CTNF 18/476,045 CTNF 97195 DETAILED ACTION This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 05/12/2026. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application After Final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 05/12/2026 has been entered. Response to Amendment The Amendment filed on 05/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4-9 are pending Claims 1, 6 and 9 are amended Claims 2-3 are canceled Claims 1 and 4-9 remain rejected. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EDWARD MASAMI SUGIYAMA (US 20250142493 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sugiyama, in view of Chou et al. (US 20140044029 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chou, and further in view of EBISAWA et al. (JP 2019176389 A), hereinafter referenced as Ebisawa . Regarding claims 1 and 9, Sugiyama teaches a wireless terminal configured to communicate with an earth-moving cell served by a Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite (Para. [0081]-Sugiyama discloses apparatus and methods for controlling operation of a wireless terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN). Para. [0031]-Sugiyama discloses wireless cellular devices, including Cellular Internet of Things, CIoT, may communicate using Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN, satellites. Para. [0035]-Sugiyama discloses a non-terrestrial network, NTN, system utilizes Unmanned Aircraft System satellites that provides access to CIoT User Equipment (UE). Due to movement of satellites, the non-terrestrial network (NTN) may not be available for communication due to discontinuous or non-continuous coverage ... An LTE Mobility Management Entity, MME, or in New Radio, NR, an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, manages location and network coverage information. MME and AMF are among the components/nodes in core network. Figs. 4-5, Para. [0083]-Sugiyama discloses the core network node comprises processor circuitry and interface circuitry. The processor circuitry is configured to adjust a timer value for a power saving timer of a wireless terminal served by the core network, the timer value being based on non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage information for the wireless terminal. Fig. 9, Para. [0119]-Sugiyama discloses the wireless terminal 26 may communicate with one or both of terrestrial radio access network 22T and non-terrestrial radio network 22N. A network may inform a wireless terminal that it is a non-terrestrial network by an appropriate indicator in system information or the like, e.g., in an appropriate system information block, SIB, e.g., such as a Master System Information Block MIB or SIB1) , the wireless terminal comprising: transmitting circuitry configured to: compute a transition time for a core network node to release a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Para. [0105-0106]-Sugiyama discloses new timers, e.g., values for the new timers, may be calculated by the wireless terminal and/or network …, expiry of these new timers may correspond to NTN coverage and Gap Periods. [0106] The network, e.g., the core network, may release an RRC Connection so that device immediately transitions to PSM. (See also Para. [0134])) , the transition time is computed based on a discontinuous coverage of the earth-moving cell due to the Non-GEO satellite moving away from the wireless terminal (Para. [0035]-Sugiyama discloses non-terrestrial network, NTN, system utilizes Unmanned Aircraft System satellites that provides access to CIoT User Equipment (UE). Due to movement of satellites, the non-terrestrial network (NTN) may not be available for communication due to discontinuous or non-continuous coverage. Para. [0105-0106]-Sugiyama discloses new timers, e.g., values for the new timers, may be calculated by the wireless terminal and/or network …, expiry of these new timers may correspond to NTN coverage and Gap Periods ... The network, e.g., the core network, may release an RRC Connection so that device immediately transitions to PSM) ; transmit … time to the core network node (Para. [0132]-Sugiyama discloses wireless terminal sends one or more adjusted power saving timers to the network, e.g., to the core network) . Sugiyama fails to explicitly teach transmit the transition time to the core network node. However, Chou teaches transmit the transition time to the core network node (Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE transmits RRC release assistance information to the network. The assistance information is based on both cell count and RRC state transition count so that RRC inactivity time can be determined to reduce overall signaling overhead ... the assistance information comprises both the cell count and the RRC state transition count, so that eNB decides on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected to release the UE to IDLE based on both counts) . Sugiyama and Chou are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with UE preference indication and providing other assistance information to the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sugiyama to incorporate the teachings of Chou on transition time, with a motivation to transmit transition time to the core network, and guarantee managing, controlling, or limiting the power required or expended by a wireless terminal in view of the wireless terminal being in or out of non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage, (Sugiyama, Para. [0045]). Sugiyama fails to explicitly teach start a wait for release timer, and autonomously transition to a radio resource control idle (RRC IDLE) state after an expiration of the wait for release timer when the wireless terminal has not received a radio resource control release (RRCRelease) message. However, Ebisawa teaches start a wait for release timer (Para. [0027]-Ebisawa dicloses based on the measured time from the end of communication with the radio base station 30 to the reception of the RRC Connection Release, the communication terminal 100 sets a timeout value indicating the time from the end of communication with the radio base station 30 to the transition to the RRC Idle State) , and autonomously transition to a radio resource control idle (RRC IDLE) state after an expiration of the wait for release timer when the wireless terminal has not received a radio resource control release (RRCRelease) message (Para. [0029]-Ebisawa discloses assuming that the RRC Connection Release does not reach the communication terminal 100. Since the RRC Connection Release is not retransmitted in the 3 GPP specification, retransmission is not performed even if the RRC Connection Release does not reach the communication terminal 100. The communication terminal 100 transitions to the RRC Idle State in response to the elapsed time reaching the time indicated by the timeout value 102. When the communication terminal 100 fails to receive the RRC Connection Release by executing the processing shown in Figs. 2 and 3, the communication terminal 100 can prevent the communication terminal 100 from maintaining the RRC Connection State) . Ebisawa is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with communication terminals and RRC Connections. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sugiyama in view of Chou to incorporate the teachings of Ebisawa on RRC Connection, with a motivation to start a wait for release timer and transmit RRC IDLE state upon conditioned expiration, and guarantee managing, controlling, or limiting the power required or expended by a wireless terminal in view of the wireless terminal being in or out of non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage, (Sugiyama, Para. [0045]). Regarding claim 4, Sugiyama in view of Chou and Ebisawa teaches the wireless terminal of claim 1, Sugiyama fails to explicitly teach the transmission of the transition time comprises a User Equipment Assistance Information message. However, Chou teaches the transmission of the transition time comprises a User Equipment Assistance Information message (Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE transmits RRC release assistance information to the network. The assistance information is based on both cell count and RRC state transition count so that RRC inactivity time can be determined to reduce overall signaling overhead ... the assistance information comprises both the cell count and the RRC state transition count, so that eNB decides on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected to release the UE to IDLE based on both counts). Chou is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication networks, dealing with UE preference indication and providing other assistance information to the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sugiyama in view of Ebisawa to incorporate the teachings of Chou on User Equipment Assistance Information message, with a motivation to transmit a transition time, and guarantee managing, controlling, or limiting the power required or expended by a wireless terminal in view of the wireless terminal being in or out of non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage, (Sugiyama, Para. [0045]). Regarding claim 5, Sugiyama in view of Chou and Ebisawa teaches the wireless terminal of claim 1, Sugiyama further teaches the transmission of the transition time comprises Uplink Information Transfer and uplink non-access stratum (UL NAS) transport messages (Tables 1-2, Para. [0146]Sugiyama discloses example Information Element (IE) which may be used by the wireless terminal 26(10) for sending UE updated or adjusted timers, e.g., timer values, may be of the type shown in Error! Reference source not found. 1. In conjunction with Table 1, non-access stratum, NAS, signaling may be used with Uplink data transfer. The Uplink data encapsulated in an NAS message allows wireless terminal 26(10) to send at any time during connected mode without a request from network. The RRC message, ULInformationTransfer-NB, for which an example is shown in the listing of Table 2, may be used for transferring NAS information via an information element DedicatedInfoNAS, an example of which is shown in the listing of Table 3. The NAS ESM DATA TRANSPORT message is used for sending information to MME) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EDWARD MASAMI SUGIYAMA (US 20250142493 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sugiyama, in view of Chou et al. (US 20140044029 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chou . Regarding claim 6, Sugiyama teaches a core network node configured to communicate with [[a]]an earth-moving cell served by a Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite (Figs. 4-5, Para. [0083]-Sugiyama discloses the core network node comprises processor circuitry and interface circuitry. The processor circuitry is configured to adjust a timer value for a power saving timer of a wireless terminal served by the core network, the timer value being based on non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage information for the wireless terminal. Para. [0081]-Sugiyama discloses apparatus and methods for controlling operation of a wireless terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN). Para. [0031]-Sugiyama discloses wireless cellular devices, including Cellular Internet of Things, CIoT, may communicate using Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN, satellites. Para. [0035]-Sugiyama discloses a non-terrestrial network, NTN, system utilizes Unmanned Aircraft System satellites that provides access to CIoT User Equipment (UE). Due to movement of satellites, the non-terrestrial network (NTN) may not be available for communication due to discontinuous or non-continuous coverage ... An LTE Mobility Management Entity, MME, or in New Radio, NR, an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, manages location and network coverage information. MME and AMF are among the components/nodes in core network. Fig. 9, Para. [0119]-Sugiyama discloses the wireless terminal 26 may communicate with one or both of terrestrial radio access network 22T and non-terrestrial radio network 22N. A network may inform a wireless terminal that it is a non-terrestrial network by an appropriate indicator in system information or the like, e.g., in an appropriate system information block, SIB, e.g., such as a Master System Information Block MIB or SIB1.) , the core network node comprising: transition time for the core network node to release a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Para. [0105-0106]-Sugiyama discloses new timers, e.g., values for the new timers, may be calculated by the wireless terminal and/or network …, expiry of these new timers may correspond to NTN coverage and Gap Periods. [0106] The network, e.g., the core network, may release an RRC Connection so that device immediately transitions to PSM. (See also Para. [0134])) , the transition time is computed based on a discontinuous coverage of the earth-moving cell due to the Non-GEO satellite moving away from the wireless terminal (Para. [0035]-Sugiyama discloses non-terrestrial network, NTN, system utilizes Unmanned Aircraft System satellites that provides access to CIoT User Equipment (UE). Due to movement of satellites, the non-terrestrial network (NTN) may not be available for communication due to discontinuous or non-continuous coverage. Para. [0105-0106]-Sugiyama discloses new timers, e.g., values for the new timers, may be calculated by the wireless terminal and/or network …, expiry of these new timers may correspond to NTN coverage and Gap Periods ... The network, e.g., the core network, may release an RRC Connection so that device immediately transitions to PSM) . Sugiyama fails to explicitly teach receiving circuitry configured to: receive, from a wireless terminal, a transition time for the core network node to release a radio resource control (RRC) connection. However, Chou teaches receiving circuitry configured to: receive, from a wireless terminal, a transition time for the core network node to release a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE transmits RRC release assistance information to the network. The assistance information is based on both cell count and RRC state transition count so that RRC inactivity time can be determined to reduce overall signaling overhead ... the assistance information comprises both the cell count and the RRC state transition count, so that eNB decides on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected to release the UE to IDLE based on both counts) . Sugiyama and Chou are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with UE preference indication and providing other assistance information to the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sugiyama to incorporate the teachings of Chou on transition time, with a motivation to receive transition time at the core network, and guarantee managing, controlling, or limiting the power required or expended by a wireless terminal in view of the wireless terminal being in or out of non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage, (Sugiyama, Para. [0045]). Regarding claim 7, Sugiyama in view of Chou teaches the core network node of claim 6, Sugiyama fails to explicitly teach the transition time comprises a User Equipment Assistance Information message. However, Chou teaches the transition time comprises a User Equipment Assistance Information message (Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE transmits RRC release assistance information to the network. The assistance information is based on both cell count and RRC state transition count so that RRC inactivity time can be determined to reduce overall signaling overhead ... the assistance information comprises both the cell count and the RRC state transition count, so that eNB decides on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected to release the UE to IDLE based on both counts). Chou is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication networks, dealing with UE preference indication and providing other assistance information to the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sugiyama to incorporate the teachings of Chou on User Equipment Assistance Information message, with a motivation to transmit a transition time, and guarantee managing, controlling, or limiting the power required or expended by a wireless terminal in view of the wireless terminal being in or out of non-terrestrial network (NTN) coverage, (Sugiyama, Para. [0045]). Regarding claim 8, Sugiyama in view of Chou teaches the core network node of claim 6, Sugiyama further teaches the transition time comprises Uplink Information Transfer and uplink non-access stratum (UL NAS) transport messages (Tables 1-2, Para. [0146]Sugiyama discloses example Information Element (IE) which may be used by the wireless terminal 26(10) for sending UE updated or adjusted timers, e.g., timer values, may be of the type shown in Error! Reference source not found. 1. In conjunction with Table 1, non-access stratum, NAS, signaling may be used with Uplink data transfer. The Uplink data encapsulated in an NAS message allows wireless terminal 26(10) to send at any time during connected mode without a request from network. The RRC message, ULInformationTransfer-NB, for which an example is shown in the listing of Table 2, may be used for transferring NAS information via an information element DedicatedInfoNAS, an example of which is shown in the listing of Table 3. The NAS ESM DATA TRANSPORT message is used for sending information to MME) . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (EDWARD MASAMI SUGIYAMA (US 20250142493 A1)) being used in the current rejection. Conclusion Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure. Shah et al. (US 20240196444 A1) -discloses A user equipment (UE) includes a transceiver and circuitry. The circuitry detects, while in a procedure for transmitting first data in an inactive state, that second data are to be transmitted in a connected state, and determines whether or not there is a transmission opportunity to wait for. When it is determined that there is no transmission opportunity to wait for or the transmission opportunity to wait for is no longer expected to occur, the circuitry initiates a random access channel (RACH) procedure for entering a connected state. When, on the other hand, it is determined that there is the transmission opportunity to wait for and the transmission opportunity occurs, the circuitry controls the transceiver to transmit, using the transmission opportunity, a traffic indication indicating the detection of the second data…. …Fig. 1-5 Kawasaki et al. (US 20200154312 A1) -discloses first data transmission and/or reception method is a method for transmitting and/or receiving user data by use of a Data Radio Bearer (DRB), a second data transmission and/or reception method is a method for transmitting and/or receiving user data a Signalling Radio Bearer (SRB), and the communication control method includes a step of changing the user data transmission and/or reception method from the first data transmission and/or reception method into the second data transmission and/or reception method, and a step of transmitting and/or receiving the user data to/from a core network by the second data transmission and/or reception method…. …Fig. 1-5 Atsushi Ishii et al. (US 20220272589 A1) -discloses s wireless terminal comprises receiver circuitry and processor circuitry. The receiver circuitry is configured to receive a configuration message comprising one or more conditional handover configurations, each of the one or more conditional handover configurations comprising at least one identity of a candidate target cell, and at least one triggering condition. The processor circuitry is configured to establish, using a first key set, a first security context with a first wireless access node; to perform a conditional handover to a candidate target cell configured by one of the one or more conditional handover configurations, in a case that the at least one triggering condition associated with the candidate target cell is met; and to establish a second security context with a second wireless access node that serves the candidate target cell, based on whether or not a security configuration associated with the candidate target cell is configured by the configuration message.… …Fig. 1-5 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE whose telephone number is (571)272-5377. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday: 07:30am - 05:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s SPE, NICHOLAS A. JENSEN can be reached on (571) 270-5443. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/476,045 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472