DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150085800 A1 herein Kathiravetpillai in view of US 20180324644 A1 herein Koskinen.
Claim 1, Kathiravetpillai discloses a method for providing performance feedback of a split-bearer in dual connectivity (paragraphs [0023]-[0029], [0037]-[0042] bearer split may refer to an ability to split a bearer over multiple eNBs in dual connectivity and figures 1A-10), comprising:
setting up, by a hosting base station, a split-bearer for a user equipment (UE) device connected to at least two cell groups (CGs) supported by the hosting base station and one or more corresponding base stations, including a ratio of a split of data to be delivered to the UE via the hosting base station and data to be delivered to the UE via the one or more corresponding base stations (paragraphs [0023]-[0029], [0037]-[0042] determine a downlink split ratio at a master evolved node B (MeNB) 402 [i.e., a hosting base station], and then based on the downlink split ratio, the MeNB 402 may send data to a user equipment (UE)406 ; second evolved node B (SeNB) 404 [i.e., a corresponding base station] may exchange information for determining the downlink split ratio at the MeNB402 and figures 1A-10);
transmitting, based on the ratio of the split, a first portion of the data to the UE via a connection with the UE and a second portion of the data to the one or more corresponding base stations via a connection with the one or more corresponding base stations to be sent to the UE (paragraphs [0023]-[0029], [0037]-[0042] MeNB402 may use the effective data ratesfor the UE 406 when determining the downlink split ratio; downlink split ratiomay define a percentage of datato be communicated to the UE 406 directly from the MeNB402 and a percentage of datato be communicated to the UE 406 from the MeNB 402 via the SeNB 404; datamay be communicatedbetween the MeNB 402 and the UE 406 over a MeNB radio link, and the data may be communicated between the SeNB 404 and the UE 406 over a SeNB radio link and figures 1A-10); and
adjusting, based at least in part on one or more split-bearer quality reports received from the UE, the ratio of the split (paragraphs [0023]-[0029], [0037]-[0042] MeNB 402may determinean effective data ratefor the MeNB radio link(i.e., the communication link between the MeNB 402 and the UE 406) and an effective data ratefor the SeNB radio link(i.e., the communication link between the SeNB 404 and the UE 406); effective data ratemay define an average transfer rate of dataover a period of time for the radio link (i.e., the MeNB radio linkor the SeNB radio link) [i.e., a downlink split bearer ratio] ; MeNB402 may determinethe effective data ratesfor the UE406 using a Shannon capacity formula, i.e., log2(1+SINR) ; MeNB 402may obtain two CQI values [i.e., split bearer quality reports, received from the UE]; CQI valuesmay be received fromthe SeNB 404 and/ or the UE 406 [i.e., split bearer quality reports, received from the UE]; first CQI valuemay describe a channel qualityof the MeNB radio link; second CQI valuemay describe a channel qualityof the SeNB radio link [i.e., split bearer quality reports, received from the UE]; Using the Shannon capacity formula and the SINR measurementsfrom the CQI values, the MeNB402 may determine a channel capacityfor the MeNB radio linkand a channel capacityfor the SeNB radio link; MeNB 402 may determine the effective data ratesfor the UE 406based on the channel capacities of the MeNB radio linkand the SeNB radio link, respectively and figures 1A-10).
Kathiravetpillai may not explicitly disclose receiving, via a Packet Data Control Protocol (PDCP) layer connection with the UE, one or more split-bearer quality reports; and adjusting, based at least in part on one or more split-bearer quality reports comprising PDCP-layer feedback information indicative of a delivery or reordering condition associated with the split-bearer received from the UE, the ratio of the split.
Koskinen discloses receiving, via a Packet Data Control Protocol (PDCP) layer connection with the UE, one or more split-bearer quality reports (0049, configuring the UE to send flow control feedback at a PDCP level; UE to eNB PDCP-level reports for split-bearer control); and adjusting, based at least in part on one or more split-bearer quality reports comprising PDCP-layer feedback information indicative of a delivery or reordering condition associated with the split-bearer received from the UE, the ratio of the split (0033, routing of split bearers and decisions for packet paths to minimize reordering, utilizing PDCP feedback to control forwarding and splitting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kathiravetpillai to include feedback of flow control as taught by Koskinen so a receiver at the destination can deliver “reordered data” as fast as possible to an application using the data (0032).
Claim 2, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: sending, to the UE, split assistance information indicating at least the ratio of the split, wherein the split assistance information is sent via a Packet Data Control Protocol (PDCP) protocol data unit (PDU) or radio resource control signaling (0023-0029, split information received at UE’s PDCP layer; 0037-0042, downlink split ratio are sent to the UE or a percentage is defined by the MeNB).
Claim 3, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the ratio of the split is based on one or more of packet count, bytes, or throughput (0037-0042, effective data rates used for determining the downlink split ratio)
Claim 4, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first portion of data is transmitted to the UE via a radio link control (RLC) layer connection with the UE (0037-0042, data sent to the UE via radio link between the UE and MeNB); and wherein the second portion of data is transmitted to the one or more corresponding base stations via a radio link control (RLC) layer connection with the one or more corresponding base stations (0037-0042).
Claim 5, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the connection with the one or more corresponding base stations comprises a backhaul connection, wherein the backhaul connection comprises one or more of a wired connection or a wireless connection (0037-0042, X2 connection).
Claim 6, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the connection with the one or more corresponding base stations comprises at least a wireless backhaul connection comprising one or more of: a cellular link; a satellite link; or a WiFi link (0037-0042, cellular systems containing MeNB and SeNB).
Claim 7, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein at least one connection to the one or more corresponding base stations comprises a multi-hop link (0037, UE to SeNB and MeNB).
Claim 8, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the split-bearer quality reports are received via a Packet Data Control Protocol (PDCP) layer connection with the UE (0029-0033; 0037-0042).
Claim 9, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise one or more of: layer 1 (L1) measurements performed at the UE on the one or more corresponding base stations (0023-0026; 0037-0042, measurement of received signal thus L1, physical layer); channel quality indicator (CQI) reports for the one or more corresponding base stations; or block error rate (BLER) reports (0037-0042, CQI reports of the MeNB and SeNB).
Claim 10, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Kathiravetpillai discloses a hosting base station (Fig. 4: MeNB), comprising: at least one antenna (0066, antenna); at least one radio in communication with the at least one antenna and configured to communicate according to at least one radio access technology (RAT) (communication using at least one of multiple standards); and one or more processors in communication with the at least one radio (0066-0067, processor – it should be noted that Kathiravetpillai discloses an MeNB, which is a conventional cellular networking device and inherently has antennas, processor and radios (operating with at least one wireless technology)).
Claim 11 Kathiravetpillai discloses The hosting base station of claim 10, wherein the ratio of the split is a Packet Data Control Protocol (PDCP) split ratio (0023-0029, split information received at UE’s PDCP layer; 0037-0042, downlink split ratio are sent to the UE or a percentage is defined by the MeNB), wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise PDCP split ratio anomalies, and wherein PDCP split ratio anomalies comprise a specified deviation from the split ratio (0059-0060, readjusting the split-ratio when a latency threshold is not met).
Claim 12, Kathiravetpillai discloses The hosting base station of claim 10, wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise reordering information (0037-0042, ACK and NACK information).
Claim 13, Kathiravetpillai discloses The hosting base station of claim 12, wherein reordering information comprises one or more of: a sequence number (SN) of a data packet blocking reordering; or SNs of missing data packets (0036, reordering buffer for combined PDCP PDUs).
Claim 14, Kathiravetpillai discloses The hosting base station of claim 10, wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise one or more of packet count, byte count, or throughput statistics on a per cell group basis (0023-0029; 0037-0042, effective data rate of MeNB and SeNB).
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 18, Kathiravetpillai discloses The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise Packet Data Protocol Control (PDCP) status reports (0037-0042); and wherein the split-bearer quality reports are received at a PDCP entity of the hosting base station from a PDCP entity of the UE (0023-0029; 0037-0042, layer to layer communication is conventional in cellular systems and therefore it is implied).
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 13.
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 13.
Claim 21, Kathiravetpillai discloses The method of claim 1. Kathiravetpillai may not explicitly disclose wherein the PDCP-layer feedback information comprises an identification of a PDCP PDU sequence number (SN) associated with a reordering delay or missing-PDU condition across the split-bearer, including an indication that the identified PDCP PDU was delivered via a first cell group while one or more adjacent PDCP PDUs were delivered via a second cell group.
Koskinen discloses wherein the PDCP-layer feedback information comprises an identification of a PDCP PDU sequence number (SN) associated with a reordering delay or missing-PDU condition across the split-bearer (0051-0055, PDCP PDU sequence numbers delivered successfully delivered in sequence), including an indication that the identified PDCP PDU was delivered via a first cell group while one or more adjacent PDCP PDUs were delivered via a second cell group (0031, 0051-0056, PDCP PDUs are delivered via different paths including MeNB, SeNB and WLAN; delivery status from the UE states which PDUs were delivered from which path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kathiravetpillai to include feedback of flow control as taught by Koskinen so a receiver at the destination can deliver “reordered data” as fast as possible to an application using the data (0032).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kathiravetpillai in view of US 20220007443 A1 herein Fangli.
Claim 15, Kathiravetpillai discloses The hosting base station of claim 10, wherein the split-bearer quality report is received in-band via Packet Data Control Protocol (PDCP) control signaling (0037-0042, CQI reports are reported on cellular frequencies).
Kathiravetpillai may not explicitly disclose wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise an indication of a UE preferred split ratio; wherein the UE preferred split ratio is based on battery status or thermal status of the UE.
Fangli discloses wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise an indication of a UE preferred split ratio (0092-0120, UE preferred ratio); wherein the UE preferred split ratio is based on battery status or thermal status of the UE (0092-0120, battery status and thermal status of the UE for split configurations). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kathiravetpillai to include consideration of battery power and thermal status of the UE as taught by Fangli so as to conserve battery power (0003).
Claim 16, Kathiravetpillai discloses The hosting base station of claim 10. Kathiravetpillai may not explicitly disclose wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise a request or command to switch to a UE preferred split ratio.
Fangli discloses wherein the split-bearer quality reports comprise a request or command to switch to a UE preferred split ratio (0092-0120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kathiravetpillai to include consideration of battery power and thermal status of the UE as taught by Fangli so as to conserve battery power (0003).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240107377 A1 - A method and system for controlling data split of a dual-connected user equipment device (UE) when the UE has at least two co-existing air-interface connections including a first air-interface connection with a first access node and a second air-interface connection with a second access node. An example method includes (i) comparing a level of spectral efficiency of the first air-interface connection with a level of spectral efficiency of the second air-interface connection, (ii) based at least on the comparing, establishing a split ratio that defines a distribution of data flow of the UE between at least the first air-interface connection and the second air-interface connection, and (iii) based on the establishing, causing the established split ratio to be applied. Further the method could include using the comparison as a basis to set one of the UE's air-interface connections as the UE's primary uplink path.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419