature occurrences. Using this assumption, successor features ψπ(s,a) are derived from the action-value function for a given policy π, Qπ(s,a), which we can write as the expected sum of discounted rewards starting from timestep t.”, therefore, the task vector may be represented as a linear combination of source task vectors (a linear combination of features comprising a row vector of features and corresponding weights for a variety of tasks)).
Regarding Claim 3, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to:
determine a number of combinations of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector according to a threshold (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.” & Pg. 6, Section 6.2 Terrainworld, “The seven base tasks each assign a weight of -1 to one of the seven terrain types and a weight of 0 to the goal. Subsequent tasks assign some combination of the coefficients 1 and 30 to each base task. Exhausting the possible combinations of this form results in 128 generated tasks. Our results are averaged over 5000 permutations of these generated tasks. Like Gridworld, we used a tabular representation for the SFs computed with MPI.”, thus, a number of combinations of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector according to a threshold (valid combination which minimizes the upper bound) may be determined – Pg. 6 Section 6.2 is cited as such an example of determining a number of combinations); and
determine the upper bound according to one of the determined linear combinations of the task vectors (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.”, therefore, an upper bound may be determined based on one of the determined linear combinations of the task vectors (valid combination which minimizes the upper bound)).
Regarding Claim 4, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the lower bound is determined based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Algorithm 1 uses Theorem 1 to decide if the current policy cache is sufficient, given a performance threshold. If the gap between the upper and lower bounds is small enough for a given state, then we know that the value of the best policy in the cache must be within some small factor of the value for the optimal policy.” & Pg. 8, Section 8. Discussion and Future Work, “We have demonstrated empirically that our approach can be combined with function approximation. Although our bounds include approximation error, our experiments assume low approximation error and don’t include approximation error when deciding whether to grow the cache.”, therefore, the lower bound may be determined based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function (also shown by Theorem 1 & Algorithm 1)).
Regarding Claim 5, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the upper bound is determined based on an arbitrary linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.”, therefore, an upper bound may be determined based on an arbitrary linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector).
Regarding Claim 6, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to adjust the optimal value-function in a range of less than or equal to the upper bound and greater than or equal to the lower bound (Nemecek, Pg. 1, Abstract, “We present new bounds for the performance of optimal policies in a new task, as well as an approach to use these bounds to decide, when presented with a new task, whether to use cached policies or learn a new policy.” & Pg. 3 Section 4. Bounds on Policy Cache Performance, “We now consider a task R with reward function rR = i∈T αiri such that αi ≥ 0 and i∈T αi > 0, i.e., rR is a positive conical combination of the reward functions of the tasks in T . The proof of the theorem below (see ap pendix) provides an alternate derivation of the lower bound from Barreto et al., but does not improve upon it, while the upper bound is more general than those offered in Hunt et al. (2019) and applies to hard-max Q-learning.”, thus, the optimal value-function is adjusted to account for the upper bound (such that it is less than or equal to the upper bound) and the lower bound (such that it is greater than or equal to the lower bound). The optimal value-function accounts for and falls between the specified bounds – see also Theorem 1 on Pg. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to:
approximate a minimum value for the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 4. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound. For this LP, the variables are the coefficients αi, W is the set of reward weight vectors for the tasks in which the policies in the cache were learned, wnew is vector of reward weights for the new task, m is the number of policies in the cache, and s is the start state: [See equation on Pg. 4]”, thus, a minimum value-function may be outputted (based on minimizing the upper bound in accordance to the policy cache) using a state of an agent (start state, also described by the cited action-value function above) and source task vectors (reward weight vectors for tasks)) using a minimum value approximator trained to output a minimum value for the source task vectors (Zahavy, Par. [0029], “In implementations the one or more policy neural networks 110 comprise a value function neural network configured to process the observation 106 for the current time step, in accordance with current values of value function neural network parameters, to generate a current value estimate relating to the current state of the environment. The value function neural network may be a state or state-action value function neural network. That is, the current value estimate may be a state value estimate, i.e. an estimate of a value of the current state of the environment, or a state-action value estimate, i.e. an estimate of a value of each of a set of possible actions at the current time step.”, thus, a value approximator (which may comprise a neural network, as supported by Applicant’s specification Par. [0100]) is trained to output a minimum value-function (satisfying a minimum performance criterion as supported by Nemecek Par. [0038-0040]) using a state of an agent and source task vectors to approximate an optimal value-function for a task vector (See Nemecek Par. [0051-0054] which explicitly discloses these vectors)); and
determine the upper bound using the minimum value for the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.”, therefore, the upper bound may be determined using the minimum value for the task vector, as a valid combination of tasks (comprising the task vector) which minimizes the upper bound is utilized).
The reasons of obviousness have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1 above and applicable herein.
Regarding Claim 8, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the optimal policy comprises a neural network model (Zahavy, Par. [0020], “The present application provides the following contributions. An incremental method for discovering a diverse set of near-optimal policies is proposed. Each policy in the set may be trained based on iterative updates that attempt to maximize diversity relative to other policies in the set under a minimum performance constraint.” & Par. [0028], “Each of the policy neural networks 110 is configured to process an input that includes a current observation 106 characterizing the current state of the environment 104, in accordance with the policy parameters 140, to generate a neural network output for selecting the action 112.”, therefore, the optimal policy may comprise a neural network model).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of claim 1, as disclosed by Nemecek in view of Zahavy to include wherein the optimal policy comprises a neural network model, as disclosed by Zahavy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide improvements for reinforcement learning by providing a diverse set of policies in which the optimal policy comprises a neural network which may provide multiple means of performing a given task, hence improving model robustness (Zahavy, Par. [0019-0020], “The present disclosure presents an improved reinforcement learning method in which training is based on extrinsic rewards from the environment and intrinsic rewards based on diversity. An objective function is provided that combines both performance and diversity to provide a set of diverse policies for performing a task. By providing a diverse set of policies, the methods described herein provide multiple means of performing a given task, thereby improving robustness. The present application provides the following contributions. An incremental method for discovering a diverse set of near-optimal policies is proposed. Each policy in the set may be trained based on iterative updates that attempt to maximize diversity relative to other policies in the set under a minimum performance constraint.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches a method of transferring reinforcement learning (Nemecek, Pg. 2, Section 2. Background, “The underlying idea of transfer learning for reinforcement learning (Taylor & Stone, 2009) is that through learning to perform well in one or more tasks, the learning process for a new task should be improved in some way, typically by reducing the amount of training in the new task required to reach a given level of performance. As shown in Section 5, an agent may even be able to avoid learning a new pol icy entirely if it can determine that its cached policies are sufficiently good for the novel task. While there are many notions of transfer, we focus on the case where the difference between tasks lies solely in their reward functions, i.e., the dynamics and other aspects of the environment remain the same.”, thus, methods of transferring reinforcement learning are disclosed), the method comprising: […]
The rest of the claim language in Claim 9 recites substantially the same limitations as Claim 1, in the form of a method, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
The reasons of obviousness have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1 above and applicable herein.
Claim 10 recites substantially the same limitations as Claim 2, in the form of a method, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 11, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the determining of the upper bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector comprises:
determining a number of combinations of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector by a predetermined threshold (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.” & Pg. 6, Section 6.2 Terrainworld, “The seven base tasks each assign a weight of -1 to one of the seven terrain types and a weight of 0 to the goal. Subsequent tasks assign some combination of the coefficients 1 and 30 to each base task. Exhausting the possible combinations of this form results in 128 generated tasks. Our results are averaged over 5000 permutations of these generated tasks. Like Gridworld, we used a tabular representation for the SFs computed with MPI.”, thus, a number of combinations of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector according to a threshold (valid combination which minimizes the upper bound) may be determined – Pg. 6 Section 6.2 is cited as such an example of determining a number of combinations); and
determining the upper bound according to a combination of the linear combination of the source task vectors (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.”, therefore, an upper bound may be determined based on one of the determined linear combinations of the task vectors (valid combination which minimizes the upper bound)).
Regarding Claim 12, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the lower bound is determined based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function for the task vector of policies based on the source task vectors (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Algorithm 1 uses Theorem 1 to decide if the current policy cache is sufficient, given a performance threshold. If the gap between the upper and lower bounds is small enough for a given state, then we know that the value of the best policy in the cache must be within some small factor of the value for the optimal policy.” & Pg. 8, Section 8. Discussion and Future Work, “We have demonstrated empirically that our approach can be combined with function approximation. Although our bounds include approximation error, our experiments assume low approximation error and don’t include approximation error when deciding whether to grow the cache.”, therefore, the lower bound may be determined based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function (also shown by Theorem 1 & Algorithm 1)).
Regarding Claim 13, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the policies comprise respective neural networks trained with respect to the source task vectors (Zahavy, Par. [0020], “The present application provides the following contributions. An incremental method for discovering a diverse set of near-optimal policies is proposed. Each policy in the set may be trained based on iterative updates that attempt to maximize diversity relative to other policies in the set under a minimum performance constraint.” & Par. [0028], “Each of the policy neural networks 110 is configured to process an input that includes a current observation 106 characterizing the current state of the environment 104, in accordance with the policy parameters 140, to generate a neural network output for selecting the action 112.”, therefore, the policies may comprise respective neural networks trained with respect to source task vectors).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of transferring reinforcement learning of claims 9 and 12, as disclosed by Nemecek in view of Zahavy to include wherein the policies comprise respective neural networks trained with respect to the source task vectors, as disclosed by Zahavy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide improvements for reinforcement learning by providing a diverse set of policies in which the policies may comprise respective neural networks which may provide multiple means of performing a given task, hence improving model robustness (Zahavy, Par. [0019-0020], “The present disclosure presents an improved reinforcement learning method in which training is based on extrinsic rewards from the environment and intrinsic rewards based on diversity. An objective function is provided that combines both performance and diversity to provide a set of diverse policies for performing a task. By providing a diverse set of policies, the methods described herein provide multiple means of performing a given task, thereby improving robustness. The present application provides the following contributions. An incremental method for discovering a diverse set of near-optimal policies is proposed. Each policy in the set may be trained based on iterative updates that attempt to maximize diversity relative to other policies in the set under a minimum performance constraint.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the upper bound is determined based on a combination of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache beyond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.”, therefore, an upper bound may be determined based on a combination of the linear combination of the source task vectors to represent the task vector).
Regarding Claim 15, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the adjusting of the optimal value-function for the task vector comprises changing the optimal value-function for the task vector in a range of less than or equal to the upper bound and greater than or equal to the lower bound (Nemecek, Pg. 1, Abstract, “We present new bounds for the performance of optimal policies in a new task, as well as an approach to use these bounds to decide, when presented with a new task, whether to use cached policies or learn a new policy.” & Pg. 3 Section 4. Bounds on Policy Cache Performance, “We now consider a task R with reward function rR = i∈T αiri such that αi ≥ 0 and i∈T αi > 0, i.e., rR is a positive conical combination of the reward functions of the tasks in T . The proof of the theorem below (see ap pendix) provides an alternate derivation of the lower bound from Barreto et al., but does not improve upon it, while the upper bound is more general than those offered in Hunt et al. (2019) and applies to hard-max Q-learning.”, thus, the optimal value-function is adjusted to account for the upper bound (such that it is less than or equal to the upper bound) and the lower bound (such that it is greater than or equal to the lower bound). The optimal value-function accounts for and falls between the specified bounds – see also Theorem 1 on Pg. 3).
Regarding Claim 16, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
approximating a minimum value for the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 4. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound. For this LP, the variables are the coefficients αi, W is the set of reward weight vectors for the tasks in which the policies in the cache were learned, wnew is vector of reward weights for the new task, m is the number of policies in the cache, and s is the start state: [See equation on Pg. 4]”, thus, a minimum value-function may be outputted (based on minimizing the upper bound in accordance to the policy cache) using a state of an agent (start state, also described by the cited action-value function above) and source task vectors (reward weight vectors for tasks)) using a minimum value approximator trained to output a minimum value for the source task vectors (Zahavy, Par. [0029], “In implementations the one or more policy neural networks 110 comprise a value function neural network configured to process the observation 106 for the current time step, in accordance with current values of value function neural network parameters, to generate a current value estimate relating to the current state of the environment. The value function neural network may be a state or state-action value function neural network. That is, the current value estimate may be a state value estimate, i.e. an estimate of a value of the current state of the environment, or a state-action value estimate, i.e. an estimate of a value of each of a set of possible actions at the current time step.”, thus, a value approximator (which may comprise a neural network, as supported by Applicant’s specification Par. [0100]) is trained to output a minimum value-function (satisfying a minimum performance criterion as supported by Nemecek Par. [0038-0040]) using a state of an agent and source task vectors to approximate an optimal value-function for a task vector (See Nemecek Par. [0051-0054] which explicitly discloses these vectors)),
wherein the determining of the upper bound comprises determining the upper bound using the minimum value for the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.”, therefore, the upper bound may be determined using the minimum value for the task vector, as a valid combination of tasks (comprising the task vector) which minimizes the upper bound is utilized).
The reasons of obviousness have been noted in the rejection of Claim 9 above and applicable herein.
Regarding Claim 17, Nemecek teaches a method of transferring reinforcement learning (Nemecek, Pg. 2, Section 2. Background, “The underlying idea of transfer learning for reinforcement learning (Taylor & Stone, 2009) is that through learning to perform well in one or more tasks, the learning process for a new task should be improved in some way, typically by reducing the amount of training in the new task required to reach a given level of performance. As shown in Section 5, an agent may even be able to avoid learning a new pol icy entirely if it can determine that its cached policies are sufficiently good for the novel task. While there are many notions of transfer, we focus on the case where the difference between tasks lies solely in their reward functions, i.e., the dynamics and other aspects of the environment remain the same.”, thus, methods of transferring reinforcement learning are disclosed), the method comprising:
approximating a task vector using a task vector approximator trained to (While Nemecek discloses approximating a task vector […] to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks. Nemecek does not explicitly disclose approximating a task vector using a task vector approximator trained to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks. See introduction of Zahavy reference below for explicit disclosure of approximating a task vector using a task vector approximator trained to perform these operations of the claim language) output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks (Nemecek, Pg. 3, Section 4. Bounds on Policy Cache Performance, “Let T be a set of tasks which differ only in their reward functions. For any task i ∈ T , let ri be the reward function, πi be an optimal policy for ri, and let V πi j be the value function for policy πi executed in task j. As πi is an optimal policy for task i, it follows that the value under πi in task i is at least as good as under any other policy πj: […] We now consider a task R with reward function rR = i∈T αiri such that αi ≥ 0 and i∈T αi > 0, i.e., rR is a positive conical combination of the reward functions of the tasks in T”, therefore, T comprises a set of tasks which differ only in reward functions, the tasks of the task vector are approximated using source information of source tasks (reward functions & combination of reward functions/features of the tasks));
approximating a feature of the task vector using a feature approximator trained to (While Nemecek discloses approximating a feature of the task vector […] output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent. Nemecek does not explicitly disclose approximating a feature of the task vector using a feature approximator trained to output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent. See introduction of Zahavy reference below for explicit disclosure of approximating a feature of the task vector using a feature approximator trained to perform these operations of the claim language) output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent (Nemecek, Pg. 3, Section 4. Bounds on Policy Cache Performance, “Let Λπi be a matrix with each row corresponding to a state s ∈ S, and each column corresponding to a successor feature. Thus, each row corresponds to a row vector of successor features for a state under πi: Λπi(s) = ψπi(s,πi(s)) and is analogous to the relationship between V πi and Qπi.”, thus, features of the task are approximated based on state of an agent);
approximating an optimal value-function for the task vector using the task vector and the feature of the task vector (Nemecek, Pg. 2, Section 2. Background, “A value function V π(s) is the expected total discounted reward for starting in state s and performing actions according to π. The action-value function Qπ(s,a) gives the value of taking action a from state s and following π afterwards. The goal of a learning agent is to learn the optimal policy π∗ which maximizes the expected future reward from each state. We can express the optimal value function V ∗ and action-value function Q∗ via the Bellman equation as: [See equation on Pg. 2] […] The underlying idea of transfer learning for reinforcement learning (Taylor & Stone, 2009) is that through learning to perform well in one or more tasks, the learning process for a new task should be improved in some way, typically by reducing the amount of training in the new task required to reach a given level of performance.”, therefore, an optimal value-function is approximated for a task vector using the task vector and features of the task vector (This is also depicted by the first equation of Section 4. Bounds on Policy Cache Performance on Nemecek Pg. 3 which shows how the value function considers the task vector and features of the task vector). This is analogous to the equation 2, for approximating an optimal value-function, as presented by Applicant’s specification Par. [0056]);
determining an upper bound of the optimal value-function (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 6. Experimental Results, “As described in Algorithm 1, the agent starts with a policy cache containing policies for each of the base tasks for the given environment and when presented with each subsequent task, calculates the upper and lower bounds at the start state using the current policy cache and compares them. If the size of the gap exceeds threshold η, then a new policy is added to the cache.”, thus, an upper bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector may be determined. This is similarly supported by Algorithms 1 & 2 on Pg. 4);
determining a lower bound of the optimal value-function (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 6. Experimental Results, “As described in Algorithm 1, the agent starts with a policy cache containing policies for each of the base tasks for the given environment and when presented with each subsequent task, calculates the upper and lower bounds at the start state using the current policy cache and compares them. If the size of the gap exceeds threshold η, then a new policy is added to the cache.”, thus, a lower bound of the optimal value-function for the task vector may be determined. This is similarly supported by Algorithms 1 & 2 on Pg. 4);
adjusting the optimal value-function based on the upper bound and the lower bound (Nemecek, Pgs. 3-4, Section 4. Bounds on Policy Cache Performance, “We now consider a task R with reward function rR = i∈T αiri such that αi ≥ 0 and i∈T αi > 0, i.e., rR is a positive conical combination of the reward functions of the tasks in T. The proof of the theorem below (see appendix) provides an alternate derivation of the lower bound from Barreto et al., but does not improve upon it, while the upper bound is more general than those offered in Hunt et al. (2019) and applies to hard-max Q-learning. [See Theorem 1 on Pg. 3] Theorem 1 turns out to be quite powerful in practice because the optimality of a value function for a particular reward function significantly constrains the value function for other reward functions with similar weights”, therefore, the value function may be adjusted to account for the upper and lower bounds);
determining an optimal policy for the task vector using the adjusted optimal value-function (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “We start with a set of base tasks defined by a set of reward feature weights, and assume all subsequent tasks have rewards within the conical hull of the initial set. Algorithm 1 uses Theorem 1 to decide if the current policy cache is sufficient, given a performance threshold. If the gap between the upper and lower bounds is small enough for a given state, then we know that the value of the best policy in the cache must be within some small factor of the value for the optimal policy.”, thus, based on the adjusted optimal value-function (which accounts for the upper/lower bounds as shown by Algorithm 1 & Theorem 1), an optimal policy for the task vector may be determined. This is similarly supported by Pg. 2 which states “Our first contribution is to address these limitations by presenting a new upper bound on the hard-max Q-function of the optimal policy for a new task when that task is a conical combination of previous tasks.”); and
operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector (See introduction of Zahavy reference below).
While Nemecek discloses approximating a task vector […] to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks (See rejection above), Nemecek does not explicitly disclose approximating a task vector using a task vector approximator trained to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks.
However, Zahavy teaches approximating a task vector using a task vector approximator trained to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks (Nemecek, Par. [0024-0025], “The reinforcement learning neural network system 100 has one or more inputs to receive data from the environment characterizing a state of the environment, e.g. data from one or more sensors of the environment. Data characterizing a state of the environment is referred to herein as an observation 106. The data from the environment can also include extrinsic rewards (or task rewards). Generally an extrinsic reward 108 is represented by a scalar numeric value characterizing progress of the agent towards the task goal and can be based on any event in, or aspect of, the environment. Extrinsic rewards may be received as a task progresses or only at the end of a task, e.g. to indicate successful completion of the task. Alternatively or in addition, the extrinsic rewards 108 may be calculated by the reinforcement learning neural network system 100 based on the observations 106 using an extrinsic reward function”, therefore, a task vector may be approximated using a task vector approximator (neural network) trained to output source task vectors using source information (extrinsic rewards, states, actions, etc.))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of transferring reinforcement learning, as disclosed by Nemecek to include approximating a task vector using a task vector approximator trained to output source task vectors using source task information of source tasks, as disclosed by Zahavy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the use of a task vector approximator (neural network) which may more efficiently and accurately approximate a task vector by utilizing and contextualizing source task information to approximate a source task vector (Nemecek, Par. [0024-0025], “The reinforcement learning neural network system 100 has one or more inputs to receive data from the environment characterizing a state of the environment, e.g. data from one or more sensors of the environment. Data characterizing a state of the environment is referred to herein as an observation 106. The data from the environment can also include extrinsic rewards (or task rewards). Generally an extrinsic reward 108 is represented by a scalar numeric value characterizing progress of the agent towards the task goal and can be based on any event in, or aspect of, the environment. Extrinsic rewards may be received as a task progresses or only at the end of a task, e.g. to indicate successful completion of the task. Alternatively or in addition, the extrinsic rewards 108 may be calculated by the reinforcement learning neural network system 100 based on the observations 106 using an extrinsic reward function”)
While Nemecek discloses approximating a feature of the task vector […] output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent (See rejection above), Nemecek does not explicitly disclose approximating a feature of the task vector using a feature approximator trained to output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent.
However, Zahavy teaches approximating a feature of the task vector using a feature approximator trained to output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent (Zahavy, Par. [0051], “The feature vector ϕ(s, a) may be considered an encoding of a given state s and action a. The feature vector ϕ(s, a) may be bounded, e.g. between 0 and 1 (ϕ(s, a)∈[0,1]d where d is a dimension of the feature vector ϕ(s, a) and of the weight vector w∈
d. The mapping from states and actions to feature vectors can be implemented through a trained approximator (e.g. a neural network). Whilst the above references an encoding of actions and states, a feature vector may alternatively be an encoding of a given state only ϕ(s)”, therefore, a feature of the task vector may be approximated using a feature approximator (neural network) trained to output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of transferring reinforcement learning, as disclosed by Nemecek to include approximating a feature of the task vector using a feature approximator trained to output a feature of the source task vector based on a state of an agent, as disclosed by Zahavy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the use of a feature approximator (neural network) which may more efficiently and accurately approximate features of the task vector by utilizing and contextualizing given states and actions (Zahavy, Par. [0051], “The feature vector ϕ(s, a) may be considered an encoding of a given state s and action a. The feature vector ϕ(s, a) may be bounded, e.g. between 0 and 1 (ϕ(s, a)∈[0,1]d where d is a dimension of the feature vector ϕ(s, a) and of the weight vector w∈
d. The mapping from states and actions to feature vectors can be implemented through a trained approximator (e.g. a neural network). Whilst the above references an encoding of actions and states, a feature vector may alternatively be an encoding of a given state only ϕ(s)”).
Nemecek teaches operating an agent device according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a task according to the task vector, as shown by the experiments performed using GridWorld, Terrainworld, and Reacher, detailed in Section 6. Experimental Results and Figures 1 & 2 on Pg. 6. Nemecek also broadly describes optimal policies with respect to safe driving on Pg. 1. However, Nemecek does not explicitly disclose operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector.
However, Zahavy teaches operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector (Zahavy, Par. [0022], “There are many potential applications for the present framework. For example, consider the process of using reinforcement learning to train a robot to walk. The designer does not know a priori which reward will result in the desired walking pattern. Thus, robotic engineers often train a policy to maximize an initial reward, tweak the reward, and iterate until they reach the desired behavior. Using the present approach, the engineer would have multiple forms of walking to choose from in each attempt, thereby speeding up the process of training the robot.” & Par. [0096], “In some applications the environment is a real-world environment and the agent is a mechanical agent interacting with the real-world environment. For example, the agent may be a robot interacting with the environment to accomplish a specific task. As another example, the agent may be an autonomous or semi-autonomous land or air or water vehicle navigating through the environment. In these implementations, the actions may be control inputs to control a physical behavior of the robot or vehicle.”, thus, an agent device (robot or vehicle) is operated in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy (See preceding Par. [0020-0021]) to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of transferring reinforcement learning, as disclosed by Nemecek in view of Zahavy to include operating an agent device in a physical environment according to the determined optimal policy to accomplish a physical task corresponding to the task vector, as disclosed by Zahavy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable real-time low-latency decision making alongside safer and more predictable behavior, hence improving resource efficiency and performance through maximization of long-term rewards (Zahavy, Par. [0022], “There are many potential applications for the present framework. For example, consider the process of using reinforcement learning to train a robot to walk. The designer does not know a priori which reward will result in the desired walking pattern. Thus, robotic engineers often train a policy to maximize an initial reward, tweak the reward, and iterate until they reach the desired behavior. Using the present approach, the engineer would have multiple forms of walking to choose from in each attempt, thereby speeding up the process of training the robot.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the task vector is represented as a linear combination of the source task vectors (Nemecek, Pg. 3, Section 3. Representation and Successor Features, “Successor features (SFs) (Barreto et al., 2017) have been proposed as a generalization to the successor representation. SFs assume that the reward function can be decomposed into a linear combination of features, r(s,a,s) = φ(s,a,s)Tw, where φ(s,a,s)T is a row vector of features and w is the weights, changing the representation from one based on state visitation to one based on feature occurrences. Using this assumption, successor features ψπ(s,a) are derived from the action-value function for a given policy π, Qπ(s,a), which we can write as the expected sum of discounted rewards starting from timestep t.”, therefore, the task vector may be represented as a linear combination of source task vectors (a linear combination of features comprising a row vector of features and corresponding weights for a variety of tasks)).
Regarding Claim 19, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the lower bound is determined based on an approximation and an approximation error of the optimal value-function, wherein the approximation error is based on the source task vectors (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Algorithm 1 uses Theorem 1 to decide if the current policy cache is sufficient, given a performance threshold. If the gap between the upper and lower bounds is small enough for a given state, then we know that the value of the best policy in the cache must be within some small factor of the value for the optimal policy.” & Pg. 8, Section 8. Discussion and Future Work, “We have demonstrated empirically that our approach can be combined with function approximation. Although our bounds include approximation error, our experiments assume low approximation error and don’t include approximation error when deciding whether to grow the cache.”, therefore, the lower bound may be determined based on an approximation of, and an approximation error of, the optimal value-function (also shown by Theorem 1 & Algorithm 1)).
Regarding Claim 20, Nemecek in view of Zahavy teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the upper bound is determined based on one of multiple linear combinations of the source task vectors (Nemecek, Pg. 4, Section 5. Policy Cache Construction, “Once an additional policy has been added to the cache be yond those for the base tasks, any subsequent task may not be a unique conical combination of previous tasks for which policies are stored. Therefore, we use a linear program in Algorithm 2 to find the valid combination which minimizes the upper bound.”, therefore, an upper bound may be determined based on one of multiple linear combinations of the source task vectors to represent the task vector).
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIKA S MAHARAJ/Examiner, Art Unit 2123