DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 08 April 2026 in which claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-11, 13-20, 22-24 are currently pending and claims 3, 5, 7, 12, 21 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 17, 18, 20, 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding independent claims 1, 17, 18, it is unclear what is meant by the claimed limitation “IMR” and “CMR” and it is suggested to spell out the acronyms “IMR” and “CMR”.
Claim 18 is directed to a terminal, which is considered a machine. A machine is defined as “a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices” (MPEP 2106). However, the body of the claim does not consist of at least two parts/components; it consists of a series of steps. The preamble comprises parts/components; however, those parts/components should be positively recited in the body of the claim.
Regarding claim 20, it is suggested to replace the claimed limitation “A non-transitory readable storage medium” to --A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium--.
Regarding claim 23, it is unclear whether the claimed limitation is a near substantial duplicate to the last limitation of the newly amended claim 18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14-20, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (PG Pub US 2023/0061722 A1) in view of Hao et al. (PG Pub US 2023/0087003 A1 hereafter Hao2) and Zhang et al. (WO 2020/143748 A1 with a machine translation copy attached herein).
Regarding claims 1, 18, 20, Hao discloses a channel state information CSI feedback method, a terminal, and a non-transitory readable storage medium.
a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement (figs. 2, 25):
obtaining, N CSI report configurations, wherein the N CSI report configurations are used for determining M pieces of first information (“A UE (e.g., such as a UE 120a) may be configured by a BS (e.g., such as a BS 110) for CSI reporting. The BS may configure the UE with a CSI reporting configuration or with multiple CSI report configurations” [0068], “Each CSI report configuration may be associated with a single downlink bandwidth part (BWP). The CSI report setting configuration may define a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the BWP. The associated DL BWP may indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., bwp-Id) in the CSI report configuration for channel measurement and contains parameter(s) for one CSI reporting band, such as codebook configuration, time-domain behavior, frequency granularity for CSI, measurement restriction configurations, and the CSI-related quantities to be reported by the UE” [0069], “The CSI report configuration can also configure the CSI parameters (sometimes referred to as quantities) to be reported. Codebooks may include Type I single panel, Type I multi-panel, and Type II single panel. Regardless which codebook is used, the CSI report may include at least the channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), and rank indicator (RI). The structure of the PMI may vary based on the codebook. The CRI, RI, and CQI may be in a first part (Part I) and the PMI may be in a second part (Part II) of the CSI report” [0072]); and
sending, a first CSI report, wherein the first CSI report is calculated based on the M pieces of first information (“The UE may report the CSI feedback based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger. For example, the UE may measure the channel associated with CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources. Based on the measurements, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource. The UE reports the CSI feedback for the selected CSI-RS resource” [0071], “The UE reports the CSI feedback for the selected CSI-RS resource. LI may be calculated conditioned on the reported CQI, PMI, RI and CRI; CQI may be calculated conditioned on the reported PMI, RI and CRI; PMI may be calculated conditioned on the reported RI and CRI; and RI may be calculated conditioned on the reported CRI” [0075]);
the first information is any one of the following: first reference signal resource, and first parameter corresponding to the first reference signal resource; N is a positive integer; and M is an integer greater than 1 (“Each CSI report configuration may be associated with a single downlink bandwidth part (BWP). The CSI report setting configuration may define a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the BWP. The associated DL BWP may indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., bwp-Id) in the CSI report configuration for channel measurement and contains parameter(s) for one CSI reporting band, such as codebook configuration, time-domain behavior, frequency granularity for CSI, measurement restriction configurations, and the CSI-related quantities to be reported by the UE” [0069], “The CSI report configuration can also configure the CSI parameters (sometimes referred to as quantities) to be reported. Codebooks may include Type I single panel, Type I multi-panel, and Type II single panel. Regardless which codebook is used, the CSI report may include at least the channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), and rank indicator (RI). The structure of the PMI may vary based on the codebook. The CRI, RI, and CQI may be in a first part (Part I) and the PMI may be in a second part (Part II) of the CSI report” [0072], “Channel estimation using pilots, such as CSI reference signals (CSI-RS), may be performed to determine these effects on the channel” [0067]).
However, Hao does not explicitly disclose in a case that N is equal to 1, the CSI report configuration is configured with one first field, wherein the first field corresponds to M pieces of restriction information, and the M pieces of restriction information correspond to the M pieces of first information, wherein each restriction information comprises at least one of: codebook restriction information, rank indicator RI restriction information, and port restriction information; wherein the first field comprises a codebook configuration field.
Nevertheless, Hao2 discloses “the first CSI report configuration and the second CSI report configuration may indicate respective channel measurement resources (CMR), interference measurement resources (IMR), and/or codebook configurations (e.g., numbers of ports, codebook types, codebook subset restrictions, and/or the like)” [0155], “the RI pair restriction indicates one or more combinations of rank indications that are permitted to be included in a first CSI report” [0153].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have in a case that N is equal to 1, the CSI report configuration is configured with one first field, wherein the first field corresponds to M pieces of restriction information, and the M pieces of restriction information correspond to the M pieces of first information, wherein each restriction information comprises at least one of: codebook restriction information, rank indicator RI restriction information, and port restriction information; wherein the first field comprises a codebook configuration field because it will allow “correlating multiple channel state information reports for multi-layer communication” [0151].
In addition, Hao, Hao2 discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Hao, Hao2 does not explicitly disclose in one IMR resource set configured in one CSI report configuration, each IMR of the last T IMR resources correspond to multiple CMRs, and each IMR of the remaining IMRs correspond to one CMR, wherein the T is a positive integer.
Nevertheless, Zhang discloses “The number of CMRs may be one or more, and the number of IMRs may also be one or more, that is, the network device 110 may be configured with one CMR and one IMR, or may be configured with multiple CMRs and multiple IMRs, and may also be configured One CMR and multiple IMRs can also be configured with multiple CMRs and one IMR” (under “Configuration method one”), “Independent coding can improve the flexibility of resource mapping”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have in one IMR resource set configured in one CSI report configuration, each IMR of the last T IMR resources correspond to multiple CMRs, and each IMR of the remaining IMRs correspond to one CMR because “Independent coding can improve the flexibility of resource mapping”.
Regarding claim 14, Hao, Hao2, Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Hao discloses the first parameter comprises CMR group (“a CMR port group or port-group pair” [0116]).
Regarding claim 15, Hao, Hao2, Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Hao discloses the first field comprises at least one of the following: non-precoding matrix port indication field; report configuration type field; report quantity field; channel quality indicator CQI table field; or subband size field (“The CSI report setting configuration may define a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the BWP. The associated DL BWP may indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., bwp-Id) in the CSI report configuration for channel measurement and contains parameter(s) for one CSI reporting band, such as codebook configuration, time-domain behavior, frequency granularity for CSI, measurement restriction configurations, and the CSI-related quantities to be reported by the UE” [0069]).
Regarding claim 16, Hao, Hao2, Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Hao discloses the N CSI report configurations are indicated by higher layer signaling or MAC CE (“The BS may provide the CSI reporting configuration to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling (e.g., via a CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE))” [0068], “a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)” [0071]).
Regarding claims 17, 19, Hao discloses a CSI feedback method and a network-side device.
sending, by a network-side device, N CSI report configurations, wherein the N CSI report configurations are used for determining M pieces of first information (“A UE (e.g., such as a UE 120a) may be configured by a BS (e.g., such as a BS 110) for CSI reporting. The BS may configure the UE with a CSI reporting configuration or with multiple CSI report configurations” [0068], “Each CSI report configuration may be associated with a single downlink bandwidth part (BWP). The CSI report setting configuration may define a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the BWP. The associated DL BWP may indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., bwp-Id) in the CSI report configuration for channel measurement and contains parameter(s) for one CSI reporting band, such as codebook configuration, time-domain behavior, frequency granularity for CSI, measurement restriction configurations, and the CSI-related quantities to be reported by the UE” [0069], “The CSI report configuration can also configure the CSI parameters (sometimes referred to as quantities) to be reported. Codebooks may include Type I single panel, Type I multi-panel, and Type II single panel. Regardless which codebook is used, the CSI report may include at least the channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), and rank indicator (RI). The structure of the PMI may vary based on the codebook. The CRI, RI, and CQI may be in a first part (Part I) and the PMI may be in a second part (Part II) of the CSI report” [0072]); and
receiving, by the network-side device, a first CSI report, wherein the first CSI report is calculated based on the M pieces of first information (“The UE may report the CSI feedback based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger. For example, the UE may measure the channel associated with CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources. Based on the measurements, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource. The UE reports the CSI feedback for the selected CSI-RS resource” [0071], “The UE reports the CSI feedback for the selected CSI-RS resource. LI may be calculated conditioned on the reported CQI, PMI, RI and CRI; CQI may be calculated conditioned on the reported PMI, RI and CRI; PMI may be calculated conditioned on the reported RI and CRI; and RI may be calculated conditioned on the reported CRI” [0075]);
wherein the first information is any one of the following: first reference signal resource, and first parameter corresponding to the first reference signal resource; N is a positive integer; and M is an integer greater than 1 (“Each CSI report configuration may be associated with a single downlink bandwidth part (BWP). The CSI report setting configuration may define a CSI reporting band as a subset of subbands of the BWP. The associated DL BWP may indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., bwp-Id) in the CSI report configuration for channel measurement and contains parameter(s) for one CSI reporting band, such as codebook configuration, time-domain behavior, frequency granularity for CSI, measurement restriction configurations, and the CSI-related quantities to be reported by the UE” [0069], “The CSI report configuration can also configure the CSI parameters (sometimes referred to as quantities) to be reported. Codebooks may include Type I single panel, Type I multi-panel, and Type II single panel. Regardless which codebook is used, the CSI report may include at least the channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), and rank indicator (RI). The structure of the PMI may vary based on the codebook. The CRI, RI, and CQI may be in a first part (Part I) and the PMI may be in a second part (Part II) of the CSI report” [0072]).
However, Hao does not explicitly disclose in a case that N is equal to 1, the CSI report configuration is configured with one first field, wherein the first field corresponds to M pieces of restriction information, and the M pieces of restriction information correspond to the M pieces of first information, wherein each restriction information comprises at least one of: codebook restriction information, rank indicator RI restriction information, and port restriction information; wherein the first field comprises a codebook configuration field.
Nevertheless, Hao2 discloses “the first CSI report configuration and the second CSI report configuration may indicate respective channel measurement resources (CMR), interference measurement resources (IMR), and/or codebook configurations (e.g., numbers of ports, codebook types, codebook subset restrictions, and/or the like)” [0155], “the RI pair restriction indicates one or more combinations of rank indications that are permitted to be included in a first CSI report” [0153].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have in a case that N is equal to 1, the CSI report configuration is configured with one first field, wherein the first field corresponds to M pieces of restriction information, and the M pieces of restriction information correspond to the M pieces of first information, wherein each restriction information comprises at least one of: codebook restriction information, rank indicator RI restriction information, and port restriction information; wherein the first field comprises a codebook configuration field because it will allow “correlating multiple channel state information reports for multi-layer communication” [0151].
In addition, Hao, Hao2 discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Hao, Hao2 does not explicitly disclose in one IMR resource set configured in one CSI report configuration, each IMR of the last T IMR resources correspond to multiple CMRs, and each IMR of the remaining IMRs correspond to one CMR, wherein the T is a positive integer.
Nevertheless, Zhang discloses “The number of CMRs may be one or more, and the number of IMRs may also be one or more, that is, the network device 110 may be configured with one CMR and one IMR, or may be configured with multiple CMRs and multiple IMRs, and may also be configured One CMR and multiple IMRs can also be configured with multiple CMRs and one IMR” (under “Configuration method one”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have in one IMR resource set configured in one CSI report configuration, each IMR of the last T IMR resources correspond to multiple CMRs, and each IMR of the remaining IMRs correspond to one CMR because “Independent coding can improve the flexibility of resource mapping”.
Regarding claim 23, Hao, Hao2, Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Hao discloses in one IMR resource set configured in the N CSI report configuration, each IMR of the first T or last T IMR resources correspond to multiple CMRs, and each IMR of the remaining IMRs correspond to one CMR, wherein the T is a positive integer (“The CMR and IMR may be associated via a CSI resource indicator (CRI) or a rank indicator (RI)-pair. For example, the CMR and IMR may be associated by a one-to-one mapping between a codepoint (CRI or RI-pair) and the IMR, the codepoint corresponding to one or more CMRs” [0100], “there may be a one-to-one mapping between a CRI codepoint (corresponding to a CMR or CMR-pair) and a NZP-IMR set, as shown in FIG. 14. Alternatively, there exists a mapping between one NZP-IMR set to a CMR pair. In mTRP, multiple NZP-IMR sets may be used. As shown in FIG. 14, the NZP-IMR sets may be mapped to the CRI codepoints, corresponding to the CMRs, in addition to the CSI-IMRs. For example, the first CSI report may have a first CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) that further maps to a first NZP-IMR set (e.g., s1) for the mTRP scenario shown in FIG. 12A. The second CSI report may have a first CRI codepoint (e.g., CRI 0) that further maps to a second NZP-IMR set (e.g., s2) for the mTRP scenario” [0113]).
Regarding claims 22, 24, Hao, Hao2, Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Hao discloses the T is indicated by higher layer signaling (“The BS may provide the CSI reporting configuration to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling (e.g., via a CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE))” [0068]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao, Hao2, Zhang in view of Hao et al. (PG Pub US 2021/0314043 A1 hereafter Hao3).
Regarding claim 2, Hao, Hao2, Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Hao, Hao2, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the N CSI report configurations are configured with P first fields, and the first CSI report is calculated based on the M pieces of first information and the P first fields, wherein P is a positive integer.
Nevertheless, Hao3 discloses “the CSI report configuration may have a field resourcesForChannel providing a CSI-RS resource set for channel measurements .. Next, the field resourcesForChannel may also include a field qcl-info providing QCL, information for each CSI-RS port group (e.g., field qcl-info-PortGroup1 is linked to a TCI state with the provided TCI-StateId, and field qcl-info-PortGroup2 is linked to another TCI state with the provided TCI-StateId) of each NZP CSI-RS resource. The CSI report configuration links to one resource set, which has one or more resources. The field qcl-info identifies one or more TCI states, and each of the TCI states is linked to a CSI-RS port group of a resource” [0092], [0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the N CSI report configurations be configured with P first fields, and the first CSI report is calculated based on the M pieces of first information and the P first fields, wherein P is a positive integer because it will allow “providing quasi-colocation ((SCL) signaling for groups of non-zero power channel state information reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) ports across scenarios involving multiple cells and/or multiple panels (multi-panel)” [0031].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 8-11, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the objection as described above are addressed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 06/11/2026