DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Light modulation assembly in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Specifically, limitations such as “first type laser beam”, “second type laser beam”, “first type light emitting chip” and “second type light emitting chip” are rendered indefinite due to the inclusion of the word “type”. For the purposes of examination the limitations “first type laser beam” and “second type laser beam” will be interpreted as “first laser beam with a polarization in a first direction” and “second laser beam with a polarization in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction”. Additionally, “first type light emitting chip” and “second type light emitting chip” will be interpreted as “first laser” and “second laser”. Claims 5 and 15-20 are rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motobayashi et al (US 2021/0181614; hereinafter referred to as Motobayashi) in view of Miura et al (US 2021/0135426; hereinafter referred to as Miura) and further in view of Sugita et al (US 2023/0335971; hereinafter referred to as Sugita).
Regarding Claim 1, Motobayashi discloses a laser projection apparatus (Figure 11; Projection Display Apparatus 200), comprising:
a laser source assembly (Figure 11; Light Emitting Device 1) configured to provide illumination beams (see Paragraph [0087]; wherein it is disclosed that in the light-emitting device 1 or 2, the light outputted from the light-emitting element 121 passes through the lens array 14 and is extracted as collimated light);
a light modulation assembly (Figure 11; Light Modulators 218a-218c) configured to modulate the illumination beams with an image signal, so as to obtain projection beams (see Paragraph [0090]; wherein it is disclosed that the light modulators 218a to 218c optically modulate the respective inputted color light beams, and input the optically modulated color light beams to the dichroic prism 219); and
a projection lens (Figure 11; Projection Lens 220) configured to project the projection beams into an image (see Paragraph [0090]; wherein it is disclosed that the combined color light beams are projected onto a screen or the like through the projection lens 220);
wherein the laser source assembly (Figure 11; Light Emitting Device 1) includes a laser device (see Figure 1), and the laser device (Figure 1) includes:
a base plate (Figure 1; Base Plate 11);
a frame (Figure 1; Frame Part 14F) disposed on the base plate (see Figure 1), a sealed space (Figure 3; Recess 124R) being defined between the frame (Figure 1; Frame Part 14F), the base plate (Figure 1; Base Plate 11), and a light homogenizing component (Figure 1; Lens 141);
at least one first light-emitting chip (Figure 1; Light-Emitting Element 121) disposed on the base plate (Figure 1; Base Plate 11) and located in the sealed space (see Figures 1 and 3), the first light-emitting chip (Figure 1; Light-Emitting Element 121) being configured to emit a first laser beam (see Paragraphs [0030] and [0034]); a laser-exit direction of the first light-emitting chip (Figure 1; Light-Emitting Element 121) being parallel to the base plate (see Figure 1);
a first reflecting portion (Figure 1; Mirror 123) disposed on the base plate (Figure 1; Base Plate 11) and located in the sealed space (see Figure 1), the first reflecting portion (Figure 1; Mirror 123) being located on a laser-exit side of the first light-emitting chip (Figure 1; Light-Emitting Element 121) and configured to guide the first laser beam to a direction away from the base plate (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0034]; wherein it is disclosed that the mirror 123 reflects the light outputted from the light-emitting element 121. The light outputted from the light-emitting element 121 is reflected by the mirror 123, and the light is outputted from a cover 125 side); and
the light homogenizing component (Figure 1; Lens 141) disposed on a side of the frame (Figure 1; Frame Part 14F) away from the base plate (see Figure 1; wherein the lens 141 is disposed on a side of the frame part 14F away from the base plate 11), the light homogenizing component (Figure 1; Lens 141) being configured to homogenize the first laser beam and propagate the first laser beam out of the sealed space (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0052]; wherein it is disclosed that the light transmitted through the cover 125 of each package 12 is collimated by passing through the lens 141), so that the first laser beam constitutes at least a part of the illumination beams (see Figure 1); the light homogenizing component (Figure 1; Lens 141) including:
a body (Figure 1; Lens Array 14);
a first convex lens (Figure 1; Lens 141) located on a side of the body (Figure 1; Lens Array 14) proximate to the base plate (see Figure 1); and
a second convex lens located on a side of the body (Figure 1; Lens Array 14) away from the base plate (Figure 1; Base Plate 11) and disposed opposite to the first convex lens (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0052]; wherein it is disclosed that one surface side of the lens array 14 may have a FAC (Fast Axis Collimator) function, and the other surface side may have a SAC (Slow Axis Collimator) function. In the lens array 14 in this case, for example, flat surfaces of lenticular lenses disposed in directions perpendicular to each other are bonded).
Motobayashi does not expressly disclose a first collimating portion located in the sealed space, the first collimating portion being configured to collimate the first laser beam, so as to transmit the first laser beam to the light homogenizing component in a direction perpendicular to the base plate; wherein an area of orthogonal projection of any one of the first convex lens and the second convex lens on the body is greater than or equal to an area of a first beam spot of the first laser beam on the light homogenizing component.
Miura discloses a laser source assembly (Figure 11; Light Emitting Device 100) configured to provide illumination beams (see Figure 11 and Paragraph [0040]; wherein it is disclosed that light L is emitted from each of the light emitting elements 10); wherein the laser source assembly (Figure 11; Light Emitting Device 100) includes a laser device (Figure 11; Light Emitting Elements 10), and the laser device (Figure 11; Light Emitting Elements 10) includes: a base plate (Figure 11; Base 22); a frame (Figure 11; Frame Portion 26) disposed on the base plate (see Figure 11; wherein the frame portion 26 is disposed on the base 22), a sealed space being defined between the frame (Figure 11; Frame Portion 26), the base plate (Figure 11; Base 22), and a light homogenizing component (Figure 11; Main Lenses 40);
a first collimating portion (Figure 11; Sub-Lens 50) located in the sealed space (see Figure 11), the first collimating portion (Figure 11; Sub-Lens 50) being configured to collimate the first laser beam (see Figure 11), so as to transmit the first laser beam to the light homogenizing component (Figure 11; Main Lenses 40) in a direction perpendicular to the base plate (see Figure 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the laser projection apparatus of Miura to incorporate a first collimating portion located in the sealed space, the first collimating portion being configured to collimate the first laser beam, so as to transmit the first laser beam to the light homogenizing component in a direction perpendicular to the base plate, as taught by Miura, because doing so would allow for the light which has passed been corrected by the sub-lenses and enter the main lenses to be within the target quality range with respect to the propagating direction of light, diverging angle of light, and intensity of light (see Miura Paragraph [0048]).
Motobayashi as modified by Miura does not expressly disclose that an area of orthogonal projection of any one of the first convex lens and the second convex lens on the body is greater than or equal to an area of a first beam spot of the first laser beam on the light homogenizing component.
Sugita discloses a laser source assembly (Figure 2; Light Source Device 100) configured to provide illumination beams (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0069]; wherein the light source device 100 is desirably designed in such a manner that laser light L emitted from single semiconductor laser element 1a passes through three or more lens cells 3b); wherein the laser source assembly (Figure 2; Light Source Device 100) includes a laser device (Figure 2; Laser Element 1a), and the laser device (Figure 2; Laser Element 1a) includes: a base plate (see Figure 2; wherein the base plate is the bottom surface of package 1b); a frame (see Figure 2; wherein the frame is the side surfaces of the package 1b) disposed on the base plate (see Figure 2), a sealed space being defined between the frame (see Figure 2; wherein the frame is the side surfaces of the package 1b), the base plate (see Figure 2; wherein the base plate is the bottom surface of package 1b), and a light homogenizing component (Figure 2; Optical Element 5); the light homogenizing component (Figure 2; Optical Element 5) including: a body (Figure 2; Light Transmission Part 2); a first convex lens (Figure 2; Lens Cell 3b) located on a side of the body (Figure 2; Light Transmission Part 2) proximate to the base plate (see Figure 2); and a second convex lens (Figure 2; Collimator Lens 4a) located on a side of the body (Figure 2; Light Transmission Part 2) away from the base plate (see Figure 2; wherein the base plate is the bottom surface of package 1b) and disposed opposite to the first convex lens (see Figure 2); wherein
an area of orthogonal projection of any one of the first convex lens (Figure 2; Lens Cell 3b) and the second convex lens (Figure 2; Collimator Lens 4a) on the body (Figure 2; Light Transmission Part 2) is greater than or equal to an area of a first beam spot of the first laser beam on the light homogenizing component (see Figures 2 and 6; Paragraph [0051]; wherein it is disclosed that the region where lens array 3a is provided includes region R (see FIG. 1) through which laser light L passes and that lens array 3a is formed in a region including region R and larger than region R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the laser projection apparatus of Motobayashi as modified by Miura such that an area of orthogonal projection of any one of the first convex lens and the second convex lens on the body is greater than or equal to an area of a first beam spot of the first laser beam on the light homogenizing component, as taught by Sugita, because doing so would ensure that the efficiency of laser light L emitted from semiconductor laser element 1a can be increased (see Sugita Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding Claim 3, Motobayashi as modified by Miura and Sugita discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Motobayashi as modified by Sugita does not expressly disclose that the first reflecting portion includes a supporting surface; and the supporting surface is a surface of the first reflecting portion away from the base plate; the laser device further includes: a first mounting member disposed on one of the base plate and the supporting surface; a second mounting member disposed on a side of the first mounting member away from the base plate; and a first collimating lens disposed on a side of the second mounting member away from the base plate and located on a laser-exit side of the first reflecting portion; wherein the first collimating portion includes the first collimating lens.
Miura discloses the first reflecting portion (Figure 11; Reflector R) includes a supporting surface (see Figure 11; wherein the supporting surface is the uppermost surface of reflector R closest to sub-lens 50); and the supporting surface (see Figure 11; wherein the supporting surface is the uppermost surface of reflector R closest to sub-lens 50) is a surface of the first reflecting portion (Figure 11; Reflector R) away from the base plate (see Figure 11; wherein the uppermost surface of reflector R is away from the bottom portion 24); the laser device (Figure 11; Light Emitting Elements 10) further includes: a first mounting member (Figure 11; Sub-Mount 12) disposed on one of the base plate (Figure 11; Bottom Portion 24) reflecting portion (see Figure 11; wherein the sub-lens 50 is located on a side of the extending portion 52 away from the bottom portion 24); wherein the first collimating portion (Figure 11; Sub-Lens 50) includes the first collimating lens (see Figure 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the laser projection apparatus of Motobayashi as modified by Sugita such that the first reflecting portion includes a supporting surface; and the supporting surface is a surface of the first reflecting portion away from the base plate; the laser device further includes: a first mounting member disposed on one of the base plate and the supporting surface; a second mounting member disposed on a side of the first mounting member away from the base plate; and a first collimating lens disposed on a side of the second mounting member away from the base plate and located on a laser-exit side of the first reflecting portion; wherein the first collimating portion includes the first collimating lens, as taught by Miura, because doing so would allow for the light which has passed been corrected by the sub-lenses and enter the main lenses to be within the target quality range with respect to the propagating direction of light, diverging angle of light, and intensity of light (see Miura Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 4, Motobayashi as modified by Miura and Sugita discloses the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Miura further discloses the laser device (Figure 11; Light Emitting Elements 10) further includes at least one second light-emitting chip (Figure 13B and Paragraph [0040]; wherein the light emitting element 10 comprises light emitting elements 10A-10C and wherein the second light emitting chip corresponds to light emitting element 10B) disposed on the first mounting member (Figure 11; Sub-Mount 12) and located on the supporting surface (see Figure 11; wherein the supporting surface is the uppermost surface of reflector R closest to sub-lens 50), a laser-exit direction of the second light-emitting chip (Figure 13B; Light Emitting Element 10B) is perpendicular to the base plate (see Figure 11), and the second light-emitting chip (Figure 13B; Light Emitting Element 10B) is configured to emit a second laser beam (see Figures 11 and 13B and Paragraph [0043]); and the light homogenizing component (Figure 11; Main Lenses 40) is further configured to homogenize the second laser beam and propagate the second laser beam out of the sealed space (see Figures 11 and 13B); the second laser beam and the first laser beam constitute the illumination beams (see Figures 11 and 13B; Paragraph [0043]; wherein it is disclosed that the light emitted from the first light emitting element 10A passes through the first sub-lens 50A and enters the first main lens 40A and the light emitted from the second light emitting element 10B passes through the second sub-lens 50B and enters the second main lens 40B).
Regarding Claim 13, Motobayashi as modified by Miura and Sugita discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Motobayashi further discloses an edge of the light homogenizing component (Figure 1; Lens 141) is fixed to the side of the frame (Figure 1; Frame Part 14F) away from the base plate (see Figure 1), the sealed space (Figure 3; Recess 124R) is defined between the light homogenizing component (Figure 1; Lens 141), the frame (Figure 1; Frame Part 14F), and the base plate (Figure 1; Base Plate 11).
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motobayashi et al (US 2021/0181614; hereinafter referred to as Motobayashi) as modified by Miura et al (US 2021/0135426; hereinafter referred to as Miura) and Sugita et al (US 2023/0335971; hereinafter referred to as Sugita), in view of Zhou et al (US 2020/0341362; hereinafter referred to as Zhou).
Regarding Claim 2, Motobayashi as modified by Miura and Sugita discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Motobayashi further discloses the first reflecting portion (Figure 1; Mirror 123) includes a first reflecting surface (see Figure 1; wherein the first reflecting surface is the inclined surface of the mirror 123) configured to guide the first laser beam to the direction away from the base plate (see Figure 1); wherein the first reflecting surface is a surface of the first reflecting portion (Figure 1; Mirror 123) facing the first light-emitting chip (see Figure 1; wherein the inclined surface of the mirror 123 faces the light emitting element 121).
Motobayashi as modified by Miura and Sugita does not expressly disclose that the first reflecting surface is a concave curved surface, and the first collimating portion includes the first reflecting surface.
Zhou discloses a laser source assembly (Figure 13; Laser Assembly 1) configured to provide illumination beams (see Figure 13), wherein the laser source assembly (Figure 13; Laser Assembly 1) includes a laser device (Figure 13; Light Emitting Component 121), and the laser device (Figure 13; Light Emitting Component 121) includes: a base plate (Figure 13; Circuit Board 13); a frame (Figure 13; Substrate 120) disposed on the base plate (see Figure 13), a sealed space (see Figure 13), a first reflecting portion (Figure 13; Beam-Shaping Component 122) disposed on the base plate (Figure 13; Circuit Board 13) and located in the sealed space (see Figure 13), wherein
the first reflecting portion (Figure 13; Beam-Shaping Component 122) comprises a first reflecting surface (see Figures 14 and 16) which is a concave curved surface (see Figures 14 and 16), and a first collimating portion (Figure 13; Lens 123 and curved surface of beam-shaping component 122) includes the first reflecting surface (see Figure 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the laser source assembly of Motobayashi as modified by Miura and Sugita such that the first reflecting surface is a concave curved surface, and the first collimating portion includes the first reflecting surface, as taught by Zhou, because doing so would allow for a design size of the light path assembly located at the light path of the laser assembly to be reduced, which is advantageous for achieving a miniaturized design of the laser projection apparatuses (see Zhou Paragraph [0080]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitation which requires the laser device further includes: a light-transmitting layer located in the sealed space and disposed on a laser-exit side of the second light-emitting chip; and a second collimating portion disposed on a side of the light-transmitting layer away from the base plate, the second collimating portion being configured to collimate the second laser beam and transmit the second laser beam to the light homogenizing component in the direction perpendicular to the base plate.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claims 1, 3 and 4 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Dependent claims 7-12 would likewise be non-obvious over the prior art of record if the above-mentioned amendments were made.
Regarding Claim 14, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitation which requires the laser device satisfies one of followings: the laser device further includes a cover plate in a shape of an annular, an outer edge portion of the cover plate is fixed to the side of the frame away from the base plate; and an edge of the light homogenizing component is fixed to an inner edge portion of the cover plate; and the laser device further includes a light-transmitting layer, an edge of the light- transmitting layer is fixed to the side of the frame away from the base plate; the light homogenizing component is located on a side of the light-transmitting layer away from the base plate; and the laser device further includes: a cover plate in a shape of an annular, an outer edge portion of the cover plate being fixed to the side of the frame away from the base plate; and a light-transmitting layer, an edge of the light-transmitting layer being fixed to an inner edge portion of the cover plate, and the light homogenizing component being located on a side of the light-transmitting layer away from the base plate; and the laser device further includes: a boss located in the sealed space, an outer edge of the boss being fixed to the frame, and an inner edge of the boss being fixed to an outer edge of the light homogenizing component; and a light-transmitting layer, an edge of the light-transmitting layer being fixed to the side of the frame away from the base plate; the sealed space being defined between the light-transmitting layer, the frame, and the base plate.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claim 1 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882