Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,3-6,8-11,13-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-6,8-11,13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cogalan et al. (US 2025/0175883 A1; hereinafter "Cogalan"), in view of ISHII (US 2025/0071669 A1), and further in view of LI et al. (US 2018/0192471 A1; hereinafter “LI”).
Regarding claim 1, Cogalan teaches a method (FIG. 5A) performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 5A network 50), the method comprising:
receiving, from a unified data management (UDM) entity (FIG. 5A UDM 54), a session management function (SMF) selection subscription data for at least one user equipment (UE) (FIG. 5A; [0119] a UE's slice subscription information, [0120] In case the AMF 53 queried the UDM 54 in step S504, the UDM 54 sends a response including requested information in step S506),
wherein the SMF selection subscription data includes first information indicating that the at least one UE supports a multi-modality service for a network slice ([0090] a UE collaborates to conduct a multi-modality service and uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0091] Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)-based and application function (AF)-based coordination among multiple UE devices using multi-modality service identification information), and second information indicating that the network slice is dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0093] a multi-model service ID (MMID) is used to identify network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby defining network slices specifically associated with the multi-modality service);
However, Cogalan does not teach receiving, from the at least one UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message including slice information for the network slice; selecting an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE: and selecting the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, if the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE.
In an analogous art, ISHII teaches receiving, from the at least one UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message including slice information for the network slice (FIG. 65 act 65-12; [0577] the wireless terminal performs the PDU session establishment with the AMF for the network slice with S-NSSAI=c, [0351] the wireless terminal initiates a PDU session establishment procedure to establish with a core network, a PDU session for the at least one network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session establishment as taught by ISHII within the parameters of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance resource selection in a sliced network by improving resource utilization in a communications system (ISHII [0088]).
However, the combination of Cogalan and ISHII does not teach selecting an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE: and selecting the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, if the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE.
In an analogous art, LI teaches selecting an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE (FIG. 30 steps 3002 and 3008; [0635] discloses that the AMF detects a UE mobility event corresponding to location information of the UE, [0640] discloses that, in response to the UE mobility event, the AMF sends a notification to the SMF, and the SMF deactivates or releases the PDU session associated with the application, thereby evidencing selection and operation of the SMF entity for the UE): and
selecting the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE, if the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE (FIG. 30 steps 3006, 3008 and 3012; [0638]-[0641] disclose that application context is transferred and preserved for UEs entering the same target local DN, and that a request is sent to the SMF to trigger PDU session establishment or resumption, thereby evidencing selection of the same entity for UEs located in the same location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the parameter of Cogalan and ISHII. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein the slice information includes single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) ([0092] A network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI. The applications are identified by a combination of DNN and S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically ISHII teaches wherein the slice information includes at least one of a cell identity ([0450] a specific network slice to assign a priority value of attributes such as cell ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a network slice establishment as taught by ISHII within the parameters of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance resource selection in a sliced network by improving resource utilization in a communications system (ISHII [0088]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein information on the selected SMF entity is registered to a network repository function (NRF) entity for the multi-modality service (FIG. 5 step 5B S508 and FIG. 5 step 5C S524/S526; [0128] the NSSF 55 sends a NF discovery request message to the NRF 58 in order to determine the list of candidate AMF(s) that can serve the requested S-NSSAI(s) for the multi-modality service).
Regarding claim 6, Cogalan teaches a method (FIG. 5A) performed by a unified data management (UDM) entity (FIG. 5A UDM 54) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 5A network 50), the method comprising:
receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53), a message for requesting subscription information for at least one user equipment (UE) (FIG. 5A step S504; [0119] the AMF 53 queries the UDM 54 for this information by sending a message); and
transmitting, to the AMF entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53), a session management function (SMF) selection subscription data for the at least one UE (FIG. 5A; [0119] a UE's slice subscription information, [0120] In case the AMF 53 queried the UDM 54 in step S504, the UDM 54 sends a response including requested information in step S506),
the SMF selection subscription data including first information indicating that the at least one UE supports a multi-modality service for a network slice ([0090] collaborate to conduct a multi-modality service, where a UE uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0091] Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)-based and application function (AF)-based coordination among multiple UE devices using multi-modality service identification information), and second information indicating that the network slice is dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0093] a multi-model service ID (MMID) is used to identify network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby defining network slices specifically associated with the multi-modality service).
However, Cogalan does not teach wherein a protocol data unit (PDU) session with an SMF entity is established for the at least one UE based on slice information for the network slice, and the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE.
In an analogous art, ISHII teaches wherein a protocol data unit (PDU) session with an SMF entity is established for the at least one UE based on slice information for the network slice ([0577] the wireless terminal performs the PDU session establishment with the AMF for the network slice with S-NSSAI=c, [0351] the wireless terminal initiates a PDU session establishment procedure to establish with a core network, a PDU session for the at least one network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session establishment as taught by ISHII within the parameters of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance resource selection in a sliced network by improving resource utilization in a communications system (ISHII [0088]).
However, the combination of Cogalan and ISHII does not teach the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE.
In an analogous art, LI teaches the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE (FIG. 30 steps 3002, 3008 and 3012; [0635] the AMF detects a UE mobility event corresponding to location information of the UE, [0338] application and subscription-related information provided by the AF is used to influence UP path selection decisions within the core network, [0640] in response to the UE mobility event, the AMF sends a notification to the SMF, and the SMF deactivates or releases the PDU session associated with the application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the parameter of Cogalan and ISHII. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein the slice information includes single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) ([0092] A network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI. The applications are identified by a combination of DNN and S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically ISHII teaches wherein the slice information includes at least one of a cell identity ([0450] a specific network slice to assign a priority value of attributes such as cell ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a network slice establishment as taught by ISHII within the parameters of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance resource selection in a sliced network by improving resource utilization in a communications system (ISHII [0088]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein information on the selected SMF entity is registered to a network repository function (NRF) entity for the multi-modality service (FIG. 5 step 5B S508 and FIG. 5 step 5C S524/S526; [0128] the NSSF 55 sends a NF discovery request message to the NRF 58 in order to determine the list of candidate AMF(s) that can serve the requested S-NSSAI(s) for the multi-modality service).
Regarding claim 11, Cogalan teaches an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 5A network 50), the AMF entity comprising:
at least one processor ([0003] processor); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually ([0003] memory storing processor-executable program instructions and at least one hardware processor configured to execute the program instruction) or in any combination to cause the AMF entity to:
receive, from a unified data management (UDM) entity, a session management function (SMF) selection subscription data for at least one user equipment (UE) (FIG. 5A; [0119] a UE's slice subscription information, [0120] In case the AMF 53 queried the UDM 54 in step S504, the UDM 54 sends a response including requested information in step S506), wherein the SMF selection subscription data includes first information indicating that the at least one UE supports a multi-modality service for a network slice ([0090] collaborate to conduct a multi-modality service, where a UE uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0091] Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)-based and application function (AF)-based coordination among multiple UE devices using multi-modality service identification information), and second information indicating that the network slice is dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0093] a multi-model service ID (MMID) is used to identify network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby defining network slices specifically associated with the multi-modality service).
However, Cogalan does not teach receive, from the at least one UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message including slice information for the network slice; select an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE, and select the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE if the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE.
In an analogous art, ISHII teaches receive, from the at least one UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message including slice information for the network slice (FIG. 65 act 65-12; [0577] the wireless terminal performs the PDU session establishment with the AMF for the network slice with S-NSSAI=c, [0351] the wireless terminal initiates a PDU session establishment procedure to establish with a core network, a PDU session for the at least one network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session establishment as taught by ISHII within the parameters of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance resource selection in a sliced network by improving resource utilization in a communications system (ISHII [0088]).
However, the combination of Cogalan and ISHII does not teach select an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE, and select the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE if the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE.
In an analogous art, LI teaches select an SMF entity among at least one SMF entity for a first UE among the at least one UE, based on the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the first UE (FIG. 30 steps 3002 and 3008; [0635] discloses that the AMF detects a UE mobility event corresponding to location information of the UE, [0640] discloses that, in response to the UE mobility event, the AMF sends a notification to the SMF, and the SMF deactivates or releases the PDU session associated with the application, thereby evidencing selection and operation of the SMF entity for the UE), and
select the SMF entity for a second UE among the at least one UE if the location information of the first UE is identical to location information of the second UE (FIG. 30 steps 3006, 3008 and 3012; [0638]-[0641] disclose that application context is transferred and preserved for UEs entering the same target local DN, and that a request is sent to the SMF to trigger PDU session establishment or resumption, thereby evidencing selection of the same entity for UEs located in the same location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the parameter of Cogalan and ISHII. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein the slice information includes single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) ([0092] A network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI. The applications are identified by a combination of DNN and S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically ISHII teaches wherein the slice information includes at least one of a cell identity ([0450] a specific network slice to assign a priority value of attributes such as cell ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a network slice establishment as taught by ISHII within the parameters of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance resource selection in a sliced network by improving resource utilization in a communications system (ISHII [0088]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein information on the selected SMF entity is registered to a network repository function (NRF) entity for the multi-modality service (FIG. 5 step 5B S508 and FIG. 5 step 5C S524/S526; [0128] the NSSF 55 sends a NF discovery request message to the NRF 58 in order to determine the list of candidate AMF(s) that can serve the requested S-NSSAI(s) for the multi-modality service).
Regarding claim 16, Cogalan teaches a unified data management (UDM) entity (FIG. 5A UDM 54) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 5A network 50), the UDM entity comprising:
at least one processor ([0003] processor); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually ([0003] memory storing processor-executable program instructions and at least one hardware processor configured to execute the program instruction) or in any combination to cause the UDM entity to:
receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53), a message for requesting subscription information for at least one user equipment (UE) (FIG. 5A step S504; [0119] the AMF 53 queries the UDM 54 for this information by sending a message), and
transmit, to the AMF entity (FIG. 5A AMF 53), a session management function (SMF) selection subscription data for the at least one UE (FIG. 5A; [0119] a UE's slice subscription information, [0120] In case the AMF 53 queried the UDM 54 in step S504, the UDM 54 sends a response including requested information in step S506), the SMF selection subscription data including first information indicating that the at least one UE supports a multi-modality service for a network slice ([0090] collaborate to conduct a multi-modality service, where a UE uses multiple network slices simultaneously, [0091] Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)-based and application function (AF)-based coordination among multiple UE devices using multi-modality service identification information), and second information indicating that the network slice is dedicated for the multi-modality service ([0093] a multi-model service ID (MMID) is used to identify network slices involved in a compound E2E multi-modality service, thereby defining network slices specifically associated with the multi-modality service).
However, Cogalan does not teach wherein a protocol data unit (PDU) session with an SMF entity is established for the at least one UE based on slice information for the network slice, and the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE.
In an analogous art, ISHII teaches wherein a protocol data unit (PDU) session with an SMF entity is established for the at least one UE based on slice information for the network slice ([0577] the wireless terminal performs the PDU session establishment with the AMF for the network slice with S-NSSAI=c, [0351] the wireless terminal initiates a PDU session establishment procedure to establish with a core network, a PDU session for the at least one network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session establishment as taught by ISHII within the parameters of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance resource selection in a sliced network by improving resource utilization in a communications system (ISHII [0088]).
However, the combination of Cogalan and ISHII does not teach the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE.
In an analogous art, LI teaches the SMF entity corresponds to the SMF selection subscription data and location information of the at least one UE (FIG. 30 steps 3002, 3008 and 3012; [0635] the AMF detects a UE mobility event corresponding to location information of the UE, [0338] application and subscription-related information provided by the AF is used to influence UP path selection decisions within the core network, [0640] in response to the UE mobility event, the AMF sends a notification to the SMF, and the SMF deactivates or releases the PDU session associated with the application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SMF as taught by LI within the parameter of Cogalan and ISHII. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve path efficiency by reducing end-to-end latency for traffic (LI [0145]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein the slice information includes single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) ([0092] A network slice is identified by an S-NSSAI. The applications are identified by a combination of DNN and S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically ISHII teaches wherein the slice information includes at least one of a cell identity ([0450] a specific network slice to assign a priority value of attributes such as cell ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a network slice establishment as taught by ISHII within the parameters of Cogalan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance resource selection in a sliced network by improving resource utilization in a communications system (ISHII [0088]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cogalan, ISHII and LI, specifically Cogalan teaches wherein information on the selected SMF entity is registered to a network repository function (NRF) entity for the multi-modality service (FIG. 5 step 5B S508 and FIG. 5 step 5C S524/S526; [0128] the NSSF 55 sends a NF discovery request message to the NRF 58 in order to determine the list of candidate AMF(s) that can serve the requested S-NSSAI(s) for the multi-modality service).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2023/0171598 A1 (Normann et al.) discloses secondary or slice-specific access control in such a network.
US 2024/0022906 A1 (SO) discloses a method of wireless communication of a network element is provided.
US 2024/0187863 A1 (Atarius et al.) discloses methods are disclosed for policies related to non-public networks.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413