DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on March 29, 2026. Claims 1-4 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Park fails to teach or suggest “receive, from the base station, configuration information configuring the communication equipment to provide assistance information assisting the base station to configure gaps for performing measurement in a second network included in the plurality of networks and monitoring of a paging in the second network”, and to “transmit, based on the configuration information, a UEAssistanceInformation message to the base station, the UEAssistanceInformation message including the assistance information assisting the base station to configure the gaps for performing the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that the claims are broadly written. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Park discloses receive, from the base station, configuration information [“the second bases station (e.g. the second wireless network) may configure uplink/downlink resources for the wireless device…” (par. 226, lines 8-9)] configuring the communication equipment to provide assistance information [“The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network…” (par. 227, lines 1-2)] assisting the base station to configure gaps for performing measurement in a second network included in the plurality of networks and monitoring of a paging in the second network [“The second base station may determine, based on the assistance information, configuration parameters of the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap).” (par. 230, lines 1-2)], and to transmit, based on the configuration information [“the second bases station (e.g. the second wireless network) may configure uplink/downlink resources for the wireless device…” (par. 226, lines 8-9)], a UEAssistanceInformation message to the base station [“The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network…” (par. 227, lines 1-2)], the UEAssistanceInformation message including the assistance information assisting the base station to configure the gaps for performing the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network [“The second base station may determine, based on the assistance information, configuration parameters of the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap).” (par. 230, lines 1-2)].
The applicant will need to further amend the independent claims to clearly indicate the patentable subject matter.
In view of the above, the rejection using Park is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Park et al. (European Patent Application Number: 3 735 049).
Consider claim 1; Park discloses a communication equipment configured to communicate with a plurality of networks using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication equipment comprising:
a communicator (par. 41, lines 15-17) configured to
transmit capability information to support the plurality of subscriber identity modules to a base station of a first network included in the plurality of networks (par. 227, line 5; par. 229, lines 1-2),
receive, from the base station, configuration information [“the second bases station (e.g. the second wireless network) may configure uplink/downlink resources for the wireless device…” (par. 226, lines 8-9)] configuring the communication equipment to provide assistance information [“The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network…” (par. 227, lines 1-2)] assisting the base station to configure gaps for performing measurement in a second network included in the plurality of networks and monitoring of a paging in the second network [“The second base station may determine, based on the assistance information, configuration parameters of the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap).” (par. 230, lines 1-2)];
transmit, based on the configuration information [“the second bases station (e.g. the second wireless network) may configure uplink/downlink resources for the wireless device…” (par. 226, lines 8-9)], a UEAssistanceInformation message to the base station [“The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network…” (par. 227, lines 1-2)], the UEAssistanceInformation message including the assistance information assisting the base station to configure the gaps for performing the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network [“The second base station may determine, based on the assistance information, configuration parameters of the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap).” (par. 230, lines 1-2)]; and
receive from the base station [“The second base station may send (e.g. transmit) to the wireless device, a second message indicating the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap). The second message may comprise the configuration parameters of the gap… The second message may comprise at least one of: downlink RRC message (e.g. an RRC reconfiguration message…” (par. 238, lines 1-5)], a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including the configuration of the gaps according to the information requesting the configuration of the gaps [“The second base station may send (e.g. transmit) to the wireless device, a second message indicating the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap). The second message may comprise the configuration parameters of the gap… The second message may comprise at least one of: downlink RRC message (e.g. an RRC reconfiguration message…” (par. 238, lines 1-5)]; and
a controller configured to perform the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network in the gaps configured based on the configuration of the gaps (par. 241, lines 1-5).
Consider claim 2; Park discloses the configuration of the gaps includes a gap length, a gap repetition period and a gap offset, for each of the gaps (par. 232, lines 1-5; par. 233, lines 1-2, 5-7).
Consider claim 3; Park discloses a base station of a first network included in a plurality of networks in a mobile communication system having a communication equipment configured to communicate with the plurality of networks using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the base station comprising:
a communicator (par. 20, lines 7-8) configured to
receive capability information to support the plurality of subscriber identity modules from the communication equipment (par. 227, line 5; par. 229, lines 1-2),
transmit to the communication equipment, configuration information [“the second bases station (e.g. the second wireless network) may configure uplink/downlink resources for the wireless device…” (par. 226, lines 8-9)] configuring the communication equipment to provide assistance information [“The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network…” (par. 227, lines 1-2)] assisting the base station to configure gaps for performing measurement in a second network included in the plurality of networks and monitoring of a paging in the second network [“The second base station may determine, based on the assistance information, configuration parameters of the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap).” (par. 230, lines 1-2)];
receive UEAssistanceInformation message from the communication equipment [“The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network…” (par. 227, lines 1-2)], the UEAssistanceInformation message including the assistance information assisting the base station to configure the gaps for performing the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network [“The second base station may determine, based on the assistance information, configuration parameters of the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap).” (par. 230, lines 1-2)];
transmit to the communication equipment [“The second base station may send (e.g. transmit) to the wireless device, a second message indicating the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap). The second message may comprise the configuration parameters of the gap… The second message may comprise at least one of: downlink RRC message (e.g. an RRC reconfiguration message…” (par. 238, lines 1-5)], a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including configuration of the gaps in accordance with the assistance information [“The second base station may send (e.g. transmit) to the wireless device, a second message indicating the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap). The second message may comprise the configuration parameters of the gap… The second message may comprise at least one of: downlink RRC message (e.g. an RRC reconfiguration message…” (par. 238, lines 1-5)].
Consider claim 4; Park discloses a communication method performed by a communication equipment configured to communicate with a plurality of networks using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication method comprising:
transmitting capability information to support the plurality of subscriber identity modules to a base station of a first network included in the plurality of networks (par. 227, line 5; par. 229, lines 1-2),
receiving, from the base station, configuration information [“the second bases station (e.g. the second wireless network) may configure uplink/downlink resources for the wireless device…” (par. 226, lines 8-9)] configuring the communication equipment to provide assistance information [“The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network…” (par. 227, lines 1-2)] assisting the base station to configure gaps for performing measurement in a second network included in the plurality of networks and monitoring of a paging in the second network [“The second base station may determine, based on the assistance information, configuration parameters of the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap).” (par. 230, lines 1-2)];
transmitting UEAssistanceInformation message to the base station [“The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network…” (par. 227, lines 1-2)], the UEAssistanceInformation message including the assistance information assisting the base station to configure the gaps for performing the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network [“The second base station may determine, based on the assistance information, configuration parameters of the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap).” (par. 230, lines 1-2)]; and
receiving from the base station [“The second base station may send (e.g. transmit) to the wireless device, a second message indicating the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap). The second message may comprise the configuration parameters of the gap… The second message may comprise at least one of: downlink RRC message (e.g. an RRC reconfiguration message…” (par. 238, lines 1-5)], a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including the configuration of the gaps in accordance with the assistance information requesting the configuration of the gaps [“The second base station may send (e.g. transmit) to the wireless device, a second message indicating the gap (e.g. a monitoring gap and/or a communication gap). The second message may comprise the configuration parameters of the gap… The second message may comprise at least one of: downlink RRC message (e.g. an RRC reconfiguration message…” (par. 238, lines 1-5)]; and
performing the measurement and the monitoring of the paging in the second network in the gaps configured based on the configuration of the gaps (par. 241, lines 1-5).
Takahashi is also a reference that discloses a base station transmitting a RRC reconfiguration message including a gap configuration.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646