DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 12/30/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 18334401 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-10, 12-13, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Struzik et al (US Patent No. 10951970) in view of Van Hook et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345036, filed 4/15/2021), and in further view of DAI (CN 209659556 U, published 11/19/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Struzik teaches an earphone, comprising: a hook-shaped component (18, body), a connecting component (20, body portion), and a holding component (52, housing), wherein when the earphone is in a wearing state, the hook-shaped component (18) is configured to hang between a rear side of an ear of a user and a head of the user, the holding component (52, housing) is configured to contact a side of the ear, wherein a core (50, part of housing) including a diaphragm (54, diaphragm) configured to generate a sound is set in a cavity enclosed by a housing of the holding component (52), and the holding component does not cover an ear canal of the ear (fig. 1), and the connecting component (20) is configured to connect the hook-shaped component (18) and the holding component (52), wherein an inner side surface of the housing facing an auricle is provided with a sound outlet (14, opening) that is configured to transmit a sound generated at a front side of the diaphragm to the ear canal; other side surfaces of the housing are provided with a first pressure relief hole (fig. 3; 15, opening).
Struzik does not teach having a second pressure relief hole that are configured to guide sounds generated at a rear side of the diaphragm out of the housing.
Van Hook teaches a second pressure relief hole that are configured to guide sounds generated at a rear side of the diaphragm out of the housing (figs. 5, 7, 10, multiple rear holes configurations, such as 84, 92).
Struzik as a whole discloses the claimed invention except for another rear side hole. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include an additional hole since applicant has not disclosed that this limitation solves any state problem or is for any particular purpose and appears that the invention would perform equally well with the combination of Struzik and Van Hook as shown [In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Furthermore, Struzik and Van Hook fails to teach the newly added amendment that states the housing component is configured to contact a side of the ear away from the head.
Dai (CN209659556U, figures 3-4) teaches the housing component of an audio device being configured such that the housing contacts a side of the ear away from the head as claimed.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known configuration at taught by Dai would have yield the predictable result of having the audio directed more into the ear canal.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai teaches the earphone of claim 1, wherein the connecting component (20) is further configured to extend from the head along a coronal axis of the user towards an outside of the head to cooperate with the hook-shaped component to provide the holding component with a pressing force on the front side of the ear (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai teaches the earphone of claim 1, wherein an area of the first pressure relief hole is larger than an area of the second pressure relief hole.
Although the combination does not specifically teach an area of one hole is larger than the other hole, Van Hook does additionally allow placement of a resistance (figs. 5, 7, 10, such as 88, 92) in at least one of the holes to change the resonance which effectively reduces the airflow area of the hold applying a resistive element.
The combination as further modified by Van Hook as a whole discloses the claimed invention except for different area of the holes. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the airflow area by any means since applicant has not disclosed that hole size solves any state problem or is for any particular purpose and appears that the invention would perform equally well with the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai as shown [In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai teaches the earphone of claim 1, wherein the first pressure relief hole is provided on an upper side surface of the housing and the second pressure relief hole is provided on a lower side surface of the housing (figs. 5, 7, 10, such as 84, 92).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai does not specifically teach the earphone of claim 1, wherein a ratio of an area of the sound outlet to a total area of the first pressure relief hole and the second pressure relief hole is in a range of 0.1 to 0.99.
Although the combination does not specifically teach an area of one hole relative to another hole, Van Hook does additionally allow placement of a resistance (figs. 5, 7, 10, such as 88, 92) in at least one of the holes to change the resonance which effectively reduces the airflow area of the hold applying a resistive element.
The combination as further modified by Van Hook as a whole discloses the claimed invention except for different area of the holes. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the airflow area by any means since applicant has not disclosed that hole size solves any state problem or is for any particular purpose and appears that the invention would perform equally well with the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai as shown [In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Regarding claims 10 and 13, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai teaches the earphone of claims 9 and 12, wherein the diaphragm divides the cavity into a front cavity and a rear cavity corresponding to the front side and the rear side of the diaphragm (Struzik, fig. 3; Van Hook, fig. 2, 4-6) respectively
The combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai fails to specifically teach a ratio of a volume of the rear cavity to a volume of the front cavity is in a range of 0.1 to 10.
The combination as further modified by Van Hook as a whole discloses the claimed invention except for ratio of the volume. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the range of volume since applicant has not disclosed that the volume solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and appears that the invention would perform equally well with the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai as shown [In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai teaches the earphone of claim 1, wherein a ratio of an area of the sound outlet to a total area of the first pressure relief hole and the second pressure relief hole is in a range of 1 to 10.
Although the combination does not specifically teach an area of one hole relative to another hole, Van Hook does additionally allow placement of a resistance (figs. 5, 7, 10, such as 88, 92) in at least one of the holes to change the resonance which effectively reduces the airflow area such that an area range is attainable.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to limit the ratio of an area between 1 to 10 since applicant has not disclosed that the area solves any stated problems or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with range as depicted in the figures.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai teaches the earphone of claim 1, wherein an acoustic resistance net (fig. 4, 5, 7; screens such as item 66) is provided at a position of at least one of the sound outlet, the first pressure relief hole, and the second pressure relief hole.
The combination does not specifically teach a thickness of the acoustic resistance net is in a range of 40 pm to 150pm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to limit the thickness range between 40 pm and 150pm since applicant has not disclosed that the thickness range solves any stated problems or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with range as depicted in the figures.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai fails to specifically teaches the earphone of claim 1, wherein an elastic metal wire is arranged inside the hook-shaped component, the elastic metal wire has a major axis direction and a minor axis direction orthogonal to each other on a cross section of the elastic metal wire, and a size of the elastic metal wire in the major axis direction is greater than a size of the elastic metal wire in the minor axis direction.
Although Struzik teaches the device can be wired (col. 3 lines 52-60, it does not teach the specifics of the wire.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art how a wire is shaped such that there is a length (major axis) and a diameter (minor axis) used inside the hook shaped component of a device to supply electric power and/or signal to the device.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known wire shape would have yielded a predictable result.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai fails to teach the earphone of claim 19, wherein a ratio of the size of the elastic metal wire in the major axis direction to the size of the elastic metal wire in the minor axis direction is between 4:1 and 6:1.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to limit the ratio of an size of the wire since applicant has not disclosed that the wire ratio solves any stated problems or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the combination of Struzik, Van Hook, and Dai as shown [In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 6-8, 11, 14-16, 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record but instead brings in an additional reference for any teaching or matter specifically addressing the newly amended limitations in claim 1, and challenged in the arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 5/21/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For general questions such as application status, Monday–Friday, 8:30AM -5:00PM, inquiry to:
Local: 571-272-1000
Toll-Free: 800-786-9199
TTY: 800-877-8339
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P O Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(703) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for informal or draft communications, please label "Proposed" or "Draft" when submitting an informal amendment.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
August 4, 2026
/PHYLESHA DABNEY/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694