DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 01/15/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/15/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 4-9 are pending
Claims 1 and 4-9 are amended
Claims 2-3 are canceled
Claims 1 and 4-9 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 20140044029 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chou, in view of Kim et al. (US 20250048474 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, and further in view of EBISAWA et al. (JP 2019176389 A), hereinafter referenced as Ebisawa.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Chou teaches a wireless terminal configured to communicate with a cell (Para. [0009]-Chou discloses a method and apparatus for UE to report preference indication and other UE assistance information to the network. Fig. 11, Para. [0024]-Chou discloses a method of UE reporting RRC inactivity time indication. Fig. 2, Para. [0029]-Chou discloses the UE has RF transceiver module 211, coupled with antenna 201 receives RF signals from antenna 201, converts them to baseband signals and sends them to processor 212. RF transceiver 211 also converts received baseband signals from the processor 212, converts them to RF signals, and sends out to antenna 201. Processor 212 processes the received baseband signals and invokes different functional modules to perform features in the UE. Memory 213 stores program instructions and data to control the operations of the UE)
compute a transition time for a core network node to release a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE makes evaluation based on both counts, and the assistance information comprises a one-bit overhead indication on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected or release the UE to IDLE),
the transition time is computed based on a discontinuous coverage of the cell (Fig. 1, Para. [0026]-Chou discloses UE uses discontinuous reception (DRX) in IDLE state to increase battery life. Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE makes evaluation based on both counts, and the assistance information comprises a one-bit overhead indication on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected or release the UE to IDLE);
transmit the transition time to the core network node (Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE transmits RRC release assistance information to the network. The assistance information is based on both cell count and RRC state transition count so that RRC inactivity time can be determined to reduce overall signaling overhead ... the assistance information comprises both the cell count and the RRC state transition count, so that eNB decides on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected to release the UE to IDLE based on both counts).
Chou fails to teach Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite.
However, Kim teaches wireless terminal configured to communicate with a cell served by a Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite, the wireless terminal (Fig. 1A, Para. [0064]-Kim discloses base station included in the RAN 104 may include one or more sets of antennas for communicating with the wireless device 106 over the air interface. For example, one or more of the base stations may include three sets of antennas to respectively control three cells (or sectors). The size of a cell may be determined by a range at which a receiver (e.g., a base station receiver) can successfully receive the transmissions from a transmitter (e.g., a wireless device transmitter) operating in the cell. Together, the cells of the base stations may provide radio coverage to the wireless device 106 over a wide geographic area to support wireless device mobility. Fig. 15, Para. [0236]-Kim discloses the one or more peripherals 1516 and the one or more peripherals 1526 may include software and/or hardware that provide features and/or functionalities, for example, ..., a satellite transceiver. Para. [0059]-Kim discloses the mobile communication network 100 includes a core network (CN) 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a wireless device 106).
Chou and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chou to incorporate the teachings of Kim on Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite, with a motivation for cell served by Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite, and guarantee reporting preference indication and other UE assistance information to the network, (Chou, Para. [0009]).
Chou fails to teach start a wait for release timer, and autonomously transition to a radio resource control idle (RRC IDLE) state after an expiration of the wait for release timer when the wireless terminal has not received a radio resource control release (RRCRelease) message.
However, Ebisawa teaches start a wait for release timer (Para. [0027]-Ebisawa dicloses based on the measured time from the end of communication with the radio base station 30 to the reception of the RRC Connection Release, the communication terminal 100 sets a timeout value indicating the time from the end of communication with the radio base station 30 to the transition to the RRC Idle State), and
autonomously transition to a radio resource control idle (RRC IDLE) state after an expiration of the wait for release timer when the wireless terminal has not received a radio resource control release (RRCRelease) message (Para. [0029]-Ebisawa discloses assuming that the RRC Connection Release does not reach the communication terminal 100. Since the RRC Connection Release is not retransmitted in the 3 GPP specification, retransmission is not performed even if the RRC Connection Release does not reach the communication terminal 100. The communication terminal 100 transitions to the RRC Idle State in response to the elapsed time reaching the time indicated by the timeout value 102. When the communication terminal 100 fails to receive the RRC Connection Release by executing the processing shown in Figs. 2 and 3, the communication terminal 100 can prevent the communication terminal 100 from maintaining the RRC Connection State).
Ebisawa is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with communication terminals and RRC Connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chou in view of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Ebisawa on RRC Connection, with a motivation to start a wait for release timer and transmit RRC IDLE state upon conditioned expiration, and guarantee reporting preference indication and other UE assistance information to the network, (Chou, Para. [0009]).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Chou in view of Kim and Ebisawa teaches the wireless terminal of claim 1 and the core network node of claim 6 respectively,
Chou further teaches the transmission of the transition time comprises a User Equipment Assistance Information message (Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE transmits RRC release assistance information to the network. The assistance information is based on both cell count and RRC state transition count so that RRC inactivity time can be determined to reduce overall signaling overhead ... the assistance information comprises both the cell count and the RRC state transition count, so that eNB decides on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected to release the UE to IDLE based on both counts).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Chou teaches the wireless terminal of claim 1 and the core network node of claim 6 respectively,
Chou fails to teach the transmission of the transition time comprises Uplink lnformation Transfer and uplink non-access stratum (UL NAS) transport messages.
However, Kim teaches the transmission of the transition time comprises Uplink lnformation Transfer and uplink non-access stratum (UL NAS) transport messages (Para. [0461]-Kim discloses the signaling of the SDT data (or the signalling allowed to be transmitted via/during the SDT procedure) may be an RRC message. For example, the RRC message may be an uplink information transfer message (UL information transfer message) to transfer NAS dedicated information (e.g., an NAS message or a NAS signaling or a NAS PDU); or an UE assistance information. Para. [0394]-Kim discloses for CG based SDT (or uplink transmission using PUR), a UE in an RRC connected state may transmit CG (or PUR) configuration request message (or assistance information message) to a base station where the CG configuration request message may comprise at least one of: requested number of CG occasions where the number may be one or infinite; requested periodicity of CG; requested transport block size (TBS) for CG; and/or requested time offset for a first CG occasion. Para. [0290]-Kim discloses the UE-RRC layer may indicate to upper layers (e.g., NAS layer) fallback of the RRC connection. The UE-RRC layer may stop timer T380 if running where the timer T380 is periodic RAN-based Notification Area (RNA) update timer).
Chou and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chou to incorporate the teachings of Kim on uplink transmission, with a motivation for Uplink lnformation Transfer and uplink non-access stratum (UL NAS) transport messages, and guarantee end-to-end connections between the wireless device 106 and the one or more DNs, authenticate the wireless device 106, and provide charging functionality, (Kim, Para. [0060]).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 20140044029 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chou, in view of Kim et al. (US 20250048474 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding claim 6, Chou teaches a core network node configured to communicate with a cell (Para. [0009]-Chou discloses a method and apparatus for UE to report preference indication and other UE assistance information to the network. Fig. 11, Para. [0024]-Chou discloses a method of UE reporting RRC inactivity time indication. Fig. 2, Para. [0029]-Chou discloses the UE has RF transceiver module 211, coupled with antenna 201 receives RF signals from antenna 201, converts them to baseband signals and sends them to processor 212. RF transceiver 211 also converts received baseband signals from the processor 212, converts them to RF signals, and sends out to antenna 201. Processor 212 processes the received baseband signals and invokes different functional modules to perform features in the UE. Memory 213 stores program instructions and data to control the operations of the UE)
receive, from a wireless terminal, a transition time for the core network node to release a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE makes evaluation based on both counts, and the assistance information comprises a one-bit overhead indication on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected or release the UE to IDLE. Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE transmits RRC release assistance information to the network. The assistance information is based on both cell count and RRC state transition count so that RRC inactivity time can be determined to reduce overall signaling overhead ... the assistance information comprises both the cell count and the RRC state transition count, so that eNB decides on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected to release the UE to IDLE based on both counts),
the transition time is computed based on a discontinuous coverage of the cell (Fig. 1, Para. [0026]-Chou discloses UE uses discontinuous reception (DRX) in IDLE state to increase battery life. Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE makes evaluation based on both counts, and the assistance information comprises a one-bit overhead indication on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected or release the UE to IDLE).
Chou fails to teach Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite.
However, Kim teaches core network node configured to communicate with a cell served by a Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite, the core network node (Fig. 1A, Para. [0064]-Kim discloses base station included in the RAN 104 may include one or more sets of antennas for communicating with the wireless device 106 over the air interface. For example, one or more of the base stations may include three sets of antennas to respectively control three cells (or sectors). The size of a cell may be determined by a range at which a receiver (e.g., a base station receiver) can successfully receive the transmissions from a transmitter (e.g., a wireless device transmitter) operating in the cell. Together, the cells of the base stations may provide radio coverage to the wireless device 106 over a wide geographic area to support wireless device mobility. Fig. 15, Para. [0236]-Kim discloses the one or more peripherals 1516 and the one or more peripherals 1526 may include software and/or hardware that provide features and/or functionalities, for example, ..., a satellite transceiver. Para. [0059]-Kim discloses the mobile communication network 100 includes a core network (CN) 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a wireless device 106).
Chou and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chou to incorporate the teachings of Kim on Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite, with a motivation for cell served by Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite, and guarantee reporting preference indication and other UE assistance information to the network, (Chou, Para. [0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 01/15/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection of claims 1 and 4-9 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 8, Lines [3-4], Applicant argues that, “Neither Chou Nor Ebisawa Discloses, Teaches or Suggests Communication with a Non-GEO Satellite.”
However, Kim teaches a wireless terminal configured to communicate with a cell served by a Non-Geostationary Earth Orbiting (Non-GEO) satellite, the wireless terminal (Fig. 1A, Para. [0064]-Kim discloses base station included in the RAN 104 may include one or more sets of antennas for communicating with the wireless device 106 over the air interface. For example, one or more of the base stations may include three sets of antennas to respectively control three cells (or sectors). The size of a cell may be determined by a range at which a receiver (e.g., a base station receiver) can successfully receive the transmissions from a transmitter (e.g., a wireless device transmitter) operating in the cell. Together, the cells of the base stations may provide radio coverage to the wireless device 106 over a wide geographic area to support wireless device mobility. Fig. 15, Para. [0236]-Kim discloses the one or more peripherals 1516 and the one or more peripherals 1526 may include software and/or hardware that provide features and/or functionalities, for example, ..., a satellite transceiver. Para. [0059]-Kim discloses the mobile communication network 100 includes a core network (CN) 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a wireless device 106).
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [10-11], Applicant argues that, “Neither Chou Nor Ebisawa Discloses, Teaches or Suggests Computing Transition Time Based on Discontinuous Coverage.”
However, Chou teaches the transition time is computed based on a discontinuous coverage of the cell (Fig. 1, Para. [0026]-Chou discloses UE uses discontinuous reception (DRX) in IDLE state to increase battery life. Para. [0012]-Chou discloses the UE makes evaluation based on both counts, and the assistance information comprises a one-bit overhead indication on whether to keep the UE in RRC Connected or release the UE to IDLE).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472