DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The Amendment filed 03/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-7, and 10-18 are currently pending in the application. Claims 2-3 and 8-9 have been previously canceled. Claims 13-18 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, 7, and 10-12 have been amended. No new claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103. Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection of 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shkolnik (US 2010/0125356 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (“in the present invention, an absolute location of a pixel of the digital light projector is selected. This absolute location of the pixel is used to align each pixelized slice of the parts to accurately align the pixelized slices. This allows features, such as cavities 54, are positioned at the same x/y locations relative to the physical pixels. This minimizes the variation induces by software algorithms to scaling, antialiasing and pixel shifting across the build plate and the part 50, thereby eliminating or minimizing large inter-part variation between the multiple parts. Whihen parts are aligned according to pixel boundaries, a surface 58, such as an upper surface, of a part 50 has much more uniform or regular surface morphology (FIG. 8) when compared to the surface 18 of a part 10 which are not aligned according to pixel boundaries (FIG. 4)” (Remarks, Pg 6)) and (no software algorithms applying scaling, antialiasing or pixel shifting unevenly to models across the build area) (Remarks, Pg 8) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Accordingly, based upon the reasons stated above, the rejection of claims 1, 4-7, and 10-12 under 35 USC 103 set forth in the Office Action mailed 02/03/2026 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments that prior art cited in the rejection of dependent claims not make up for the deficiencies of the prior art cited in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 7 is not persuasive because the rejection of claims 1 and 7 is not considered to be deficient as argued above.
The rejection of amended claims 1, 4-7, and 10-12 is provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shkolnik (US 2010/0125356 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Shkolnik teaches a method wherein when patterns 132, 134 are configured as digital bitmap information and pattern generators 102, 104 are configured as digital light processing “DLP” devices, the pattern is projected as electromagnetic radiation (e.g., light) from sources 142, 144 that are selectively reflected by micro-mirrors in pattern generators 102, 104, wherein pattern generators 102, 104 may directly or indirectly generate the patterns to reactive material 118, e.g., using mirrors and/or lenses or other optical elements to modify the output path; and wherein during regular operation, controller 120 of machine 100 receives and sends patterns 132, 134 to pattern generators 102, 104 that selectively produce patterns 132, 134 to produce a work piece 114 in a voxelized construction process; wherein the geometric correction may be applied to voxelized construction methods and/or slice-based construction methods (a digital light projector of the digital light processing printer, the digital light projector being the lights source for the digital light processing printer; generating pixelized slices of the part; printing the first slice using digital light processing; printing the second slice using digital light processing) (¶0094,0108,0181).
While Shkolnik teaches a digital light projector of the digital light processing printer, Shkolnik does not explicitly disclose establishing an absolute location of a pixel in an x/y plane of a digital light projector of the digital light processing printer; aligning a respective corner of a first slice of the pixelized slices with the absolute location of the pixel of the digital light projector; aligning the first slice with the pixel boundary across a build area of the printer; aligning a respective corner of a second slice of the pixelized slices with the absolute location of the pixel of the digital light projector; and aligning the second slice with the pixel boundary across a build area of the printer.
However, Shkolnik ¶0126 teaches that in step 1120, an image of calibration template 310 is captured using imager 106 and transferred to controller 120. The image may be taken as a bitmap or other format (e.g., TIFF, GIF, JPEG, BMP, PNG, etc.) and may include pixel information as black & white, grayscale, or color. Additional information such as the time and date of the image captured may also be stored as metadata for use by controller 120. The metadata for the current image may be used in relation to stored information to determine drift over time, or to provide real-time performance information relative to established norms based on historical data or a theoretical model of imager 106, and/or pattern generators 102, 104, or the apparatus as a whole.
Shkolnik ¶0127 teaches that in step 1130, controller 120 determines the differences between the image taken of calibration template 310 with respect to the known dimensions and pattern of calibration template 310. This process allows controller 120 to determine the variations between calibration template 310 and the image taken of calibration template 310. For example, the determination can be used to generate data regarding the differences in the expected image to the actual image taken by imager 106.
Shkolnik ¶0129 teaches that differencing may be a pixel-by-pixel comparison, or it may take into account feature analysis and comparison. For feature analysis, the corners of black & white squares may be used to generate a 2-dimensional grid for both calibration template 310 and the captured image. In another example, a starting-point may be determined to begin calculating pixel-by-pixel comparisons to detect edges. In either event, comparison of calibration template 310 and the captured image may be performed to detect differences, where the lack thereof may be considered similarities. For example, if a portion of a captured image matches calibration template 310 perfectly, then the difference may be zero.
Shkolnik ¶0131 teaches that in step 1140, an imager correction map is generated by mapping the differences of calibration template 310 and the captured image of step 1130. Choice of the mapping method may depend on the level of inaccuracy or distortion between the ideal calibration template and the captured image. Where large inaccuracies are determined in the differencing, a pixel-by-pixel mapping approach may be appropriate.
Shkolnik ¶0132 teaches that calibration template 310 may include a printed checker board with a large number of black and white squares (e.g., over 500 squares). The corner of each square may be detected and captured for image processing where the coordinates of each corner are related to real dimensions and locations (e.g., the printed location). The size and shape of each square may also be used as an input for the mapping procedure. The correction mapping may then be considered a reference map, where the ideal location and the actual location are used to correct or “fix” the image. The correction mapping may then be used as a reference map to provide real coordinates (e.g., inches or millimeter) dimensions and locations for every pixel of the device (e.g., imager 106).
Shkolnik ¶0131 teaches that a method for generating a mapping may be to create lookup tables for each x/y pair. Each particular “x” table entry may include an x ordinate for the ideal calibration template 310 mapping and a corresponding x′ ordinate corresponding to the same pixel in the captured image. Similarly, each particular “y” table entry may include a “y” ordinate for the ideal calibration template 310 mapping and a corresponding y′ ordinate corresponding to the same pixel in the captured image. Thus, the tables provide a mapping of the ideal calibration template to the captured image. When a pixel-by-pixel mapping is chosen, each pixel in the imager is mapped to an ideal set of coordinates (x/y) of the ideal calibration template.
Shkolnik ¶0134-0135 teaches that each time an image is used from imager 106, each pixel may be adjusted for position by the offsets contained in the imager correction map and the imager correction map may be stored to controller 120, imager 106 (where persistent storage is available), or another device that communicates with machine 100 or controller 106.
Shkolnik ¶0084 teaches that calibration/correction system and methods may be applied to manufacturing systems that include voxel data which include an intensity for each pixel or they may be applied to slice-data files or bitmaps that may be derived from slice-data files.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the pixel-by-pixel mapping method disclosed in Shkolnik to include establishing an absolute location of a pixel in an x/y plane of a digital light projector of the digital light processing printer; aligning a respective corner of a first slice of the pixelized slices with the absolute location of the pixel of the digital light projector; aligning the first slice with the pixel boundary across a build area of the printer; aligning a respective corner of a second slice of the pixelized slices with the absolute location of the pixel of the digital light projector; and aligning the second slice with the pixel boundary across a build area of the printer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a correction mapping that may then be considered a reference map, where the ideal location and the actual location are used to correct or fix the image (¶0123-0135).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, as applied to claims 1 and 7, respectively, while Shkolnik teaches a method wherein the part is aligned with the pixel boundary across the build area of the printer, Shkolnik does not explicitly teach wherein one or more additional slices are aligned with the pixel boundary across the build area of the printer nor wherein multiple pixelized slices for multiple parts are aligned with the pixel boundaries across the build area of the printer.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Shkolnik such that one or more additional slices are aligned with the pixel boundary across the build area of the printer and wherein multiple pixelized slices for multiple parts are aligned with the pixel boundaries across the build area of the printer, since it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, as applied to claims 1 and 7, respectively, Shkolnik teaches a method wherein a pair of pattern generators 102, 104 are used to configure a building surface of a container of reactive material 118 into solid form (wherein the part is printed from a photo curable material; wherein the layers pixelized slices are printed with a photo curable material) (¶0096).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, as applied to claims 1 and 7, respectively, while Shkolnik teaches a method of aligning a part and a method of aligning layers of respective parts in digital light processing printer, Shkolnik does not explicitly teach wherein the part is an electrical connector nor wherein the pixelized slices form one or more electrical connectors.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Shkolnik such that the part is an electrical connector and the pixelized slices form one or more electrical connectors, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Conclusion
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743