DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the steel rods claimed in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘340 (KR101143340) in view of ‘675 (CN11521675).
For claim 1, ‘340 discloses a composite board, comprising a frame and a lining plate, wherein the lining plate is a wood board inlaid in the frame, and the frame comprises reinforcing pillars that closely fit the lining plate and are fixedly connected to the lining plate and the frame, respectively.
‘340 does not disclose that the frame is made of steel.
‘675 discloses the obviousness of making a cabinet body (fig. 1) of a steel-wood composite material (see technical field and background section of submitted translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to make the frame of ‘340 of steel as made obvious by ‘675 to increase the strength of the composite board.
For claim 2, the combination discloses that the reinforcing pillar is a post (‘340 fig. 3, 320).
For claims 3-4, it would be obvious to make the lining plate have a thickness of 3mm since this merely involves a change of size of an already disclosed material to get predictable and expected results like a thin plate that is strong and durable for a filing cabinet.
For claim 5, the combination discloses a filing/drawer cabinet (‘340 fig. 2) using the modified steel-wood composite board of claim 1.
For claim 6, the combination discloses that the filing/drawer cabinet comprises a top plate (‘340 fig. 8, 100), lateral plates (300), a back plate (400), a bottom connecting member (200), and a drawer (‘340 fig. 500), wherein each of the lateral plates is made of the modified steel-wood composite board, two sides of the top plate being fixed to modified steel frames of the two lateral plates, respectively, two sides of the back plate being fixed to the modified steel frames of the two lateral plates, respectively, two lateral slides of the drawer being fixed to the modified steel frames of the two lateral plates, respectively, and two ends of the bottom connecting member being fixed to the modified steel frames of the two lateral plates, respectively (page 4 paragraphs 3 and 4).
For claim 10, the combination discloses that the steel frame has a bottom provided with a base, and the base comprises casters (‘675 fig. 1, 2).
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘340 (KR101143340) in view of ‘675 (CN11521675) as set forth in the rejection of claim 6, and further in view of Beaver (US Patent No. 3,809,449).
For claim 7, the combination does not explicitly disclose that the modified steel frames are provided with a threaded hole for a screw to pass through so that the top plate and/or the back plate and/or the bottom connecting member are connected to the steel frame by the screw.
Beaver discloses the obviousness of adding holes (fig. 1, 230, 42, they can be threaded, see 174) to the steel frames of filing cabinet frames so that screws can be used to connect to the frames to plates of the cabinet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to add threaded holes to the modified steel frames of the combination for a screw to pass through so that the top plate and/or the back plate and/or the bottom connecting member are connected to the steel frame by the screw as made obvious by Beaver to provide a means for the assembly to be mechanically connected by screws.
For claim 8, the combination discloses the obviousness of providing each of the steel frames with a fastening tongue (Beaver fig. 1, 42) and the fastening tongue is provided with a threaded hole for a screw to pass through so that the top plate and/or the back plate and/or the bottom connecting member are connected to the fastening tongue by the screw.
For claim 9, the combination discloses the obviousness of providing rods (Beaver fig. 1, 222, 228, it would be obvious to make them of steel also), wherein the rods and the steel frames are all provided with holes (it would be obvious to make them threaded, see threaded 174) for screws to pass through so that the top plate and/or the back plate and/or the bottom connecting member are connected to the steel rods by the screws, and the steel rods connects the two steel frames.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA K IHEZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633