DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7, and 9-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-7, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niu et al. (US 20240023011 A1).
Considering claim 1, Niu teaches a core network node (110, Fig.1), comprising:
transmitting circuitry (110) configured to transmit a signaling release message to a wireless terminal (Fig.1, [0016] communicate with one another via Over the Air (OTA) radio), wherein the signaling release message (RRCConnectionRelease) is sent to prevent re-selection of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell by the wireless terminal for a specific amount of time (Fig.1, [0059], [0061] base station may send a message (e.g., SI, RRCConnectionRelease, RRCEarlyDataComplete, etc.) to instruct the UE, [0027] UE may limit or even stop some of its activities to save its power consumption. These activities may include cell search, cell measurement, cell selection/reselection, PLMN selection, or the like… UE limits its activities in this period, such period may also be generally referred to as a limitation period (or, search limitation period, measurement limitation period, cell selection limitation period, etc.)).
Considering claim 7, Niu teaches a wireless terminal (130, Fig.1), comprising:
receiving circuitry (130) configured to receive a signaling release message from a core network node (110) (Fig.1, [0016] communicate with one another via Over the Air (OTA) radio), wherein the signaling release message (RRCConnectionRelease) is to prevent re-selection of a non- terrestrial network (NTN) cell by the wireless terminal for a specific amount of time (Fig.1, [0059] UE receives the message, it may release all its connections with the network, [0061], [0027] UE may limit or even stop some of its activities to save its power consumption. These activities may include cell search, cell measurement, cell selection/reselection, PLMN selection, or the like… UE limits its activities in this period, such period may also be generally referred to as a limitation period (or, search limitation period, measurement limitation period, cell selection limitation period, etc.)).
Considering claim 13, Niu teaches a method by a wireless terminal (130, Fig.1), comprising:
receiving a signaling release message (RRCConnectionRelease) from a core network node (110, Fig.1, [0059]), wherein the signaling release message is to prevent re-selection of anon-terrestrial network (NTN) cell by the wireless terminal for a specific amount of time (Fig.1, [0059] UE receives the message, it may release all its connections with the network, [0061], [0027] UE may limit or even stop some of its activities to save its power consumption. These activities may include cell search, cell measurement, cell selection/reselection, PLMN selection, or the like… UE limits its activities in this period, such period may also be generally referred to as a limitation period (or, search limitation period, measurement limitation period, cell selection limitation period, etc.)); and
delaying re-selection of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell by the wireless terminal for the specific amount of time ([0086] UE delays triggering the RRC re-establishment…timer).
Considering claims 3, 9, Niu teaches wherein the signaling release message comprises additional fields ([0059]-[0061] base station may send a message (e.g., SI, RRCConnectionRelease, RRCEarlyDataComplete, etc.) to instruct the UE to enter the RRC idle with suspended RRC connection or the RRC inactive state. The message may also include coverage hole information).
Considering claims 4, 10, Niu teaches wherein the transmitting circuitry is further configured to transmit an RRCRelease message to the wireless terminal ([0059]-[0061] base station may send a message (to instruct the UE).
Considering claims 5, 11, Niu teaches wherein the RRCRelease message comprises NTN cell information to avoid and an NTN cell avoid timer ([0063]timer ).
Considering claims 6, 12, Niu teaches wherein the transmitting circuitry is further configured to transmit a cause code with the RRCRelease message to the wireless terminal ([0059]-[0061] base station may send a message (to instruct the UE).
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641