Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
04/10/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,3-6,8-11,13-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification fails to provide written description for the claim limitation “based on whether the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE after the expiry of the pre-determined period.”
In particular, while the specification describes storing information of a selected SMF for a certain period of time and selecting the same SMF for another UE based on corresponding S-NSSAI, DNN, and UE location information during use of the stored information, the specification does not describe comparing the location information of a first UE and a second UE after expiration of the predetermined period, nor selecting the SMF entity based on such a comparison after the period has expired.
Accordingly, the limitation “after the expiry of the pre-determined period” constitutes new matter not originally disclosed in the specification.
For rejection purposes, the examiner interprets the limitation as requiring that, after the predetermined period has expired, the AMF determines whether the location information of the first UE and the second UE is identical and selects the SMF entity based on that determination, an arrangement that is neither expressly disclosed nor inherently supported by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-6,8-11,13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cogalan et al. (US 2025/0175883 A1; hereinafter "Cogalan"), in view of LI et al. (US 2018/0192471 A1; hereinafter “LI”), and further in view of So (US 2020/0015158 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cogalan teaches a method (FIG. 5A) performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 5A network 50), the method comprising:
receiving, from a unified data management (UDM) entity (FIG. 5A UDM 54), a session management function (SMF) selection subscription data for at least one user equipment (UE) (FIG. 5A; [0119] a UE's slice subscription information, [0120] In case the AMF 53 queried the UDM 54 in step S504, the UDM 54 sends a response including requested information in step S506),
wherein the SMF selection subscription data includes first information indicating that the at least one UE supports a multi-modality service for a network slice ([0090] a UE collaborates to conduct a multi-modality service and uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0091] Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)-based and application function (AF)-based coordination among multiple UE devices using multi-modality service identification information), and second information indicating that the network slice is dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0093] a multi-model service ID (MMID) is used to identify network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby defining network slices specifically associated with the multi-modality service), and third information indicating that the network slice supports the multi-modality service ([0090] a UE collaborates to conduct a multi-modality service and uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0093] a multi-modal service ID (MMID) identifies network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby indicating that the identified network slices support the multi-modality service); receiving, from the at least one UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message including slice information for the network slice dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0148] the UE sends a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT/MODIFICATION REQEUST, [0149] The UE may request network slices that are part of a collaborative AI group, [0150] the network configures a “Collaborative AI” slice (SST/SD pair), which includes establishing PDU sessions for collaborative AI slice, [0104] the requested S-NSSAI indicates that the S-NSSAI is part of a specific multi-modal service).
However, Cogalan does not teach selecting an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE; storing mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the selected SMF entity, for a pre-determined period; and selecting the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, based on the stored mapping information before an expiry of the pre-determined period, and based on whether the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE.
In an analogous art, LI teaches selecting an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE (FIG. 30 steps 3002 and 3008; [0635] discloses that the AMF detects a UE mobility event corresponding to location information of the UE, [0640] discloses that, in response to the UE mobility event, the AMF sends a notification to the SMF, and the SMF deactivates or releases the PDU session associated with the application, thereby evidencing selection and operation of the SMF entity for the UE): and
selecting the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, based on whether the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE ([0329]-[0330] disclose identifying a group of UEs within a certain geographic area using a zone identifier mapped to the geographic area, [0342] applying traffic routing based on a spatial validity check of the location of UE(s), [0638]-[0641] disclose triggering PDU session establishment or resumption through the SMF when the UE enters the target local DN, while preserving the associated application/session context).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the system of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
However, the combination of Cogalan and LI does not teach storing mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the selected SMF entity, for a pre-determined period; selecting the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, based on the stored mapping information before an expiry of the pre-determined period.
In an analogous art, So teaches storing mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the selected SMF entity, for a pre-determined period ([0166] stores a mapping between mobility functions and core network slice instances, [0175] stores a mapping between access and mobility functions and network slice instances and performs slice-level mapping using operational parameters including UE location, [0128] the serving AMF queries the serving NRF to discover and select a proper SMF for the data session);
selecting the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, based on the stored mapping information before an expiry of the pre-determined period ([0175] stores a mapping between mobility functions and network slice instances and performs slice-level mapping using operational parameters including UE location and a time window, [0128] the serving AMF selects a proper SMF for a data session, [0144]-[0146] the AMF selects an SMF based on the requested S-NSSAI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by So within the system of Cogalan and LI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable more efficient logical network for enhanced 5g network system (So [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein the slice information includes single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) ([0092] A network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI. The applications are identified by a combination of DNN and S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically LI teaches wherein the slice information includes at least one of a cell identity ([0122] discloses a location information including a Cell ID, [0173] discloses a corresponding cell ID as the UE location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the system of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein information on the selected SMF entity is registered to a network repository function (NRF) entity for the multi-modality service (FIG. 5 step 5B S508 and FIG. 5 step 5C S524/S526; [0128] the NSSF 55 sends a NF discovery request message to the NRF 58 in order to determine the list of candidate AMF(s) that can serve the requested S-NSSAI(s) for the multi-modality service).
Regarding claim 6, Cogalan teaches a method (FIG. 5A) performed by a unified data management (UDM) entity (FIG. 5A UDM 54) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 5A network 50), the method comprising:
receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53), a message for requesting subscription information for at least one user equipment (UE) (FIG. 5A step S504; [0119] the AMF 53 queries the UDM 54 for this information by sending a message); and
transmitting, to the AMF entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53), a session management function (SMF) selection subscription data for the at least one UE (FIG. 5A; [0119] a UE's slice subscription information, [0120] In case the AMF 53 queried the UDM 54 in step S504, the UDM 54 sends a response including requested information in step S506),
the SMF selection subscription data including first information indicating that the at least one UE supports a multi-modality service for a network slice ([0090] collaborate to conduct a multi-modality service, where a UE uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0091] Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)-based and application function (AF)-based coordination among multiple UE devices using multi-modality service identification information), second information indicating that the network slice is dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0093] a multi-model service ID (MMID) is used to identify network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby defining network slices specifically associated with the multi-modality service), and third information indicating that the network slice supports the multi-modality service ([0090] a UE collaborates to conduct a multi-modality service and uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0093] a multi-modal service ID (MMID) identifies network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby indicating that the identified network slices support the multi-modality service),
wherein a protocol data unit (PDU) session with an SMF entity is established for the at least one UE based on slice information for the network slice dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0148] the UE sends a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT/MODIFICATION REQEUST, [0149] The UE may request network slices that are part of a collaborative AI group, [0150] the network configures a “Collaborative AI” slice (SST/SD pair), which includes establishing PDU sessions for collaborative AI slice, [0104] the requested S-NSSAI indicates that the S-NSSAI is part of a specific multi-modal service).
However, Cogalan does not teach the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data, location information of the at least one UE, and mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the SMF entity.
In an analogous art, LI teaches the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE (FIG. 30 steps 3002, 3008 and 3012; [0635] the AMF detects a UE mobility event corresponding to location information of the UE, [0338] application and subscription-related information provided by the AF is used to influence UP path selection decisions within the core network, [0640] in response to the UE mobility event, the AMF sends a notification to the SMF, and the SMF deactivates or releases the PDU session associated with the application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the system of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
However, the combination of Cogalan and LI does not teach mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the SMF entity.
In an analogous art, So teaches mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the SMF entity ([0166] stores a mapping between mobility functions and core network slice instances, [0175] stores a mapping between access and mobility functions and network slice instances and performs slice-level mapping using operational parameters including UE location, [0128] the serving AMF queries the serving NRF to discover and select a proper SMF for the data session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by So within the system of Cogalan and LI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable more efficient logical network for enhanced 5g network system (So [0044]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein the slice information includes single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) ([0092] A network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI. The applications are identified by a combination of DNN and S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically LI teaches wherein the slice information includes at least one of a cell identity ([0122] discloses a location information including a Cell ID, [0173] discloses a corresponding cell ID as the UE location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the system of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein information on the selected SMF entity is registered to a network repository function (NRF) entity for the multi-modality service (FIG. 5 step 5B S508 and FIG. 5 step 5C S524/S526; [0128] the NSSF 55 sends a NF discovery request message to the NRF 58 in order to determine the list of candidate AMF(s) that can serve the requested S-NSSAI(s) for the multi-modality service).
Regarding claim 11, Cogalan teaches an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 5A network 50), the AMF entity comprising:
at least one processor ([0003] processor); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually ([0003] memory storing processor-executable program instructions and at least one hardware processor configured to execute the program instruction) or in any combination to cause the AMF entity to:
receive, from a unified data management (UDM) entity, a session management function (SMF) selection subscription data for at least one user equipment (UE) (FIG. 5A; [0119] a UE's slice subscription information, [0120] In case the AMF 53 queried the UDM 54 in step S504, the UDM 54 sends a response including requested information in step S506), wherein the SMF selection subscription data includes first information indicating that the at least one UE supports a multi-modality service for a network slice ([0090] collaborate to conduct a multi-modality service, where a UE uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0091] Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)-based and application function (AF)-based coordination among multiple UE devices using multi-modality service identification information), second information indicating that the network slice is dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0093] a multi-model service ID (MMID) is used to identify network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby defining network slices specifically associated with the multi-modality service) and third information indicating that the network slice supports the multi-modality service ([0090] a UE collaborates to conduct a multi-modality service and uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0093] a multi-modal service ID (MMID) identifies network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby indicating that the identified network slices support the multi-modality service); receive, from the at least one UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message including slice information for the network slice dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0148] the UE sends a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT/MODIFICATION REQEUST, [0149] The UE may request network slices that are part of a collaborative AI group, [0150] the network configures a “Collaborative AI” slice (SST/SD pair), which includes establishing PDU sessions for collaborative AI slice, [0104] the requested S-NSSAI indicates that the S-NSSAI is part of a specific multi-modal service).
However, Cogalan does not teach select an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE, store mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the selected SMF entity, for a pre-determined period, and select the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, based on the stored mapping information before an expiry of the pre-determined period, and based on whether the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE.
In an analogous art, LI teaches select an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE (FIG. 30 steps 3002 and 3008; [0635] discloses that the AMF detects a UE mobility event corresponding to location information of the UE, [0640] discloses that, in response to the UE mobility event, the AMF sends a notification to the SMF, and the SMF deactivates or releases the PDU session associated with the application, thereby evidencing selection and operation of the SMF entity for the UE),
select the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, based on whether the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE ([0329]-[0330] disclose identifying a group of UEs within a certain geographic area using a zone identifier mapped to the geographic area, [0342] applying traffic routing based on a spatial validity check of the location of UE(s), [0638]-[0641] disclose triggering PDU session establishment or resumption through the SMF when the UE enters the target local DN, while preserving the associated application/session context).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the system of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
However, the combination of Cogalan and LI does not teach store mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the selected SMF entity, for a pre-determined period, and select the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, based on the stored mapping information before an expiry of the pre-determined period.
In an analogous art, So teaches store mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the selected SMF entity, for a pre-determined period ([0166] stores a mapping between mobility functions and core network slice instances, [0175] stores a mapping between access and mobility functions and network slice instances and performs slice-level mapping using operational parameters including UE location, [0128] the serving AMF queries the serving NRF to discover and select a proper SMF for the data session), and
select the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, based on the stored mapping information before an expiry of the pre-determined period ([0175] stores a mapping between mobility functions and network slice instances and performs slice-level mapping using operational parameters including UE location and a time window, [0128] the serving AMF selects a proper SMF for a data session, [0144]-[0146] the AMF selects an SMF based on the requested S-NSSAI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by So within the system of Cogalan and LI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable more efficient logical network for enhanced 5g network system (So [0044]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein the slice information includes single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) ([0092] A network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI. The applications are identified by a combination of DNN and S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically LI teaches wherein the slice information includes at least one of a cell identity ([0122] discloses a location information including a Cell ID, [0173] discloses a corresponding cell ID as the UE location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the system of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein information on the selected SMF entity is registered to a network repository function (NRF) entity for the multi-modality service (FIG. 5 step 5B S508 and FIG. 5 step 5C S524/S526; [0128] the NSSF 55 sends a NF discovery request message to the NRF 58 in order to determine the list of candidate AMF(s) that can serve the requested S-NSSAI(s) for the multi-modality service).
Regarding claim 16, Cogalan teaches a unified data management (UDM) entity (FIG. 5A UDM 54) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 5A network 50), the UDM entity comprising:
at least one processor ([0003] processor); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually ([0003] memory storing processor-executable program instructions and at least one hardware processor configured to execute the program instruction) or in any combination to cause the UDM entity to:
receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53), a message for requesting subscription information for at least one user equipment (UE) (FIG. 5A step S504; [0119] the AMF 53 queries the UDM 54 for this information by sending a message), and
transmit, to the AMF entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53), a session management function (SMF) selection subscription data for the at least one UE (FIG. 5A; [0119] a UE's slice subscription information, [0120] In case the AMF 53 queried the UDM 54 in step S504, the UDM 54 sends a response including requested information in step S506), the SMF selection subscription data including first information indicating that the at least one UE supports a multi-modality service for a network slice ([0090] collaborate to conduct a multi-modality service, where a UE uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0091] Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)-based and application function (AF)-based coordination among multiple UE devices using multi-modality service identification information), second information indicating that the network slice is dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0093] a multi-model service ID (MMID) is used to identify network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby defining network slices specifically associated with the multi-modality service), and third information indicating that the network slice supports the multi-modality service ([0090] a UE collaborates to conduct a multi-modality service and uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0093] a multi-modal service ID (MMID) identifies network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby indicating that the identified network slices support the multi-modality service), wherein a protocol data unit (PDU) session with an SMF entity is established for the at least one UE based on slice information for the network slice dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0148] the UE sends a PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT/MODIFICATION REQEUST, [0149] The UE may request network slices that are part of a collaborative AI group, [0150] the network configures a “Collaborative AI” slice (SST/SD pair), which includes establishing PDU sessions for collaborative AI slice, [0104] the requested S-NSSAI indicates that the S-NSSAI is part of a specific multi-modal service).
However, Cogalan does not teach the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE, and mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the SMF entity.
In an analogous art, LI teaches the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE (FIG. 30 steps 3002, 3008 and 3012; [0635] the AMF detects a UE mobility event corresponding to location information of the UE, [0338] application and subscription-related information provided by the AF is used to influence UP path selection decisions within the core network, [0640] in response to the UE mobility event, the AMF sends a notification to the SMF, and the SMF deactivates or releases the PDU session associated with the application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the system of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
However, the combination of Cogalan and LI does not teach mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the SMF entity.
In an analogous art, So teaches mapping information related with the slice information, the location information, and the SMF entity ([0166] stores a mapping between mobility functions and core network slice instances, [0175] stores a mapping between access and mobility functions and network slice instances and performs slice-level mapping using operational parameters including UE location, [0128] the serving AMF queries the serving NRF to discover and select a proper SMF for the data session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by So within the system of Cogalan and LI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable more efficient logical network for enhanced 5g network system (So [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein the slice information includes single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) ([0092] A network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI. The applications are identified by a combination of DNN and S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically LI teaches wherein the slice information includes at least one of a cell identity ([0122] discloses a location information including a Cell ID, [0173] discloses a corresponding cell ID as the UE location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the system of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cogalan, LI and So, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein information on the selected SMF entity is registered to a network repository function (NRF) entity for the multi-modality service (FIG. 5 step 5B S508 and FIG. 5 step 5C S524/S526; [0128] the NSSF 55 sends a NF discovery request message to the NRF 58 in order to determine the list of candidate AMF(s) that can serve the requested S-NSSAI(s) for the multi-modality service).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0306939 A1 (ZHANG et al.) discloses wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) involving multiple slices.
US 2024/0015599 A1 (Gundavelli et al.) discloses techniques to facilitate providing slice attribute information to a user equipment (UE) for one or more slice types with which the user equipment is allowed to establish one or more session(s).
US 2025/0113216 A1 (Foti et al.) discloses Network Slice Admission Control (NSAC) in a cellular communications system.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413