DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments, filed on 1/6/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim et al., (US 2022/0053443), (hereinafter, Kim) in view of Xue et al., (US 2019/0132816), (hereinafter, Xue) and further in view of Prakash et al,. (US 2021/0329584), (hereinafter, Prakash).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a network device, a positioning information request from a positioning server, wherein the positioning information request is used to request the network device to configure positioning reference signal configuration information for a terminal device (= For positioning, a positioning reference signal (PRS) may be used, see [0225-26]; and location server may send a positioning information request to measure a location of a UE, to a BS see [0342]); and
sending, by the network device, the positioning reference signal configuration information and neighboring cell information to the positioning server, wherein the positioning cell information comprises at least one of an identifier of one or more first neighboring cells and the first neighboring cell is a neighboring cell of the terminal device (= BS may transmit positioning information such as cell ID, an SFN for PRS transmission to the location server, see [0342]).
Kim explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“uplink positioning reference signal configuration information” and “a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to the one or more first neighboring cells” and “wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI-RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS”.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“uplink positioning reference signal configuration information” and “a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to the one or more first neighboring cells (= obtaining information about a candidate base station and send the information about a candidate base station to the positioning server, see [0184, 0118 and 0120-122]; whereby the information about the candidate/base station is being associated with the “measurement quantity”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
The combination of Kim and Xue explicitly fails to disclose the claim limitations of:
“wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI-RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS”.
However, Prakash, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI-RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS” (see, [0068, 0081 and 0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Prakash with Kim and Xue for the benefit of achieving a positioning system that performs positioning determination with low latency and high availability.
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the neighboring cell information is used to assist the positioning server in determining one of a measurement cell, a measurement access network device, or a measurement transmission reception point.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method, wherein the neighboring cell information is used to assist the positioning server in determining one of a measurement cell, a measurement access network device, or a measurement transmission reception point (see, [0118 and 0121-122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim explicitly fails to disclose that the method, further comprising: sending, by the network device, updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method further comprising: sending, by the network device, updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server (= more candidate base stations configured to position the terminal device are provided for the positioning server…so that the positioning server can determine a specific quantity of most appropriate base stations to position the terminal, see, [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakashfor the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 3, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the sending, by the network device, updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server comprises: when a first condition is met, sending, by the network device, the updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells changes, a change of a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells is greater than or equal to a second threshold, the neighboring cell of the terminal device changes, the uplink positioning reference signal configuration information of the terminal device changes, or a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells is less than a third threshold.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method wherein the sending, by the network device, updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server comprises: when a first condition is met, sending, by the network device, the updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells changes, a change of a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells is greater than or equal to a second threshold, the neighboring cell of the terminal device changes, the uplink positioning reference signal configuration information of the terminal device changes, or a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells is less than a third threshold.
(= more candidate base stations configured to position the terminal device are provided for the positioning server…so that the positioning server can determine a specific quantity of most appropriate base stations to position the terminal, see, [0119] and status information/larger receive power, see [0120-122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the positioning information request comprises first information, and the first information is used to request the network device to report the neighboring cell information of the terminal device.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method, wherein the positioning information request comprises first information, and the first information is used to request the network device to report the neighboring cell information of the terminal device (see, [0114-115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a communication method, comprising:
sending, by a positioning server, a positioning information request to a first network device, wherein the positioning information request is used to request the network device to configure positioning reference signal configuration information for a terminal device (= For positioning, a positioning reference signal (PRS) may be used, see [0225-26]; and location server may send a positioning information request to measure a location of a UE, to a BS see [0342]); and
receiving, by the positioning server, neighboring cell information from the first network device, wherein the neighboring cell information comprises at least one of an identifier of one or more first neighboring cells and the first neighboring cell is a neighboring cell of the terminal device (= BS may transmit positioning information such as cell ID, an SFN for PRS transmission to the location server, see [0342]).
Kim explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“configure uplink positioning reference signal configuration information”
“a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to the one or more first neighboring cells” and “ wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI-RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS”
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“configure uplink positioning reference signal configuration information”
“a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to the one or more first neighboring cells” (= obtaining information about a candidate base station and send the information about a candidate base station to the positioning server, see [0184, 0118 and 0120-122]; whereby the information about the candidate/base station is being associated with the “measurement quantity”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
The combination of Kim and Xue explicitly fails to disclose the claim limitations of:
“wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI-RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS
However, Prakash, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI-RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS (see, [0068, 0081 and 0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Prakash with Kim and Xue for the benefit of achieving a positioning system that performs positioning determination with low latency and high availability.
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 6, Kim explicitly fails to disclose that the method, further comprising: determining one of a measurement cell, a measurement access network device, or a measurement transmission reception point according to the neighboring cell information.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method, further comprising: determining one of a measurement cell, a measurement access network device, or a measurement transmission reception point according to the neighboring cell information (see, [0118 and 0121-122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 3, Kim explicitly fails to disclose that the method, further comprising: sending, by the positioning server, a measurement request to a network device that manages one or more second neighboring cells, wherein the measurement request is used to request the network device that manages the one or more second neighboring cells to receive an uplink reference signal of the terminal device, and the one or more second neighboring cells are some or all of the one or more first neighboring cells.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method further comprising: sending, by the positioning server, a measurement request to a network device that manages one or more second neighboring cells, wherein the measurement request is used to request the network device that manages the one or more second neighboring cells to receive an uplink reference signal of the terminal device, and the one or more second neighboring cells are some or all of the one or more first neighboring cells (= more candidate base stations configured to position the terminal device are provided for the positioning server…so that the positioning server can determine a specific quantity of most appropriate base stations to position the terminal, see, [0119] and status information/larger receive power, see [0120-122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 8, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein a measurement result of a measurement quantity of the one or more second neighboring cells is greater than or equal to a fourth threshold.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method wherein a measurement result of a measurement quantity of the one or more second neighboring cells is greater than or equal to a fourth threshold (= more candidate base stations configured to position the terminal device are provided for the positioning server…so that the positioning server can determine a specific quantity of most appropriate base stations to position the terminal, see, [0119] and status information/larger receive power, see [0120-122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 3, Kim explicitly fails to disclose that the method, further comprising: receiving, by the positioning server, updated neighboring cell information from the first network device; and sending, by the positioning server based on the updated neighboring cell information, a measurement request to an updated network device that manages the one or more second neighboring cells.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method wherein further comprising: receiving, by the positioning server, updated neighboring cell information from the first network device; and sending, by the positioning server based on the updated neighboring cell information, a measurement request to an updated network device that manages the one or more second neighboring cells
(= more candidate base stations configured to position the terminal device are provided for the positioning server…so that the positioning server can determine a specific quantity of most appropriate base stations to position the terminal, see, [0119] and status information/larger receive power, see [0120-122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 6, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the positioning information request comprises first information, and the first information is used to request the first network device to report the neighboring cell information of the terminal device.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method, wherein the positioning information request comprises first information, and the first information is used to request the first network device to report the neighboring cell information of the terminal device (see, [0114-115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses an apparatus, comprising: a transceiver; a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the processor, the program including instructions to:
receive a positioning information request from a positioning server, wherein the positioning information request is used to request a network device to configure positioning reference signal configuration information for a terminal device (= For positioning, a positioning reference signal (PRS) may be used, see [0225-26]; and location server may send a positioning information request to measure a location of a UE, to a BS see [0342]);
generate the positioning reference signal configuration information and neighboring cell information based on the positioning information request, wherein the positioning cell information comprises at least one of an identifier of one or more first neighboring cells and the first neighboring cell is a neighboring cell of the terminal device (= BS may transmit positioning information such as cell ID, an SFN for PRS transmission to the location server, see [0342]); and
send the positioning reference signal configuration information and the neighboring cell information(= BS may transmit positioning information such as cell ID, an SFN for PRS transmission to the location server, see [0342]).
Xiao explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“configure uplink positioning reference signal configuration information for a terminal device”; “generate the uplink positioning reference signal configuration information” “a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to the one or more first neighboring cells” and “send the uplink positioning reference signal configuration information” and “wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI- RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS”,
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
configure uplink positioning reference signal configuration information for a terminal device”; “generate the uplink positioning reference signal configuration information” “a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to the one or more first neighboring cells” and “send the uplink positioning reference signal configuration information” (= obtaining information about a candidate base station and send the information about a candidate base station to the positioning server, see [0184, 0118 and 0120-122]; whereby the information about the candidate/base station is being associated with the “measurement quantity”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
The combination of Kim and Xue explicitly fails to disclose the claim limitations of:
“wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI-RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS”.
However, Prakash, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of an SSB, RSRP of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), RSRQ of a CSI-RS, RSRP of a positioning reference signal (PRS), or RSRQ of a PRS (see, [0068, 0081 and 0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Prakash with Kim and Xue for the benefit of achieving a positioning system that performs positioning determination with low latency and high availability.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 12, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the neighboring cell information is used to assist the positioning server in determining one of a measurement cell, a measurement access network device, or a measurement transmission reception point.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the apparatus, wherein the neighboring cell information is used to assist the positioning server in determining one of a measurement cell, a measurement access network device, or a measurement transmission reception point (see, [0118 and 0121-122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 12, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the apparatus, the program including instructions to: send updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the apparatus, the program including instructions to: send updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server (= more candidate base stations configured to position the terminal device are provided for the positioning server…so that the positioning server can determine a specific quantity of most appropriate base stations to position the terminal, see, [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 14, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the apparatus, the program including instructions to: when a first condition is met, send the updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells changes, a change of a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells is greater than or equal to a second threshold, the neighboring cell of the terminal device changes, the uplink positioning reference signal configuration information of the terminal device changes, or a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells is less than a third threshold.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the apparatus the program including instructions to: when a first condition is met, send the updated neighboring cell information to the positioning server, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells changes, a change of a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells is greater than or equal to a second threshold, the neighboring cell of the terminal device changes, the uplink positioning reference signal configuration information of the terminal device changes, or a measurement result of a measurement quantity corresponding to at least one of the one or more first neighboring cells is less than a third threshold (= more candidate base stations configured to position the terminal device are provided for the positioning server…so that the positioning server can determine a specific quantity of most appropriate base stations to position the terminal, see, [0119] and status information/larger receive power, see [0120-122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned in claim 12, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the positioning information request comprises first information, and the first information is used to request the network device to report the neighboring cell information of the terminal device.
However, Xue which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the apparatus, wherein the positioning information request comprises first information, and the first information is used to request the network device to report the neighboring cell information of the terminal device (see, [0114-115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Xue with Kim and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system where positioning server may directly obtain information of candidate base station from a serving base station in time, thereby reducing a positioning time and improving positioning efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim further disclose the apparatus, wherein the identifier of the one or more first neighboring cells comprises at least one of a global cell identifier (CGI) or a physical cell identifier (PCI) (see, [0015]).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim further disclose the apparatus, , wherein the positioning information request is a positioning information request message of a new radio positioning protocol A (NRPPa) protocol (see, [0259-60]).
3. Claims 17 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim, Xue, Prakash and further in view of Kimura et al,. (US 2017/0303156), (hereinafter, Kimura).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned in claim 1, the combination of Kim, Xue and Prakash explicitly fails to disclose the method wherein the measurement result of the measurement quantity corresponding to the first neighboring cell is greater than or equal to a first threshold.
However, Kimura which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method wherein the measurement result of the measurement quantity corresponding to the first neighboring cell is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see, [0152-56]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Kimura with Kim, Xue and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system that provides a mechanism in which measurement reporting can be performed in consideration of interference cancellation.
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned in claim 6, the combination of Kim, Xue and Prakash explicitly fails to disclose the wherein a measurement result of the measurement quantity corresponding to the first neighboring cell is greater than or equal to a first threshold.
However, Kimura which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method wherein a measurement result of the measurement quantity corresponding to the first neighboring cell is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see, [0152-56]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Kimura with Kim, Xue and Prakash for the benefit of achieving a positioning system that provides a mechanism in which measurement reporting can be performed in consideration of interference cancellation.
CONCLUSION
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.