DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the amendment filed 01/15/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 09/24/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 recites “hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) information for message 4 (Msg4)”.
The original specification does not disclose the newly added limitations ”hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) information for message 4 (Msg4)”. The original specification recites “the base station receives msg3, identifies the ID information of the terminal, generates message 4 (msg4) including the ID information of the terminal, and transmits the message 4 to the terminal. The terminal that transmitted msg3 in step 5 may then attempt to receive msg4 to be transmitted in step 6. After decoding, the terminal that has received Msg4 may compare the ID value included in msg4 with the ID value the terminal transmitted in step 5 to identify whether the msg3 the terminal transmitted has been received by the base station. After the terminal transmits msg3 in step 5, there may be a limit to the time until the terminal receives msg4 in this step” (see original specification publication, ¶ 0283). Nowhere in the original specification recites “hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) information for message 4 (Msg4)”. Thus, it is clear that the newly added claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), before the effective filing date of the invention, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15, and 17-20, they are also rejected since they depend(s) or rejected base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0008189 to Yin et al. (hereafter Yin) in view of US 2021/0410124 to CHEN et al. (hereafter Chen) and further in view of US 2019/0312698 to AKKARAKARAN et al. (hereafter Akkar).
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (see Yin, Fig 1, UE 102), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information on a number of repetitions for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission associated with hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (see Yin, ¶ 0014: the mobile station includes receiving circuitry configured to receive a RRC message including first information used for configuring a number of repetitions in a time domain for the PUCCH format 0; ¶ 0115: The enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 also configures the number of repetitions of PUCCH resource in the time domain, in response to the transceiver receiving a second RRC message from a base station; ¶ 0149: The number of repetitions may be configured RRC. The number of repetitions per hop may be configured by RRC) for message 4 (Msg4);
determining a value for repetitions of a PUCCH including HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration information (see Yin, ¶ 0113: if the PUCCH is configured with l repetitions and inter-PUCCH frequency hopping is enabled, the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 transmits the HARQ-ACK message on the PUCCH resource with inter-PUCCH frequency hopping; ¶ 0115: he enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 also configures the number of repetitions of PUCCH resource in the time domain, in response to the transceiver receiving a second RRC message from a base station; ¶ 0116: the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 determines a number of repetitions, and then transmits a HARQ-ACK message, of up to 2 bits in length, with the determined number of repetitions, corresponding to a PDSCH; ¶ 0122: determines a number of repetitions. In Step 456 the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module transmits (or configures for transmission) a HARQ-ACK message with the determined number of repetitions, corresponding to a PDSCH) and downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI) scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see Yin, ¶ 0111: The HARQ-ACK message may be up to 2 bits in length, and the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module may schedule the PDSCH transmission using Downlink Control Indicator (DCI) scrambled with a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) different from C-RNTI; ¶ 0184), wherein in case that the configuration information provides more than one value, a 2-bit downlink assignment index in the DCI indicates the value for repetitions from the more than one value; and
transmitting, to the base station, the PUCCH based on the value for repetitions (see Yin, ¶ 0112: The enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 configures l repetitions for the PUCCH resource, where l is an integer greater than or equal to one. Then, the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 transmits the HARQ-ACK message on the PUCCH resource of adjacent k PRBs with l repetitions of continuous symbols in the time domain; ¶ 0116: the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 determines a number of repetitions, and then transmits a HARQ-ACK message, of up to 2 bits in length, with the determined number of repetitions; ¶ 0122: determines a number of repetitions. In Step 456 the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module transmits (or configures for transmission) a HARQ-ACK message with the determined number of repetitions, corresponding to a PDSCH).
Yin does not explicitly disclose wherein in case that the configuration information provides more than one value, a 2-bit downlink assignment index in the DCI indicates the value for repetitions from the more than one value.
However, Papas discloses Chen discloses wherein in case that the configuration information provides more than one value, a 2-bit downlink assignment index in the DCI indicates the value for repetitions from the more than one value (see Chen, ¶ 0212: the repetition factor is used to indicate the number of repetitions of a signal scheduled by the downlink control information, and the number of its bits may be configurable, for example, it may be configured in the range of 0 to 2 or smaller).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Chen and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve reliability of control information (see Chen, ¶ 0006).
Yin does not explicitly disclose hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for message 4 (Msg4).
However, Akkar discloses hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for message 4 (Msg4) (see Akkar, ¶ 0101: RACH messages (e.g., including ACK for message 4 (Msg4-ACK))).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above well-known teaching as taught by Akkar and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve communication network efficiency (see Akkar, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 6, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Applicant is merely claiming transmitting side of the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 1.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Chen and Akkar and further in view of US 2023/0038855 to HUANG et al. (hereafter Huang).
Regarding claim 2, Yin in view of Chen and Akkar discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein each repetition of the PUCCH has a same starting symbol and a same number of symbols.
However, Huang discloses wherein each repetition of the PUCCH has a same starting symbol and a same number of symbols (see Cozzo, ¶ 0050: each repetition of a PUCCH transmission occupies the same number of symbols as the initial transmission and uses the same starting symbol within each slot as the initial transmission (for example, as defined by a PUCCH resource configuration)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Cozzo and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve spectral efficiency communication network (see Huang, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 2.
Claim(s) 3, 8, 13, 18, and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Chen and Akkar and further in view of US 2023/0224978 to Shin et al. (hereafter Shin).
Regarding claim 3, Yin in view of Chen and Akkar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received based on higher layer signaling message that includes non-terrestrial network (NTN) related information.
However, Shin discloses wherein the configuration information is received based on higher layer signaling message that includes non-terrestrial network (NTN) related information (see Shin, ¶ 0237: a TN base station may indicate/configure system information and/or scheduling information, etc. (i.e., configuration information related to an NTN) received from an NTN base station to UEs that intend to receive additionally an NTN service through UE capability (or UEs with an ability to receive additionally an NTN service) through dedicated RRC signaling (or DCI, MAC CE, etc.)).
Thus, it will be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Shin and incorporate it into the system of Yin to achieve efficient network operation (see Shin, ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Chen and Akkar and further in view of US 2021/0112600 to LEI et al. (hereafter Lei).
Regarding claim 4, Yin in view of Chen and Akkar discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the PDSCH includes the Msg4 in case that a random access procedure is performed with the base station.
However, Lei discloses wherein the PDSCH includes the Msg4 in case that a random access procedure is performed with the base station (see Lei, ¶ 0057: The PDCCH communication may schedule a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that includes the RAR (e.g., to include some or all of the contents of msg4 of the four-step RACH procedure)).
Thus, it will be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Lei and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve communication system efficiency (see Shin, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Chen, Akkar and Shin, and further in view of US 2023/0057352 to TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI et al. (hereafter Taher).
Regarding claim 5, Yin in view of Chen, Akkar and Shin discloses the method of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: during the random access procedure, transmitting, to the base station, a message 3 (Msg3) that includes information indicating that the terminal supports PUCCH repetition of Msg4 HARQ-ACK.
However, Taher discloses during the random access procedure, transmitting, to the base station, a message 3 (Msg3) that includes information indicating that the terminal supports PUCCH repetition of Msg4 HARQ-ACK (see Taher, ¶ 0083: the request of Msg3 repetition request via PRACH may be considered as an implicit request for Msg4 PUCCH repetition, conditioned on Msg3 repetition being scheduled by the base station. The interpretation may differ based on whether Msg3 repetition is scheduled for initial Msg3 or Msg3 repetition. In some aspects, the request of Msg3 repetition request via PRACH may be considered as an implicit request for Msg4 PUCCH repetition, based on the PUCCH format. For example, the request for the PUCCH coverage enhancement may be valid for short PUCCH. In some aspects, the request of Msg3 repetition request via PRACH may be differentiated to Msg3 repetition only and Msg3 and PUCCH repetition request. Differentiation may be done by different RACH occasions or via different RACH resources. Differentiation may be done via PRACH repetition, PRACH repetition may indicate Msg3 and PUCCH repetition request. Different criteria (e.g., different thresholds on SS-RSRP) may be used for the two cases of Msg3 repetition only and Msg3 and PUCCH repetition request. Indication of Msg3 repetition only request or Msg3 and PUCCH repetition request by the UE may depend on the UE capability. For example, UEs may be capable only Msg3 repetition, while other UEs may be capable of both Msg3 repetition and Msg4 PUCCH repetition).
Thus, it will be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Taher and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve communication system efficiency (see Taher, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0313342 to Papasakellriou discloses a UE capability for a time a UE requires to cancel a configured transmission. The present disclosure also relates to adjusting a number of repetitions for a PUCCH transmission based on a number of UCI bits conveyed by the PUCCH transmission. The present disclosure additionally relates to enabling use of a different power or of a different number of repetitions for a PUCCH transmission depending on a UCI type included by the PUCCH transmission. The present disclosure also relates to dynamically indicating a number of repetitions for a PUCCH transmission. Different UCI types can also have different reception reliability requirements. For example, a reception reliability for HARQ-ACK information can be 0.1% while a reception reliability for CSI can be 5%. Therefore, for a PUCCH transmission without repetitions, a PUCCH transmission power can depend on the UCI type while, for a PUCCH transmission with repetitions, a number of repetitions can depend on the UCI type.
US 2022/0046692 to HUANG et al. discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a base station includes: transmitting, to a UE, DCI scheduling a PDSCH and indicating a PUCCH repetition factor; and receiving, from the UE, a PUCCH that includes HARQ-ACK feedback associated with the PDSCH, wherein one or more instances of the PUCCH are received across one or more uplink slots or sub-slots based at least in part on the PUCCH repetition factor indicated in the DCI.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEED GIDADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464