DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1- 4, 7 and 11 -13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (JP 2013-184998), when taken with Maeda (US 2018/0142110) . English machine translation of Okada et al. (JP 2013-184998) for citation. Regarding claims 1- 4 , 7 and 11 : Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses water-based inks for ink-jet recording [0001] , wherein the ink contains a self-dispersing pigment [0023-0025], a second resin which is water soluble and a can be urethane-based resin [0049-0053], a zwitterionic compound such as trimethylglycine [0062-0065], water [0071], an acetylene glycol-based surfactant [0073] , and wetting agents such as glycerin [0079-0080]. Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses Example 11 [Ex. 11; 0105-0106; Table 2, Ex. 11] contains 10 mass% M2 (magenta self-dispersible pigment dispersion [0103]) , 3 mass% second resin A (WBR-016U; water soluble polyurethane [0106]) , 14 mass% trimethylglycine , 4 mass% glycerin (aka glycerol, bp 290 o C ; see instant specification [0088]) , and 1 mass% E101D ( acetylene glycol-based surfactant [0106]) [Ex. 11; 0105-0106; Table 2, Ex. 11]. Maeda (US ‘110) provides evidence that WBR-016U is a water-soluble urethane-based resin [0309] . Regarding claim 12: Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses the ink of Ex. 11 was used to print a 100% duty patch pattern on a recording medium (photo paper) by an ink jet printer [0114]. Regarding claim 13: Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses the ink of Ex. 11 was added to an ink jet printer and a 100% duty patch pattern was recorded on a recording medium (photo paper) [0114]. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (JP 2013-184998) as applied to claim 1 above, when taken with Hirabayashi et al. (JP 2025-12011). English machine translation of Hirabayashi et al. (JP 2025-12011) for citation. Regarding claim 5: Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses the basic claimed ink composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses WBR-016U having an acid group [Ex. 11; 0105-0106; Table 2, Ex. 11]. Hirabayashi et al. (JP ‘011) provides evidence that WBR-016U contains a carboxylate group ( acid group; see instant specification [0045-0058]) [0054] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (JP 2013-184998) as applied to claim 1 above. Regarding claim 6: Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses the basic claimed ink composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses a ratio of WBR-016U to E101D of 3 [Ex. 11; 0105-0106; Table 2, Ex. 11]. Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses the content of the second resin (ex. WBR-016U) is 1 mass% to 5 mass % [0061]. Okada et al. (JP ‘998) does not disclose Ex. 11 containing 2.5 mass% of WBR-016U (thereby affording a ratio of WBR-016U to E101D of 2.5). However, i n the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim , 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff , 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05]. Additionally, while the ink of Ex. 11 does not contain 2.5 mass% of WBR-016U , one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have prepared an ink containing 2.5 mass% of WBR-016U, as Okada et al. (JP ‘998) the content of the second resin (ex. WBR-016U) is 1 mass% to 5 mass % [0061] . See also In re Boesch , 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) [MPEP 2144.05]. Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (JP 2013-184998) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uchizono et al. (US 2020/0385593). Regarding clai m 8 : Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses the basic claimed ink composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses 2 mass% 2-pyrrolidone [Ex. 11; 0080; 0105-0106; Table 2, Ex. 11] . Okada et al. (JP ‘998) does not disclose a lactam and an inorganic oxide particle . However Uchizono et al. (US ‘593) discloses ink jet printing ink compositions comprising colloidal silica, water [abstract] and a lactam solvent [0009; 0040] , such as 2-pyrrolidone and ε-caprolactam [0041] , in an amount of 0.1 to 5.0 mass% [0042]. Okada et al. (JP ‘998) and Uchizono et al. (US ‘593) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of ink compositions for ink jet . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined colloidal silica , as taught by Uchizono et al. (US ‘593) in the invention of Okada et al. (JP ‘998), and would have been motivated to do so since Uchizono et al. (US ‘593) suggests colloidal silica is effective in suppressing primary curling [0033-0034] . Regarding claim 9: Okada et al. (JP ‘998) and Uchizono et al. (US ‘593) disclose the basic claimed ink composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 8]. Note: claim 9 further defines the content of the resin-dispersed particle to the content of the lactam recited in claim 8. However, as claimed, claim 9 further defines the amount of the optional resin-dispersed particle (i.e. claims 8 and 9 do not require the ink composition to comprise the resin-dispersed particle). Regarding claim 10: Okada et al. (JP ‘998) and Uchizono et al. (US ‘593) disclose the basic claimed ink composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 8]; wherein Okada et al. (JP ‘998) discloses 2 mass% 2-pyrrolidone (aka 2-pyrrolidinone, butyrolactam ) [Ex. 11; 0105-0106; Table 2, Ex. 11] as a wetting agent to suppress clogging [0079-0080]. Uchizono et al. (US ‘593) discloses 2-pyrroli din one and ε-caprolactam [0041], in an amount of 0.1 to 5.0 mass% helps recovery from clogging [0042]. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout , 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) [see MPEP 2144.06]. Double Patenting The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. Claims 1, 7 and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/882945 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aqueous ink jet ink composition s and recording methods overlap in scope. While Application No. 18/882945 does not claim a water-soluble urethane resin in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a water-soluble urethane resin in claim 1 as Application No. 18/882945 claims a water-soluble urethane resin [claim 6]. While Application No. 18/882945 does not claim a betaine in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a betaine in claim 1 as Application No. 18/882945 claims a betaine [claim 3]. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven , 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06]. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Claims 1, 3- 5, 7, and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 19/079974 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aqueous ink jet ink compositions and recording methods overlap in scope. While Application No. 19/079974 does not claim a betaine in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a betaine in claim 1 as Application No. 19/079974 claims a betaine [claim 9]. While Application No. 19/079974 does not claim an acetylene glycol-based surfactant in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an acetylene glycol-based surfactant in claim 1 as Application No. 19/079974 claims an acetylene glycol-based surfactant [claim 4]. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven , 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06]. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. See attached form PTO-892. Correspondence Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MICHAEL F PEPITONE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3299 . The examiner can normally be reached on FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mark Eashoo can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1197 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL F PEPITONE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767