CTNF 18/476,290 CTNF 89159 DETAILED ACTION This office action response to the communication filed on 09/27/2023. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 9-12, and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but are otherwise allowable. Claims 10–12 depend from claim 9 and claims 16–17 depend from claim 15, and therefore stand objected for the same reason. Applicant is advised that rewriting either claim 9 or claim 15 in independent form, including all limitations of the rejected base claim and any intervening claims, would overcome the objection and place the application in condition for allowance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200178135 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of QIAO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220174610), (“D2”, hereinafter) . As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method comprising: detecting, by a processing system (part of the first satellite) including at least one processor, that a first satellite of a non-terrestrial network is moving out of a field of view of a user endpoint device that is currently connected to the non-terrestrial network ([see, [0009, 0133], and Fig. 8-9, the serving satellite base station (by a processing system) may determine (detecting) the at least one target base station candidate based on the location information of the terminal (a field of view of a user endpoint device) that connected the serving satellite. In addition, [0133], wherein the mobility of the satellite base stations determine the terminal is located at the edge of the service coverage at the time when the target base station is activated]); estimating, by the processing system (part of the first satellite), a time at which a second satellite of the non-terrestrial network is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device ([see, [0084-0087, 0128], wherein the service interruption time is transmitted as system information, the satellite estimated time required to resume the service based on the satellite currently providing services and the satellite identification information of the next satellite predicted to provide services]). D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: selecting, by the processing system in response to the time at which the second satellite of the non-terrestrial network is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device, an uplink power for the user endpoint device; and sending, by the processing system to the user endpoint device, an instruction to transmit at the uplink power that is selected. However, D2 discloses selecting (indicating), by the processing system in response to the time at which the second satellite of the non-terrestrial network (NTN) is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device, an uplink power for the user endpoint device ([see, [0054, 0104], wherein indication to determine an uplink power compensation value for a ground terminal device that delivered by a satellite, In addition, [0006], the power adjustment information is used to compensate for a power deviation caused by a transmission delay of a satellite communication link]); and sending, by the processing system to the user endpoint device , an instruction ( indication) to transmit at the uplink power that is selected ([see, [0011, 0054, 0058], and Fig. 2, wherein a ground terminal device receives an indication that is delivered by a satellite and that is for power control, determines uplink transmit power based on the uplink power control information (indication), and sends an uplink signal based on the determine uplink transmit power]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updated uplink power control information results scalability of a 5G network is significantly improved (D2, [0003]]). As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1 , and D1 further discloses wherein the processing system is part of a network element of the non-terrestrial network ([see, [0050], and Fig. 1, the NTN node satellites 111, 121, and 122 may serve as relays while base stations (e.g., gibes) 112, 113, and 123 are on the ground disclosed]). As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 2 , and D1 further discloses wherein the processing system is part of the first satellite ([see, [0050], and Fig. 1, the NTN node satellites 111, 121]). As per Claim 4, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 2 , and D1 further discloses wherein the processing system is part of an application server (e.g., gibes) 112, 113, and 123) that monitors locations and movements of satellites within the non-terrestrial network, including the first satellite ([see, [0009, 0063, 0074], and Fig. 1-2, wherein base stations (e.g., gibes), determine the location of the satellite that is currently providing services and the mobility of the non-geostationary satellite orbit information of neighbor satellite base stations]). As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the first satellite is a low earth orbit satellite ([see, [0052], satellite may be classified as a low earth orbit (LEO) satellite]). As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the detecting comprises estimating a time at which the first satellite is expected to leave the field of view of the user endpoint device ([see, [0084-0087], wherein the service interruption time is transmitted as system information, the satellite estimated time required to resume the service based on the satellite currently providing services and the satellite identification information of the next satellite predicted to provide services]). As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein the time at which the first satellite is expected to leave the field of view of the user endpoint device is estimated based on at least one of: a current location of the user endpoint device, a current trajectory of the user endpoint device, a current speed of motion of the user endpoint device, a current location of the first satellite, a current trajectory of the first satellite, or a current speed of motion of the first satellite ([see, [0087], wherein the estimated time, the time point of changing the satellite (current location of the first satellite)]). As per Claim 13, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein the time at which the second satellite of the non-terrestrial network is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device is estimated based on at least one of: a current location of the user endpoint device, a current trajectory of the user endpoint device, a current speed of motion of the user endpoint device, a current location of the second satellite, a current trajectory of the second satellite, or a current speed of motion of the second satellite ([see, [0087, 0125], wherein the estimated time, the time point of changing the satellite (current location of the first satellite), current location information of the terminal and a moving speed of the terminal]). As per Claim 18, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the user endpoint device comprises at least one of : a laptop computer, a wi-fi device, a personal digital assistant, a mobile phone, a smartphone, an email device, a computing tablet, a messaging device, a wearable smart device, a gaming console, a drone, or an autonomous vehicle ([see, [0066, 0125], and Fig. 3, the terminal device may be user equipment (UE), terminal may transmit a satellite information request message to the base station (S310)]). As per Claim 20, D1 discloses a device comprising: a processing system including at least one processor ([see, [0147], and Fig. 12, one processor 1210]); and a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system ([see, [0147], and Fig. 12, one processor 1210, a memory 1220]), cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: detecting that a first satellite of a non-terrestrial network is moving out of a field of view of a user endpoint device that is currently connected to the non-terrestrial network ([see, [0009], the serving satellite base station (by a processing system) may determine (detecting) the at least one target base station candidate based on the location information of the terminal (a field of view of a user endpoint device) and orbit information of neighbor satellite base stations]); estimating a time at which a second satellite of the non-terrestrial network is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device ([see, [0084-0087], wherein the service interruption time is transmitted as system information, the satellite estimated time required to resume the service based on the satellite currently providing services and the satellite identification information of the next satellite predicted to provide services]). D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: selecting, by the processing system in response to the time at which the second satellite of the non-terrestrial network is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device, an uplink power for the user endpoint device; and sending, by the processing system to the user endpoint device, an instruction to transmit at the uplink power that is selected. However, D2 discloses selecting (indicating), by the processing system in response to the time at which the second satellite of the non-terrestrial network (NTN) is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device, an uplink power for the user endpoint device ([see, [0054, 0104], wherein indication to determine an uplink power compensation value foe a ground terminal device that delivered by a satellite, In addition, [0006], the power adjustment information is used to compensate for a power deviation caused by a transmission delay of a satellite communication link]); and sending, by the processing system to the user endpoint device, an instruction to transmit at the uplink power that is selected ([see, [0011, 0054, 0058], and Fig. 2, wherein a ground terminal device receives an indication that is delivered by a satellite and that is for power control, determines uplink transmit power based on the uplink power control information (indication), and sends an uplink signal based on the determine uplink transmit power]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updated uplink power control information results scalability of a 5G network is significantly improved (D2, [0003]]). As per Claim 19, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 20 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 20. Claim 19 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 20 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of ZHANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220394671 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter) . As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 7, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the processing system utilizes a machine learning algorithm that is trained to take as an input the at least one of: the current location of the user endpoint device, the current trajectory of the user endpoint device, the current speed of motion of the user endpoint device, the current location of the first satellite, the current trajectory of the first satellite, or the current speed of motion of the first satellite and to generate as an output the time at which the first satellite is expected to leave the field of view of the user endpoint device. However, D3 discloses wherein the processing system utilizes a machine learning algorithm that is trained to take as an input the at least one of: the current location of the user endpoint device, the current trajectory of the user endpoint device, the current speed of motion of the user endpoint device, the current location of the first satellite, the current trajectory of the first satellite, or the current speed of motion of the first satellite and to generate as an output the time at which the first satellite is expected to leave the field of view of the user endpoint device ([see, [0066] Tracking a UE's previous location(s) and, based at least on that tracking data, predicting where the UE will be next, e.g. using artificial intelligence (AI), such as a machine learning algorithm in which the past locations of a UE are input into a trained machine learning algorithm that returns a prediction of the future or current location of that UE]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide machine learning algorithm results improve efficiency that enhanced capacity (RedCap) commercial devices or UEs such as wearable devices, low-cost industry wireless devices, and internet of thing (IoT) device (D3, [0005]]). As per Claim 14, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 13, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the processing system utilizes a machine learning algorithm that is trained to take as an input the at least one of: the current location of the user endpoint device, the current trajectory of the user endpoint device, the current speed of motion of the user endpoint device, the current location of the second satellite, the current trajectory of the second satellite, or the current speed of motion of the second satellite and generates as an output the time at which the second satellite of the non-terrestrial network is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device. However, D3 discloses wherein the processing system utilizes a machine learning algorithm that is trained to take as an input the at least one of: the current location of the user endpoint device, the current trajectory of the user endpoint device, the current speed of motion of the user endpoint device, the current location of the second satellite, the current trajectory of the second satellite, or the current speed of motion of the second satellite and generates as an output the time at which the second satellite of the non-terrestrial network is expected to enter the field of view of the user endpoint device ([see, [0066] Tracking a UE's previous location(s) and, based at least on that tracking data, predicting where the UE will be next, e.g. using artificial intelligence (AI), such as a machine learning algorithm in which the past locations of a UE are input into a trained machine learning algorithm that returns a prediction of the future or current location of that UE]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide machine learning algorithm results improve efficiency that enhanced capacity (RedCap) commercial devices or UEs such as wearable devices, low-cost industry wireless devices, and internet of thing (IoT) device (D3, [0005]]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BERHANU BELETE whose telephone number is (571)272-3478. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 7:30am-5pm, Alt. Friday, and EDT. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BERHANU D BELETE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 2 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 3 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 4 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 5 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 6 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 7 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 8 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 9 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 10 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 11 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 12 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/476,290 Page 13 Art Unit: 2418