DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear if the oleophobic structural layer surrounds the elastomeric seal completely or partially. For example lines 10-15 of claim 2 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, all surfaces of the elastomeric seal. However, lines 22-26 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, only partially covers the elastomeric seal structure. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear if the oleophobic structural layer surrounds the elastomeric seal completely or partially. For example lines 10-15 of claim 3 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, all surfaces of the elastomeric seal. However, lines 16-21 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, only partially covers the elastomeric seal structure. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear if the oleophobic structural layer surrounds the elastomeric seal completely or partially. For example lines 10-15 of claim 2 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, all surfaces of the elastomeric seal. However, lines 22-26 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, only partially covers the elastomeric seal structure. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear if the oleophobic structural layer surrounds the elastomeric seal completely or partially. For example lines 10-15 of claim 3 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, all surfaces of the elastomeric seal. However, lines 16-21 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, only partially covers the elastomeric seal structure. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear if the oleophobic structural layer surrounds the elastomeric seal completely or partially. For example lines 10-15 of claim 2 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, all surfaces of the elastomeric seal. However, lines 22-26 describe an oleophobic structure that covers the upper surface, and therefore, only partially covers the elastomeric seal structure. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi et al. (WO2021049190A1) in view of Shinichi et al. (JP2008078534A).
In re claim 1, Takashi discloses a wound capacitor package structure, comprising:
a wound assembly (3 – Figure 4, ¶30) including a wound positive conductive foil (5 – Figure 4, ¶30), a wound negative conductive foil (7 – Figure 4, ¶30) and two wound insulating separators (6 – Figure 4, ¶30);
a conductive assembly including a first conductive pin (8 – Figure 4, ¶31) electrically contacting the wound positive conductive foil (5 – Figure 4) and a second conductive pin (9 – Figure 4, ¶31) electrically contacting the wound negative conductive foil (7 – Figure 4);
a package casing (2 – Figure 3, ¶29) configured to receive the wound assembly (Figure 3, Figure 4); and
a sealing element (4 – Figure 3, ¶39) disposed inside the package casing (2 – Figure 3) and cooperating with the package casing (Figure 3), wherein the sealing element is configured to prevent the wound assembly from contacting an external environment (See Figure 3);
wherein one of the two wound insulating separators (6 – Figure 4) is disposed between the wound positive conductive foil (5 – Figure 4) and the wound negative conductive foil (7 – Figure 4), and one of the wound positive conductive foil and the wound negative conductive foil (5 – Figure 4) is disposed between the two wound insulating separators (6 – Figure 4);
wherein the first conductive pin (8 – Figure 3) includes a first embedded portion (8 within 11 – Figure 4, ¶99) accommodated inside the package casing (2 – Figure 3) and enclosed by the sealing element (4 – Figure 3), and a first exposed portion (8 outside of 4 – Figure 3) exposed outside the package casing (2 – Figure 3), and the second conductive pin (9 – Figure 3) includes a second embedded portion (9 within 11 – Figure 3) accommodated inside the package casing (2 – Figure 3) and enclosed by the sealing element (4 – Figure 3), and a second exposed portion (9 outside of 4 – Figure 3) exposed outside the package casing (2 – Figure 3);
wherein the package casing has a surrounding concave position-limiting portion (13 – Figure 3, ¶45) recessed inward to press the sealing element (4 – Figure 3), and a surrounding convex end portion (portion of 2 surrounding 13 – Figure 3) protruding from the surrounding concave position-limiting portion to abut against the sealing element (4 – Figure 3);
wherein the sealing element (4 – Figure 3) includes an elastomeric seal structure pressed by the surrounding concave position-limiting portion (¶45), and an oleophobic structure (¶42) for protecting the elastomeric seal structure (Figure 3).
Takashi does not disclose the oleophobic structure of the sealing element is configured to reduce the corrosiveness of the elastomeric seal structure by an oil-containing cooling liquid.
Shinichi discloses the sealing element (5 – Figure 3, ¶17) is configured to reduce the corrosiveness of the elastomeric seal structure by an oil-containing cooling liquid (8 – Figure 3, ¶22-23; Note that the Examiner is not considering the invocation of U.S.C. 112(f) because significant structure has been introduced.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the oil reservoir of Shinichi to suppress degradation of the electronic component (¶20 – Shinichi).
In re claim 5, Takashi discloses a wound capacitor package structure, comprising:
a wound assembly (3 – Figure 4, ¶30);
a conductive assembly including a first conductive pin (8 – Figure 4, ¶31) and a second conductive pin (9 – Figure 4, ¶31);
a package casing (2 – Figure 3, ¶29) configured to receive the wound assembly (Figure 3, Figure 4); and
a sealing element (4 – Figure 3, ¶39) disposed inside the package casing (2 – Figure 3) and cooperating with the package casing (Figure 3), wherein the sealing element is configured to prevent the wound assembly from contacting an external environment (See Figure 3);
wherein the package casing has a surrounding concave position-limiting portion (13 – Figure 3, ¶45) recessed inward to press the sealing element (4 – Figure 3), and a surrounding convex end portion (portion of 2 surrounding 13 – Figure 3) protruding from the surrounding concave position-limiting portion to abut against the sealing element (4 – Figure 3);
wherein the sealing element (4 – Figure 3) includes an elastomeric seal structure pressed by the surrounding concave position-limiting portion (¶45), and an oleophobic structure (¶42) for protecting the elastomeric seal structure (Figure 3).
Takashi does not disclose the oleophobic structure of the sealing element is configured to reduce the corrosiveness of the elastomeric seal structure by an oil-containing cooling liquid.
Shinichi discloses the sealing element (5 – Figure 3, ¶17) is configured to reduce the corrosiveness of the elastomeric seal structure by an oil-containing cooling liquid (8 – Figure 3, ¶22-23; Note that the Examiner is not considering the invocation of U.S.C. 112(f) because significant structure has been introduced.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the oil reservoir of Shinichi to suppress degradation of the electronic component (¶20 – Shinichi).
In re claim 9, Takashi discloses a sealing element (4 – Figure 3) applied to a wound capacitor package structure (1 – Figure 3, ¶57) including:
a wound assembly (3 – Figure 4, ¶30), a conductive assembly (8, 9 – Figure 3, Figure 4) and a package casing (2 – Figure 3, ¶29); and
wherein the sealing element (4 – Figure 3, ¶39) is disposed inside the package casing (2 – Figure 3) and cooperating with the package casing (Figure 3), and the sealing element is configured to prevent the wound assembly from contacting an external environment (See Figure 3);
wherein the package casing has a surrounding concave position-limiting portion (13 – Figure 3, ¶45) recessed inward to press the sealing element (4 – Figure 3), and a surrounding convex end portion (portion of 2 surrounding 13 – Figure 3) protruding from the surrounding concave position-limiting portion to abut against the sealing element (4 – Figure 3);
wherein the sealing element (4 – Figure 3) includes an elastomeric seal structure pressed by the surrounding concave position-limiting portion (¶45), and an oleophobic structure (¶42) for protecting the elastomeric seal structure (Figure 3).
Takashi does not disclose the oleophobic structure of the sealing element is configured to reduce the corrosiveness of the elastomeric seal structure by an oil-containing cooling liquid.
Shinichi discloses the sealing element (5 – Figure 3, ¶17) is configured to reduce the corrosiveness of the elastomeric seal structure by an oil-containing cooling liquid (8 – Figure 3, ¶22-23; Note that the Examiner is not considering the invocation of U.S.C. 112(f) because significant structure has been introduced.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the oil reservoir of Shinichi to suppress degradation of the electronic component (¶20 – Shinichi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the oleophobic structure includes a plurality of oleophobic fillers each containing a predetermined oil-resistant material, and the oleophobic fillers are mixed into the elastomeric seal structure so as to form the sealing element having an oleophobic function. The predetermined oil-resistant material includes polyurethane rubber, acrylate rubber, fluoro rubber or nitrile rubber, the fluoro rubber is chlorohydrin rubber, fluorosilicone rubber or fluoro-phosphazene rubber, and the nitrile rubber is hydrogenated nitrile rubber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US Publication 2018/0166221) Figure 1
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848