Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen(US 2020/0228375) and Venkatesan (US 2019/0042507).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a link training method, comprising: performing, by a first device link training on at least one first link, wherein the first device(Figure 6, Host side 602) is connected to a second device(Figure 6, Device side 604) via an interconnect(Figure 6, 600), the first device comprises a first transmit end and a first receive end(Figure 6, 606, 608), the second device comprises a second transmit end and a second receive end(Figure 6, 610, 612), the interconnect comprises the at least one first link from the first transmit end to the second receive end and at least one second link from the second transmit end to the first receive end(Figure 6, interconnect 600); and when link training is not performed on the at least one second link, or before link training on the at least one second link succeeds, sending, by the first device, service data to the second device through at least one first link on which link training succeeds(Paragraphs 29-32. Start the downstream link training(first link). Given the downstream link is trained(the claimed first link), the TxEQ, RxEQ, Rtx, and Rrx set for the downstream link may be used as the initial settings for upstream link training(the claimed second link). Thus the first link is trained and used for data before the second link is trained), wherein the link training is performed on the at least one first link and the link training on the at least second link are independent with of each other(Paragraphs 29-32. Start the downstream link training(first link), It is clear the first link training of the first link is independent of second link training. Start the upstream link(the claimed second link) training towards the negotiated data rate. The process repeats as defined in phase 2 until successful upstream link is trained. The second link training is independent of the first link training).
Chen does not specifically disclose the interconnect is a cable. However, Venkatesan discloses link training via a cable(Paragraph 20). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen and Venkatesan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to link train via a cable. The motivation to do so would be for two external devices to train and communicate.
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 1, wherein: a link quantity of the at least one first link and a link quantity of the at least one second link are determined by the first device, or a link quantity of the at least one first link and a link quantity of the at least one second link are determined by the first device based on a request of the second device(Venkatesan: Paragraph 33, Main link 130 includes four independent lanes (e.g., lane 231, lane 232, lane 233 and lane 234). It should be appreciated that main link 130 can include any number of lanes (e.g., more or less than four lanes). Link training can be provided to each lane independently).
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 1, wherein: the cable further comprises an auxiliary link, and the performing, by a first device, link training on [[the]] at least one first link comprises: sending a first rate to the second device through the auxiliary link, wherein the first rate is a link training rate of the at least one first link; and performing clock locking, equalization calculation, and link check on the at least one first link at the first rate when a parameter of the first transmit end is set to a first training parameter value(Venkatesan: Paragraph 24, (Venkatesan: Paragraph 33, Main link 130 includes four independent lanes (e.g., lane 231, lane 232, lane 233 and lane 234). It should be appreciated that main link 130 can include any number of lanes (e.g., more or less than four lanes). Link training can be provided to each lane independently).
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 3, wherein the performing clock locking, equalization calculation, and link check on the at least one first link comprises: sending a first clock recovery sequence to the second receive end through the first transmit end; receiving a first clock locking result from the second device through the auxiliary link, wherein the first clock locking result is that the clock locking succeeds or the clock locking fails; sending a first equalization sequence to the second receive end through the first transmit end when the first clock locking result is that the clock locking succeeds, wherein the first equalization sequence is used by the second device to perform equalization calculation; and receiving a first equalization calculation result or a first link check result from the second device through the auxiliary link, wherein the first equalization calculation result is that the equalization calculation fails, and the first link check result is that the link check succeeds or the link check fails(Venkatesan: Paragraphs 29-30: During link training, registers are read by source 110 to adjust the voltage swing and equalization, respectively. The implementation of registers extends the range and step size of the voltage swing and the step size of the equalization. Sink written registers 128 indicate the direction of the link training during the clock recovery and channel equalization).
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 4, wherein: the first clock locking result comprises a clock locking result of each of the at least one first link, and when a first link on which clock locking fails exists in the at least one first link, the first clock locking result is that the clock locking fails; or when no first link on which clock locking fails exists in the at least one first link, the first clock locking result is that the clock locking succeed(Venkatesan: Paragraphs 29-30: During link training, registers are read by source 110 to adjust the voltage swing and equalization, respectively. The implementation of registers extends the range and step size of the voltage swing and the step size of the equalization. Sink written registers 128 indicate the direction of the link training during the clock recovery and channel equalization).
Regarding claim 6, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 5, wherein the parameter of the first transmit end comprises a voltage swing of each first link, and the link training method further comprises: determining whether a configuration of a voltage swing of the first link on which the clock locking fails in the at least one first link traverses all preset voltage swing values; in response to determining that the configuration of the voltage swing of the first link on which the clock locking fails in the at least one first link does not traverse all the preset voltage swing values, updating the configuration of the voltage swing of the first link on which the clock locking fails from a first value to a second value, wherein all the preset voltage swing values comprise the first value and the second value, and the second value is a value that has not been configured for the voltage swing of the first link on which the clock locking fails; and sending, to the second device through the auxiliary link, information indicating that configuration update of the voltage swing of the first link on which the clock locking fails is completed, wherein the first training parameter value comprises a voltage swing training value, and the first value is the voltage swing training value when the configuration of the voltage swing of the first link on which the clock locking fails is updated for the first time(Chen: Paragraph 42, a block 716, the PHY (Physical Layer) for the link goes into a negotiated data-rate mode with Tx and Rx equalization enabled. In a block 718 the Tx sweeps Rtx over a portion of the min-max design range for Rtx starting from the maximum value. For each Rtx step (in value), the channel is equalized for maximum eye opening at the receiver. As depicted in a block 722, when the received eye meets the performance metrics of the receiver, the Rtx calibration is completed. Generally, the performance metrics of the receiver will be one or more predefined metrics, such as specified in a standard for the link (e.g., PCIe 4.x, PCIe 5x, CXL 1.0, or any other communication link standard. In all or nearly all cases the Rtx value at which the received eye meets the performance metrics will be above the min Rtx value, thus the Tx sweep of the Rtx in block 718 will end up covering only a portion of the Rtx min-max design rang).
Regarding claim 7, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 4, wherein the first equalization calculation result comprises an equalization calculation result of each of the at least one first link, and when a first link on which equalization calculation fails exists in the at least one first link, the first equalization calculation result is that the equalization calculation fails(Venkatesan: Paragraphs 29-30: During link training, registers are read by source 110 to adjust the voltage swing and equalization, respectively. The implementation of registers extends the range and step size of the voltage swing and the step size of the equalization. Sink written registers 128 indicate the direction of the link training during the clock recovery and channel equalization).
Regarding claim 8, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 7, wherein the first equalization calculation result further comprises a clock loss-of-lock status of each of the at least one first link, and the link training method further comprises: determining whether a first link on which a clock loss-of-lock occurs exists in the at least one first link; and in response to determining that the first link on which the clock loss-of-lock occurs exists in the at least one first link, sending the first rate to the second device through the auxiliary link, and sending the first clock recovery sequence to the second receive end through the first transmit end(Chen: Paragraph 42, a block 716, the PHY (Physical Layer) for the link goes into a negotiated data-rate mode with Tx and Rx equalization enabled. In a block 718 the Tx sweeps Rtx over a portion of the min-max design range for Rtx starting from the maximum value. For each Rtx step (in value), the channel is equalized for maximum eye opening at the receiver. As depicted in a block 722, when the received eye meets the performance metrics of the receiver, the Rtx calibration is completed. Generally, the performance metrics of the receiver will be one or more predefined metrics, such as specified in a standard for the link (e.g., PCIe 4.x, PCIe 5x, CXL 1.0, or any other communication link standard. In all or nearly all cases the Rtx value at which the received eye meets the performance metrics will be above the min Rtx value, thus the Tx sweep of the Rtx in block 718 will end up covering only a portion of the Rtx min-max design rang).
Regarding claim 9, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 8, wherein the parameter of the first transmit end comprises a transmit-end feedforward equalization parameter of each first link, and if no first link on which a clock loss-of-lock occurs exists in the at least one first link, and the link training method further comprises: determining whether a configuration of a transmit-end feedforward equalization parameter of the first link on which the equalization calculation fails in the at least one first link traverses all preset transmit-end feedforward equalization values; in response to determining that the configuration of the transmit-end feedforward equalization parameter of the first link on which the equalization calculation fails in the at least one first link does not traverse all the preset transmit-end feedforward equalization values, updating the configuration of the transmit-end feedforward equalization parameter of the first link on which the equalization calculation fails from a third value to a fourth value, wherein all the preset transmit-end feedforward equalization values comprise the third value and the fourth value, and the fourth value is a value that has not been configured for the transmit-end feedforward equalization parameter of the first link on which the equalization calculation fails; and sending, to the second device through the auxiliary link, information indicating that configuration update of the transmit-end feedforward equalization parameter of the first link on which the equalization calculation fails is completed, wherein the first training parameter value comprises a transmit-end feedforward equalization training value, and the third value is the transmit-end feedforward equalization training value when the configuration of the transmit-end feedforward equalization parameter of the first link on which the equalization calculation fails is updated for the first time(Chen: Paragraph 42, a block 716, the PHY (Physical Layer) for the link goes into a negotiated data-rate mode with Tx and Rx equalization enabled. In a block 718 the Tx sweeps Rtx over a portion of the min-max design range for Rtx starting from the maximum value. For each Rtx step (in value), the channel is equalized for maximum eye opening at the receiver. As depicted in a block 722, when the received eye meets the performance metrics of the receiver, the Rtx calibration is completed. Generally, the performance metrics of the receiver will be one or more predefined metrics, such as specified in a standard for the link (e.g., PCIe 4.x, PCIe 5x, CXL 1.0, or any other communication link standard. In all or nearly all cases the Rtx value at which the received eye meets the performance metrics will be above the min Rtx value, thus the Tx sweep of the Rtx in block 718 will end up covering only a portion of the Rtx min-max design rang).
Regarding claim 10, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 4, wherein the first link check result comprises a link check result of each of the at least one first link, and when a first link on which link check fails exists in the at least one first link, the first link check result is that the link check fails; or when no first link on which link check fails exists in the at least one first link, the first link check result is that the link check succeeds, and the link training on the at least one first link succeeds(Venkatesan: Paragraphs 29-30: During link training, registers are read by source 110 to adjust the voltage swing and equalization, respectively. The implementation of registers extends the range and step size of the voltage swing and the step size of the equalization. Sink written registers 128 indicate the direction of the link training during the clock recovery and channel equalization).
Regarding claim 11, Chen and Venkatesan disclose link training method according to claim 4, wherein the cable stores cable information of the cable, the first device stores device information of the first device, the second device stores device information of the second device, and the link training method further comprises: obtaining the device information of the first device, obtaining the cable information of the cable from the cable, and obtaining the device information of the second device from the second device through the auxiliary link; determining the first rate based on the device information of the first device, the cable information of the cable, and the device information of the second device; and determining the first training parameter value based on the first rate(Chen: Paragraph 42, a block 716, the PHY (Physical Layer) for the link goes into a negotiated data-rate mode with Tx and Rx equalization enabled. In a block 718 the Tx sweeps Rtx over a portion of the min-max design range for Rtx starting from the maximum value. For each Rtx step (in value), the channel is equalized for maximum eye opening at the receiver. As depicted in a block 722, when the received eye meets the performance metrics of the receiver, the Rtx calibration is completed. Generally, the performance metrics of the receiver will be one or more predefined metrics, such as specified in a standard for the link (e.g., PCIe 4.x, PCIe 5x, CXL 1.0, or any other communication link standard. In all or nearly all cases the Rtx value at which the received eye meets the performance metrics will be above the min Rtx value, thus the Tx sweep of the Rtx in block 718 will end up covering only a portion of the Rtx min-max design rang).
Regarding claim 12, Chen and Venkatesan disclose method according to claim 11, wherein the link training method further comprises: storing at least one of the following information: the first rate, the cable information of the cable, the device information of the second device, a forward/reverse insertion status of the cable, or a configured value of the parameter of the first transmit end that is determined after the link training on the at least one first link succeeds((Venkatesan: Paragraph 34: a method 300 for adapting link training based on source capability information according to one embodiment. At step 310, equalization is initiated. In one embodiment, link training includes the process of clock recovery and channel equalization).
Claims 13-20 recite similar limitations as claims 1-12 and thus taught by Chen and Venkatesan, as explained above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen does not show sending service data and that service data is includes application-level payload for user consumption, such as video or audio data and points to paragraph 403 of Applicant’s specification. However, the specification does not clearly define service data nor is it claimed that “service data is includes application-level payload for user consumption, such as video or audio data.” Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of service data, the trained parameter settings is considered to be service data. If Applicant amends the claims to make clear that service data service data is application-level payload for user consumption, such as video or audio data, such an amendment would overcome the prior art of record.
Chen in Paragraphs 29-32 teaches start the downstream link training(first link). Start the upstream link training towards the negotiated data rate, while keeping the downstream link at the negotiated data rate after training and using it as a feedback channel). Thus it is clear the first link is trained and used for data before the second link is trained). Thus, Chen teaches the service data.
Applicant further argues since Chen describes that the parameters obtained from downstream link training are used as initial settings for upstream link training. In other words, the upstream link training in Chen is initiated only after the downstream link training has been completed, and it directly depends on the results of the downstream training. This is materially different from Claim 1, which recites that “the link training performed on the at least one first link and the link training performed on the at least one second link are independent of each other.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen teaches in Paragraphs 29-32, start the downstream link training(first link), It is clear the first link training of the first link is independent of second link training. Start the upstream link(the claimed second link) training towards the negotiated data rate. The process repeats as defined in phase 2 until successful upstream link is trained. The second link training is independent of the first link training. Furthermore, Paragraph 29 teaches presets will be used upon entering the next phase. Although Chen states that settings for the downstream link may be used as the initial settings for upstream link training, it does not mean that it has to. It can use other presets. Also, it is noted the first link training and second link training occur at different times and is considered to be independent trainings.
Applicant further argues that Venkatesan does not remedy the identified deficiencies. However, Venkatesan is not relied upon for Applicant’s arguments above and thus moot.
Thus, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
/NIMESH G PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2187