DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 9/27/2023, and the interview held on 2/12/2026.
Claims 1-20 remain pending. Claims 10 & 12 have been examined and are rejected. Claims 1-9, 11, & 13-20 have been examined and are objected to.
Priority
This application claims priority to foreign application KR10-2022-0126237 filed 10/4/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/27/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9, 11, & 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (US 2024/0014947 A1) in view of Xu (CN 113346982 A).
With regard to Claim 10, Elshafie teaches:
An operation method of an electronic device that communicates with an external device through short-range wireless communication; (providing wireless communication between a user equipment (UE) and a network entity, wherein the various aspects may be implemented within systems employing Bluetooth [Elshafie: 0007; 0184]);
the method comprising:
receiving a data packet from the external device; (receiving a packet transmission from a network entity [Elshafie: 0007; 0074]);
determining whether a specific condition is satisfied in which a response signal is not transmitted, in response to the received data packet; and based on the specific condition being satisfied, keeping silent without sending the response signal to the external device; (determining whether to transmit an acknowledgement (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback transmission to the network entity in response to the transmission based on at least a predetermined condition configured by the network entity, wherein a bit may be used to indicate to the UE that no ACK/NACK feedback is to be sent in response to the received transmission [Elshafie: 0007; 0107]);
However, Elshafie does not teach:
wherein a low energy connected isochronous stream (CIS) is configured to perform the short range wireless communication.
In a similar field of endeavor involving delaying transmission of acknowledgement information, Xu discloses:
wherein a low energy connected isochronous stream (CIS) is configured to perform the short range wireless communication; (utilizing Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) audio to establish a CIS link based on Connected Isochronous Stream [Xu: p. 2 top], wherein the end device may reduce the confirmation interval of the CIS link to zero [Xu: Claim 5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie in view of Xu in order to utilize a low energy connected isochronous stream (CIS) to perform short range wireless communication in the system of Elshafie.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Elshafie with Xu as doing so would utilize a known technique for delaying acknowledgement responses with additional wireless communication protocols such as BLE providing a connected isochronous stream.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (US 2024/0014947 A1) in view of Xu (CN 113346982 A) as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Speight (US 2008/0045263 A1).
With regard to Claim 12, Elshafie-Xu teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein the specific condition includes a case where the received data packet is invalid, based on the specific condition being satisfied, the keeping silent without sending the response signal to the external device includes not sending a NACK signal being a negative response signal; (utilizing any suitable integrity checking mechanism, such as a checksum or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC), wherein if integrity of the transmission is not confirmed a NACK may typically be transmitted [Elshafie: 0074], wherein a bit may be used to indicate to the UE that no ACK/NACK feedback is to be sent in response to the received transmission [Elshafie: 0107]).
However, Elshafie-Xu does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
wherein the specific condition includes a case where the received data packet is invalid and there are no data to be transmitted to the external device.
In a similar field of endeavor involving delaying transmission of acknowledgement responses, Speight discloses:
wherein the specific condition includes a case where the received data packet is invalid and there are no data to be transmitted to the external device, based on the specific condition being satisfied, the keeping silent without sending the response signal to the external device includes not sending a NACK signal being a negative response signal; (a delayed ACK feature in which the receiver waits until data arrives so that the ACK can be piggy-backed onto the data that is to be sent to the transmitter, wherein the ACK is not transmitted if no data arrives and the delay timer has not expired [Speight: 0016-19; 0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie-Xu in view of Speight in order to keep silent without sending the response signal when there are no data to be transmitted to the external device in the system of Elshafie-Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Elshafie-Xu with Speight as doing so would allow acknowledgment responses to be transmitted under certain conditions without reducing communication efficiency by piggybacking the acknowledgment responses onto data in instances in which there is data to be transmitted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen (US 10,959,128 B2) which teaches a flush scheme for flushing packets in a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS).
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446