DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangamani et al. (US 7891000) in view of Ward (US 20070056020) and further in view of Hecht et al. (US 10148701) and Molloy et al. (US 20120158725).
As per claims 1, 10, and 18, Rangamani et al. discloses a system, medium (see Fig. 1 numeral 16 showing components that include processors and memory/media), and method comprising:
determining a type of entity to be monitored on a network (see column 4 lines 51-62 and column 5 line 61 through column 6 line 10 where the specific group, i.e. type, of entity is selected for monitoring);
monitoring, by a processing device, one or more entities on the network based on the type of entity to be monitored (see column 4 line 63 through column 5 line 11 the monitoring of activity and storage of activity).
Rangamani et al. fails to explicitly disclose polling the one or more entities according to a policy; determining, based on the polling, that an entity of the one or more entities is not compliant with the policy; and restricting access of the entity to the network based on the policy.
However, Ward teaches polling the one or more entities according to a policy; determining, based on the polling, that an entity of the one or more entities is not compliant with the policy; and restricting access of the entity to the network based on the policy (see paragraphs [0023]-[0025] where polling is performed either incrementally or continuously, i.e. a policy for polling, and based on non-compliance the network is restricted according to a policy).
At a time before the effective filing date, of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the polling for compliance of Ward in the Rangamani et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to ensure all entities are running valid protection thereby improving security of the network.
While the modified Rangamani et al. and Ward system discloses polling entities according to a policy, there lacks an explicit teaching that the polling is for access permission information according to a policy.
However, Hecht et al. teaches polling entities for access permission information according to a policy (see column 6 line 49 through column 7 line 49 and column 9 lines 4-15 and column 14 line 60 through column 15 line 63).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to poll for permission information in the modified Rangamani et al. and Ward system.
Motivation to do so would have been to enforce least-privilege policies for access to network resources (see Hecht et al. column 9 lines 1-15).
While the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, and Hecht et al. system generally discloses the use of IP addresses to filter collected data (see Rangamani et al. column 7 line 56 through column 8 line 2), there lacks an explicit recitation of generate a prompt for entering an internet protocol (IP) range configuration; receive the IP range configuration from a user interface; scanning the network based on an internet protocol (IP) range configuration to determine one or more entities that match the type.
However, Molloy et al. teaches generate a prompt for entering an internet protocol (IP) range configuration; receive the IP range configuration from a user interface; scanning the network based on an internet protocol (IP) range configuration to determine one or more entities that match the type (see paragraphs [0051]-[0055] showing the use of a UI to enter a range of IP addresses that are scanned and tagged and see paragraphs [0042]-[0045] and [0062] where the tagging includes tagging different types of entities).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to scan ranges or IP addresses to determine that entities to be monitored in the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, and Hecht et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to split the network scanning among different devices thereby making the scanning more efficient.
As per claims 2, 11, and 19, the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system discloses the type of entity is selected from endpoint and non-endpoint entities (see Rangamani et al. column 5 line 61 through column 6 line 10 servers v. desktops).
As per claims 12, and 20, the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system discloses performing an action on an entity of the one or more entities based on a policy (see Rangamani et al. column 5 lines 50-60 where uninstalling applications with open ports is a policy that is implemented based on the received report data and Ward paragraph [0025]).
As per claim 4, the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system discloses the type of entity is independent of at least one of an IP address or a media access control (MAC) address (see Rangamani et al. column 5 line 61 through column 6 line 10 where the type of device or configuration of the device is used).
As per claims 6 and 14, the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system discloses monitoring entities with storage (see Rangamani et al. column 4 line 63 through column 5 line 11), but fails to explicitly disclose the storage is a cloud based storage resource. However, Official Notice is taken that at a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a cloud based storage resource as part of the monitored entities in the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system in order to allow for more widespread monitoring thereby increasing the robustness of the system.
As per claims 8 and 16, the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system discloses the one or more entities comprises a network device configuration (see Rangamani et al. column 5 line 61 through column 6 line 10 the selection of servers configured to fun Apache).
Claims 5, 7, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Iyer et al. (US 20180052994).
As per claims 5 and 13, the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system generally discloses polling accounts on a network (see Hecht et al. column 6 lines 24-48), but fails to explicitly disclose monitoring entities that are accounts.
However, Iyer et al. teaches monitoring accounts on a network (see paragraph [0077]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to monitor accounts in the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system.
Motivation to do so would have been to assess risks of a security threat of account entities (see Iyer et al. paragraph [0077]).
As per claims 7 and 15, the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system discloses monitoring to detect security weaknesses (see column 5 lines 50-60 where open ports are a security weakness), but fails to explicitly monitor indicators of compromise.
However, Iyer et al. teaches the use of indicators or compromise (see paragraphs [0077]-[0083], [0100], [0120], [0134]-[0137], and [0193]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to monitor indicators of compromise in the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to monitor for exploits on the network.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Lingen (US 20120173704).
As per claims 9 and 17, the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system discloses disclose scanning the network for a plurality of entities, but communicating with a plurality of devices, wherein each of the plurality of devices comprises at least one entity matching the type.
However, Lingen teaches communicating with a plurality of devices, wherein each of the plurality of devices comprises at least one entity matching the type (see paragraphs [0029]-[0031]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to scan for the entities of the modified Rangamani et al., Ward, Hecht et al., and Molloy et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to allow the system to be more robust by detecting new entities that match the type to be monitored.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining reference put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed to monitoring entities on a network based on a range of IP address.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409