DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed July 6, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-227, 231, 238, 240-241, 244-245, 248-250 and 255 are cancelled.
Claim 257 is new.
Claim 228 is currently amended.
Claim 232 is withdrawn - currently amended.
Claims 229-230, 233-237, 239, 242-243, 246-247, 251-254 and 256 are withdrawn – previously presented.
Claims 228-230, 232-237, 239, 242-243, 246-247, 251-254 and 256-257 are pending.
All previous objections and rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 257 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the elected invention for the following reasons: Applicant elected Group III, claim 231, drawn to the composition of claim 228, wherein the plant growth medium comprises soil, water, an aqueous solution, sand, gravel, a polysaccharide, mulch, compost, peat moss, straw, logs, clay, soybean meal, yeast extract, or a combination thereof, without traverse in the reply filed on December 1, 2025. New claim 257 is drawn to the composition of claim 228, wherein the composition further comprises dolomite or styrene. Claim 228 links new claim 257 to inventions I-XVI. New claim 257 is independent or distinct from the subject matter of elected Group III because the composition of claim 257 requires additional structural components (dolomite or styrene) that require additional search and consideration, and that may raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Accordingly, new claim 257 is withdrawn from consideration.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections
The rejection of claim 231 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in light of the cancellation of claim 231.
The rejection of claim 231 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0368627, published Dec. 24, 2015 is withdrawn in light of the cancellation of claim 231.
The rejection of claim 231 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ortenzi et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0299185, published Dec. 4, 2008 is withdrawn in light of the cancellation of claim 231.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 228 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0368627, published Dec. 24, 2015. This rejection is modified to address the amendment of claim 228.
Claim 228 as currently amended is drawn to a composition comprising a free phospholipase; and a plant growth medium, wherein the plant growth medium is selected from the group consisting of peat moss, coir, coconut husk, rice husk, vermiculite, clay, bone meal, potting mix, soil, fertilizer, compost, vermicast, perlite, straw, sand, gravel, mulch, logs, soybean meal, yeast extract, loam, and a combination of any thereof.
Sun et al. teach a composition comprising a free phospholipase and a vermiculite carrier (paragraphs [0162]-[0163]). Accordingly, Sun et al. anticipate claim 228.
Claim(s) 228 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ortenzi et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0299185, published Dec. 4, 2008. This rejection is modified to address the amendment of claim 228.
Claim 228 as currently amended is drawn to a composition comprising a free phospholipase; and a plant growth medium, wherein the plant growth medium is selected from the group consisting of peat moss, coir, coconut husk, rice husk, vermiculite, clay, bone meal, potting mix, soil, fertilizer, compost, vermicast, perlite, straw, sand, gravel, mulch, logs, soybean meal, yeast extract, loam, and a combination of any thereof.
Ortenzi et al. teach a composition comprising a free phospholipase and clay (paragraph [0019], [0029], [0077]; claims 1, 3, 47, 93, 95, 32, 35 58, 101, 103). Accordingly, Ortenzi et al. anticipate claim 228.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant maintains that Sun et al. and Ortenzi et al. do not anticipate the claimed invention because Sun et al. and Ortenzi et al. each fail to teach each and every element of the claimed invention.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive because Sun et al. teach a composition comprising a free phospholipase and a vermiculite carrier, and because Ortenzi et al. teach a composition comprising a free phospholipase and clay, as set forth above in the modified rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2). Accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 228 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 228 and 231 of copending Application No. 19/462,015 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 228 as currently amended is drawn to a composition comprising a free phospholipase; and a plant growth medium, wherein the plant growth medium is selected from the group consisting of peat moss, coir, coconut husk, rice husk, vermiculite, clay, bone meal, potting mix, soil, fertilizer, compost, vermicast, perlite, straw, sand, gravel, mulch, logs, soybean meal, yeast extract, loam, and a combination of any thereof.
Claim 228 of the reference application is drawn to a composition comprising a free enzyme or expansin protein, wherein the enzyme is selected from a phospholipase, a lipase, a xylosidase, a lactonase, a mannanase, a pectinase, a chitosanase, a protease, a glucanase, an ACC deaminase, and combinations of any thereof, wherein: when the enzyme comprises a glucanase, the glucanase does not comprise a beta-1,3-glucanase, a xyloglucanase, or a lichenase; and when the enzyme comprises a mannanase: (i) the composition further comprises a phospholipase or an acid phosphatase; (ii) the composition is a granular composition; or (iii) the composition further comprises a phospholipase or an acid phosphatase and is a granular composition; and a polymer, a surfactant, an agrochemical, a plant growth medium, or talc.
Claim 231 of the reference application is drawn to the composition of claim 228, wherein the plant growth medium comprises soil, water, an aqueous solution, sand, gravel, a polysaccharide, mulch, compost, peat moss, straw, logs, clay, soybean meal, yeast extract, or a combination thereof.
The claims at issue are not patentably distinct from each other because the compositions claimed in claim 228 of the instant application are a narrow subset of species within the broad genus of compositions claimed in claims 228 and 231 of the reference application
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 228 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 228 and 231 of copending Application No. 19/462,018 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 228 as currently amended is drawn to a composition comprising a free phospholipase; and a plant growth medium, wherein the plant growth medium is selected from the group consisting of peat moss, coir, coconut husk, rice husk, vermiculite, clay, bone meal, potting mix, soil, fertilizer, compost, vermicast, perlite, straw, sand, gravel, mulch, logs, soybean meal, yeast extract, loam, and a combination of any thereof.
Claim 228 of the reference application is drawn to a composition comprising a free enzyme or expansin protein, wherein the enzyme is selected from a phospholipase, a lipase, a xylosidase, a lactonase, a mannanase, a pectinase, a chitosanase, a protease, a glucanase, an ACC deaminase, and combinations of any thereof, wherein: when the enzyme comprises a glucanase, the glucanase does not comprise a beta-1,3-glucanase, a xyloglucanase, or a lichenase; and when the enzyme comprises a mannanase: (i) the composition further comprises a phospholipase or an acid phosphatase; (ii) the composition is a granular composition; or (iii) the composition further comprises a phospholipase or an acid phosphatase and is a granular composition; and a polymer, a surfactant, an agrochemical, a plant growth medium, or talc.
Claim 231 of the reference application is drawn to the composition of claim 228, wherein the plant growth medium comprises soil, water, an aqueous solution, sand, gravel, a polysaccharide, mulch, compost, peat moss, straw, logs, clay, soybean meal, yeast extract, or a combination thereof.
The claims at issue are not patentably distinct from each other because the compositions claimed in claim 228 of the instant application are a narrow subset of species within the broad genus of compositions claimed in claims 228 and 231 of the reference application
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s assertion that if needed, a terminal disclaimer over the cited cases will be filed upon the indication of otherwise allowable subject matter. The rejection is maintained because no allowable subject matter is currently indicated.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Remarks
/CYNTHIA E COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662