DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Park et al. (European Patent Application Number: 3 735 049).
Consider claim 1; Park discloses a communication equipment configured to communicate with a plurality of networks using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication equipment comprising:
a communicator (par. 41, lines 15-17) configured to
transmit capability information to support the plurality of subscriber identity modules to a base station of a first network included in the plurality of networks (par. 227, line 5; par. 229, lines 1-2),
transmit a UEAssistanceInformation message to the base station (par. 229, lines 1-6), the UEAssistanceInformation message including information requesting configuration of gaps for performing measurement in a second network included in the plurality of networks and monitoring of a paging in the second network (par. 226, lines 1-8; par. 229, lines 1-6), and
receive from the base station (par. 237, lines 1-5; par. 238, lines 1-5), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including the configuration of the gaps according to the information requesting the configuration of the gaps (par. 237, lines 1-5; par. 238, lines 1-5); and
a controller configured to perform the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network in the gaps configured based on the configuration of the gaps (par. 241, lines 1-5).
Consider claim 2; Park discloses the configuration of the gaps includes a gap length, a gap repetition period and a gap offset, for each gap (par. 232, lines 1-5; par. 233, lines 1-2, 5-7).
Consider claim 3; Park discloses a base station of a first network included in a plurality of networks in a mobile communication system having a communication equipment configured to communicate with the plurality of networks using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the base station comprising:
a communicator (par. 20, lines 7-8) configured to
receive capability information to support the plurality of subscriber identity modules from the communication equipment (par. 227, line 5; par. 229, lines 1-2),
receive UEAssistanceInformation message from the communication equipment (par. 229, lines 1-6), the UEAssistanceInformation message including information requesting configuration of gaps for performing measurement in the second network included in the plurality of networks and monitoring of a paging in the second network (par. 226, lines 1-8; par. 229, lines 1-6), and
transmit to the communication equipment (par. 237, lines 1-5; par. 238, lines 1-5), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including configuration of the gaps in accordance with the information requesting the configuration of the gaps (par. 237, lines 1-5; par. 238, lines 1-5).
Consider claim 4; Park discloses a communication method performed by a communication equipment configured to communicate with a plurality of networks using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication method comprising the steps of:
transmitting capability information to support the plurality of subscriber identity modules to a base station of a first network included in the plurality of networks (par. 227, line 5; par. 229, lines 1-2),
transmitting a UEAssistanceInformation message to the base station (par. 229, lines 1-6), the UEAssistanceInformation message including information requesting configuration of gaps for performing measurement in a second network included in the plurality of networks and monitoring of a paging in the second network (par. 226, lines 1-8; par. 229, lines 1-6), and
receiving from the base station (par. 237, lines 1-5; par. 238, lines 1-5), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including the configuration of the gaps according to the information requesting the configuration of the gaps (par. 237, lines 1-5; par. 238, lines 1-5); and
performing the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network in the gaps configured based on the configuration of the gaps (par. 241, lines 1-5).
Takahashi is also a reference that discloses a base station transmitting a RRC reconfiguration message including a gap configuration.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646