DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Park), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0345879 in view of Bangolae et al. (Bangolae), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0013515.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a wireless terminal (UE 100; see figure 4), comprising: transmitting circuitry (transceiver 1031a; see figure 17) configured to: transmit a suggested time to release connection to a core network node (AMF node) (the UE may request the suspension (or postponement) of the signaling connection release through the N1 NAS signaling connection keep indication IE, may request that the explicit release is required through information on whether or not an explicit NAS signaling connection release is required, and may transmit the release suspend (or postponement) time value to the AMF through the time information for requesting and requesting the release suspend (or postponement), such that the AMF may perform explicit release of the NAS signaling connection after the time delivered by the terminal.) (0635); and receiving circuitry (transceiver 1031a; see figure 17).
Park, however, fails to disclose wherein the receiving circuitry is configured to receive a proposed connection release time from the core network node, wherein the proposed connection release time is derived by the core network node based on the suggested time.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bangolae discloses a user equipment and methods to indicate power saving mode configuration to RAN nodes. Bangolae further discloses wherein the receiving circuitry of a user equipment is configured to receive a proposed connection release time from the core network node (the negotiation process between the user equipment and the core network described below), wherein the proposed connection release time is derived by the core network node based on the suggested time (The inactivity timer may be used by the eNB to determine when to release the UE RRC connection after the last UE activity has occurred. In one embodiment, the UE may initially store an activation timer and provide the activation timer in the PSM configuration indication when attaching to the RAN network in the Initial UE Context Setup Request. In various embodiments, the MME may accept the activation timer or may negotiate a change of the activation timer with the UE. In some embodiments, the MME may determine that the activation timer should be increased, for example due to excessive traffic on the network in general or on the eNB to which the UE is or is to be attached. The MME in this embodiment may send a NAS message to the UE adjusting the activation timer.) (0057).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with the teachings of Bangolae to compensate for increased traffic as taught by Bangolae (0057).
Regarding claim 2, Park as modified discloses the wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the wireless terminal is in an RRC_CONNECTED state when the suggested time to release connection is transmitted (In summary, when the UE receives a configuration update command message including “registration requested”, the UE operates as a Relay UE, and the Remote UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, then the UE may transmit configuration update completion message including an N1 NAS signaling connection keep indication IE to the AMF) (0626).
Regarding claim 3, Park as modified discloses the wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the suggested time to release connection comprises ULInformationTransfer and uplink non-access stratum (UL NAS) transport signaling messages (Additional NAS messages may be exchanged between the UE and the AMF. For example, the NAS may transmit a DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message to the gNB. Then, the gNB may transmit a downlink information transfer message (eg, a DLInformationTransfer message) to the UE. The UE may transmit an uplink information transfer message (eg, a ULInformationTransfer message) to the gNB.) (0487).
Regarding claim 5, Park as modified discloses the wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the proposed connection release time comprises DLInformationTransfer and downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) transport signaling messages (Additional NAS messages may be exchanged between the UE and the AMF. For example, the NAS may transmit a DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message to the gNB. Then, the gNB may transmit a downlink information transfer message (eg, a DLInformationTransfer message) to the UE. The UE may transmit an uplink information transfer message (eg, a ULInformationTransfer message) to the gNB.) (0487).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses a core network node (AMF node), comprising: receiving circuitry (inherent since it receives information from the UE; see figure 4) configured to: receive a suggested time to release connection from a wireless terminal (the UE may request the suspension (or postponement) of the signaling connection release through the N1 NAS signaling connection keep indication IE, may request that the explicit release is required through information on whether or not an explicit NAS signaling connection release is required, and may transmit the release suspend (or postponement) time value to the AMF through the time information for requesting and requesting the release suspend (or postponement), such that the AMF may perform explicit release of the NAS signaling connection after the time delivered by the terminal.) (0635); and transmitting circuitry since it transmits to the wireless terminal (In this case, the AMF may transmit a UE Configuration Update (UCU) Command message including “registration requested” information to the UE) (0006).
Park, however, fails to disclose wherein the transmitting circuitry is configured to transmit a proposed connection release time to the wireless terminal, wherein the proposed connection release time is derived by the core network node based on the suggested time.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bangolae discloses a user equipment and methods to indicate power saving mode configuration to RAN nodes. Bangolae further discloses wherein the transmitting circuitry of core network node is configured to transmit a proposed connection release time to the wireless terminal (the negotiation process between the user equipment and the core network described below), wherein the proposed connection release time is derived by the core network node based on the suggested time (The inactivity timer may be used by the eNB to determine when to release the UE RRC connection after the last UE activity has occurred. In one embodiment, the UE may initially store an activation timer and provide the activation timer in the PSM configuration indication when attaching to the RAN network in the Initial UE Context Setup Request. In various embodiments, the MME may accept the activation timer or may negotiate a change of the activation timer with the UE. In some embodiments, the MME may determine that the activation timer should be increased, for example due to excessive traffic on the network in general or on the eNB to which the UE is or is to be attached. The MME in this embodiment may send a NAS message to the UE adjusting the activation timer.) (0057).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with the teachings of Bangolae to compensate for increased traffic as taught by Bangolae (0057).
Regarding claim 7, Park as modified discloses the core network node of claim 6, wherein the wireless terminal is in an RRC_CONNECTED state when the suggested time to release connection is received (In summary, when the UE receives a configuration update command message including “registration requested”, the UE operates as a Relay UE, and the Remote UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, then the UE may transmit configuration update completion message including an N1 NAS signaling connection keep indication IE to the AMF) (0626).
Regarding claim 8, Park as modified discloses the core network node of claim 6, wherein the suggested time to release connection comprises ULInformationTransfer and uplink non-access stratum (UL NAS) transport signaling messages (Additional NAS messages may be exchanged between the UE and the AMF. For example, the NAS may transmit a DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message to the gNB. Then, the gNB may transmit a downlink information transfer message (eg, a DLInformationTransfer message) to the UE. The UE may transmit an uplink information transfer message (eg, a ULInformationTransfer message) to the gNB.) (0487).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the core network node of claim 6, further comprising transmitting circuitry (inherently since the AMF transmits to the UE) configured to transmit a proposed connection release time to the wireless terminal (Alternatively, the specific time may mean an arbitrary time value (eg, a time value set by an operator or AMF). For example, the time value of the specific time may be a time value of about 10 to 15 seconds.) (0634).
Regarding claim 10, Park as modified discloses the core network node of claim 6, wherein the proposed connection release time comprises DLInformationTransfer and downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) transport signaling messages (Additional NAS messages may be exchanged between the UE and the AMF. For example, the NAS may transmit a DOWNLINK NAS TRANSPORT message to the gNB. Then, the gNB may transmit a downlink information transfer message (eg, a DLInformationTransfer message) to the UE. The UE may transmit an uplink information transfer message (eg, a ULInformationTransfer message) to the gNB.) (0487).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a method by a wireless terminal, comprising: entering an RRC_CONNECTED state; and transmitting a suggested time to release connection to a core network node (In summary, when the UE receives a configuration update command message including “registration requested”, the UE operates as a Relay UE, and the Remote UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, then the UE may transmit configuration update completion message including an N1 NAS signaling connection keep indication IE to the AMF) (0626) and receiving circuitry (transceiver 1031a; see figure 17).
Park, however, fails to disclose wherein the receiving circuitry is configured to receive a proposed connection release time from the core network node, wherein the proposed connection release time is derived by the core network node based on the suggested time.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bangolae discloses a user equipment and methods to indicate power saving mode configuration to RAN nodes. Bangolae further discloses wherein the receiving circuitry of a user equipment is configured to receive a proposed connection release time from the core network node (the negotiation process between the user equipment and the core network described below), wherein the proposed connection release time is derived by the core network node based on the suggested time (The inactivity timer may be used by the eNB to determine when to release the UE RRC connection after the last UE activity has occurred. In one embodiment, the UE may initially store an activation timer and provide the activation timer in the PSM configuration indication when attaching to the RAN network in the Initial UE Context Setup Request. In various embodiments, the MME may accept the activation timer or may negotiate a change of the activation timer with the UE. In some embodiments, the MME may determine that the activation timer should be increased, for example due to excessive traffic on the network in general or on the eNB to which the UE is or is to be attached. The MME in this embodiment may send a NAS message to the UE adjusting the activation timer.) (0057).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with the teachings of Bangolae to compensate for increased traffic as taught by Bangolae (0057).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646