DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 01/08/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 recites “the input of the first driver” it appears this should be change to “the input of the second driver”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Sinow US 2022/0255432.
Regarding Claim 1, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) An apparatus (100) comprising: a controller (110) including: a first modulator (producing PWM) having an input and an output, the first modulator configurable to provide a first modulated signal (PWM) at its output responsive to a state of its input (based on Vo and Vref); a detector (614, 622 and 644) having a current sense terminal (Cs) and a detector output (from 614); and a second modulator (612) having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input coupled to the output of the first modulator (receiving PWM signal), the second input coupled to the detector output (receiving zerodet), and the second modulator is configurable to set an interval (t1 to t2 or t3) responsive to a state change of the detector output (see fig. 7), and provide the second modulated signal by delaying the first modulated signal by the interval (see fig. 7 with gate signal, par. 75). (For example: Par. 64-85)
Regarding Claim 2, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) wherein the detector is configurable to compare a current in a power converter (with 614) represented by a first signal at the current sense terminal with a second signal representing a reference current (inputs to 614), and set the state of the detector output responsive to a result of the comparison. (For example: Par. 64-85)
Regarding Claims 3 and 23, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) wherein the reference current (Vzcd) is zero current (par 113).
Regarding Claim 4, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) wherein the detector (614, 622 and 644) has a voltage sense terminal (fig. 7, ZCD), and the detector is configurable to set the reference current responsive (sent to 614) to a voltage at the voltage sense terminal (with 1080). (For example: Par. 64-85)
Regarding Claim 5, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) wherein the detector (614, 622 and 644) is configurable to set the detector output (frpm 614) from a first state to a second state (current state to next state) responsive to the current being equal to the reference current (when reaching the Vzcd), and the second modulator (612) is configurable to set the interval responsive (time to t2 or t3, fig. 7) to the detector output changing from the first state to the second state. (For example: Par. 64-85)
Regarding Claim 6, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) wherein the detector (614, 622 and 644) has a voltage sense terminal (zcd), and the detector is configurable to set the detector output (from 416) from the first state to the second state responsive to a voltage (Fig. 7 voltage at zcd terminal which generates the reference signal sent to 416) at the voltage sense terminal). (For example: Par. 64-85)
Regarding Claim 17 and 21, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) A controller (110) comprising: a first modulator having (producing the PWM signal with Vo and Vref) a first modulator input to receive a power converter output voltage (Vo), (ii) a second modulator input to receive a reference voltage (Vref), and (iii) a first modulator output (outputting PWM signal), the first modulator configurable to provide a first pulse width modulation (PWM) signal at the first modulator output (par. 44); a current comparator (at 614) having (i) a current comparator input to receive a power converter switching terminal current (at Cs), and (ii) a current comparator output; and a second modulator (614) having (i) a third modulator input coupled to the current comparator output (see fig. 6), (ii) a fourth modulator input coupled to the first modulator output (pwm at 612), and (iii) a second modulator output (612 output), the second modulator configurable to set an interval responsive to a state of the current comparator output and provide a second PWM signal (output of 612) at the second modulator output by delaying the first PWM signal by the interval (par. 75). (For example: Par. 64-85)
Claim(s) 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinow in view of Mondal US 2022/0069712.
Regarding Claim 7, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) the apparatus.
Sinow does not teach wherein the voltage at the voltage sense terminal represents a voltage across a transistor of a half-bridge circuit of the power converter, and the detector is configurable to set the detector output from the first state to the second state responsive to the voltage at the voltage sense terminal being equal to zero.
Mondal teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the voltage at the voltage sense terminal represents a voltage across a transistor (with zcd 222 or rcd 224) of a half-bridge circuit of the power converter (100), and the detector is configurable to set the detector output from the first state to the second state responsive to the voltage at the voltage sense terminal being equal to zero (determining the zcd or rcd condition). (For example: Par. 34-37)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Sinow to include wherein the voltage at the voltage sense terminal represents a voltage across a transistor of a half-bridge circuit of the power converter, and the detector is configurable to set the detector output from the first state to the second state responsive to the voltage at the voltage sense terminal being equal to zero, as taught by Mondal to reduce efficiency losses in the system.
Regarding Claim 9, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) the apparatus.
Sinow does not teach wherein the half-bridge circuit is a first half-bridge circuit, and the apparatus further comprising: a first driver circuit having an input, a first output, and a second output, the input of the first driver circuit coupled to the output of the first modulator; a second driver circuit having an input, a first output, and a second output, the input of the first driver circuit coupled to the output of the second modulator; the first half-bridge circuit having control inputs coupled to the first and second outputs of the first driver circuit; and a second half-bridge circuit having control inputs coupled to the first and second outputs of the second driver circuit.
Mondal teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the half-bridge circuit (at 100) is a first half-bridge circuit (104-106), and the apparatus further comprising: a first driver circuit having an input, a first output, and a second output (at 212), the input of the first driver circuit coupled to the output of the first modulator (at 210, providing signal 213); a second driver circuit (at 214) having an input, a first output, and a second output, the input of the second driver circuit coupled to the output of the second modulator (at 210 producing 215); the first half-bridge circuit having control inputs coupled to the first and second outputs of the first driver circuit (gates of 104-106); and a second half-bridge (108-110) circuit having control inputs coupled to the first and second outputs of the second driver circuit (gates of 108-110). (For example: Par. 29-35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Sinow to include wherein the half-bridge circuit is a first half-bridge circuit, and the apparatus further comprising: a first driver circuit having an input, a first output, and a second output, the input of the first driver circuit coupled to the output of the first modulator; a second driver circuit having an input, a first output, and a second output, the input of the first driver circuit coupled to the output of the second modulator; the first half-bridge circuit having control inputs coupled to the first and second outputs of the first driver circuit; and a second half-bridge circuit having control inputs coupled to the first and second outputs of the second driver circuit, as taught by Mondal to reduce efficiency losses in the system.
Regarding Claim 10, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) the apparatus.
Sinow does not teach wherein the first half-bridge circuit is coupled to a first power terminal, the second half-bridge circuit is coupled to a second power terminal, the first half-bridge circuit has a first switching terminal, the second half-bridge circuit has a second switching terminal, and the apparatus further comprises an inductor coupled between the first and second switching terminals.
Mondal teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the first half-bridge circuit (104-106) is coupled to a first power terminal (Vin), the second half-bridge circuit (108-110) is coupled to a second power terminal (Vubs), the first half-bridge circuit has a first switching terminal (sw1), the second half-bridge circuit has a second switching terminal (sw2), and the apparatus further comprises an inductor (L) coupled between the first and second switching terminals. (For example: Par. 34-37)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Sinow to include wherein the first half-bridge circuit is coupled to a first power terminal, the second half-bridge circuit is coupled to a second power terminal, the first half-bridge circuit has a first switching terminal, the second half-bridge circuit has a second switching terminal, and the apparatus further comprises an inductor coupled between the first and second switching terminals, as taught by Mondal to reduce efficiency losses in the system.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinow and Mondal and further in view of Liu US 2022/0140726.
Regarding Claim 15, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) the apparatus.
Sinow does not teach wherein the first driver circuit is configurable to provide first and second control signals at its first and second outputs responsive to the first modulated signal and by inserting dead-times when both the first and second control signals are in a de-asserted state; and wherein the second driver circuit is configurable to provide third and fourth control signals at its first and second outputs responsive to the second modulated signal and by inserting dead- times when both the third and fourth control signals are in a de-asserted state.
Liu teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the first driver circuit (top 205) is configurable to provide first and second control signals (G1) at its first and second outputs responsive to the first modulated signal (from 203) and by inserting dead-times when both the first and second control signals are in a de-asserted state (see fig. 4 during td1-td2); and wherein the second driver circuit (bottom 205) is configurable to provide third and fourth control signals (G2) at its first and second outputs responsive to the second modulated signal (from 203) and by inserting dead- times when both the third and fourth control signals are in a de-asserted state (see fig. 4 during td1-td2). (For example: Par. 57-60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Sinow to include wherein the first driver circuit is configurable to provide first and second control signals at its first and second outputs responsive to the first modulated signal and by inserting dead-times when both the first and second control signals are in a de-asserted state; and wherein the second driver circuit is configurable to provide third and fourth control signals at its first and second outputs responsive to the second modulated signal and by inserting dead- times when both the third and fourth control signals are in a de-asserted state, as taught by Liu to reduce cross-conduction risk between the switches.
Claim(s) 18-19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinow in view of Lipcsei US 2004/0114398.
Regarding Claims 18-19 and 22, Sinow teaches (Figures 1-9) the controller which set an interval (par. 75).
Sinow does not teach a voltage comparator having (i) a voltage comparator input to receive a feedback voltage from the power converter, and (ii) a voltage comparator output that is coupled to the third modulator input of the second modulator, and the second modulator is configurable to set the interval responsive to a state change of the voltage comparator output; further comprising: a logical AND gate having (i) a first AND input coupled to the current comparator output, (ii) a second AND input coupled to the voltage comparator output, and (iii) an AND output coupled to the third modulator input.
Lipcsei teaches (Figures 1-2) a voltage comparator (cmp3) having (i) a voltage comparator input to receive a feedback voltage (vfb) from the power converter, and (ii) a voltage comparator output that is coupled to the third modulator input of the second modulator (at 242), and the second modulator is configurable to set the interval (on or off times) responsive to a state change of the voltage comparator output (from cmp3); further comprising: a logical AND gate (G2) having (i) a first AND input coupled to the current comparator output (CMP4), (ii) a second AND input coupled to the voltage comparator output (CMP3), and (iii) an AND output coupled to the third modulator input (at 242). (For Example: par. 35-44)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Sinow to include a voltage comparator having (i) a voltage comparator input to receive a feedback voltage from the power converter, and (ii) a voltage comparator output that is coupled to the third modulator input of the second modulator, and the second modulator is configurable to set the interval responsive to a state change of the voltage comparator output; further comprising: a logical AND gate having (i) a first AND input coupled to the current comparator output, (ii) a second AND input coupled to the voltage comparator output, and (iii) an AND output coupled to the third modulator input, as taught by Lipcsei in order to provide protection for unwanted conditions.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinow in view of Liu US 2023/0336074 (herein Liu3).
Regarding Claim 20, Sinow teaches (Figure 1-9) the apparatus.
Sinow does not teach further comprising: a first delay and driver circuit having (i) a first driver input coupled to the first modulator output, (ii) a first driver output to provide a third PWM signal, and (iii) a second driver output to provide a fourth PWM signal; Anda second delay and driver circuit having (i) a second driver input coupled to the second modulator output, (ii) a third driver output to provide a fifth PWM signal, and (iii) a fourth driver output to provide a sixth PWM signal.
Liu3 teaches (Figures 1-5) further comprising: a first delay and driver circuit (80, 95 and 85) having (i) a first driver input coupled to the first modulator output (at PA ), (ii) a first driver output to provide a third PWM signal (S3), and (iii) a second driver output to provide a fourth PWM signal (S1); and a second delay and driver circuit (81, 96 and 86) having (i) a second driver input coupled to the second modulator output (at PB), (ii) a third driver output to provide a fifth PWM signal (S4), and (iii) a fourth driver output to provide a sixth PWM signal (S3). (For example: Par. 42-48)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Sinow to include further comprising: a first delay and driver circuit having (i) a first driver input coupled to the first modulator output, (ii) a first driver output to provide a third PWM signal, and (iii) a second driver output to provide a fourth PWM signal; and a second delay and driver circuit having (i) a second driver input coupled to the second modulator output, (ii) a third driver output to provide a fifth PWM signal, and (iii) a fourth driver output to provide a sixth PWM signal, as taught by Liu3 to achieving power saving.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinow in view of Endo US 2007/0018617.
Regarding Claim 24, Mondal teaches (Figures 1-8) the method.
Sinow does not teach wherein the reference current during a current switching cycle is based at least in part on a value of the current provided at the switching terminal during a third time occurring at a prior switching cycle, wherein during the third time, a voltage across a first current terminal and a second current terminal of the first transistor is zero.
Endo teaches (Figures 3-5) wherein the reference current (sent to Re and Ce) during a current switching cycle (n operation) is based at least in part on a value of the current provided at the switching terminal during a third time (one time of the operation of switch sw2) occurring at a prior switching cycle (n-1 operation), wherein during the third time, a voltage across a first current terminal and a second current terminal of the first transistor is zero (the comparator 31 takes into account different values of the terminals of sw2 including zero and controls the sw3 switch to produce the current signal sent to the resistors). (For Example: par. 73-75, 82-83, 88 and 93-94)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Sinow to include wherein the reference current during a current switching cycle is based at least in part on a value of the current provided at the switching terminal during a third time occurring at a prior switching cycle, wherein during the third time, a voltage across a first current terminal and a second current terminal of the first transistor is zero, as taught by Endo in order to always actualize the zero-current switching and improve efficiency.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinow in view of Liu US 2022/0140726.
Regarding Claim 25, Sinow teaches (Figures 1-9) the method.
Sinow does not teach averaging a summation of a first inductor current and a second inductor current of the DC-DC converter; and providing the first modulated signal based at least in part on the averaging.
Liu teaches (Figures 2-4) averaging a summation of a first inductor current and a second inductor current of the DC-DC converter (with 2031); and providing the first modulated signal (Ta1) based at least in part on the averaging. (For Example: par. 46-57)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Sinow to include averaging a summation of a first inductor current and a second inductor current of the DC-DC converter; and providing the first modulated signal based at least in part on the averaging, as taught by Liu in order to avoid a constant and stable output voltage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11-12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
Claim 8; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…the voltage sense terminal is a first voltage sense terminal, the detector has a second voltage sense terminal, and the detector is configurable to set the detector output from the first state to the second state responsive to a second voltage at the second voltage sense terminal being equal to half of an input voltage or an output voltage of the power convert”.
Claim 11; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…wherein the first and second half-bridge circuits are coupled to a first power terminal, the first half-bridge circuit has a first switching terminal, the second half-bridge circuit has a second switching terminal, and the apparatus further comprises: a first inductor coupled between the first switching terminal and an intermediate terminal; a second inductor coupled between the second switching terminal and the intermediate terminal; and a third inductor coupled between the intermediate terminal and a second power terminal.”
These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838