DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
In the reply, filed on December 12, 2023, Applicant cancelled claims 1-21.
Applicant added new claims 22-41.
Currently, claims 22-41 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 22, 28, 39, and 41 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 22, line 3, “the injector device the reservoir” should be changed to “the injector device, the reservoir”.
In regards to claim 28, line 3, “the injector” should be changed to “the injector device”.
In regards to claim 39, line 1, “wherein moving” should be changed to “wherein the moving”.
In regards to claim 41, lines 1-2, “a longitudinal proximal direction” should be changed to “the longitudinal proximal direction”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27, 29-31, and 35-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 27, line 1 recites “the movement portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regards to claim 29, lines 1-2 recite “a longitudinal proximal direction”. Claim 29 depends upon claim 28, which depends upon claim 22. Claim 22, line 11 recites “a longitudinal direction”. It is unclear whether the two recitations are the same or different. Claim 30 is rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 29.
In regards to claim 31, line 2 recites “a longitudinal proximal direction”. Claim 31 depends upon claim 28, which depends upon claim 22. Claim 22, line 11 recites “a longitudinal direction”. It is unclear whether the two recitations are the same or different.
In regards to claim 35, lines 1-2 recite “a longitudinal proximal direction”. Claim 35 depends upon claim 34, which depends upon claim 33. Claim 33, line 10 recites “a longitudinal direction”. It is unclear whether the two recitations are the same or different. Claim 36 is rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 35.
In regards to claim 36, lines 1-3, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 36, lines 1-2 recite the broad recitation “wherein one of the housing and the needle sleeve comprises the slot”, and claim 36, lines 2-3 also recite “the slot of the needle sleeve” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In regards to claim 36, line 2 recites: the slot engagement portion “of the needle unit”. Claim 36 depends upon claim 35, which depends upon claim 34, which depends upon claim 33. Claim 33, lines 1-8 recite: “An injection device comprising:”… a slot engagement portion. Thus, while the slot engagement portion is introduced as part of the injection device, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the slot engagement portion being part “of the needle unit”.
In regards to claim 37, line 1 recites “the needle sleeve”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regards to claim 37, line 2 recites “a longitudinal proximal direction”. Claim 37 depends upon claim 33. Claim 33, line 10 recites “a longitudinal direction”. It is unclear whether the two recitations are the same or different.
In regards to claim 38, lines 5 and 8 recite “the reservoir”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 39-41 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 38.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-25, 28, 32-34, and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 19, and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,801,345.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the application claims and the patent claims at least recite a needle unit, a needle, an inner part, a slot engagement portion, an outer part, an injector device, a housing, a cartridge, a reservoir, a slot, a method of using an injector device, moving the outer part of the needle unit relative to the housing (rotating the outer part of the needle unit relative to the housing), and moving the needle unit into engagement with the cartridge such that the needle is placed in fluid communication with the reservoir.
The table below shows application claims 22-25, 28, 32-34, and 38 corresponding to claims 1-4, 6, 19, and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,801,345:
Application claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,801,345 claims
22
1, 22
23
2
24
1
25
2-4
28
2, 6
32
19
33
1
34
2, 6
38
22
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-35 and 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 836,278.
In regards to claim 22, GB 836,278 teaches a needle unit (Figures 6-8) for an injector device, wherein the injector device comprises a housing and a cartridge mounted in the housing, wherein the cartridge has a reservoir for a medicament, wherein prior to use of the injector device the reservoir is sealed from a needle of the needle unit, the needle unit comprising:
the needle (20)
an inner part (labeled in Figure 6 below) to which the needle is mounted
a slot engagement portion (423) to engage with a slot and that is guided by the slot, wherein the slot is configured to restrict a movement of the needle unit relative to the slot
an outer part (421) disposed externally of the slot
wherein a rotation of the outer part relative to the slot is configured to move the slot engagement portion in a longitudinal direction to place the needle in fluid communication with the reservoir (Figures 6-7)(page 3, lines 56-63)
In regards to claim 23, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the slot comprises a movement portion that permits the needle to move towards the cartridge (Figures 6-8).
In regards to claim 24, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the slot comprises a locking portion, which when engaged with the slot engagement portion, is configured to lock a position of the needle (Figures 6-8).
In regards to claim 25, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the slot comprises a movement portion adjoining the locking portion, and wherein the locking portion is angled with respect to the movement portion (Figure 8).
In regards to claim 26, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the injector device has a longitudinal axis, and wherein the cartridge and the needle are aligned with the longitudinal axis such that the needle is axially spaced from the cartridge (Figure 6).
In regards to claim 27, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the movement portion of the slot extends along or parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figure 8).
In regards to claim 28, GB 836,278 teaches a needle sleeve (25) longitudinally slidable relative to the needle (page 3, lines 66-67) and relative to the housing (Figures 6-7) and configured to protrude from a distal end of the housing of the injector (Figures 6-7).
In regards to claim 29, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the needle sleeve is movable in a longitudinal proximal direction and permits the needle to extend from a distal region of the housing (Figures 6-7).
In regards to claim 30, GB 836,278 teaches wherein one of the housing and the needle sleeve comprises the slot, and wherein the slot engagement portion engages the slot (Figures 6-7).
In regards to claim 31, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the needle sleeve is configured to push the needle in a longitudinal proximal direction into an engagement with the cartridge (Figures 6-7).
In regards to claim 32, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the reservoir contains the medicament (page 3, lines 50-51)(page 3, line 92).
In regards to claim 33, GB 836,278 teaches an injector device (Figures 6-8) comprising:
a housing (411, 10)(page 3, lines 68-70)
a cartridge (1) mounted in the housing (Figures 6-7)( page 3, lines 68-70), the cartridge having a reservoir (1) filled with a medicament (page 3, lines 50-51)(page 3, line 92)
a needle unit comprising a needle (20), an inner part (labeled in Figure 6 above), and an outer part (421), wherein the needle is mounted to the inner part (Figures 6-7)
a slot (414) configured to restrict a movement of the needle relative to the slot (Figures 6-7)
a slot engagement portion (423) to engage with the slot and that is guided by the slot (Figures 6-7)
wherein a rotation of the outer part relative to the slot is configured to move the slot engagement portion in a longitudinal direction to place the needle in fluid communication with the reservoir (Figures 6-7)(page 3, lines 56-63)
In regards to claim 34, GB 836,278 teaches a needle sleeve (25) longitudinally slidable relative to the needle (page 3, lines 66-67) and relative to the housing (Figures 6-7) and configured to protrude from a distal end of the housing (Figures 6-7).
In regards to claim 35, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the needle sleeve is movable in a longitudinal proximal direction and permits the needle to extend from a distal region of the housing (Figures 6-7).
In regards to claim 37, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the needle sleeve is configured to push the needle in a longitudinal proximal direction into an engagement with the cartridge (Figures 6-7).
In regards to claim 38, GB 836,278 teaches a method of using an injector device (Figures 6-8), the injector device comprising a housing (411, 10)(page 3, lines 68-70), a cartridge (1) mounted in the housing (Figures 6-7)( page 3, lines 68-70), a needle unit (Figures 6-7) and a slot (414) configured to restrict a movement of the needle unit (Figures 6-7); wherein the needle unit comprises a needle (20), an inner part (labeled in Figure 6 above), and an outer part (421); wherein the needle is mounted to the inner part (Figures 6-7); and wherein prior to use of the injector device, the reservoir is sealed from the needle (Figure 6), the method comprising:
moving the outer part of the needle unit relative to the housing (Figures 6-7)(page 3, lines 56-63)
moving the needle unit into engagement with the cartridge such that the needle is placed in fluid communication with the reservoir (Figures 6-7)
In regards to claim 39, GB 836,278 teaches wherein moving the outer part includes rotating the outer part and moving the outer part relative to the slot in a longitudinal direction (Figures 6-7)(page 3, lines 56-63).
In regards to claim 40, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the injector device comprises a needle sleeve (25) longitudinally slidable relative to the needle (page 3, lines 66-67) and relative to the housing (Figures 6-7) and configured to protrude from a distal end of the housing (Figures 6-7), and wherein the needle sleeve is moved in a longitudinal proximal direction to permit the needle to extend from a distal region of the housing (Figures 6-7).
In regards to claim 41, GB 836,278 teaches wherein the needle sleeve is moved in a longitudinal proximal direction to push the needle into an engagement with the cartridge (Figures 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 836,278, as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Millerd (US 8,382,719).
In regards to claim 36, GB 836,278 teaches wherein one of the housing and the needle sleeve comprises the slot (Figures 6-8); however, GB 836,278 does not teach wherein the slot engagement portion of the needle unit engages the slot of the needle sleeve, as GB 836,278 instead teaches wherein the slot engagement portion (423) of the needle unit engages the slot (414) of the housing (411) (Figures 6-7). Millerd teaches an injector device (Figures 1A-5) wherein a slot engagement portion (26) of a needle unit (12/22) engages a slot (24) of a needle sleeve (18). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slot engagement portion of the needle unit, of the device of GB 836,278, to engage the slot of the needle sleeve, as taught by Millerd, as such will allow for protecting the needle after an injection (column 1, lines 44-47) in order to prevent accidental needle stick injuries to healthcare workers who are at risk of being stuck with a contaminated needle (column 1, lines 24-36).
Conclusion
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783