Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16 recites the limitation "arrangement positions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is unclear what “arrangement positions” refers to because claim 1 does not disclose any “arrangement positions” relating to the “seal portions”. Arrangement of absorbing surfaces, vaporizing surface, and heating body are claimed; however, these do not appear have anything to do with the arrangement of “seal portions”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkins et al. (US 20190373953 A1) in view of Murison et al. (US 20160366946)
Regarding claim 1-3, 7, 13, 16, 20, Atkins et al. disclose a vaporization apparatus comprising the following elements:
housing (see figure 25, element 2205 or 2200, below),
e-liquid storage tank or reservoir (2234),
airflow channel (2218 external air inlet, first airflow path 2220, through internal channel 2224),
vaporization assembly (i.e. atomizer 2228), including the following:
porous body (2230),
with an absorbing surface (facing the reservoir 2234),
and a vaporization surface opposite with a,
heating body (i.e. surface heater 2226) that is opposite the absorbing surface,
vent channel (2236) on the porous body with one end in communication with the e-liquid storage tank, and the other end in communication with external air (as illustrated with dotted lines and arrows).
The vent of Atkins et al. allows negative pressure that builds up in the reservoir because fluid is being vaporized from the porous substrate to be relieved by incoming air through the vent.
Although Atkins et al. disclose that the vent can be an active or passive valve and “…can include any number of features for allowing air to pass into the reservoir chamber 2006, 2106 to relieve negative pressure created in the reservoir chamber”, they do not disclose a seal member being sleeved on the vaporization assembly with at least one seal portion corresponding to the vent channel providing a seal portion that open and closes the vent channel.
However, Murison et al. disclose a similar reservoir that is affected by negative pressure and discloses a similar vent [0381]. Murison et al. disclose the vent can have a fluid impermeable film or a simple mechanical valve such as a duckbill valve [0378]. A duckbill valve is considered to be a first seal member that opens and closes the vent channel to allow external air into and does not allow liquid out of the reservoir. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to use a duckbill valve as the passive valve in the vent to relieve negative pressure.
Regarding claims 4, Atkins et al. disclose a first and second cover body (2210, 2211, 2214, 2210b, 2204d), and accommodating cavity (cartridge receptacle (2212)), and a liquid flowing hole (2218).
Regarding claim 6, Atkins et al. disclose a second seal that forms the reservoir (i.e. sidewalls 2209a).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Atkins et al. disclose using more than one vent [0191] and in view of Murison et al., each would have a seal and seal portion (i.e. valve) covering each hole.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Atkins et al. illustrates the vent in the porous body but also disclose that the vent can be located, “in a variety of positions adjacent or forming a part of the atomizer,” [0199]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to locate the vent in the side of the porous body as described by Atkins et al. to be adjacent to the atomizer. Furthermore, Murison et al. disclose a grove in the porous body where the vent it located. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a groove in the porous body so that the vent and valve can be located adjacent to the atomizer.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Atkins et al. disclose using more than one vent [0191].
Regarding claim 16, a quantity of vents includes a single vent (i.e. inherently a 1 to 1 ratio of seals to vents).
Regarding claim 17, Atkins et al. and Murison et al. disclose a valve or check valve, but do not disclose multiple valves. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to duplicate a check valve to further prevent the leaking of fluid, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Atkins et al. disclose other body arrangements including figure 2A where a lower cover is arranged on a lower end of the second, outer cover. The lower cover has an air inlet and a vent (mouthpiece) in communication.
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkins et al. (US 20190373953 A1) and Murison et al. (US 20160366946) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Althorpe et al. (US 20170367407).
Regarding claims 5, Atkins et al. and Murison et al. make obvious the use of vents and mechanical valves to release negative pressure in a e-liquid storage reservoir but do not disclose a valve that closes and opens by deforming toward and away from the e-liquid storage tank to open and close. In particular, the duckbill valve disclose by Murison et al. would not result in that arrangement. However, Althorpe et al. disclose a similar vent in an atomizer and disclose that a check valve may be used to permit air ingress and prevent undesired nicotine solution leakage [0084]. Althorpe et al. do not expressly disclose the structure of the check valve. However, it is notoriously well known in the art, as well as outside the art, that numerous check valves structures exist and most (ball, piston, disc, butterfly, etc.) have valve structures that move from a closed position toward the flow direction when opening. In this case, the flow direction is inherently the reservoir and the valve structure will open when the pressure is lower in the reservoir than the outside causing the valve structure to deform toward the reservoir to open and then return toward the heater vaporization side when pressure is equalized.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to use place the check valve of Althorpe et al. in the hole of Atkins et al. at the top or the bottom of the hole as the valve would need to be inserted into or onto the hole.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747