DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant's amendment filed on 6/17/26. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claim 21 is new. Claims 1 and 3-21 are currently pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. US 2010/0000341.
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa discloses a fecal collection apparatus comprising:
a main body including an insertion end and a removal end opposite the insertion end, the main body defining a main body cavity between the insertion end and the removal end ([FIG17][¶80,121-125] housing 2 has an insertion end 21 and a removal end 22);
a plunger positioned at least partially within the main body cavity of the main body ([FIG13,17][¶80,121-125] the main body of sampling stick 1 is considered the plunger element)
a sample collection member ([FIG17][¶80,121-125] sampling part 12) positionable within the main body cavity through the insertion end and insertable through the plunger ([FIG20][¶128-132] alternative configurations of FIG.17 have the sampling member 12 being inserted into the plunger element), the sample collection member defining a fecal engagement portion for holding a fecal sample ([FIG17][¶80,121-125] collection portion 121) and a handle portion spaced apart from the fecal engagement portion ([FIG17][¶80,121-125] the rest of element 12 is a holding portion spaced apart from the engagement portion); and
a plug provided at the removal end of the main body, the plug positionable from a closed position in which the plug restricts fluid from passing from the main body cavity through the removal end, to an open position ([FIG16][¶80,121-125] the sealing film 31 is closed restricting fluid into the plug section 3 until it is opened or punctured by protrusion 15).
Regarding claim 3, Hasegawa discloses the plunger defines a sample collection aperture defining an aperture inner diameter, the sample collection member insertable through the sample collection aperture ([FIG20][¶128-132] the sampling member 12 is inserted into the inner diameter of the opening of the plunger element 11).
Regarding claim 5, Hasegawa discloses a guide cap positioned at the insertion end of the main body ([FIG17] cap 11).
Regarding claim 10, Hasegawa discloses a liquid positioned in the main body cavity wherein the liquid is a buffer solution ([¶74] section 3 which is part of the main body when attached to housing 2 contains a buffer solution).
Regarding claim 11, Hasegawa discloses a frangible seal with the plug ([¶73] seal 25 with the engagement members which act as the plug).
Regarding claim 12, Hasegawa discloses the plug is monolithic with the main body ([FIG17] the seal is part of the main housing).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. US 2010/0000341 in view of Kagaya US 5,882,942.
Regarding claim 4, Hasegawa does not disclose a compressed and uncompressed engagement portion. Kagaya teaches a similar fecal sampling device that teaches the fecal engagement portion is deformable between a compressed position and an uncompressed position, the fecal engagement portion defining an uncompressed sample collection outer diameter when in the uncompressed position that is greater than the aperture inner diameter, and a compressed sample collection outer diameter when in the compressed position that is less than the uncompressed sample collection outer diameter ([C4 L65-C5 L5] the brush collection portion is compressible). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the sampling device of Hasegawa with the sampling brush of Kagaya in order to have an even distribution of the sample on the sampling portion ([C2 L15-24]).
Regarding claim 9, Hasegawa does not disclose a brush. Kagaya teaches a brush positioned within the main body cavity of the main body proximate the removal end, the brush having a plurality of bristles for engaging the fecal engagement portion of the sample collection member ([FIG1] brush 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the sampling device of Hasegawa with the sampling brush of Kagaya in order to have an even distribution of the sample on the sampling portion ([C2 L15-24]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa further in view of Jackson US 2017/0072393.
Regarding claim 6, Hasegawa does not disclose the guide cap comprises a plurality of teeth; the main body includes a flange extending from the insertion end; and the flange of the main body engages the plurality of teeth of the guide cap to retain the guide cap on the main body. Jackson teaches a similar fecal sampling container that has a guide cap with teeth ([¶54]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Hasegawa with the teachings of Jackson in order to provide extra grip between components ([¶54]).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 13, 14, 17, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa further in view of Carpenter et al. US 4,562,844.
Regarding claim 7, Hasegawa does not disclose the guide cap defines a rail and the plunger comprises a slotted portion, the plunger is rotatable relative to the guide cap to position the rail of the guide cap within the slotted portion of the plunger. Carpenter teaches a sampling syringe that has a guide cap with a rail ([FIG2] cap 32) and a plunger with a slotted portion ([FIG2] plunger 36) wherein the plunger is rotatable relative to the guide cap ([C5 L28-55]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the device of Hasegawa with the teachings of Carpenter in order to lock the chamber of the sampling device ([C5 L28-55]).
Regarding claim 8, Carpenter teaches the plunger is inhibited from moving in an axial direction when the rail of the guide cap is positioned within the slotted portion of the plunger, and wherein the plunger is permitted to move in the axial direction when the rail of the guide cap is not positioned within the slotted portion of the plunger ([C5 L28-55] when the rail of the guide cap is engaged in the slot between the 40 and 42 it cannot be moved but when it is not the plunger moves freely).
Regarding claim 13 and 19, Hasegawa discloses a fecal collection apparatus comprising:
a main body including an insertion end and a removal end opposite the insertion end, the main body defining a main body cavity between the insertion end and the removal end ([FIG17][¶80,121-125] housing 2 has an insertion end 21 and a removal end 22);
a plunger positioned at least partially within the main body cavity of the main body ([FIG13,17][¶80,121-125] the main body of sampling stick 1 is considered the plunger element)
a sample collection member ([FIG17][¶80,121-125] sampling part 12) positionable within the main body cavity through the insertion end and insertable through the plunger ([FIG20][¶128-132] alternative configurations of FIG.17 have the sampling member 12 being inserted into the plunger element), the sample collection member defining a fecal engagement portion for holding a fecal sample ([FIG17][¶80,121-125] collection portion 121); and
a plug provided at the removal end of the main body, the plug positionable from a closed position in which the plug restricts fluid from passing from the main body cavity through the removal end, to an open position ([FIG16][¶80,121-125] the sealing film 31 is closed restricting fluid into the plug section 3 until it is opened or punctured by protrusion 15).
Hasegawa discloses a locking mechanism with threads 13 but does not disclose the plunger is movable with respect to the guide cap between a locked state and an unlocked state; the plunger is inhibited from moving in an axial direction with the plunger in the locked state, the axial direction corresponding to a longitudinal axis extending from the insertion end to the removal end of the main body; and the plunger is moveable in the axial direction with the plunger in the unlocked state. Carpenter teaches a sampling syringe that has a guide cap with a rail ([FIG2] cap 32) and a plunger with a slotted portion ([FIG2] plunger 36) wherein the plunger is rotatable relative to the guide cap ([C5 L28-55]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the device of Hasegawa with the teachings of Carpenter in order to lock the chamber of the sampling device ([C5 L28-55] when the rail of the guide cap is engaged in the slot between the 40 and 42 it cannot be moved but when it is not the plunger moves freely).
Regarding claim 14, Hasegawa discloses the plunger defines a sample collection aperture defining an aperture inner diameter, the sample collection member insertable through the sample collection aperture ([FIG20][¶128-132] the sampling member 12 is inserted into the inner diameter of the opening of the plunger element 11).
Regarding claim 17, Carpenter teaches a guide cap with a rail ([FIG2] cap 32) and a plunger with a slotted portion ([FIG2] plunger 36) wherein the plunger is rotatable relative to the guide cap ([C5 L28-55]).
Regarding claim 21, Carpenter teaches the plunger is movable independent of the sample collection member ([C5 L28-55]).
Claim(s) 15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa in view of Carpenter further in view of Kagaya.
Regarding claim 15 and 20, Hasegawa discloses the sample collection member comprises a handle portion and the fecal engagement portion opposite the handle portion ([FIG17][¶80,121-125] the rest of element 12 is a holding portion spaced apart from the engagement portion). Hasegawa does not specifically disclose the fecal engagement portion being deformable between a compressed position and an uncompressed position, the fecal engagement portion defining an uncompressed sample collection outer diameter that is greater than the aperture inner diameter when in the uncompressed position. Kagaya teaches compressible portion ([C4 L65-C5 L5] the brush collection portion is compressible). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the sampling device of Hasegawa with the sampling brush of Kagaya in order to have an even distribution of the sample on the sampling portion ([C2 L15-24]).
Regarding claim 18, Hasegawa does not specifically disclose the brush. Kagaya teaches a brush positioned within the main body cavity of the main body proximate the removal end, the brush having a plurality of bristles for engaging the fecal engagement portion of the sample collection member ([FIG1] brush 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the sampling device of Hasegawa with the sampling brush of Kagaya in order to have an even distribution of the sample on the sampling portion ([C2 L15-24]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa in view of Carpenter further in view of Jackson.
Regarding claim 16, Hasegawa does not disclose the guide cap comprises a plurality of teeth; the main body includes a flange extending from the insertion end; and the flange of the main body engages the plurality of teeth of the guide cap to retain the guide cap on the main body. Jackson teaches a similar fecal sampling container that has a guide cap with teeth ([¶54]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Hasegawa with the teachings of Jackson in order to provide extra grip between components ([¶54]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 7-9, filed 6/17/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hasegawa.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Armbruster et al. DE 102012109457 A1 teaches a similar sampling device with plunger and separate sampling stick.
Wang et al. US 2006/0210448 specifically FIG.1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791