DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 06/30/2026, has been entered. Claims 1 and 11 are amended; claims 2-10 and 12-13 stand as originally or previously presented; and claims 14-19 are new. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.112(b) and 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) rejection set forth in Office Action mailed 04/03/2026 has been withdrawn. Amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to newly cited art are set forth below as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuhara et al. (US 20190140268 A1, hereinafter Matsuhara), as cited in IDS filed 12/28/2023, in view of Castle et al. (US 20140141262 A1, hereinafter Castle).
Regarding Claim 1, Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract) comprising
particles of a carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and negative electrode material is a composite particle., Abstract, [0021]) individually coated with a coating film (Matsuhara, a coating portion 4 disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material 2, [0006], Figure 1; the Examiner notes that Figure 1 shows that the negative electrode active material particle 2 is fully coated, or individually coated, as claimed, with a coating portion 4).
Matsuhara discloses that the coating portion includes a crosslinking site having a C—O—C bonding portion (Matsuhara, [0006]).
Matsuhara is silent regarding the coating film comprises at least one selected from the following compound (X) and a crosslinked product of the following compounds (Y):
(X) an acetoacetyl group-containing resin, and
(Y): a polyvinyl alcohol-based resin and a silicon element-containing compound.
Castle discloses a coating film (Castle, the use of novel polymers in coatings to have improved adhesive properties, [0011]) comprises at least one selected from the following compound (X) and a crosslinked product of the following compounds (Y)
(X) an acetoacetyl group-containing resin (Castle, the coating compositions are produced by preparing aqueous solutions or dispersions of copolymers having a polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) polymer backbone containing reactive coupling groups such as acetoacetyl groups which have been reacted with an alkoxy silane side chain (R) attached to the backbone of the copolymer having an amino group, [0119]), and
(Y): a polyvinyl alcohol-based resin and a silicon element-containing compound (Castle, functionalized homo- and copolymers of vinyl alcohol of the present invention contain one of more silanol (Si--OH) groups. It is known that the silanol groups of aminosilanes may crosslink to form a Si--O--Si network, [0100]).
Castle teaches that the coating compositions exhibit improved oxygen barrier properties and bond strength characteristics, which is especially important in environments where the relative humidity exceeds 50% (Castle, [0013]).
Matsuhara and Castle are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a coating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the coating compositions of Castle as the coating for a negative electrode active material of Matsuhara, in order to have improved oxygen barrier properties and bond strength characteristics, which is especially important in environments where the relative humidity exceeds 50%.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the carbon material is graphite (Matsuhara, the negative electrode active material is a graphite-based carbon material, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein a basal plane of the carbon material is coated with the coating film (Matsuhara, the coating is applied to on a surface of the negative electrode active material, [0021], Figure 1; the Examiner notes that the particle is entirely coated with the coating film, as shown in Figure 1, which would include the basal plane, as claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the coating film comprises the compound (X) (Castle, the coating compositions are produced by preparing aqueous solutions or dispersions of copolymers having a polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) polymer backbone containing reactive coupling groups such as acetoacetyl groups which have been reacted with an alkoxy silane side chain (R) attached to the backbone of the copolymer having an amino group, [0119]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the acetoacetyl group-containing resin contains a hydroxyl group (Castle, the coating compositions are produced by preparing aqueous solutions or dispersions of copolymers having a polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) polymer backbone containing reactive coupling groups such as acetoacetyl groups which have been reacted with an alkoxy silane side chain (R) attached to the backbone of the copolymer having an amino group, [0119]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract) wherein the acetoacetyl group-containing resin is a polyvinyl alcohol-based resin containing an acetoacetyl (Castle, the coating compositions are produced by preparing aqueous solutions or dispersions of copolymers having a polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) polymer backbone containing reactive coupling groups such as acetoacetyl groups which have been reacted with an alkoxy silane side chain (R) attached to the backbone of the copolymer having an amino group, [0119]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the coating film comprises the crosslinked product of the compounds (Y) (Castle, functionalized homo- and copolymers of vinyl alcohol of the present invention contain one of more silanol (Si--OH) groups. It is known that the silanol groups of aminosilanes may crosslink to form a Si--O--Si network, [0100])..
Regarding Claim 8, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract) wherein the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin contains an acetoacetyl group (Castle, the coating compositions are produced by preparing aqueous solutions or dispersions of copolymers having a polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) polymer backbone containing reactive coupling groups such as acetoacetyl groups which have been reacted with an alkoxy silane side chain (R) attached to the backbone of the copolymer having an amino group, [0119]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the coating film further comprises a boron element- containing compound (Matsuhara, the coating portion includes, for example, a dehydration condensate of boric acid and polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), [0009]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the boron element-containing compound is at least one compound selected from boron oxide, metaboric acid, tetraboric acid, borate, and an alkoxide having 1 to 3 carbon atoms bound to boron. (Matsuhara, the boron compound 4a is boric acid (B(OH)3) or a boric acid ester compound represented by a following formula (I): B(OR)2OH (wherein each R is independently selected from a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, an alkyl group and a haloalkyl group), [0042]).
Regarding Claim 11, Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a method for producing a coated carbon material where a carbon material is coated with a coating film (Matsuhara, Method for Producing Negative Electrode Material, [0036]),
the method comprising mixing a carbon material with the following compound (X) (Castle, the coating compositions are produced by preparing aqueous solutions or dispersions of copolymers having a polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) polymer backbone containing reactive coupling groups such as acetoacetyl groups which have been reacted with an alkoxy silane side chain (R) attached to the backbone of the copolymer having an amino group, [0119]) and/or
the following compounds (Y) (Castle, functionalized homo- and copolymers of vinyl alcohol of the present invention contain one of more silanol (Si--OH) groups. It is known that the silanol groups of aminosilanes may crosslink to form a Si--O--Si network, [0100])
to individually coat the particles of the carbon material with a coating film (Matsuhara, the coating liquid, and the negative electrode active material 2 are then mixed at a predetermined mixing ratio. The solvent is then evaporated to dryness, [0047], Figure 1; the Examiner notes that the mixing of the coating liquid with the negative electrode active material particles will allow for the particle to be individually coated, as claimed, with the coating liquid, as shown in Figure 1, and as noted above).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a negative electrode comprising a current collector and an active material layer formed on the current collector (Matsuhara, the negative electrode of a lithium secondary battery typically has a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, [0053]), wherein
the active material layer comprises the coated carbon material (Matsuhara, the negative electrode active material layer includes at least the negative electrode material, [0053].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte, wherein the negative electrode is the negative electrode (Matsuhara, lithium secondary battery includes a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a nonaqueous electrolyte, [0055]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein a basal plane of the carbon material is coated with the coating film at a coating rate of 30% or more, wherein the coating rate represents a ratio in % of a specific surface area of the basal plane coated with the coating film relative to an entire specific surface area of the basal plane included in the carbon material (Matsuhara, the coating is applied to on a surface of the negative electrode active material, [0021], Figure 1; the Examiner notes that the particle is entirely coated with the coating film, as shown in Figure 1, which would be 100% coating rate, which would fall within the claimed coating rate of 30% or more).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the coated carbon material has a BET specific surface area in a range of 3 m2/g or more and 9 m2/g or less (Matsuhara, The specific surface area (a BET specific surface area) of the negative electrode active material is from 3 m2/g to 4 m2/g, [0026]; the disclosed range of 3 m2/g to 4 m2/g falls within the claimed range of 3 m2/g or more and 9 m2/g or less).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the coating film comprises the crosslinked product of the compounds (Y) and a crosslinked product of the compound (X), wherein
the crosslinked products comprise a crosslinked structure derived from the silicon element-containing compound and the acetoacetyl group as only crosslinking agents (Castle, the coating compositions are produced by preparing aqueous solutions or dispersions of copolymers having a polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) polymer backbone containing reactive coupling groups such as acetoacetyl groups which have been reacted with an alkoxy silane side chain (R) attached to the backbone of the copolymer having an amino group, and the functionalized homo- and copolymers of vinyl alcohol of the present invention contain one of more silanol (Si--OH) groups. It is known that the silanol groups of aminosilanes may crosslink to form a Si--O--Si network, according to the following general equation, [0100, 0119]).
Claim(s) 15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuhara et al. (US 20190140268 A1, hereinafter Matsuhara), in view of Castle et al. (US 20140141262 A1, hereinafter Castle), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyagi et al. (US 20170040593 A1, hereinafter Miyagi).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract).
Modified Matsuhara is silent regarding the coated carbon material has a degree of circularity in a range of 0.88 or more and 1 or less.
Miyagi discloses a coated carbon material (Miyagi, a negative electrode material, comprising a carbonaceous substance core which may be graphite, and the surface of a core carbonaceous substance at least partly has an interface where a coating layer differing in crystallinity is bonded to the core carbonaceous substance, wherein the carbonaceous substance having lower crystallinity may be an organic synthetic polymer, including poly(vinyl alcohol), [0362-0369, 0411-0413]), wherein the coated carbon material has a degree of circularity in a range of 0.88 or more and 1 or less (Miyagi, with respect to the degree of sphericity of the composite carbonaceous material, the roundness of the particles is preferably 0.9 or higher, [0435]; the disclosed range of 0.9 or higher falls within the claimed range of 0.88 or more and 1 or less).
Miyagi teaches that resistance in lithium movement between the carbonaceous substances differing in crystallinity is low (Miyagi, [0362-0369]). Further, Miyagi teaches that high roundness values are preferred because they are effective in improving high-current-density charge/discharge characteristics (Miyagi, [0435]).
Modified Matsuhara and Miyagi are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards coated carbon materials.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to routinely design the coated carbon material of modified Matsuhara to have a sphericity of 0.9 or higher, in order to improve high-current-density charge/discharge characteristics.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the coated carbon material has a true density in a range of 1.9 g/cm3 or more and 2.26 g/cm3 or less (Miyagi, the true density of the composite carbonaceous material is 1.9 g/cm3 or higher and 2.26 g/cm3 or lower, and when the true density of the composite carbonaceous material is lower than the lower limit of that range, there are cases where this carbon has too low crystallinity, resulting in an increase in initial irreversible capacity, [0436]; the disclosed range of 1.9 g/cm3 or higher and 2.26 g/cm3 or lower falls within the claimed range of 1.9 g/cm3 or more and 2.26 g/cm3 or less).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Matsuhara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Matsuhara discloses the limitations regarding a coated carbon material (Matsuhara, a negative electrode active material including a carbon material, and a coating portion disposed on a surface of the negative electrode active material, Abstract), wherein the coated carbon material has a pore volume in a range of 0.01 mL/g or more and 0.2 mL/g or less, wherein the pore volume represents a volume of pores having a size of from 10 nm to 1000 nm in the coated carbon material (Miyagi, in the composite carbonaceous material, the total pore volume is preferably 0.1 mL/g or larger and 2 mL/g or smaller, corresponding to a pore diameter of from 0.01 μm to 1 μm, and when the total pore volume is smaller than the lower limit, there are cases where the dispersing effect of a thickener or binder in electrode plate formation is not obtained, [0432-0434]; the disclosed range of 0.1 mL/g or larger and 2 mL/g or smaller overlaps the claimed range of 0.01 mL/g or more and 0.2 mL/g or less).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed in order to achieve sufficient dispersing effect of a thickener or binder in electrode plate formation, and selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-7, filed 06/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 9-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Matsuhara et al. (US 20190140268 A1, hereinafter Matsuhara), in view of Castle et al. (US 20140141262 A1, hereinafter Castle), as noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752