DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 12/15/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 13, 14, 21, 24, 25, 29, and 30 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 12/15/2025 have been fully considered and but are not moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei to (US20230232420) in view of Orsino to (US20200084806A1)
Regarding claims 1,24 Babaei teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:([0348] FIG. 31) at least one memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver and configured to: ([0348] FIG. 31 .. At 3110, a wireless device may receive: first configuration parameters of a first carrier in a first frequency band; second configuration parameters of a second carrier in a second frequency band; and a third configuration parameter indicating a location of a switching period associated with an uplink transmission (TX) switching between carriers of a frequency band pair comprising the first frequency band and a second frequency band) receive, via the transceiver, a first indication of a first cell associated with a first uplink carrier and a first downlink carrier and a second cell associated with a second uplink carrier,(fig.11B) wherein the second cell comprises an uplink-only cell; ([0098] FIG. 12B , a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources) receive, via the transceiver and via first downlink carrier of the first cell or via a second downlink carrier associated with a third cell,( [0358] the first parameter may indicate that the first carrier is carrier 1 (e.g., carrier number 1) in the uplink TX switching. The second parameter may indicate that the second carrier is carrier 2 (e.g., carrier number 2) in the uplink TX switching. In an example embodiment, the determining the location of the switching gap, at 3130, may be based on the third configuration parameter, the first parameter and the second parameter. In an example embodiment, the third configuration parameter, received at 3130, may indicate whether the location of the switching gap is on the carrier 1 or on the carrier) a second indication of subsequent communications to be performed via the first uplink carrier of the first cell, the second uplink carrier of the second cell, or both;( [0152] In an example, the IE ServingCellConfig may be used to configure (add or modify) the UE with a serving cell, which may be the SpCell or an SCell of an MCG or SCG. The parameters may be UE specific or cell specific (e.g., in additionally configured bandwidth parts). Reconfiguration between a PUCCH and PUCCHless SCell may be supported using an SCell release and add. A field/parameter uplinkTxSwitchingPeriodLocation may indicate whether the location of UL Tx switching period is configured in this uplink carrier in case of inter-band UL CA, SUL, or (NG)EN-DC) and perform the subsequent communications according to the second indication, wherein the subsequent communications comprise at least one of access communications, uplink communications, or both([0161] Example embodiments may enable dynamically selecting carriers with UL transmission switching e.g., based on the data traffic, time division duplexing (TDD) DL/UL configuration, bandwidths and channel conditions of each band. Example embodiments may enable UL Tx switching schemes across up to 3 or 4 bands (e.g., with restriction of up to 2 Tx simultaneous transmission, e.g., for FR1 UEs), including mechanisms to enable more configured UL bands than its simultaneous transmission capability and to support dynamic transmission carrier switching across the configured bands for both single TAG and multiple TAGs configurations. Example embodiments may enhance UE capability and RRC configuration related signaling)
Babaei does not explicitly teach a second indication of subsequent communications to be performed via the second uplink carrier of the second cell, wherein the second indication comprises control information for random access on the second uplink carrier
However, Orsino teaches a second indication of subsequent communications to be performed via the second uplink carrier of the second cell, ([0049] discloses the NR node may configure the UE to use a new SUL or UL carrier with an indication to use a contention free RACH resource. Alternatively, the NR node may configure the UE to use a new SUL or UL carrier with no dedicated RACH resource allocation. Further, the NR node may immediately decide to send a downlink control information (DCI) command (L1 signaling) to the UE with the indication to switch to SUL or the ordinary UL carrier) wherein the second indication comprises control information for random access on the second uplink carrier([0051] discloses when an SUL carrier is configured and a UE detects a radio link problem on the SUL carrier, the UE may initiate the UL switch to the ordinary UL carrier, by sending a RACH preamble (sequence) to the network in the ordinary UL carrier)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of include a second indication of subsequent communications to be performed via the second uplink carrier of the second cell, wherein the second indication comprises control information for random access on the second uplink carrier, as suggested by Orsino. This modification would benefit the system to establish a reliable communication.
Regarding claims 13,30 Babaei teaches a network entity, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and configured to (fig.15) transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first indication of a first cell associated with a first uplink carrier and a first downlink carrier and a second cell associated with a second uplink carrier, ([0298] configuration parameters of a plurality of cells/carriers. The wireless device may receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating that: a first cell/carrier, in the plurality of cells/carriers, is carrier 1 (e.g., carrier number 1) in uplink transmission switching; and a second cell/carrier, in the plurality of cells/carriers, is carrier 2 (e.g., carrier number 2) in uplink transmission switching. The wireless device may determine one of the first cell/carrier and the second cell/carrier as a location of a switching gap/period based on the MAC CE) wherein the second cell comprises an uplink-only cell; ([0098] FIG. 12B , a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources)
transmit, to the UE and via the first downlink carrier of the first cell or via a second downlink carrier associated with a third cell, ( [0358] the first parameter may indicate that the first carrier is carrier 1 (e.g., carrier number 1) in the uplink TX switching. The second parameter may indicate that the second carrier is carrier 2 (e.g., carrier number 2) in the uplink TX switching. In an example embodiment, the determining the location of the switching gap, at 3130, may be based on the third configuration parameter, the first parameter and the second parameter. In an example embodiment, the third configuration parameter, received at 3130, may indicate whether the location of the switching gap is on the carrier 1 or on the carrier) a second indication of subsequent communications to be performed via the first uplink carrier of the first cell, the second uplink carrier of the second cell, or both; ( [0152] In an example, the IE ServingCellConfig may be used to configure (add or modify) the UE with a serving cell, which may be the SpCell or an SCell of an MCG or SCG. The parameters may be UE specific or cell specific (e.g., in additionally configured bandwidth parts). Reconfiguration between a PUCCH and PUCCHless SCell may be supported using an SCell release and add. A field/parameter uplinkTxSwitchingPeriodLocation may indicate whether the location of UL Tx switching period is configured in this uplink carrier in case of inter-band UL CA, SUL, or (NG)EN-DC)
and perform the subsequent communications with the UE according to the second indication([0161] … enable dynamically selecting carriers with UL transmission switching e.g., based on the data traffic, time division duplexing (TDD) DL/UL configuration, bandwidths and channel conditions of each band. Example embodiments may enable UL Tx switching schemes across up to 3 or 4 bands (e.g., with restriction of up to 2 Tx simultaneous transmission, e.g., for FR1 UEs), including mechanisms to enable more configured UL bands than its simultaneous transmission capability and to support dynamic transmission carrier switching across the configured bands for both single TAG and multiple TAGs configurations. Example embodiments may enhance UE capability and RRC configuration related signaling)
Babaei does not explicitly teach a second indication of subsequent communications to be performed via the second uplink carrier of the second cell, wherein the second indication comprises control information for random access on the second uplink carrier
However, Orsino teaches a second indication of subsequent communications to be performed via the second uplink carrier of the second cell, ([0049] discloses the NR node may configure the UE to use a new SUL or UL carrier with an indication to use a contention free RACH resource. Alternatively, the NR node may configure the UE to use a new SUL or UL carrier with no dedicated RACH resource allocation. Further, the NR node may immediately decide to send a downlink control information (DCI) command (L1 signaling) to the UE with the indication to switch to SUL or the ordinary UL carrier) wherein the second indication comprises control information for random access on the second uplink carrier([0051] discloses when an SUL carrier is configured and a UE detects a radio link problem on the SUL carrier, the UE may initiate the UL switch to the ordinary UL carrier, by sending a RACH preamble (sequence) to the network in the ordinary UL carrier)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of include a second indication of subsequent communications to be performed via the second uplink carrier of the second cell, wherein the second indication comprises control information for random access on the second uplink carrier, as suggested by Orsino. This modification would benefit the system to establish a reliable communication.
Regarding claims 2,14,25 Babaei teaches receive, via the first downlink carrier of the first cell or via the second downlink carrier of the third cell, a grant scheduling, the second uplink carrier of the second cell, or both, wherein the subsequent communications comprises the uplink communications([0093] discloses A PCell for a UE may be an SCell for another UE and a SCell for a UE may be PCell for another UE. The configuration of PCell may be UE-specific. One or more SCells of the multiple SCells configured for a UE may be configured as downlink-only SCells, …the base station may transmit signaling for uplink grants and/or downlink assignments on the same cell that the corresponding uplink or downlink transmission takes place).
Regarding claims 3,15,26 Babaei teaches wherein the grant comprises a cross-carrier scheduling grant, a multi-cell scheduling grant, or both ([0093] discloses cross-carrier scheduling, the base station may transmit signaling for uplink grants and/or downlink assignments on a cell different from the cell that the corresponding uplink or downlink transmission takes place).
Regarding claims 4,16,27 Babaei teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify a first feedback process associated with uplink communications via the first cell and a second feedback process associated with uplink communications via the second cell([0094] discloses The first UCI may be, for example, HARQ feedback for downlink transmissions via downlink CCs of the PCell and the one or more first SCells. The secondary PUCCH group may comprise a PUCCH SCell and one or more second SCells. Second UCI corresponding to the PUCCH SCell and the one or more second SCells of the secondary PUCCH group may be transmitted by the PUCCH of the PUCCH SCell. The second UCI may be, for example, HARQ feedback for downlink transmissions via downlink CCs of the PUCCH SCell and the one or more second SCells).
Regarding claims 5,17,28 Babaei teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a reference signal transmitted via the first downlink carrier of the first cell, via the second downlink carrier associated with a third cell, or both; ([0096] discloses The random access parameters may further indicate association between the random access preambles and one or more reference signals (e.g., SBB or CSI-RS). The UE may use one or more reference signals (e.g., SSB(s) or CSI-RS(s)) and may determine a random access preamble to use for Msg1 transmission based on the association between the random access preambles and the one or more reference signals. The UE may use one or more reference signals (e.g., SSB(s) or CSI-RS(s)) and may determine the PRACH occasion to use for Msg1 transmission based on the association between the PRACH occasions and the reference signals) and perform timing and power control operations using the reference signal([0096] discloses UE may determine the higher transmission power of the preamble based on the power ramping parameter).
Regarding claims 6,18,29 Babaei teaches wherein, to perform the subsequent communications, the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit uplink communications via the second uplink carrier of the second cell according ([0147] … when the UE is configured with tdm-PatternConfig or by tdm-PatternConfig2: for the E-UTRA subframes designated as uplink by the configuration, the UE may assume the operation state in which one-port E-UTRA uplink can be transmitted; for the E-UTRA subframes other than the ones designated as uplink by the configuration, the UE may assume the operation state in which two-port NR uplink may be transmitted)
Regarding claims 7, Babaei teaches wherein, to perform the subsequent communications, the at least one processor is further configured to: perform non-simultaneous transmissions on the first uplink carrier of the first cell and transmissions on the second uplink carrier of the second cell according to an uplink transmit antenna switching scheme([0146] ..uplink switching with EN-DC, the UE may be configured with uplinkTxSwitchingOption set to ‘dualUL’. When the UE is to transmit in the uplink based on DCI(s) received before T.sub.0-T.sub.offs et or based on a higher layer configuration(s): when the UE is to transmit an NR two-port uplink that takes place after an E-UTRA uplink on another uplink carrier then the UE may not be expected to transmit for the duration of N.sub.Tx1-Tx2 on the two carriers; when the UE is to transmit an E-UTRA uplink that takes place after an NR two-port uplink on another uplink carrier then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of N.sub.Tx1-Tx2 on the two carriers).
Regarding claims 8,19 Babaei teaches wherein, to receive the second indication, the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a system information message identifying first access resources for access to the first cell via the first uplink carrier and second access resources for access to the second cell via the second uplink carrier(([0360] receiving the one or more configuration parameters may be via one or more broadcast messages (e.g., one or more system information blocks (SIBs)); and access the first cell or the second cell according to the first access resources or second access resources ([0169] The wireless device may determine to apply a switching gap/period for switching from the first uplink transmission via the first cell/carrier to the second uplink transmission via the second cell/carrier. The wireless device may determine a location of the switching gap/period based on the DCI (e.g., based on the value of the field of the DCI). For example, the field of the DCI may comprise one or more bits, a first value of the one or more bits indicating the first cell/carrier for the location of the switching gap/period and a second value of the one or more bits indicating the second cell/carrier for the location of the switching gap/period).
Regarding claims 9,20 Babaei teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify a first access channel occasion corresponding to the first access resources and a second access channel occasion corresponding to the second access resources according to an access scheme based on the subsequent communications being scheduled in a time domain duplexing scheme([0169] The wireless device may determine to apply a switching gap/period for switching from the first uplink transmission via the first cell/carrier to the second uplink transmission via the second cell/carrier. The wireless device may determine a location of the switching gap/period based on the DCI (e.g., based on the value of the field of the DCI). For example, the field of the DCI may comprise one or more bits, a first value of the one or more bits indicating the first cell/carrier for the location of the switching gap/period and a second value of the one or more bits indicating the second cell/carrier for the location of the switching gap/period).
Regarding claims 10,21 Babaei teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identifying, base at least in part on the first indication, information for an uplink configuration, a time domain duplexing uplink/downlink configuration, a set of candidate synchronization signal block indices, or any combination thereof, for the second uplink carrier of the second cell([0104] discloses After detecting the PSS, the wireless device may determine the synchronization up to the periodicity of the PSS. By detecting the PSS, the wireless device may determine the transmission timing of the SSS. The wireless device may determine the PCI of the cell after detecting the SSS. The PBCH of a SS/PBCH block is a downlink physical channel that carries the MIB. The MIB may be used by the wireless device to obtain remaining system information (RMSI) that is broadcast by the network. The RMSI may include System Information Block 1 (SIB1) that contains information required for the wireless device to access the cell).
Regarding claims 11,22 Babaei teaches wherein the information is carried in an enhanced secondary uplink carrier sequence indication([0158] flexible spectrum utilization for wireless devices with n Tx RF chains (e.g., 2Tx or 3Tx or 4Tx UE) may be enabled and the uplink user throughput and network throughput may be enhanced).
Regarding claims 12,23 Babaei teaches wherein the information is carried in a serving cell configuration common system information block enhanced secondary uplink carrier indication([0360] receiving the one or more configuration parameters may be via one or more broadcast messages (e.g., one or more system information blocks (SIBs)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461