DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/476,298 filed 09/27/2023 by Tomomasa Nishikawa, Tokuya Teranishi, Naoto Wakatabe, Akira Matsushita, Masaru Hirano, Osamu Kawanobe, Nobuhiro Takano, Shinji Watanabe, Hiroyuki Hanawa, takuhiro Murakami, Shota Kanno, Junpei Sato, Hikaru Tamura, Hayato Yamaguchi, Toshio Mizoguchi, Yasushi Nakano, Kazuhiko Funabashi, Masayuki Ogura, Yusuke Funabiki, Junichi Toukairin, and Shota Takeuchi
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by TOMITA (US 2010/0029139 A1).
With respect to claim 1. TOMITA teaches an electrical device which includes at least a motor as a driving force (paragraph 0021). A battery pack 18 is connected to an end portion (paragraph 0029). The connecting portion includes a terminal supporting plate 30 which has terminals 31 and 32 to connect with the battery pack (paragraph 0025). There is included a positive terminal 31 and a negative terminal 32 (paragraph 0026). A fuse 38 may be attached on a n upper surface of the terminal supporting plate and the terminal portion are connected using conductive wires (paragraph 0036). The fuse 38 is taken to be the claimed short circuit element. The fuse then includes two connecting portions to the wires 37a and 37b, and are taken to be the claimed first and second terminal parts. The terminals 31 and 32 are the positive and negative input terminals. As seen in Figure 3B the input terminals are spaced apart from each other in the left-right direction crossing in the upper-lower direction. The fuse 38 then is taken to be formed on a lower side of the terminal part.
With respect to claim 3. TOMITA teaches the connecting portion 1c connects to a battery pack 18 (paragraph 0025). This is taken to be capable of inserting into slots on the battery pack. Specifically claim 3 recites the electrical device connectable to a battery pack, and therefore does not explicitly claim the battery pack. Therefore the limitations for “are inserted into a first slot of the battery pack” and what not are taken to be statements of intended use and are not being given patentable use.
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by WHITE (US 2016/0204475 A1).
With respect to claim 7. WHITE teaches a battery pack including a housing and a power tool interface for mechanically coupling with a battery pack interface of an electrical device (paragraph 0782). The battery pack includes a plurality of unit cells (paragraph 0785). The housing includes a plurality of slots on the top portion of the housing, the slots corresponds to terminals of the batteries and terminals on the electrical device (paragraph 0783). The battery pack further includes a switching network which includes a set of conversion terminals (paragraph 0788). These include at least a first and second switching terminal groups (paragraph 0793). WHITE teaches at least a first and second switching terminals 532b1 and 532b2 located adjacent and separately disposed on in the upper lower direction of a slot (see Figures 51-52).
With respect to claim 11 and 15. WHITE teaches the switching network may be in a low voltage configuration (paragraph 0192). The switching network connects to the electrical device terminal (paragraph 00793-0794). The cells may be connected so that they are in parallel (paragraph 0760).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOMITA (US 2010/0029139 A1) in view of NAMUDURI (US 2014/0375118 A1).
Claim 2 is dependent upon claim 1 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of TOMITA. TOMITA does not explicitly teach the terminal part includes a first and second resin parts.
NAMUDURI teaches a battery distribution module and includes electrically coupling an external electrical bus to a switch device (paragraph 0007). There is a pre-fuse center 193 which includes a molded plastic case configured to receive the connection points and fuses, power bus, terminal connection points (paragraph 0021).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the molded plastic elements for the fuse center and device as taught by NAMUDURI for the fuse and terminal parts of TOMITA as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
TOMITA teaches the terminal supporting plate 35 including the different surfaces (paragraph 0027). Similarly the fuse is attached to the wires 37a and 37b (paragraph 0036). Therefore when combined with the teachings of NAMADURI, the placement between the fuse and the terminals of TOMITA will be separated by the plastic material as taught by NAMUDURI.
With respect to claims 19-20. The rejection of claims 1 and 2 from above are repeated here.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOMITA (US 2010/0029139 A1) in view of WHITE (US 2016/0204475 A1).
Claim 4 is dependent upon claim 1. TOMITA teaches a battery pack is attached to the connecting portion (paragraphs 0023-0025). TOMITA teaches a battery pack 18 (paragraph 0032) but does not give the details for the battery pack.
WHITE teaches a battery pack including a housing and a power tool interface for mechanically coupling with a battery pack interface of an electrical device (paragraph 0782). The battery pack includes a plurality of unit cells (paragraph 0785). The housing includes a plurality of slots on the top portion of the housing, the slots corresponds to terminals of the batteries and terminals on the electrical device (paragraph 0783). The battery pack further includes a switching network which includes a set of conversion terminals (paragraph 0788). These include at least a first and second switching terminal groups (paragraph 0793).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated substitute the battery pack of WHITE for the battery pack and electronic tool of TOMITA as this is a simple substation of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 5. WHITE teaches at least a first and second switching terminals 532b1 and 532b2 located adjacent and separately disposed on in the upper lower direction of a slot (see Figures 51-52).
Claim 6 is dependent upon claim 1. TOMITA teaches a battery pack is attached to the connecting portion (paragraphs 0023-0025). TOMITA teaches a battery pack 18 (paragraph 0032) but does not give the details for the battery pack.
WHITE teaches a battery pack including a housing and a power tool interface for mechanically coupling with a battery pack interface of an electrical device (paragraph 0782). The battery pack includes a plurality of unit cells (paragraph 0785). The housing includes a plurality of slots on the top portion of the housing, the slots corresponds to terminals of the batteries and terminals on the electrical device (paragraph 0783). The battery pack further includes a switching network which includes a set of conversion terminals (paragraph 0788). These include at least a first and second switching terminal groups (paragraph 0793).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated substitute the battery pack of WHITE for the battery pack and electronic tool of TOMITA as this is a simple substation of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 8-9, 12-13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WHITE (US 2016/0204475 A1) in view of TOMITA (US 2010/0029139 A1).
Claims 8, 12, and 16 are dependent upon claim 7 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of WHITE and claim 9 is dependent upon claim 8 and claim 13 is dependent upon claim 12, and claim 17 is dependent upon claim 16. WHITE does not explicitly teach the details of the electrical device body including the short circuit element.
TOMITA teaches an electrical device which includes at least a motor as a driving force (paragraph 0021). A battery pack 18 is connected to an end portion (paragraph 0029). The connecting portion includes a terminal supporting plate 30 which has terminals 31 and 32 to connect with the battery pack (paragraph 0025). There is included a positive terminal 31 and a negative terminal 32 (paragraph 0026). A fuse 38 may be attached on a n upper surface of the terminal supporting plate and the terminal portion are connected using conductive wires (paragraph 0036). The fuse 38 is taken to be the claimed short circuit element. The fuse then includes two connecting portions to the wires 37a and 37b, and are taken to be the claimed first and second terminal parts. The terminals 31 and 32 are the positive and negative input terminals. As seen in Figure 3B the input terminals are spaced apart from each other in the left-right direction crossing in the upper-lower direction. The fuse 38 then is taken to be formed on a lower side of the terminal part.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the electrical device connecting to the battery pack of WHITE with the electrical device of TOMITA, as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 10, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WHITE (US 2016/0204475 A1) in view of TOMITA (US 2010/0029139 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of NAMUDURI (US 2014/0375118 A1).
Claim 10 is dependent upon claim 9, and claim 14 is dependent upon claim 13, and claim 18 is dependent upon claim 17 which are rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of WHITE and TOMITA. TOMITA does not explicitly teach the terminal part includes a first and second resin parts.
NAMUDURI teaches a battery distribution module and includes electrically coupling an external electrical bus to a switch device (paragraph 0007). There is a pre-fuse center 193 which includes a molded plastic case configured to receive the connection points and fuses, power bus, terminal connection points (paragraph 0021).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the molded plastic elements for the fuse center and device as taught by NAMUDURI for the fuse and terminal parts of TOMITA as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
TOMITA teaches the terminal supporting plate 35 including the different surfaces (paragraph 0027). Similarly the fuse is attached to the wires 37a and 37b (paragraph 0036). Therefore when combined with the teachings of NAMADURI, the placement between the fuse and the terminals of TOMITA will be separated by the plastic material as taught by NAMUDURI.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722