Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 8, 9, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 13 disclose “high-load API.” but do not provide objective boundaries for the term “high-load.” As used, “high-load” is a relative term that lacks a clear baseline, threshold, metric, or measurement methodology, and the specification does not supply definitions, examples, or teachings that would permit a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine, with reasonable certainty, whether a given API qualifies as “high-load.” Accordingly, the scope of the limitation is ambiguous and the metes and bounds of the claims are not clear. See MPEP § 2173.05(b) (relative terminology).
In order to further examine on the merits of the claim, the examiner interpret "high-load API" as “API".
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected based on its dependency on a rejected parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 10,275,851, hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses
A method of adjusting a checkpoint, the method comprising (fig. 1-6):
monitoring calls of an application program interface (API) that are called when an accelerator device executes an application (col. 11, line 66-col. 12, line 3: server frontend 222 stores all API messages that are transmitted between the server frontend 222 and the GPU API 314, wherein the API messages are utilized in a subsequent “replay mode” to allow the client system 110 to recover checkpointed images; col. 15, lines 24-28: the server frontend 222 will record all API conversations (e.g., API messages) between the server frontend 222 and the GPU API 314 into the API conversation memory 342), and by the monitoring, checking an API execution logic and a current API execution cycle of the application with respect to the accelerator device (col. 15, lines 35-38: The checkpoint event monitor 344 communicates with the server backend GPU workers 228 to determine when a “critical point” is reached in the execution of a GPU processing task for the client system 310; col. 15, lines 50-63: if the client system 310 frequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “data copy” API messages would be considered “critical points” in the execution of the GPU processing tasks for the client system 310); and
determining a next checkpoint according to a checkpoint adjustment strategy that determines the next checkpoint (col. 2, lines 1-4, 50-57: a GPU checkpointing operation during execution of the first GPU processing task to generate a checkpoint image of a current state of the first GPU processing task … Embodiments of the invention provide multiple solutions for implementing GPU checkpointing services as part of a GPUaaS system which provides GPU processing services for high performance computing (HPC) applications such as Deep Learning analytics, etc., wherein the checkpointing solutions are designed to minimize or avoid any impact on GPU computing performance in a cloud environment; Note: The passages describe “selecting checkpoint timing to minimize impact”; col. 2, line 63-col. 3, line 8: checkpointing systems according to embodiments of the invention include: (i) a conversation-based checkpointing service …, (ii) a client-driven GPU checkpointing service …; and (iii) a multi-layer queue-based checkpointing system) based on the API execution logic (col. 11, line 66-col. 12, line 1: server frontend 222 stores all API messages that are transmitted between the server frontend 222 and the GPU API 314; col. 15, lines 24-28: the server frontend 222 will record all API conversations (e.g., API messages) between the server frontend 222 and the GPU API 314 into the API conversation memory 342; col. 15, lines 35-38: The checkpoint event monitor 344 communicates with the server backend GPU workers 228 to determine when a “critical point” is reached in the execution of a GPU processing task for the client system 310; col. 15, lines 50-63: if the client system 310 frequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “data copy” API messages would be considered “critical points” in the execution of the GPU processing tasks for the client system 310; Note: The passages monitors API calls/messages and identifies particular API events (data copy operations, etc.) and treats those as checkpoint-triggering conditions. That is an explicit teaching of using API execution behavior/logic to decide checkpoint events) and based on the current API execution cycle of the application (col. 11, lines 44-48: FIG. 3 further illustrates a run-time implementation of a GPU checkpointing service 340, which comprises an API conversation memory 342, a checkpoint event monitor 344, and a GPU memory checkpoint image generator 346; col. 15, lines 35-38, 64-67: The checkpoint event monitor 344 communicates with the server backend GPU workers 228 to determine when a “critical point” is reached in the execution of a GPU processing task for the client system 310 … if the client system 310 infrequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “critical points” of executed can be selected at a predetermined time interval; Note: The passages describe detection of critical points while the application/GPU task is actively executing (i.e., the current execution cycle) and uses that runtime information to initiate checkpointing. It also contemplates time-interval-based triggers as an alternative when API events are sparse),
wherein the checkpoint adjustment strategy corresponds to at least one API execution logic among plural API execution logics (col. 2, line 63-col. 3, line 8: checkpointing systems according to embodiments of the invention include: (i) a conversation-based checkpointing service …, (ii) a client-driven GPU checkpointing service …; and (iii) a multi-layer queue-based checkpointing system; col. 15, lines 56-60: the selection of “critical points” will depend on the policy of the GPU service platform, the GPU server node allocated to handle the GPU processing tasks of the client system 310, the workload of the client system 310, etc.; Note: The passages explicitly provide multiple possible checkpoint strategies (these are the plural API execution logics). It also teaches that the chosen strategy/trigger may vary depending on the API behavior (e.g., frequent data-copying clients) and platform policy).
Regarding claim 11 referring to claim 1, Zhao discloses An apparatus for adjusting a checkpoint, the apparatus comprising: one or more processors; memory storing instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors to cause the one or more processors to: … (FIG. 2; memory coupled to processing unit comprising one or more processors…).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zhao discloses
wherein the checkpoint adjustment strategy is determined (col. 2, lines 1-4, 50-57: a GPU checkpointing operation during execution of the first GPU processing task to generate a checkpoint image of a current state of the first GPU processing task … Embodiments of the invention provide multiple solutions for implementing GPU checkpointing services as part of a GPUaaS system which provides GPU processing services for high performance computing (HPC) applications such as Deep Learning analytics, etc., wherein the checkpointing solutions are designed to minimize or avoid any impact on GPU computing performance in a cloud environment; Note: The passages describe “selecting checkpoint timing to minimize impact”; col. 2, line 63-col. 3, line 8: checkpointing systems according to embodiments of the invention include: (i) a conversation-based checkpointing service …, (ii) a client-driven GPU checkpointing service …; and (iii) a multi-layer queue-based checkpointing system) on at least one API execution cycle (col. 11, lines 44-48: FIG. 3 further illustrates a run-time implementation of a GPU checkpointing service 340, which comprises an API conversation memory 342, a checkpoint event monitor 344, and a GPU memory checkpoint image generator 346; col. 15, lines 35-38, 64-67: The checkpoint event monitor 344 communicates with the server backend GPU workers 228 to determine when a “critical point” is reached in the execution of a GPU processing task for the client system 310 … if the client system 310 infrequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “critical points” of executed can be selected at a predetermined time interval; Note: The passages describe detection of critical points while the application/GPU task is actively executing (i.e., the current execution cycle) and uses that runtime information to initiate checkpointing. It also contemplates time-interval-based triggers as an alternative when API events are sparse) based on the API execution logic of the application (col. 11, line 66-col. 12, line 1: server frontend 222 stores all API messages that are transmitted between the server frontend 222 and the GPU API 314; col. 15, lines 24-28: the server frontend 222 will record all API conversations (e.g., API messages) between the server frontend 222 and the GPU API 314 into the API conversation memory 342; col. 15, lines 35-38: The checkpoint event monitor 344 communicates with the server backend GPU workers 228 to determine when a “critical point” is reached in the execution of a GPU processing task for the client system 310; col. 15, lines 50-63: if the client system 310 frequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “data copy” API messages would be considered “critical points” in the execution of the GPU processing tasks for the client system 310; Note: The passages monitors API calls/messages and identifies particular API events (data copy operations, etc.) and treats those as checkpoint-triggering conditions. That is an explicit teaching of using API execution behavior/logic to decide checkpoint events) executed by the accelerator device and an initial checkpoint interval (col. 15, lines 60-67: if the client system 310 frequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “data copy” API messages would be considered “critical points” in the execution of the GPU processing tasks for the client system 310. In another embodiment, if the client system 310 infrequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “critical points” of executed can be selected at a predetermined time interval; col. 16, line 67-col. 17, line 6: For each incoming request with the flag try_replay, the GPU server node 200 will attempt to match the incoming request with a previous request that is contained in the API conversation history. If there is a match, the GPU server node 200 will directly reply with the previous checkpointed GPU processing results; Note: initial checkpoint interval is inherently included in the predetermined intervals of past API conversation history).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Zhao discloses
wherein the at least one API execution cycle comprises a high-load API for copying data to or from the accelerator device (col. 15, lines 38-42: At a critical point of the execution (e.g., when copying GPU memory from the GPU server node 200 to the processor 316 (e.g., CPU) of the client system 310), the checkpoint event monitor 344 will send a control message …; col. 15, lines 60-67: if the client system 310 frequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “data copy” API messages would be considered “critical points” in the execution of the GPU processing tasks for the client system 310).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Zhao discloses
wherein the API execution logic of the application comprises an order of API calls when the accelerator device executes the application and a time required to execute each of the API calls (col. 13, lines 52-54: The server frontend 222 tags the GPU service request with a timestamp which indicates a time that the GPU service request was submitted to the GPU server node 200; col. 15, lines 24-28: After the communication session is established, the server frontend 222 will record all API conversations (e.g., API messages) between the server frontend 222 and the GPU API 314 into the API conversation memory 342; Note: The passages describe recording API conversation history with timestamps that refers to timing/order and the use of that history in replay).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Zhao discloses
wherein the high-load API comprises an API function for copying data into the accelerator device and an API function for copying data from the accelerator device (col. 15, lines 35-41: The checkpoint event monitor 344 communicates with the server backend GPU workers 228 to determine when a “critical point” is reached in the execution of a GPU processing task for the client system 310. At a critical point of the execution (e.g., when copying GPU memory from the GPU server node 200 to the processor 316 (e.g., CPU) of the client system 310), …; col. 15, lines 60-67: if the client system 310 frequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “data copy” API messages would be considered “critical points” in the execution of the GPU processing tasks for the client system 310).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses
wherein the accelerator device comprises a CUDA GPU, and wherein a checkpoint of the CUDA GPU is performed according to the next checkpoint (col. 6, lines 2-5: the GPU API 114 may comprise shim layers that are utilized to extend the functionality of an existing API (e.g., CUDA) to implement the functionalities of the GPU API 114; col. 15, lines 38-47: At a critical point of the execution (e.g., when copying GPU memory from the GPU server node 200 to the processor 316 (e.g., CPU) of the client system 310), the checkpoint event monitor 344 will send a control message to the GPU memory checkpoint image generator 346 commanding the GPU memory checkpoint image generator 346 to generate a checkpoint image of the current state of the GPU memory of the one or more GPU devices that are executing the GPU processing tasks for the client system 310).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 10,275,851, hereinafter Zhao) in view of El-Sayed et al, “Checkpoint/Restart in Practice: When ‘Simple is Better’” listed in IDS filed on September 27, 2023, hereinafter El-Sayed.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Zhao discloses
wherein the initial checkpoint interval is determined (col. 15, lines 60-67: if the client system 310 frequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “data copy” API messages would be considered “critical points” in the execution of the GPU processing tasks for the client system 310. In another embodiment, if the client system 310 infrequently copies data from the GPU server node 200, the “critical points” of executed can be selected at a predetermined time interval; col. 16, line 67-col. 17, line 6: For each incoming request with the flag try_replay, the GPU server node 200 will attempt to match the incoming request with a previous request that is contained in the API conversation history. If there is a match, the GPU server node 200 will directly reply with the previous checkpointed GPU processing results; col. 17, lines 55-62: the server frontend 222 receives the checkpoint request API message, and forwards the received message to the checkpointing request handler 442 of the GPU checkpointing service module 440. The checkpointing request handler 442 will communicate with the task queue service 224 and the task scheduler/dispatcher 226 so that the current checkpointing request is scheduled and added to a global request queue; Note: The passages describe(a) an initial/predetermined checkpoint interval used for scheduling, (b) pre-execution/queued scheduling of checkpoint tasks, and (c) making checkpointing decisions based on API execution behavior and/or time interval).
Zhao does not disclose wherein the … checkpoint interval is determined based on a mean time to failure (MTTF) and a checkpoint cost. El-Sayed discloses wherein the … checkpoint interval is determined based on a mean time to failure (MTTF) and a checkpoint cost (Sec. II; Eqn. 1: Young’s formula determines the checkpoint interval ΔYoung based on only two quantities, the system’s mean time to failure (MTTF) and the checkpoint cost C: ΔYoung = √(2·C·MTTF); Sec. III: El-Sayed further describes simple, practical MTTF estimation techniques (SMA/WMA/EMA) and shows robustness of Young’s formula to estimation error). Zhao and El-Sayed address the same technical problem of when to place checkpoints to balance checkpoint overhead and lost work after failures in long-running, failure-prone computations (GPU-accelerated tasks in Zhao; HPC jobs in El-Sayed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine Zhao’s initial (predetermined) checkpoint interval using Young’s method to compute an interval from the formula based on MTTF and checkpoint cost. The motivation would have been to identify methods for optimizing the checkpointing process that are easy to use in practice and at the same time achieve high quality solutions (El-Sayed abstract).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 10,275,851, hereinafter Zhao) in view of Chen et al. “Design of an adaptive GPU sharing and scheduling scheme in container-based cluster,” 2019, hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zhao does not disclose wherein, when the accelerator device is a graphics processing unit (GPU) and the application is a GPU application, the API function for copying data into the accelerator device is cuMemcpyHtoD, and the API function for copying data from the accelerator device is cuMemcpyDtoH. El-Sayed discloses wherein, when the accelerator device is a graphics processing unit (GPU) and the application is a GPU application, the API function for copying data into the accelerator device is cuMemcpyHtoD, and the API function for copying data from the accelerator device is cuMemcpyDtoH (Sec. 3.3: TensorFlow platform uses CUDA API to communicate and control NVIDIA GPU. Among these APIs, cuMemAlloc is used to allocate device memory and cuMemcpyDtoH, cuMemcpyHtoD are used to transfer data between CPU and GPU. To manage and schedule containers and handle the GPU memory over-commit problem, capturing these APIs is needed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao’s predetermined checkpoint interval by Chen’s implementing in the checkpoint module using APIs including cuMemcpyDtoH, cuMemcpyHtoD in the checkpoint module to transfer data between CPU and GPU. The motivation would have been to manage and schedule containers and handle the GPU memory over-commit problem (Chen Set 3.3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Zhao et al. (US 2020/0174840) discloses “These data feed operations are coordinated using an API call such as a CUDA host-to-device memory copy operation (e.g., cuMemcpyHtoD(devPtr, hostPtr, size, stream)) which is invoked at the client node” (paragraph [0069]).
Zhao et al. (US 2019/0324856) discloses “The checkpoint image scheduling control functions implement a bandwidth-aware scheduling protocol to schedule a device-to-host memory copy operation for transferring a copy of the compressed checkpoint image of the intermediate DL model from the GPU memory 254 to the system memory 216 over the bus-communication network 220 at an optimal time when bandwidth-usage of the communication link(s) between the selected GPU device and the CPU 212 is deemed to be relatively low (as per one or more predetermined criteria) and would minimize adverse impact on the DL training process” (paragraph [0045]).
Chung et al. (US 11,016861) discloses “An application may issue this API call manually or set a frequency of checkpointing using a provided “set_checkpointing_frequency” API call where a dedicated CPU thread checkpoints using the create_checkpoint API at selected time periods based on the set frequency” (col. 3, line 67-col. 4, line 5).
/SISLEY N KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196 02/14/2026