DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSes filed 9/27/23, 10/16/24 and 1/26/26 have all been considered and placed of record. The three (3) initialed copies are attached herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HA et al. (US 2020/0266499) in view of Korean document KR20140108384A (see machine translation).
Re claim 1, HA discloses an electronic device 101 (fig 3) comprising: a first battery 321; a second battery 322 connected in parallel with the first battery, wherein the first battery and the second battery are branched at a first node (where 331 splits); a charger 210 configured to charge the first battery and the second battery using power input from an external device; a voltage detection circuit 332/333 configured to detect a voltage of the first battery and a voltage of the second battery while the first battery and the second battery are being charged; and a balancing circuit 341/342 disposed between the first node and the first battery and configured to control a connection between the first node and the first battery in a pulse width modulation (PWM) method based on detecting a difference between the voltage of the first battery and the voltage of the second battery (para 71 and 72). See figures 1-3; para 60-84. [note: Bolded text is not disclosed in HA].
HA does not disclose using PWM method to control the connection. The Korean document teaches cell balancing using PWM method (refers to fig 1 and corresponding paragraph). It would have been obvious to have incorporated the PWM method as taught by the Korean document into the device of HA in order to ensure the output currents of the batteries are same with other batteries’ currents.
Re claim 12, both references do not disclose the first battery and the second battery are housed separately and are connected to each other via a hinge. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have housed the batteries separately via a hinge module since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 13, both references do not disclose the second battery connected to the charger by a FPCB. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized a FPCB since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claim 14, the method steps performed the functions of the limitations of claim 1 are rejected above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Art of record does not disclose or made obvious the electrical components connected as claimed.
Conclusion
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087