DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 30 January 2026. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application and claims 8-14 are withdrawn (non-elected).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 15-20 in the reply filed on 30 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vivo-3GPP (“Evaluation on AI/ML for CSI Feedback Enhancement”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #110; R1-2206032).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Vivo discloses a method for channel state information (CSI) prediction by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network { (see pg 1, section 1, 1st par.) }, the method comprising:
determining a channel state information (CSI) { (see pg. 1, section 1, 1st - 3rd agreement ), where the system provides CSI feedback (see pg. 7, section 2.1) };
inputting the determined CSI to at least one machine learning (ML) based CSI prediction model to obtain at least one predicted precoder { (see pg. 9, section 2.2.2; pp. 22-25, section 4.2.1; pp. 26-27, section 4.2.3; Figs. 2 &23a-b-c), where the system provides CSI prediction };
encoding the at least one predicted precoder into at least one bit stream using at least one ML based CSI encoding model or at least one non-ML based CSI encoding model { (see pg. 9, section 2.2.2; pp. 22-25, section 4.2.1; pp. 26-27, section 4.2.3; Figs. 2 &23a-b-c), where the system provides CSI prediction }; and
transmitting the at least one encoded bit stream to a network apparatus in the wireless network for the CSI prediction at the network apparatus { (see pg. 1, section 1, 1st - 3rd agreement ), where the system provides CSI feedback (see pg. 7, section 2.1) }.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Vivo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein inputting the determined CSI to at least one ML based CSI prediction model to obtain at least one predicted precoder comprises: determining at least one of a UE side precoder vector and a network apparatus side precoder vector based on the CSI; and inputting the UE side precoder vector and the network apparatus side precoder vector to the ML based CSI prediction model to obtain the at least one predicted precoder { (see pg. 9, section 2.2.2; pp. 22-25, section 4.2.1; pp. 26-27, section 4.2.3; Figs. 2 &23a-b-c), where the system provides CSI prediction }.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Vivo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein inputting the determined CSI to at least one ML based CSI prediction model to obtain at least one predicted precoder comprises: inputting the CSI to the ML based CSI prediction model to obtain a predicted CSI; and determining at least one of a UE side precoder vector and a network apparatus side precoder vector based on the predicted CSI { (see pg. 26, section 4.2.5; pg. 9, section 2.2.2; pp. 22-25, section 4.2.1; pp. 26-27, section 4.2.3; Figs. 2 &23a-b-c), where the system provides CSI prediction }.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Vivo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein inputting the determined CSI to at least one ML based CSI prediction model to obtain at least one predicted precoder comprises: determining at least one of a UE side precoder vector and a network apparatus side precoder vector based on the CSI; determining at least one candidate CSI to be reported for each channel rank indicator of a plurality of channel rank indicators based on the UE side precoder vector and the network apparatus side precoder vector; determining at least one predicted rank CSI based on the at least one candidate CSI to be reported for each channel rank indicator of the plurality of channel rank indicators using the at least one ML based CSI prediction model; and determining the at least one predicted precoder for each channel rank indicator of the plurality of channel rank indicators based on the at least one predicted CSI { (see pg. 26, section 4.2.5; pg. 9, section 2.2.2; pp. 22-25, section 4.2.1; pp. 26-27, section 4.2.3; Figs. 2 &23a-b-c) }.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Vivo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one non-ML based CSI encoding comprises at least one of quantization of the at least one predicted precoder, a New Radio (NR) precoding Type I codebook, and a NR precoding Type II codebook and compressive sensing { (see pg. 9, section 2.2.2; pp. 22-25, section 4.2.1; pp. 26-27, section 4.2.3; Figs. 2 &23a-b-c) }.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Vivo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one encoded bit stream is transmitted to the network apparatus using a specified CSI reporting air interface { (see pg. 9, section 2.2.2; pp. 22-25, section 4.2.1; pp. 26-27, section 4.2.3; Figs. 2 &23a-b-c) }.
Regarding claim 7, Vivo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: selecting an artificial intelligence model from a set of pre-trained encoders and decoders stored in a memory of the UE based on an AI model indicator received from the network apparatus for the ML based CSI encoding { (see pg. 9, section 2.2.2; pp. 22-25, section 4.2.1; pp. 26-27, section 4.2.3; Figs. 2 &23a-b-c) }.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu (US 2026/0088870 A1) discloses CSI reporting method and apparatus, device, and system.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
03 April 2026