DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu (US 2019/0221769) in view of Lim et al. (US 2020/0185650).
Regarding claim 1, Qu teaches a light emitting display apparatus, comprising: a substrate (01; Paragraph [0122]) including a display area and a non-display area (Paragraph [0051]) at a periphery of the display area (04/EL04; Paragraph [0073]); a plurality of subpixels provided in the display area (04/EL04; Paragraph [0073]); and a blocking structure provided between the plurality of subpixels (10; Paragraph [0080-0082]) to prevent penetration of water between the plurality of subpixels (Paragraph [0082]). Qu fails to teach wherein the blocking structure reflects light incident from an emission region of the display area.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches a display device with blocking structures between subpixels wherein the subpixel electrodes (Fig. 1, 311; Paragraph [0040]) and blocking structure (Fig. 1, 400 & 450; Paragraph [0047]) are reflective in order to prevent light from neighboring subpixels from mixing (Paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Qu to have the subpixel electrodes and blocking structures be reflective in order to prevent light from neighboring subpixels from mixing, as disclosed by Lim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, in claim 2, the requirement that the blocking structure comprises at least one groove between the plurality of subpixels, and a reflection layer at a lateral surface of the at least one groove is neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 3-21 are objected to based on their dependence from claim 2.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kimura (US 2017/0117337), Ye (US 2022/0190042), and Lee (US 2021/0351248) teach display devices with blocking structures between subpixels, but fail to teach or suggest the requirements of claim 2.
/Anne M Hines/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2879