DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the amendment fled 06/01/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0008189 to Yin et al. (hereafter Yin) in view of US 2022/0225428 to XIONG et al. (hereafter Xiong), and further in view of US 2021/0410124 to CHEN et al. (hereafter Chen) and US 2019/0312698 to AKKARAKARAN et al. (hereafter Akkar).
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (see Yin, Fig 1, UE 102), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information on a number of repetitions for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission associated with hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (see Yin, ¶ 0014: the mobile station includes receiving circuitry configured to receive a RRC message including first information used for configuring a number of repetitions in a time domain for the PUCCH format 0; ¶ 0115: The enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 also configures the number of repetitions of PUCCH resource in the time domain, in response to the transceiver receiving a second RRC message from a base station; ¶ 0149: The number of repetitions may be configured RRC. The number of repetitions per hop may be configured by RRC) for message 4 (Msg4);
determining a value for repetitions of a PUCCH including HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration information (see Yin, ¶ 0113: if the PUCCH is configured with l repetitions and inter-PUCCH frequency hopping is enabled, the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 transmits the HARQ-ACK message on the PUCCH resource with inter-PUCCH frequency hopping; ¶ 0115: he enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 also configures the number of repetitions of PUCCH resource in the time domain, in response to the transceiver receiving a second RRC message from a base station; ¶ 0116: the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 determines a number of repetitions, and then transmits a HARQ-ACK message, of up to 2 bits in length, with the determined number of repetitions, corresponding to a PDSCH; ¶ 0122: determines a number of repetitions. In Step 456 the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module transmits (or configures for transmission) a HARQ-ACK message with the determined number of repetitions, corresponding to a PDSCH) and downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI) scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see Yin, ¶ 0111: The HARQ-ACK message may be up to 2 bits in length, and the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module may schedule the PDSCH transmission using Downlink Control Indicator (DCI) scrambled with a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) different from C-RNTI; ¶ 0184), wherein in case that the configuration information provides more than one value, a 2-bit downlink assignment index in the DCI indicates the value for repetitions from the more than one value; and
transmitting, to the base station, the PUCCH based on the value for repetitions (see Yin, ¶ 0112: The enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 configures l repetitions for the PUCCH resource, where l is an integer greater than or equal to one. Then, the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 transmits the HARQ-ACK message on the PUCCH resource of adjacent k PRBs with l repetitions of continuous symbols in the time domain; ¶ 0116: the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module 127 determines a number of repetitions, and then transmits a HARQ-ACK message, of up to 2 bits in length, with the determined number of repetitions; ¶ 0122: determines a number of repetitions. In Step 456 the enhanced PUCCH format 0 module transmits (or configures for transmission) a HARQ-ACK message with the determined number of repetitions, corresponding to a PDSCH).
Yin does not explicitly disclose “wherein the TC-RNTI is used by a medium access control (MAC) entity of the terminal during a random access procedure”.
However, Xiong discloses downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI) scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see Xiong, ¶ 0059: In response to a PUSCH transmission scheduled by a RAR UL grant when the UE 101 has not been provided a C-RNTI, the UE 101 attempts to detect a DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by a corresponding TC-RNTI scheduling a PDSCH that includes a UE contention resolution identity (see, e.g., 3GPP TS 38.321). In response to the PDSCH reception with the UE contention resolution identity, the UE 101 transmits HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH),
wherein the TC-RNTI is used by a medium access control (MAC) entity of the terminal during a random access procedure (see Xiong, ¶ 0156: In some implementations, the RAR can include a Temporary C-RNTI field indicates the temporary identity that is used by the MAC entity during a random access procedure),
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of wherein the TC-RNTI is used by a medium access control (MAC) entity of the terminal during a random access procedure as taught by Xiong and incorporate it into the system of Yin to achieved improved random access procedures in the wireless communication network (see Xiong, ¶ 0004).
Yin does not explicitly disclose wherein in case that the configuration information provides more than one value, a 2-bit downlink assignment index in the DCI indicates the value for repetitions from the more than one value.
However, Papas discloses Chen discloses wherein in case that the configuration information provides more than one value, a 2-bit downlink assignment index in the DCI indicates the value for repetitions from the more than one value (see Chen, ¶ 0212: the repetition factor is used to indicate the number of repetitions of a signal scheduled by the downlink control information, and the number of its bits may be configurable, for example, it may be configured in the range of 0 to 2 or smaller).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Chen and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve reliability of control information (see Chen, ¶ 0006).
Yin does not explicitly disclose hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for message 4 (Msg4).
However, Akkar discloses hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for message 4 (Msg4) (see Akkar, ¶ 0101: RACH messages (e.g., including ACK for message 4 (Msg4-ACK))).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above well-known teaching as taught by Akkar and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve communication network efficiency (see Akkar, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 6, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Applicant is merely claiming transmitting side of the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 1.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Xiong, Chen, and Akkar and further in view of US 2023/0038855 to HUANG et al. (hereafter Huang).
Regarding claim 2, Yin in view of Xiong, Chen and Akkar discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein each repetition of the PUCCH has a same starting symbol and a same number of symbols.
However, Huang discloses wherein each repetition of the PUCCH has a same starting symbol and a same number of symbols (see Cozzo, ¶ 0050: each repetition of a PUCCH transmission occupies the same number of symbols as the initial transmission and uses the same starting symbol within each slot as the initial transmission (for example, as defined by a PUCCH resource configuration)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Cozzo and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve spectral efficiency communication network (see Huang, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 2.
Claim(s) 3, 8, 13, 18, and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Xiong, Chen and Akkar and further in view of US 2023/0224978 to Shin et al. (hereafter Shin).
Regarding claim 3, Yin in view of Xiong, Chen and Akkar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received based on higher layer signaling message that includes non-terrestrial network (NTN) related information.
However, Shin discloses wherein the configuration information is received based on higher layer signaling message that includes non-terrestrial network (NTN) related information (see Shin, ¶ 0237: a TN base station may indicate/configure system information and/or scheduling information, etc. (i.e., configuration information related to an NTN) received from an NTN base station to UEs that intend to receive additionally an NTN service through UE capability (or UEs with an ability to receive additionally an NTN service) through dedicated RRC signaling (or DCI, MAC CE, etc.)).
Thus, it will be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Shin and incorporate it into the system of Yin to achieve efficient network operation (see Shin, ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Xiong, Chen and Akkar and further in view of US 2021/0112600 to LEI et al. (hereafter Lei).
Regarding claim 4, Yin in view of Xiong, Chen and Akkar discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the PDSCH includes the Msg4.
However, Lei discloses wherein the PDSCH includes the Msg4 (see Lei, ¶ 0057: The PDCCH communication may schedule a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that includes the RAR (e.g., to include some or all of the contents of msg4 of the four-step RACH procedure)).
Thus, it will be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Lei and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve communication system efficiency (see Shin, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Xiong, Chen, Akkar and Shin, and further in view of US 2023/0057352 to TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI et al. (hereafter Taher).
Regarding claim 5, Yin in view of Xiong, Chen, Akkar and Shin discloses the method of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: during the random access procedure, transmitting, to the base station, a message 3 (Msg3) that includes information indicating that the terminal supports PUCCH repetition of Msg4 HARQ-ACK.
However, Taher discloses during the random access procedure, transmitting, to the base station, a message 3 (Msg3) that includes information indicating that the terminal supports PUCCH repetition of Msg4 HARQ-ACK (see Taher, ¶ 0083: the request of Msg3 repetition request via PRACH may be considered as an implicit request for Msg4 PUCCH repetition, conditioned on Msg3 repetition being scheduled by the base station. The interpretation may differ based on whether Msg3 repetition is scheduled for initial Msg3 or Msg3 repetition. In some aspects, the request of Msg3 repetition request via PRACH may be considered as an implicit request for Msg4 PUCCH repetition, based on the PUCCH format. For example, the request for the PUCCH coverage enhancement may be valid for short PUCCH. In some aspects, the request of Msg3 repetition request via PRACH may be differentiated to Msg3 repetition only and Msg3 and PUCCH repetition request. Differentiation may be done by different RACH occasions or via different RACH resources. Differentiation may be done via PRACH repetition, PRACH repetition may indicate Msg3 and PUCCH repetition request. Different criteria (e.g., different thresholds on SS-RSRP) may be used for the two cases of Msg3 repetition only and Msg3 and PUCCH repetition request. Indication of Msg3 repetition only request or Msg3 and PUCCH repetition request by the UE may depend on the UE capability. For example, UEs may be capable only Msg3 repetition, while other UEs may be capable of both Msg3 repetition and Msg4 PUCCH repetition).
Thus, it will be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Taher and incorporate it into the system of Yin to improve communication system efficiency (see Taher, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetition of the subject matter of claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0274538 to LIU et al. discloses in a case that the random access preamble is selected from the range of the contention-based random access preambles by the MAC entity, the MAC entity sets TEMPORARY_C-RNTI to a value of Temporary C-RNTI field included in the received random access response. Subsequently, in a case that the random access response has successfully been received for the first time in the random access procedure, and in a case that no transmission has been performed for common control channel (CCCH) logical channel, the MAC entity notifies a inclusion of C-RNTI MAC CE in the next uplink transmission to a predetermined entity (Multiplexing and assembly entity), acquires MAC PDU for transmission from the predetermined entity (Multiplexing and assembly entity), and stores the acquired MAC PDU in the Msg3 buffer.
US 2022/0369421 to Zhou et al. discloses the MAC entity may continue with the ongoing Random Access procedure on the active BWP, for example if the MAC decides to ignore the PDCCH for the BWP switching. A wireless device may perform the BWP switching to a BWP indicated by the PDCCH, for example, if a MAC entity receives a PDCCH for a BWP switching addressed to a C-RNTI for a successful completion of a Random Access procedure.
/RASHEED GIDADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464