Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 10, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 112790436 A – of Record, with US 2023/0255266 as English Language Equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a power supply assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 200) of an aerosol-generation apparatus (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 100) configured to supply power to a vaporizer (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 1) of the aerosol-generation apparatus where the power supply assembly comprises a housing (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 12), an air inlet (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 9) provided on the housing, and a support arranged in the housing comprising a first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) and a second mounting portion (Fig. 4, Support inside housing, 12, that surrounds 4 and 5). There is also a circuit structure extending from the first mounting portion to the second mounting portion being arranged on the support (Para. [0051]).
Zhao also teaches a main board assembly (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 5) and a power supply (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 4) where the main board assembly and the power supply are arranged on the second mounting portion and the main board assembly is electrically connected to the circuit structure and the power supply (Para. [0051]). There is also an electrode terminal (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 19 arranged on the first mounting portion and electrically connected to the circuit structure and the vaporizer of the aerosol-generation apparatus respectively (Para. [0054]).
Finally, Zhao also teaches a first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 18) arranged on the support and being located between the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion abutting against an inner wall surface of the housing to separate the first mounting portion and the second mounting portion in the housing and a second sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 17) arranged on an end of the first mounting portion away from the first sealing member and abutting against the inner wall surface of the housing. The first sealing member and the second sealing member defining an air-inlet region in the housing (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. B) and the air inlet being in communication with the air- inlet region.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches a first sealing groove (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 16) extending along a circumferential direction of the support provided between the first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) and the second mounting portion (Fig. 4, Support inside housing, 12, that surrounds 4 and 5), and the first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) is arranged in the first sealing groove.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao teaches that the first sealing member is an annular sealing ring (Para. [0063]) and the first sealing member is sleeved on the support (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 16).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches that a mounting hole (Fig. 1, where the bottom of the electrode, 19, sticks through the first mounting portion, 13) is provided on the end of the first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) away from the first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13). Zhao also teaches that the electrode terminal is inserted and fixed to the mounting hole (Para. [0054]), an end of the electrode terminal is electrically connected to the circuit structure (Para. [0054]), and an other end of the electrode terminal is electrically connected to the vaporizer (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches a second sealing groove (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 15) extending along the circumferential direction of the support is provided on a periphery of the end of the first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) away from the first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13), and the second sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 17) is arranged in the second sealing groove.
Regarding claim 9, Zhao teaches an airflow sensor (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 21) arranged on the first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) that is electrically connected to the circuit structure (Para. [0071]), and a position of the airflow sensor corresponds to a position of an air inlet (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao teaches an electrical connection member arranged between the airflow sensor and the circuit structure, a first end of the electrical connection member is electrically connected to an electrode of the airflow sensor, and a second end of the electrical connection member abuts against the circuit structure (Para. [0071]; Sensor is connected to the circuit).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao teaches an e-cigarette (Fig. 4) comprising the power supply assembly of an aerosol-generation apparatus according to claim 1(See Claim 1 Rejection) and the vaporizer (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 1) connected to the power supply assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Zhao teaches a first sealing groove (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 16) extending along a circumferential direction of the support provided between the first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) and the second mounting portion (Fig. 4, Support inside housing, 12, that surrounds 4 and 5), and the first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) is arranged in the first sealing groove.
Regarding claim 14, Zhao teaches that the first sealing member is an annular sealing ring (Para. [0063]) and the first sealing member is sleeved on the support (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 16).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao teaches that a mounting hole (Fig. 1, where the bottom of the electrode, 19, sticks through the first mounting portion, 13) is provided on the end of the first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) away from the first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13). Zhao also teaches that the electrode terminal is inserted and fixed to the mounting hole (Para. [0054]), an end of the electrode terminal is electrically connected to the circuit structure (Para. [0054]), and an other end of the electrode terminal is electrically connected to the vaporizer (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao teaches a second sealing groove (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 15) extending along the circumferential direction of the support is provided on a periphery of the end of the first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) away from the first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13), and the second sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 17) is arranged in the second sealing groove.
Regarding claim 20, Zhao teaches an airflow sensor (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 21) arranged on the first mounting portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) that is electrically connected to the circuit structure (Para. [0071]), and a position of the airflow sensor corresponds to a position of an air inlet (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 112790436 A, with US 2023/0255266 as English Language Equivalent) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Qiu et al. (US 2021/0401044 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao does not teach that the second sealing member is a cover structure.
In an analogous art, Qiu teaches an e-cigarette with a second sealing structure (Fig. 9, 10 Ref. Num. 22) that is a cover structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhao with Qiu in order to form the second sealing member as a cover structure. This modification will create an accommodating cavity above the second sealing member to protect the heating member (Qiu; Para. [0170]). This second sealing member will cover the end of the first mounting portion (Zhao; Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13; top) from the first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 18).
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhao teaches that the electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 19) is electrically connected to the vaporizer (Para. [0054]) and since the electrode passes across the second sealing structure (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 17), it must pass through an avoidance hole in the cover structure.
Regarding claim 17, Zhao does not teach that the second sealing member is a cover structure.
In an analogous art, Qiu teaches an e-cigarette with a second sealing structure (Fig. 9, 10 Ref. Num. 22) that is a cover structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhao with Qiu in order to form the second sealing member as a cover structure. This modification will create an accommodating cavity above the second sealing member to protect the heating member (Qiu; Para. [0170]). This second sealing member will cover the end of the first mounting portion (Zhao; Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13; top) from the first sealing member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 18).
Regarding claim 18, modified Zhao teaches that the electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 19) is electrically connected to the vaporizer (Para. [0054]) and since the electrode passes across the second sealing structure (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 17), it must pass through an avoidance hole in the cover structure.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 112790436 A, with US 2023/0255266 as English Language Equivalent) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Bowen et al. (US 2018/0093054 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao does not teach that the circuit is printed on to the support.
In an analogous art, Bowen teaches circuits for e-cigarettes where the circuits are printed on to the support structure of the cigarette (Para. [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhao with Bowen to print the circuit structure on to the support. This modification will reduce the weight and fitting space (Bowen; Para [0115]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao does not teach that the circuit is printed on to the support.
In an analogous art, Bowen teaches circuits for e-cigarettes where the circuits are printed on to the support structure of the cigarette (Para. [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhao with Bowen to print the circuit structure on to the support. This modification will reduce the weight and fitting space (Bowen; Para [0115]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 112790436 A, with US 2023/0255266 as English Language Equivalent) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Potter (US 2020/0288770 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao does not teach limiting convex strips.
In an analogous art, Potter teaches an aerosol-generation apparatus (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 100) that uses limiting convex strips (Fig. 6a, Ref. Num. 208c) and limiting grooves (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 208d), where the convex strips are inserted into the limiting grooves, to connect different pieces of the aerosol-generating devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhao with Potter to used limiting convex strips and limiting grooves to connect the support and the housing. Theses grooves and strips are used to prevent leakage of aerosol and loss of pressure (Potter; Para. [0079]) and should have the same benefits connecting different parts of the aerosol-generating device together.
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749