DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/476,397 filed on 09/28/2023 in which claims 16-34 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 25, 26 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-22, 24, and 27-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ro et al. (US 2016/0278120 A1).
1. Regarding claim 16, Ro teaches an apparatus configured to control a transmitter (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0099] terminal switching between transmission and reception), the apparatus comprising a
processor configured to:
provide for generation of a data frame for transmission by the transmitter at a selected one of a plurality of predetermined carrier frequencies, the data frames having a fixed predetermined frame length (Fig. 1 channel sensing signal design; LTE uplink), wherein each data frame comprises fixed predetermined number of sub-frames (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0099] subframe divided into slots), and each sub-frame comprises a predetermined number of slots based on which of the plurality of predetermined carrier frequencies is selected (Paragraph [0099] each slot has seven SC-FDMA symbols), and wherein each slot includes a fixed number of symbol time periods (Paragraph [0099] each slot has seven SC-FDMA symbols);
receive a data stream for transmission (Fig. 9 Paragraph [0148] data transmission);
define, for the predetermined number of slots of each sub-frame, at least one
communication-slot for transmitting of data-symbols that represent the data stream and at least one sense-slot for transmitting a predetermined sense-symbol for use in sensing an environment proximal the transmitter (Fig. 1 and 9; channel sensing signal transmitted via an SC-FDMA symbol next to the GP of slot 0);
wherein the generation of the data frame further includes
the generation of the data-symbols that represent the data stream, in the
respective symbol time periods of the at least one communication-slot, according to a
predetermined encoding protocol (Fig. 1 channel sensing signal design; LTE uplink), and the generation of the predetermined sense-symbol in at least one symbol time
period of the respective at least one sense-slot (Fig. 1 and 9; channel sensing signal transmitted via an SC-FDMA symbol next to the GP of slot 0).
2. Regarding claim 27, Ro teaches a method for an apparatus comprising a processor that is configured to control a transmitter (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0099] terminal switching between transmission and reception), the method comprising:
providing for generation of a data frame for transmission by the transmitter at a selected one of a plurality of predetermined carrier frequencies, the data frames having a fixed predetermined frame length (Fig. 1 channel sensing signal design; LTE uplink), wherein each data frame comprises fixed predetermined number of sub-frames (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0099] subframe divided into slots), and each sub-frame comprises a predetermined number of slots based on which of the plurality of predetermined carrier frequencies is selected (Paragraph [0099] each slot has seven SC-FDMA symbols), and wherein each slot includes a fixed number of symbol time periods (Paragraph [0099] each slot has seven SC-FDMA symbols);
receiving a data stream for transmission (Fig. 9 Paragraph [0148] data transmission);
defining, for the predetermined number of slots of each sub-frame, at least one
communication-slot for transmitting of data-symbols that represent the data stream and at least one sense-slot for transmitting a predetermined sense-symbol for use in sensing an environment proximal the transmitter (Fig. 1 and 9; channel sensing signal transmitted via an SC-FDMA symbol next to the GP of slot 0);
wherein the providing for generation of the data frame further includes
generating of the data-symbols that represent the data stream, in the
respective symbol time periods of the at least one communication-slot, according to a
predetermined encoding protocol (Fig. 1 channel sensing signal design; LTE uplink), and generating of the predetermined sense-symbol in at least one symbol time
period of the respective at least one sense-slot (Fig. 1 and 9; channel sensing signal transmitted via an SC-FDMA symbol next to the GP of slot 0).
3. Regarding claims 17 and 30, Ro teaches wherein the predetermined number of slots in each sub-frame comprises at least two and each sense-slot excludes data-symbols that represent the data stream (Ro, Figures 1 and 9 Paragraph [0099] subframe divided into slots; channel sensing signal).
4. Regarding claims 18 and 29, Ro teaches wherein the processor being configured to generate data-symbols that represent the data stream comprises:
the generation of the data-symbols that represent the data stream in the
respective symbol time periods of the communication-slots and the symbol time
periods of the sense-slots that are not occupied by the predetermined sense-symbol (Ro, Figures 1 and 9 Paragraph [0099] subframe divided into slots; transmit channel sensing signal and data).
5. Regarding claims 19 and 31, Ro teaches wherein the time period between consecutive sense-symbols is constant (Figure 1 number of symbols between consecutive channel sensing signal is the same).
6. Regarding claims 20 and 28, Ro teaches wherein the processor is configured such that the position of the at least one symbol time period in the at least one sense-slot of each sub-frame during which the sense-symbol is generated is selected to provide the constant time period between consecutive sense-symbols (Figure 1 number of symbols between consecutive channel sensing signal is the same).
7. Regarding claims 21 and 32, Ro teaches wherein the sense-symbol has a duration that extends over at least two consecutive symbol time periods in the sense-slots (Figure 1 diagram b, Paragraph [0101] channel sensing signal over two SC-FDMA symbols).
8. Regarding claims 22 and 33, Ro teaches wherein each sub-frame includes at least one guard interval and the predetermined number of slots (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0099] each slot has seven SC-FDMA symbols; guard period).
9. Regarding claim 24, Ro teaches wherein the sense-symbols generated by the
processor have a duration of at least two symbol time periods and comprise a first symbol time period comprising a symbol time period having a data-symbol therein and at least a second symbol time period directly adjacent the first symbol time period and comprising a copy of the data-symbol in the first symbol time period (Figure 1 diagram b, Paragraph [0101] channel sensing signal over two SC-FDMA symbols).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Ren et al. (US 20230188275 A1) Paragraph [0075] estimate Doppler
Park et al. (US 20210392516 A1) Figure 8 Paragraph [0021] environment sensing with different carrier frequencies
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466