DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 07, July 01, September 12, 2024 and February 13, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I corresponding to claims 1-13 and 15-25 in the reply filed on February 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14 and 26-30 have been canceled. New claims 31-36 have been added. Claims 1-13, 15-25 and 31-36 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 15, 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2019/0123864, “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a source node (FIGs. 18A-18B, NR-Node 1802), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory ([0308]), the at least one processor, is configured to cause the source node to:
receive a user equipment (UE) request for an on-demand allocation of mobility measurement resources or mobility reporting resources for a UE ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request”); and
provide a configuration, allocation, or activation for the mobility measurement resources or the mobility reporting resources in response to the UE request ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0111] “In an example, a reference signal configuration includes time and frequency resources for a reference signals. Example time resources associated with the reference signal may include at least one of a start time at which the reference signal is allocated, a number of time intervals during which the reference signal is allocated, a time pattern at which the reference signal is allocated, an indication of whether the reference signal is periodic, or the like”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to receive the UE request, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the source node to receive the UE request via the transceiver ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0179] “the illustrated eNB 2802, and generally any eNB referred to herein, may be implemented alternatively by an eNB-like entity (e.g., NR node, TRP, RRH, etc.), an apparatus that is part of a radio access network” [0293] “The RAN 104 may include eNode-Bs 160a, 160b, 160c, though it will be appreciated that the RAN 104 may include any number of eNode-Bs while remaining consistent with an embodiment. The eNode-Bs 160a, 160b, 160c may each include one or more transceivers for communicating with the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c over the air interface 116.” [0259] “the base station 114a may employ multiple-input multiple output (MIMO) technology and, therefore, may utilize multiple transceivers for each sector of the cell”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (FIGs. 18A-18B, UE2), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor ([0271]), is configured to cause the UE to:
transmit a user equipment (UE) request for an on-demand allocation of mobility measurement resources or mobility reporting resources for the UE ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request”); and
receive a configuration, allocation, or activation for the mobility measurement resources or the mobility reporting resources in response to the UE request ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0111] “In an example, a reference signal configuration includes time and frequency resources for a reference signals. Example time resources associated with the reference signal may include at least one of a start time at which the reference signal is allocated, a number of time intervals during which the reference signal is allocated, a time pattern at which the reference signal is allocated, an indication of whether the reference signal is periodic, or the like”).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang teaches a method of wireless communication at a source node (FIGs. 18A-18B, NR-Node 1802), comprising:
receiving a user equipment (UE) request for an on-demand allocation of mobility measurement resources or mobility reporting resources for a UE ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request”); and
providing a configuration, allocation, or activation for the mobility measurement resources or the mobility reporting resources in response to the UE request ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0111] “In an example, a reference signal configuration includes time and frequency resources for a reference signals. Example time resources associated with the reference signal may include at least one of a start time at which the reference signal is allocated, a number of time intervals during which the reference signal is allocated, a time pattern at which the reference signal is allocated, an indication of whether the reference signal is periodic, or the like”).
Regarding claim 34, Zhang teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (FIGs. 18A-18B, UE2), comprising:
transmitting a user equipment (UE) request for an on-demand allocation of mobility measurement resources or mobility reporting resources for the UE ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request”); and
receiving a configuration, allocation, or activation for the mobility measurement resources or the mobility reporting resources in response to the UE request ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0111] “In an example, a reference signal configuration includes time and frequency resources for a reference signals. Example time resources associated with the reference signal may include at least one of a start time at which the reference signal is allocated, a number of time intervals during which the reference signal is allocated, a time pattern at which the reference signal is allocated, an indication of whether the reference signal is periodic, or the like”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-11, 13, 16-23, 25, 32, 33 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Ingale et al. (US 2020/0053607, “Ingale”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches claim 1 but does not teaches wherein the UE request is for a downlink reference signal ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0129] “one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement”)) {for layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node}.
Although, Zhang does not teaches layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node.
Ingale layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node ([0084] “The serving cell 104a (i.e. Cell #1) and target cell 104b (i.e. Cell #2) start (314) transmitting the respective cell-specific CSI-RS set 2 in order to enable the UE to measure the corresponding signal strength on CSI-RS resources for mobility (i.e. PCell change) decision evaluation.” [0061] “Dedicated beams are managed based on UE measurement on UE-specific Channel-State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS set 1) and UE provides CSI feedback at PHY or MAC layer.” PHY layer corresponds to L1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 3 and further teaches to cause the source node to: transmit the downlink reference signal ([0129] “at 1818, one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement, a beamforming measurement, an RRM measurement, or an interference measurement. At 1820, UEs may collect respective measurements.” It is understood UEs perform measurement RS signals from node 1802 the same manner as disclosed in [0128] “the node 1802 transmits the reference signals in accordance with the respective reference signal configuration”) {and a resource allocation for mobility reporting} in response to the UE request (([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802.” [0129] “at 1818, one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement, a beamforming measurement, an RRM measurement, or an interference measurement. At 1820, UEs may collect respective measurements.” It is understood UEs perform measurements of RS signals from node 1802 the same manner as disclosed in [0128] “the node 1802 transmits the reference signals in accordance with the respective reference signal configuration”); and receive a measurement report after transmitting the downlink reference signal, the measurement report including measurement information for one or more of the source node or the at least one target node ([0129] “UEs may collect respective measurements. At 1822, in accordance with the illustrated example, the node 1802 may reconfigure or update one or more of the reference signal configurations. The reconfigurations of the reference signals may be based on, for example, a trigger or an event at the node 1802, a given UE's feedback from its measurements”), {and wherein the measurement report by the UE uses at least a part of resources allocated in the resource allocation for the mobility reporting in response to the UE request}.
Zhang does not teach a resource allocation for mobility reporting in response to the UE request… and wherein the measurement report by the UE uses at least a part of resources allocated in the resource allocation for the mobility reporting in response to the UE request.
Ingale teaches a resource allocation for mobility reporting in response to the UE request… and wherein the measurement report by the UE uses at least a part of resources allocated in the resource allocation for the mobility reporting in response to the UE request ([0083] “The UE 102 receives (302) the measurement configuration from the serving cell 104a i.e., Cell #1 served by the Serving gNB… The measurement configuration may include… c) Measurement reporting configuration specifies when the UE 102 should trigger a measurement report as well as which information the UE 102 shall include in the measurement report… A measurement report may also be triggered at regular intervals i.e. periodically, possibly up to a configurable number of times.” Note: “regular intervals” teaches time resources).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature a resource allocation for mobility reporting in response to the UE request… and wherein the measurement report by the UE uses at least a part of resources allocated in the resource allocation for the mobility reporting in response to the UE request, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 4 and further teaches wherein the downlink reference signal is aperiodic or periodic ([0023] “The time resources associated with the reference signal may include at least one of a start time at which the reference signal is allocated, a number of time intervals during which the reference signal is allocated, a time pattern at which the reference signal is allocated, or an indication of whether the reference signal is periodic.”) and includes at least one of: a non-cell defining synchronization signal block (NCD-SSB), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a tracking reference signal (TRS) ([0130] “with respect to reference signals for interference measurements, a multi-function CSI-RS or a BF-RS may be configured for the interference measurement function. Similarly, a multi-function RS (e.g., BF-RS or a CRS-like RS) may be configured for frequency and time tracking, or synchronization function.”)
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 4 and further teaches wherein the UE request is indicated in at least one of: an uplink reference signal, an uplink sequence, an uplink control channel, or an uplink data channel ([0128] “the / to the node 1802.” [0134] “An on-demand RS may be triggered by an explicit UE request” Note: “explicit UE request” indicates a message sent in uplink direction transmission. Zhang teaches uplink channels include [0014] “In LTE, DM-RS are only transmitted within the RBs specifically assigned for PUSCH/PUCCH transmission” [0361] “PUSCH Physical Uplink Shared Channel” and [0362] “PUCCH Physical Uplink Control Channel” correspond to uplink data channel and uplink control channel respectively).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 3 and further teaches wherein the configuration, the allocation, or the activation in response to the UE request is included in downlink control information (DCI), a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or a combination thereof ([0148] “In another example, RS configuration/reconfiguration may be performed via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 3 and further teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to: configure one or more configurations for {the L1 measurement or the L3} measurement, wherein the source node activates one of the one or more configurations in response to the UE request ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.”)
Zhang does not teach one or more configurations for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement.
Ingale teaches one or more configurations for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement (([00087] “The UE 102 measures (412) the CSI-RS of the serving cell 104a and CSI-RS of target cell 104b.” [0061] “Dedicated beams are managed based on UE measurement on UE-specific Channel-State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS set 1) and UE provides CSI feedback at PHY or MAC layer.” PHY layer corresponds to L1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature one or more configurations for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 3 and further teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to: {provide a target request to the at least one target node for a target node resource for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement by the UE; and receive at least one reference signal configuration from the at least one target node}, wherein the source node provides the at least one reference signal configuration in response to the UE request ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request,”) {the at least one reference signal configuration including a reference signal configuration from the at least one target node for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement, or a combination thereof}.
Zhang does not teach provide a target request to the at least one target node for a target node resource for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement by the UE; and receive at least one reference signal configuration from the at least one target node the at least one reference signal configuration including a reference signal configuration from the at least one target node for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement, or a combination thereof.
Ingale teaches to provide a target request to the at least one target node for a target node resource for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement by the UE (FIG. 3, [0083] “the serving cell 104a initiates (308) the procedure towards target cell 104b to activate the CSI-RS set 2 transmissions.” [00087] “The UE 102 measures (412) the CSI-RS of the serving cell 104a and CSI-RS of target cell 104b.” [0061] “Dedicated beams are managed based on UE measurement on UE-specific Channel-State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS set 1) and UE provides CSI feedback at PHY or MAC layer.” PHY layer corresponds to L1); and receive at least one reference signal configuration from the at least one target node, … the at least one reference signal configuration including a reference signal configuration from the at least one target node for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement, or a combination thereof ([0084] “The target cell 104b also provides (310) the serving cell 104a, the CSI-RS set 2 configuration which includes at least the cell-specific signal time windows (period, offset, duration), referred to as CSI-RS Measurement Timing Configuration, and a list of CSI-RS configurations” [0061] “Dedicated beams are managed based on UE measurement on UE-specific Channel-State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS set 1) and UE provides CSI feedback at PHY or MAC layer.” PHY layer corresponds to L1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to provide a target request to the at least one target node for a target node resource for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement by the UE; and receive at least one reference signal configuration from the at least one target node the at least one reference signal configuration including a reference signal configuration from the at least one target node for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement, or a combination thereof, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the UE request is for the mobility reporting resources to report one or more of: a mobility measurement report, an inactivity status of a bandwidth part (BWP) inactivity timer, a mobility status of a mobility timer, or a condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer.
However, Ingale teaches wherein the UE request is for the mobility reporting resources to report one or more of: a mobility measurement report ([0084] “The UE 102 sends (318) the measurement report #2 which includes the cell quality based on CSI-RS set 2 (i.e. CSI-RS RSRP) for the involved cells and also includes the best beam quality of the CSI-RS set 2 i.e. the CSI feedback of the target cell. The measurement report includes at least one of: measurements of best CSI-RS resources and corresponding resource identifier(s) i.e. beam indexes associated with the target cell. The reported CSI-RS beam measurements and associated identifiers are qualified or suitable measurements which are above a pre-configured threshold which can be either a relative or absolute threshold. On receiving the measurement report #2, the serving cell 104a initiates (320) the HO preparation procedure towards the target cell 104b so that radio resources are made available in the target cell 104b i.e. Cell #2 when the UE 102 radio link is switched to Cell #2.” It should be noted, Zhang teaches on-demand RS is requested by the UE [0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration”), an inactivity status of a bandwidth part (BWP) inactivity timer, a mobility status of a mobility timer, or a condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to wherein the UE request is for the mobility reporting resources to report one or more of: a mobility measurement report, an inactivity status of a bandwidth part (BWP) inactivity timer, a mobility status of a mobility timer, or a condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 10 but does not teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to receive at least one of the mobility measurement report, the inactivity status of the BWP inactivity timer, the mobility status of the mobility timer, or the condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer.
Ingale teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to receive at least one of the mobility measurement report ([0084] “The UE 102 sends (318) the measurement report #2 which includes the cell quality based on CSI-RS set 2 (i.e. CSI-RS RSRP) for the involved cells and also includes the best beam quality of the CSI-RS set 2 i.e. the CSI feedback of the target cell. The measurement report includes at least one of: measurements of best CSI-RS resources and corresponding resource identifier(s) i.e. beam indexes associated with the target cell. The reported CSI-RS beam measurements and associated identifiers are qualified or suitable measurements which are above a pre-configured threshold which can be either a relative or absolute threshold. On receiving the measurement report #2, the serving cell 104a initiates (320) the HO preparation procedure towards the target cell 104b so that radio resources are made available in the target cell 104b i.e. Cell #2 when the UE 102 radio link is switched to Cell #2.” It should be noted, Zhang teaches on-demand RS is requested by the UE [0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration”), the inactivity status of the BWP inactivity timer, the mobility status of the mobility timer, or the condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to receive at least one of the mobility measurement report, the inactivity status of the BWP inactivity timer, the mobility status of the mobility timer, or the condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 11 but Zhang does not teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to: provide additional information for mobility measurement or mobility of the UE, the additional information including at least one of an on-demand reference signal transmission or on-demand reference signal activation, or update information for at least one target node.
Ingale teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to: provide additional information for mobility measurement or mobility of the UE, the additional information including at least one of an on-demand reference signal transmission or on-demand reference signal activation, or update information for at least one target node ([0084] “The target cell 104b considers the activation message from serving cell 104a as trigger to activate the CSI-RS set 2 transmissions in the target cell 104b i.e. Cell #2 indicated in the activation message. The target cell 104b also provides (310) the serving cell 104a, the CSI-RS set 2 configuration which includes at least the cell-specific signal time windows (period, offset, duration), referred to as CSI-RS Measurement Timing Configuration, and a list of CSI-RS configurations… The serving cell 104a (i.e. Cell #1) in addition to the CSI-RS set 2 configuration of target cell 104b (i.e. Cell #2) also includes its own CSI-RS set 2 configuration in a RRC message sent (312) to the UE 102. The serving cell 104a (i.e. Cell #1) and target cell 104b (i.e. Cell #2) start (314) transmitting the respective cell-specific CSI-RS set 2 in order to enable the UE to measure the corresponding signal strength on CSI-RS resources for mobility (i.e. PCell change) decision evaluation. Assuming that Cell #1 and Cell #2 are on same frequency, the UE 102 starts (316) measuring the CSI-RS set 2 of the involved cells according to the received configuration in RRC message”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to: provide additional information for mobility measurement or mobility of the UE, the additional information including at least one of an on-demand reference signal transmission or on-demand reference signal activation, or update information for at least one target node, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches claim 15 but does not teaches wherein the UE request is for a downlink reference signal ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0129] “one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement”)) {for layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node}.
Although, Zhang does not teaches layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node.
Ingale layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node ([00087] “The UE 102 measures (412) the CSI-RS of the serving cell 104a and CSI-RS of target cell 104b.” [0061] “Dedicated beams are managed based on UE measurement on UE-specific Channel-State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS set 1) and UE provides CSI feedback at PHY or MAC layer.” PHY layer corresponds to L1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 15 and further teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a downlink reference signal in response to the UE request ([0129] “at 1818, one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement, a beamforming measurement, an RRM measurement, or an interference measurement. At 1820, UEs may collect respective measurements.” It is understood UEs perform measurement RS signals from node 1802 the same manner as disclosed in [0128] “the node 1802 transmits the reference signals in accordance with the respective reference signal configuration”); and
transmit a measurement report after measuring the downlink reference signal and {using at least a part of resources allocated for mobility reporting in response to the UE request}, the measurement report including measurement information for one or more of a source node or at least one target node ([0129] “UEs may collect respective measurements. At 1822, in accordance with the illustrated example, the node 1802 may reconfigure or update one or more of the reference signal configurations. The reconfigurations of the reference signals may be based on, for example, a trigger or an event at the node 1802, a given UE's feedback from its measurements”).
Zhang does not teach using at least a part of resources allocated for mobility reporting in response to the UE request.
Ingale teaches using at least a part of resources allocated for mobility reporting in response to the UE request ([0083] “The UE 102 receives (302) the measurement configuration from the serving cell 104a i.e., Cell #1 served by the Serving gNB… The measurement configuration may include… c) Measurement reporting configuration specifies when the UE 102 should trigger a measurement report as well as which information the UE 102 shall include in the measurement report… A measurement report may also be triggered at regular intervals i.e. periodically, possibly up to a configurable number of times.” Note: “regular intervals” teaches time resources).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature using at least a part of resources allocated for mobility reporting in response to the UE request, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 17 and further teaches wherein the downlink reference signal is aperiodic or periodic ([0023] “The time resources associated with the reference signal may include at least one of a start time at which the reference signal is allocated, a number of time intervals during which the reference signal is allocated, a time pattern at which the reference signal is allocated, or an indication of whether the reference signal is periodic.”) and includes at least one of: a non-cell defining synchronization signal block (NCD-SSB), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a tracking reference signal (TRS) ([0130] “with respect to reference signals for interference measurements, a multi-function CSI-RS or a BF-RS may be configured for the interference measurement function. Similarly, a multi-function RS (e.g., BF-RS or a CRS-like RS) may be configured for frequency and time tracking, or synchronization function.”)
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 16 and further teaches wherein the UE request is indicated in at least one of: an uplink reference signal, an uplink sequence, an uplink control channel, or an uplink data channel ([0128] “the / to the node 1802.” [0134] “An on-demand RS may be triggered by an explicit UE request” Note: “explicit UE request” indicates a message sent in uplink direction transmission. Zhang teaches uplink channels include [0014] “In LTE, DM-RS are only transmitted within the RBs specifically assigned for PUSCH/PUCCH transmission” [0361] “PUSCH Physical Uplink Shared Channel” and [0362] “PUCCH Physical Uplink Control Channel” correspond to uplink data channel and uplink control channel respectively).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 16 and further teaches wherein the configuration, the allocation, or the activation in response to the UE request is included in downlink control information (DCI), a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or a combination thereof ([0148] “In another example, RS configuration/reconfiguration may be performed via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling”).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 16 and further teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive one or more configurations for the {L1 measurement or the L3} measurement, wherein the UE receives the activation of one of the one or more configurations in response to the UE request ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.”)
Zhang does not teach one or more configurations for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement.
Ingale teaches one or more configurations for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement (([00087] “The UE 102 measures (412) the CSI-RS of the serving cell 104a and CSI-RS of target cell 104b.” [0061] “Dedicated beams are managed based on UE measurement on UE-specific Channel-State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS set 1) and UE provides CSI feedback at PHY or MAC layer.” PHY layer corresponds to L1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature one or more configurations for the L1 measurement or the L3 measurement, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 22, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 15 but does not teach wherein the UE request is for the mobility reporting resources to report one or more of: a mobility measurement report, an inactivity status of a bandwidth part (BWP) inactivity timer, a mobility status of a mobility timer, or a condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or a BWP inactivity timer.
Ingale teaches wherein the UE request is for the mobility reporting resources to report one or more of: a mobility measurement report ([0084] “The UE 102 sends (318) the measurement report #2 which includes the cell quality based on CSI-RS set 2 (i.e. CSI-RS RSRP) for the involved cells and also includes the best beam quality of the CSI-RS set 2 i.e. the CSI feedback of the target cell. The measurement report includes at least one of: measurements of best CSI-RS resources and corresponding resource identifier(s) i.e. beam indexes associated with the target cell. The reported CSI-RS beam measurements and associated identifiers are qualified or suitable measurements which are above a pre-configured threshold which can be either a relative or absolute threshold. On receiving the measurement report #2, the serving cell 104a initiates (320) the HO preparation procedure towards the target cell 104b so that radio resources are made available in the target cell 104b i.e. Cell #2 when the UE 102 radio link is switched to Cell #2.” It should be noted, Zhang teaches on-demand RS is requested by the UE [0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration”), the inactivity status of the BWP inactivity timer, the mobility status of the mobility timer, or the condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to wherein the UE request is for the mobility reporting resources to report one or more of: a mobility measurement report, an inactivity status of a bandwidth part (BWP) inactivity timer, a mobility status of a mobility timer, or a condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or a BWP inactivity timer, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 23, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 22 but does not teach wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to receive at least one of the mobility measurement report, the inactivity status of the BWP inactivity timer, the mobility status of the mobility timer, or the condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer.
Ingale teaches wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to receive at least one of the mobility measurement report ([0084] “The UE 102 sends (318) the measurement report #2 which includes the cell quality based on CSI-RS set 2 (i.e. CSI-RS RSRP) for the involved cells and also includes the best beam quality of the CSI-RS set 2 i.e. the CSI feedback of the target cell. The measurement report includes at least one of: measurements of best CSI-RS resources and corresponding resource identifier(s) i.e. beam indexes associated with the target cell. The reported CSI-RS beam measurements and associated identifiers are qualified or suitable measurements which are above a pre-configured threshold which can be either a relative or absolute threshold. On receiving the measurement report #2, the serving cell 104a initiates (320) the HO preparation procedure towards the target cell 104b so that radio resources are made available in the target cell 104b i.e. Cell #2 when the UE 102 radio link is switched to Cell #2.” It should be noted, Zhang teaches on-demand RS is requested by the UE [0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration”), the inactivity status of the BWP inactivity timer, the mobility status of the mobility timer, or the condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to receive at least one of the mobility measurement report, the inactivity status of the BWP inactivity timer, the mobility status of the mobility timer, or the condition to trigger or reset the mobility timer or the BWP inactivity timer, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 25, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 23 but Zhang does not teach wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to cause the UE to: receive additional information for mobility measurement or mobility of the UE, the additional information including at least one of an on-demand reference signal transmission or on- demand reference signal activation, or update information for at least one target node.
Ingale teaches wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to cause the UE to: receive additional information for mobility measurement or mobility of the UE, the additional information including at least one of an on-demand reference signal transmission or on- demand reference signal activation, or update information for at least one target node ([0084] “The target cell 104b considers the activation message from serving cell 104a as trigger to activate the CSI-RS set 2 transmissions in the target cell 104b i.e. Cell #2 indicated in the activation message. The target cell 104b also provides (310) the serving cell 104a, the CSI-RS set 2 configuration which includes at least the cell-specific signal time windows (period, offset, duration), referred to as CSI-RS Measurement Timing Configuration, and a list of CSI-RS configurations… The serving cell 104a (i.e. Cell #1) in addition to the CSI-RS set 2 configuration of target cell 104b (i.e. Cell #2) also includes its own CSI-RS set 2 configuration in a RRC message sent (312) to the UE 102. The serving cell 104a (i.e. Cell #1) and target cell 104b (i.e. Cell #2) start (314) transmitting the respective cell-specific CSI-RS set 2 in order to enable the UE to measure the corresponding signal strength on CSI-RS resources for mobility (i.e. PCell change) decision evaluation. Assuming that Cell #1 and Cell #2 are on same frequency, the UE 102 starts (316) measuring the CSI-RS set 2 of the involved cells according to the received configuration in RRC message”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to cause the UE to: receive additional information for mobility measurement or mobility of the UE, the additional information including at least one of an on-demand reference signal transmission or on- demand reference signal activation, or update information for at least one target node, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 32, Zhang teaches claim 31 but does not teaches wherein the UE request is for a downlink reference signal ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0129] “one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement”)) {for layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node}.
Although, Zhang does not teaches layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node.
Ingale layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node ([00087] “The UE 102 measures (412) the CSI-RS of the serving cell 104a and CSI-RS of target cell 104b.” [0061] “Dedicated beams are managed based on UE measurement on UE-specific Channel-State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS set 1) and UE provides CSI feedback at PHY or MAC layer.” PHY layer corresponds to L1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 33, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 32 and further teaches transmitting the downlink reference signal ([0129] “at 1818, one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement, a beamforming measurement, an RRM measurement, or an interference measurement. At 1820, UEs may collect respective measurements.” It is understood UEs perform measurement RS signals from node 1802 the same manner as disclosed in [0128] “the node 1802 transmits the reference signals in accordance with the respective reference signal configuration”) {and a resource allocation for mobility reporting} in response to the UE request (([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802.” [0129] “at 1818, one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement, a beamforming measurement, an RRM measurement, or an interference measurement. At 1820, UEs may collect respective measurements.” It is understood UEs perform measurements of RS signals from node 1802 the same manner as disclosed in [0128] “the node 1802 transmits the reference signals in accordance with the respective reference signal configuration”); and receiving a measurement report after transmitting the downlink reference signal, the measurement report including measurement information for one or more of the source node or the at least one target node ([0129] “UEs may collect respective measurements. At 1822, in accordance with the illustrated example, the node 1802 may reconfigure or update one or more of the reference signal configurations. The reconfigurations of the reference signals may be based on, for example, a trigger or an event at the node 1802, a given UE's feedback from its measurements”), {and wherein the measurement report by the UE uses at least a part of resources allocated in the resource allocation for the mobility reporting in response to the UE request}.
Zhang does not teach a resource allocation for mobility reporting in response to the UE request… and wherein the measurement report by the UE uses at least a part of resources allocated in the resource allocation for the mobility reporting in response to the UE request.
Ingale teaches a resource allocation for mobility reporting in response to the UE request… and wherein the measurement report by the UE uses at least a part of resources allocated in the resource allocation for the mobility reporting in response to the UE request ([0083] “The UE 102 receives (302) the measurement configuration from the serving cell 104a i.e., Cell #1 served by the Serving gNB… The measurement configuration may include… c) Measurement reporting configuration specifies when the UE 102 should trigger a measurement report as well as which information the UE 102 shall include in the measurement report… A measurement report may also be triggered at regular intervals i.e. periodically, possibly up to a configurable number of times.” Note: “regular intervals” teaches time resources).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature a resource allocation for mobility reporting in response to the UE request… and wherein the measurement report by the UE uses at least a part of resources allocated in the resource allocation for the mobility reporting in response to the UE request, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 35, Zhang teaches claim 34 but does not teaches wherein the UE request is for a downlink reference signal ([0128] “the UE2 sends an on-demand request to the node 1802. The request may include a request for a new RS configuration. At 1814, the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2. At 1816, the new RS configuration is sent to the UE2, in response to the on-demand request.” [0129] “one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement”)) {for layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node}.
Although, Zhang does not teaches layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node.
Ingale layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node ([00087] “The UE 102 measures (412) the CSI-RS of the serving cell 104a and CSI-RS of target cell 104b.” [0061] “Dedicated beams are managed based on UE measurement on UE-specific Channel-State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS set 1) and UE provides CSI feedback at PHY or MAC layer.” PHY layer corresponds to L1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature layer 1 (L1) measurement or layer 3 (L3) measurement of the source node and at least one target node, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Regarding claim 36, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 34 and further teaches receiving a downlink reference signal in response to the UE request ([0129] “at 1818, one or more UEs may monitor, for example, a CSI measurement, a beamforming measurement, an RRM measurement, or an interference measurement. At 1820, UEs may collect respective measurements.” It is understood UEs perform measurement RS signals from node 1802 the same manner as disclosed in [0128] “the node 1802 transmits the reference signals in accordance with the respective reference signal configuration”); and
transmitting a measurement report after measuring the downlink reference signal and {using at least a part of resources allocated for mobility reporting in response to the UE request}, the measurement report including measurement information for one or more of a source node or at least one target node ([0129] “UEs may collect respective measurements. At 1822, in accordance with the illustrated example, the node 1802 may reconfigure or update one or more of the reference signal configurations. The reconfigurations of the reference signals may be based on, for example, a trigger or an event at the node 1802, a given UE's feedback from its measurements”).
Zhang does not teach using at least a part of resources allocated for mobility reporting in response to the UE request.
Ingale teaches using at least a part of resources allocated for mobility reporting in response to the UE request ([0083] “The UE 102 receives (302) the measurement configuration from the serving cell 104a i.e., Cell #1 served by the Serving gNB… The measurement configuration may include… c) Measurement reporting configuration specifies when the UE 102 should trigger a measurement report as well as which information the UE 102 shall include in the measurement report… A measurement report may also be triggered at regular intervals i.e. periodically, possibly up to a configurable number of times.” Note: “regular intervals” teaches time resources).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature using at least a part of resources allocated for mobility reporting in response to the UE request, as taught by Ingale, in Zhang to facilitate a handover thereby reducing service degradation.
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Ingale and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0337432, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 11 but does not teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to: provide an indication for the UE to reset the BWP inactivity timer or the mobility timer.
Lee teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to: provide an indication for the UE to reset the BWP inactivity timer or the mobility timer ([0044] “The source eNB 204 may encode and transmit a second autonomous HO information message 216 to the UE 202 in response to the measurement report 210.” [0046] “In some embodiments, the second autonomous HO information message 216 may include an indication that the UE 202 is to restart the autonomous HO timer 214.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the source node to: provide an indication for the UE to reset the BWP inactivity timer or the mobility timer, as taught by Lee, in Zhang to reduce handoff failure due to UE failing to identify HO command.
Regarding claim 24, Zhang in view of Ingale teaches claim 23 but does not teach wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication for the UE to reset the BWP inactivity timer or the mobility timer.
Lee teaches wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication for the UE to reset the BWP inactivity timer or the mobility timer ([0044] “The source eNB 204 may encode and transmit a second autonomous HO information message 216 to the UE 202 in response to the measurement report 210.” [0046] “In some embodiments, the second autonomous HO information message 216 may include an indication that the UE 202 is to restart the autonomous HO timer 214.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to wherein the at least one processor; is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication for the UE to reset the BWP inactivity timer or the mobility timer, as taught by Lee, in Zhang to reduce handoff failure due to UE failing to identify HO command.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Interdigital Inc., “Discussion on On-demand reference signals for positioning”, 3GPP RAN WG2 Meeting #113-e, R2-2100375, 2021, 4 pages,
Sun et al. (US 2005/0158768) discusses activation of a reference signal set upon request by an UE.
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642